New Member - Kimberly - Vets say abnormal diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linnie

Member Since 2024
Hello everyone.

My name is Linni and I’m 31 years old from Denmark. My cat Kimberly, is 10 years old and she was diagnosed with diabetes the 8th of October this year. (Was treated for an UTI in the beginning, as her pee was thick and “sugary”.)

She has always weighed between 3,7 and 4,2 kilograms. As in ALWAYS. Always free feeding before, she was good at regulating herself.

Her starting number was 24. (fructasomine thingy)
And she weighed 3,3 kilograms.

We started with Insulatard (humane) same day. I was adviced to give 1 unit morning, 2 units at night, because it can’t give half doses.
When talking to my vet, I quickly noticed that she did not know anything about diabetes for cats. She did however praise me for actually being willing to treat the diabetes (?).
I followed my gut and not my vet, and gave 1 unit morning and 1 unit night. We had a very good routine!

I changed vets after a month or so. I had been in very little contact with them. My cat suffered a major attack from another cat in her catio (I still have no idea how it got in) and she suffered from Horners Syndrome, which made me go to the new vet who checked her eyes and ears.

I also changed out all her diet the first month. It took a while. She’s only eaten Royal Canin dry food her entire life.

After a month, (start november) her number said 26 at the new vet. This was not a fructosamine test, just a regular BG reading. Her weight was 3,4 kilograms and I was so happy that she had gained a little weight.

They gave me a new diet, again, which was the wet food from Royal Canins line for diabetic cats.
Only a week later and her weight had dropped 500 grams. So now, she was at only 3 kilograms.
(I went to the vet cause I took an at-home urine test, not the sticks, and it showed critical high numbers of ketones, so I rushed to the vet. There was in fact, absolutely NO ketones.)

The new vet gave me a BG monitor (G-Pet Plus+ from Woodley) and it has been super easy taking samples and readings etc.
After maybe a week or so, I sent in the new numbers to the vet (whom has a diabetic cat herself) and she told me to higher the dosis.
2 unit morning, 2 units night. And she told me, to NOT do readings…

My baby then began FIGHTING for her life when doing insulin time. We’ve had such a great routine. Then she started begging for food and wouldn’t eat. So I ofcourse tested her, right after insulin. It was dangerously low. Honey rubs later and she was good again.

That made me question the new vet completely. Why would she higher her units when she was actually doing great? (She averaged at around 14 mmol.)
And now she is afraid of getting insulin.

I switched to another vet in the same house. I called in every day with the numbers (BGs.)
Whenever I saw a pattern (I’m autistic and pretty good at patterns hehe) her BG readings were completely whack and didn’t make sense.
She went 3 days without insulin earlier this week, because her numbers weren’t stable.

Thursday I went for another fructasomine test, but they couldn’t test her due to stress. She was very aggressive and biting. She has NEVER been like that, EVER. Granted, I have been her mom since she was just 5 weeks old, and she is more on the aggressive side than any other cat I’ve ever met, but at the vet she is always “the best behaved costumer”, which both shocks me and the vet lol. We couldn’t get a test and they said that “it would show high numbers anyway.”

She also lost 200 grams more …

They told me to change to ProZinc. Not even a half unit. So basically air in a U-40 syringe lol. Thursday night (almost 48 hours ago) was the last time she got insulin. They also told me to not do BGs but I’m not listening to that. Her numbers have been low ever since, or in the normals, or too high - but not high when I’m about to do insulin.
I’m scared to give insulin if her numbers are under 20 mmol. The vet said 15 and over, I should give that half unit. But she can drop 15 numbers on insulin …

Now. I’m calling them daily and have been for 3 weeks. They tested the meter I was using, thursday, cause they believed it wasn’t set up correctly cause of the insane fluctuating numbers. But they’re still super whack. I’m trying to do the SS so everyone can see but it’s really hard to understand (also since I gave two different insulins.)

I’m very terrified it’s something else. I’m calling the OLD vet monday to get blood work done. I’ll be asking about some other tests aswell (endocrinearelated, pancriatitis etc.)

So far, noone understands the numbers. Whenever she get’s low (when we wake up in the morning it can be as low as 1,4 mmol.) she will still eat. When it was hypoglycemia (due to low insulin/overdose) she would not eat, and her numbers at that time were 2,4. It makes no sense.

But yeah… Hope this was a right first post lol, otherwise I’m sorry.
Hi everyone!!
 
Last edited:
Hi Linni! Wow - you have been through a lot. I commend you for everything you’ve done so far, and very informative first post.

You found a great place here. The people here are experienced and will help you get situated.

I’m relatively new so I won’t offer any advice, but one thing that jumps out at me is no home testing BG data? This is a huge part of understanding what’s going on with Kimberly!
 
Hi Linni! Wow - you have been through a lot. I commend you for everything you’ve done so far, and very informative first post.

You found a great place here. The people here are experienced and will help you get situated.

I’m relatively new so I won’t offer any advice, but one thing that jumps out at me is no home testing BG data? This is a huge part of understanding what’s going on with Kimberly!

Thank you so much and welcome to you too!

I just updated the SS. I started with the BG's fairly late (over 6 weeks after diagnosis.)

But I'm just warning you.... they're confusing.
 
Can you maybe specify the reason of tagging someone? It makes me really anxious, as I can see that Sheba unfortunately has passed the rainbow :(
Tagging a member means that they can help you better with your concerns or the more the merrier, not to be anxious about and Bron, is very much alive
 
Tagging a member means that they can help you better with your concerns or the more the merrier, not to be anxious about and Bron, is very much alive
Home resting should actually be a priority especially on AMPS/PMPS, you do not want to shoot if the BG is under , I am not going to specify how low because I shoot in the 80’s 90’s Corky also uses ProZinc , I will also tag a ProZinc expert to guide you in dosing, nutrition for a diabetic cat needs to remain between 0-10% carbs the kibbles you are feeding have a very high content of carbs 20-25% is members enjoy the Fancy Feast Pates 0-10% carbs:bighug::cat::cat:
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Home resting should actually be a priority especially on AMPS/PMPS, you do not want to shoot if the BG is under , I am not going to specify how low because I shoot in the 80’s 90’s Corky also uses ProZinc , I will also tag a ProZinc expert to guide you in dosing, nutrition for a diabetic cat needs to remain between 0-10% carbs the kibbles you are feeding have a very high content of carbs 20-25% is members enjoy the Fancy Feast Pates 0-10% carbs:bighug::cat::cat:
@Suzanne & Darcy
Her carbs are under 10%. I only give wet foods. The RC one is the wet one, not the dry kind.

I do hometests alot. And I will also continue. But they freak me out because of how low they get.

The only pattern I see right now is that her BS will rise after a meal till around 5 hours, then drop. I do think that that is fairly normal, right? But I don’t think it’s normal for it to rise 15 numbers (mmol)

And thank you for specifying and tagging. I really appreciate it <3
 
Welcome to FDMB!

Part of what you're seeing is what we refer to as a "bounce." When numbers drop into a low range, drop fast, or drop into a range your cat's body is no longer used to, the liver and pancreas release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. These substances cause numbers to spike upward. As a result, there can be a quick rise in blood glucose. It can take several cycles for the bounce to clear.

The other piece of the puzzle that may be confusing things is what you're feeding Kimberly. The Royal Canin foods are higher in carbohydrates-- even the canned diabetic food is 14% carb. We consider low carb as under 10% (whereas 15% is high carb). Most of the members here feed their cat a food that's around 5% carb.

Kimberly has not been diabetic for that long of a time. I haven't seen very many cats that are regulated in just a few months. We often remind members that managing their cat's diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint.

I'm glad the vet switched Kimberly to Prozinc. We have virtually no experience with insulatard here. I'm linking the Prozinc page. You may want to look over the sticky notes at the top of the page so you have information on this type of insulin along with how we approach dosing.

Given how low your cat's numbers are dropping, it may be prudent to decrease the dose to 0.25u.
 
Welcome to FDMB!

Part of what you're seeing is what we refer to as a "bounce." When numbers drop into a low range, drop fast, or drop into a range your cat's body is no longer used to, the liver and pancreas release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. These substances cause numbers to spike upward. As a result, there can be a quick rise in blood glucose. It can take several cycles for the bounce to clear.

The other piece of the puzzle that may be confusing things is what you're feeding Kimberly. The Royal Canin foods are higher in carbohydrates-- even the canned diabetic food is 14% carb. We consider low carb as under 10% (whereas 15% is high carb). Most of the members here feed their cat a food that's around 5% carb.

Kimberly has not been diabetic for that long of a time. I haven't seen very many cats that are regulated in just a few months. We often remind members that managing their cat's diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint.

I'm glad the vet switched Kimberly to Prozinc. We have virtually no experience with insulatard here. I'm linking the Prozinc page. You may want to look over the sticky notes at the top of the page so you have information on this type of insulin along with how we approach dosing.

Given how low your cat's numbers are dropping, it may be prudent to decrease the dose to 0.25u.

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer. I greatly appreciate it.

Hmm. Last I checked the RC Diabetic Wet food it has been lower than 10%. She usually only gets maybe a teaspoon (she’s supposed to get 2 1/2 for proper feeding; I’ve never given her that.)
I feed her “Natures Own” (I’ll post a picture of it tomorrow.)

I was thinking it could be bouncing aswell. Is one cycle one day? I haven’t thought about remission other than if it wasn’t bouncing. I’m just very scared of doing something wrong. :(
Also because there’s so many days without insulin.
I have U40 syringes/needles and I cannot get 0.25 units of it. I’m thinking of buying the U100 ones.?

Do you have any advice for me? Even a time frame would be great. (Bounce wise)
I haven’t really left my home for weeks because I’m so afraid I’ll mess something up by during it. I’m also not really following vets orders because they just said to “stop doing BGs and keep giving insulin”. And that TERRIFIES me.


I’m going to take a BG test now and then feed her before going to bed. Do you think I should free feed?
 
Hi and welcome to the forum Linnie and Kimberley. This is Bron. My kitty Sheba died several years ago from cancer ( not diabetes) but I still post here so I can help people like you who are just starting out on the diabetes journey.
Are you giving Kimberley lots of snacks during the cycles as well as the two main meals? We recommend giving 2 or 3 snacks of normal low carb food during each cycle as well as the 2 main meals.

Do you have a hypo box set up in case of low numbers? I would recommend you do. I’ll post a link at the end. Some of the BG numbers are very low for a pet meter. Anything under 68 needs you to feed some high carb food or honey to bring the BG up over 68. And you need to keep testing until it comes up over the 68 and stays there on its own without the help of the high carb food. . Don’t just assume one lot of high carb food or honey will do.

I’m going to tag @Suzanne & Darcy as she is a Prozinc user and will help you with dosing
 
Explanation in Bouncing:
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles
 
If you Google "cat food carbohydrate calculator" you can input the protein, fat, moisture, etc. from the guaranteed analysis to give you an approximate carbohydrate percentage for any foods that you are curious about. We use a chart that has the information on nutritional content but since you're outside of the US, I'm not sure if it's accurate.

A cycle is 12 hours. There are two daily cycles -- your AM and PM cycles.

I wish there were a time frame for bouncing! Most cats go through a period where they bounce since their body isn't used to the lower numbers. Most of us have no way of knowing how long our cat was diabetic. Once we start giving insulin, the numbers start dropping back toward normal range and the cat's system overreacts. Some cats get through this period quickly. Other cats can take a long time to get their bounces under control.

I would be very nervous if I hadn't been testing my cat. We are strong advocates of home testing since it's the best way to keep your cat safe. However, you also need to have a life! I would encourage you to get a timed feeder so Kimberly has access to food if her numbers are dropping.

There are no syringes that have 0.25u increments. We all approximate the amount. This is a photo of a 0.25u dose using a U100 syringe. However, but with Prozinc, you should be using a U40 syringe. I included the photo so you could get an idea of what the dose looks like.

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
 
If you Google "cat food carbohydrate calculator" you can input the protein, fat, moisture, etc. from the guaranteed analysis to give you an approximate carbohydrate percentage for any foods that you are curious about. We use a chart that has the information on nutritional content but since you're outside of the US, I'm not sure if it's accurate.

A cycle is 12 hours. There are two daily cycles -- your AM and PM cycles.

I wish there were a time frame for bouncing! Most cats go through a period where they bounce since their body isn't used to the lower numbers. Most of us have no way of knowing how long our cat was diabetic. Once we start giving insulin, the numbers start dropping back toward normal range and the cat's system overreacts. Some cats get through this period quickly. Other cats can take a long time to get their bounces under control.

I would be very nervous if I hadn't been testing my cat. We are strong advocates of home testing since it's the best way to keep your cat safe. However, you also need to have a life! I would encourage you to get a timed feeder so Kimberly has access to food if her numbers are dropping.

There are no syringes that have 0.25u increments. We all approximate the amount. This is a photo of a 0.25u dose using a U100 syringe. However, but with Prozinc, you should be using a U40 syringe. I included the photo so you could get an idea of what the dose looks like.

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
Thank you so much for taking the time to answer. I greatly appreciate it.

Hmm. Last I checked the RC Diabetic Wet food it has been lower than 10%. She usually only gets maybe a teaspoon (she’s supposed to get 2 1/2 for proper feeding; I’ve never given her that.)
I feed her “Natures Own” (I’ll post a picture of it tomorrow.)

I was thinking it could be bouncing aswell. Is one cycle one day? I haven’t thought about remission other than if it wasn’t bouncing. I’m just very scared of doing something wrong. :(
Also because there’s so many days without insulin.
I have U40 syringes/needles and I cannot get 0.25 units of it. I’m thinking of buying the U100 ones.?

Do you have any advice for me? Even a time frame would be great. (Bounce wise)
I haven’t really left my home for weeks because I’m so afraid I’ll mess something up by during it. I’m also not really following vets orders because they just said to “stop doing BGs and keep giving insulin”. And that TERRIFIES me.


I’m going to take a BG test now and then feed her before going to bed. Do you think I should free feed?

Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
 
Hello and welcome to you and Kimberly.

This link contains a list of foods available in the UK, but also a lot that are available in Europe. It lists the calories from carb% which is what we look at and want to be under 10% as the main food: UK Cat Food List

If you want to use U-100 syringes to draw smaller doses, here is the link to the conversion chart

I wonder if you should try getting a different blood glucose meter. You can use one designed for humans, most of us here do that. You want one that requires a smaller blood drop and that has cheaper test strips, as that is what you will go through the most. If nothing else, it is good to have a backup meter if you are getting wonky numbers, which you are. With some meters, if you don't get a large enough blood drop, it will register a lower number. Maybe that is what is happening? If you get a low number under 68, I would test again with another test strip to confirm the number.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum Linnie and Kimberley. This is Bron. My kitty Sheba died several years ago from cancer ( not diabetes) but I still post here so I can help people like you who are just starting out on the diabetes journey.
Are you giving Kimberley lots of snacks during the cycles as well as the two main meals? We recommend giving 2 or 3 snacks of normal low carb food during each cycle as well as the 2 main meals.

Do you have a hypo box set up in case of low numbers? I would recommend you do. I’ll post a link at the end. Some of the BG numbers are very low for a pet meter. Anything under 68 needs you to feed some high carb food or honey to bring the BG up over 68. And you need to keep testing until it comes up over the 68 and stays there on its own without the help of the high carb food. . Don’t just assume one lot of high carb food or honey will do.

I’m going to tag @Suzanne & Darcy as she is a Prozinc user and will help you with dosing

Thank you very much and I’m so sorry for your loss, from what I read Sheba lived a fantastic life <3 And thank you for continuing to help in your kittys spirit!!

I do not give snacks, but she does get 4 meals (vets recommendation due to her weightloss, and she wouldn’t eat as much at a time, she takes a break after 20 minutes.) I gave her a silicone mat thingy to make her eat slower and it helped. If she is begging and her BS is low I WILL give her a tiny portion.

How do I insert a photo… She eats “Real Nature Great Plains” wet food. I gave her RC last night to get her BS up but that didn’t work. She still eats even though it’s low.

My thoughts, because I’m a very logical thinking person and notice patterns:
Her bloodsugar will be low if she is hungry. If she eats, the bloodsugar will rise slowly hour to hour. When she is hungry again, 4-6 hours later, her BS is low. Isn’t this a normal cycle in general?
Issue is, the “general” on an empty stomach is TOO low.
I think that is what you are referring to aswell. I’m going to look at the link you provided. Thank you!!
 
Explanation in Bouncing:
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles
And it is best to not give insulin during this? It makes me so scared to read.
But it makes sense as she did get WAY too much insulin. Luckily a few cycles where she did, they didn’t always enter her skin (before her reverse mowhawk lol).
 
If you Google "cat food carbohydrate calculator" you can input the protein, fat, moisture, etc. from the guaranteed analysis to give you an approximate carbohydrate percentage for any foods that you are curious about. We use a chart that has the information on nutritional content but since you're outside of the US, I'm not sure if it's accurate.

A cycle is 12 hours. There are two daily cycles -- your AM and PM cycles.

I wish there were a time frame for bouncing! Most cats go through a period where they bounce since their body isn't used to the lower numbers. Most of us have no way of knowing how long our cat was diabetic. Once we start giving insulin, the numbers start dropping back toward normal range and the cat's system overreacts. Some cats get through this period quickly. Other cats can take a long time to get their bounces under control.

I would be very nervous if I hadn't been testing my cat. We are strong advocates of home testing since it's the best way to keep your cat safe. However, you also need to have a life! I would encourage you to get a timed feeder so Kimberly has access to food if her numbers are dropping.

There are no syringes that have 0.25u increments. We all approximate the amount. This is a photo of a 0.25u dose using a U100 syringe. However, but with Prozinc, you should be using a U40 syringe. I included the photo so you could get an idea of what the dose looks like.

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
Hmmmmm. That photo really makes it clear how to get a lower dose with another needle. I only have the U-40. Do you recommend to get U-100s? With the U-40 I can’t even see 0.5, and the vet told me to put it up to 1, then slowly release it till i see a tiny drop left. It did help but I felt like I needed a magnifying glass lol.

I did calculate all her food which is why I felt safe to give RC wet food diabetic. I have photos of the food but I don’t kniw how to put them in here as it wants a link.

I’m pensioned, so I’m home alot anyway. But I am thinking of buying the automatic feeder for wet food. It’s a little expensive, but if it helps her BS to be stable, I’m willing to pay everything lol. I luckily have a great insurance on her aswell, they’ve helped alot. (It is a designated PET insurance.)

Thank you!!
 
Hello and welcome to you and Kimberly.

This link contains a list of foods available in the UK, but also a lot that are available in Europe. It lists the calories from carb% which is what we look at and want to be under 10% as the main food: UK Cat Food List

If you want to use U-100 syringes to draw smaller doses, here is the link to the conversion chart

I wonder if you should try getting a different blood glucose meter. You can use one designed for humans, most of us here do that. You want one that requires a smaller blood drop and that has cheaper test strips, as that is what you will go through the most. If nothing else, it is good to have a backup meter if you are getting wonky numbers, which you are. With some meters, if you don't get a large enough blood drop, it will register a lower number. Maybe that is what is happening? If you get a low number under 68, I would test again with another test strip to confirm the number.

Thank you!

If my meter think’s there’s too little blood, it will just say LO. I’ve tried that in the beginning. Drawing blood is fairly easy and she doesn’t mind it at all. I have ordered a meter that is for humans, it is a free one. I’m still waiting on it in the mail.

So -

If I get a low number, test twice with the same meter? Or different meters?

Thank you!!
 
Thank you very much and I’m so sorry for your loss, from what I read Sheba lived a fantastic life <3 And thank you for continuing to help in your kittys spirit!!

I do not give snacks, but she does get 4 meals (vets recommendation due to her weightloss, and she wouldn’t eat as much at a time, she takes a break after 20 minutes.) I gave her a silicone mat thingy to make her eat slower and it helped. If she is begging and her BS is low I WILL give her a tiny portion.

How do I insert a photo… She eats “Real Nature Great Plains” wet food. I gave her RC last night to get her BS up but that didn’t work. She still eats even though it’s low.

My thoughts, because I’m a very logical thinking person and notice patterns:
Her bloodsugar will be low if she is hungry. If she eats, the bloodsugar will rise slowly hour to hour. When she is hungry again, 4-6 hours later, her BS is low. Isn’t this a normal cycle in general?
Issue is, the “general” on an empty stomach is TOO low.
I think that is what you are referring to aswell. I’m going to look at the link you provided. Thank you!!
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Thank you!

If my meter think’s there’s too little blood, it will just say LO. I’ve tried that in the beginning. Drawing blood is fairly easy and she doesn’t mind it at all. I have ordered a meter that is for humans, it is a free one. I’m still waiting on it in the mail.

So -

If I get a low number, test twice with the same meter? Or different meters?

Thank you!!
@Wendy&Neko
 
If she weighs only 2.8 kg I would let her eat when ever she likes. Getting an automatic feeder is a godsend to a lot of caregivers. You don’t have to give her tiny portions. If she is begging for food if the BG is low she needs to eat well.
How do I insert a photo
To insert a photo you copy and paste it into this page.
Her bloodsugar will be low if she is hungry. If she eats, the bloodsugar will rise slowly hour to hour. When she is hungry again, 4-6 hours later, her BS is low. Isn’t this a normal cycle in general?
She can be hungry if her BG is high or low but generally if it is very low a cat will get very hungry…but not always. Don’t rely on that to tell you if the BG is low. A normal cycle is where the BG is usually higher, then insulin is given and after about 2 hours it will start to drop and over the next several hours the BG will continue to drop until about 6 or 7 hours after the insulin is giving when it will gradually start to rise again until the next dose is due.
Issue is, the “general” on an empty stomach is TOO low.
I don’t know what you are referring to here.
I have RC canin diabetic dry food still. Should I give some of that? I don’t really see a guide on how to get the numbers slightly up. Is it just giving a little at every meal or?
You could give that but canned/wet higher carb food is better.
Here is a link to the FOOD CHART
And it is best to not give insulin during this? It makes me so scared to read.
You feed as normal when a bounce is happening. Do not withhold food. Just becasue a BG is high does not mean you don’t give food.
Hmmmmm. That photo really makes it clear how to get a lower dose with another needle. I only have the U-40. Do you recommend to get U-100s? With the U-40 I can’t even see 0.5, and the vet told me to put it up to 1, then slowly release it till i see a tiny drop left. It did help but I felt like I needed a magnifying glass lol.
If you want to swap to using the U100 insulin syringes you have to use them in conjunction with a conversion chart that Wendy mention above in post 18. The syringes you need are U100, 3/10, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings.Once you get the syringes, post here and we will tell you how to use the conversion chart.
Keep asking questions
 
I have ordered a meter that is for humans, it is a free one. I’m still waiting on it in the mail.
When you do get it can you add it to your signature and the date you start with it and also add it to your spreadsheet above and the date.
We would like members to put a blank line above the date you start using the human meter on your spreadsheet so it stands out and color code it any color you want to.
The last 2 color codes on the spreadsheet will need to be charged to reflect a human meter
The dark green would be 50-99
The lime green would be BG<50
You might be able to change it yourself if not I can tag someone to do it for you when the time comes
@Linnie


Wet food

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
 
Last edited:
If she weighs only 2.8 kg I would let her eat when ever she likes. Getting an automatic feeder is a godsend to a lot of caregivers. You don’t have to give her tiny portions. If she is begging for food if the BG is low she needs to eat well.

To insert a photo you copy and paste it into this page.

She can be hungry if her BG is high or low but generally if it is very low a cat will get very hungry…but not always. Don’t rely on that to tell you if the BG is low. A normal cycle is where the BG is usually higher, then insulin is given and after about 2 hours it will start to drop and over the next several hours the BG will continue to drop until about 6 or 7 hours after the insulin is giving when it will gradually start to rise again until the next dose is due.

I don’t know what you are referring to here.

You could give that but canned/wet higher carb food is better.
Here is a link to the FOOD CHART

You feed as normal when a bounce is happening. Do not withhold food. Just becasue a BG is high does not mean you don’t give food.

If you want to swap to using the U100 insulin syringes you have to use them in conjunction with a conversion chart that Wendy mention above in post 18. The syringes you need are U100, 3/10, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings.Once you get the syringes, post here and we will tell you how to use the conversion chart.
Keep asking questions

I’m sorry, english is not my native language so I might have grammar mistakes.
I never ever withhold food. If she asks for it, she will have it, because I know she does it for a reason. She has her entire 10 years before getting dx, been able to regulate herself and she has always had the perfect weight.

I’m talking about withholding INSULINE. Should I give INSULINE even if her numbers are low before a meal? Cause that scares me.

Her “general”. Ok so. If we, as humans, are fasting after a night sleep without any food, our bloodsugar will be low. If we eat, no matter what we eat, our bloodsugar will rise. The glucose. It will rise either fast or slow, depending on what we eat. After some time, it will be out of our system/ getting through it, and our bs will slowly fall again, and come back to it’s “original” glucose level.
Could Kimberlys “original” glucoselevel be at, say, 2. Empty stomach. Then eat a meal that slowly goes up until 15-20. Then it will slowly fall, or in her case quixkly fall, till it lands on the “original” bs again. Original = starting point. Does this make sense? It would be a natural cycle if this is what is happening, but her starting point is too low.
Or it could be perhaps something thyroid related. I have a thyroid condition myself.
I hope I explain it better, I’m sorry.

If you have more questions I haven’t answered please let me know! I’m ordering an automatic feeder.

I have some Sheba pate I can feed also?
 
When you do get it can you add it to your signature and the date you start with it and also add it to your spreadsheet above and the date.
We would like members to put a blank line above the date you start using the human meter on your spreadsheet so it stands out and color code it any color you want to.
The last 2 color codes on the spreadsheet will need to be charged to reflect a human meter
The dark green would be 50-99
The lime green would be BG<50
You might be able to change it yourself if not I can tag someone to do it for you when the time comes
@Linnie


Wet food

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
Yes ofcourse, thank you!
 
If I get a low number, test twice with the same meter? Or different meters?
Try again with the same meter, you just want to rule out a problem with the test strip. It's very unusual to see a cat start low, go high, then go low again for the preshots, like she did yesterday and overnight tonight. When you get a second meter, it's a good idea to get one that you can easily get test strips for from a local store, instead of waiting for the mail.
I’m talking about withholding INSULINE. Should I give INSULINE even if her numbers are low before a meal?
As long as there was no history or DKA or ketones present, we suggest that new members on this forum do not shoot if under 200. With DKA or ketones, you would stall or wait for her numbers to rise to a more shootable number.
 
Try again with the same meter, you just want to rule out a problem with the test strip. It's very unusual to see a cat start low, go high, then go low again for the preshots, like she did yesterday and overnight tonight. When you get a second meter, it's a good idea to get one that you can easily get test strips for from a local store, instead of waiting for the mail.

As long as there was no history or DKA or ketones present, we suggest that new members on this forum do not shoot if under 200. With DKA or ketones, you would stall or wait for her numbers to rise to a more shootable number.
Ok. I just released her from testing, but next test I’ll run 2.

I don’t know what DKA is.?

And yes, I find it very unusual. I just did a test, +2 after breakfast where she was at 43.
I suspected a high number now, given the fact that she had honey too (just a drop) and RC wet diabetic food RIGHT before testing. It said 65.

Which means a break in the pattern so far.

But again; in 2 hours I’ll test 2 times.

I’m trying the 2 hour method for ruling it out at the vet, honestly… and because I’m curious. It’s been DAYS since insulin.
 
DKA is diabetic ketoacidosis. Did the vet mention ketones at diagnosis?
You would know if she had had DKA because she would have been in hospital very sick and on a drip.
 
DKA is diabetic ketoacidosis. Did the vet mention ketones at diagnosis?
You would know if she had had DKA because she would have been in hospital very sick and on a drip.
Oh ok. Then she haven’t had any history of that. I tried an at-home urine test from Trixie. It showed high, critical numbers of Ketones. So I rushed her to the vet only to find out there was in fact, no ketones…

I just tested twice with the same meter; it’s in the SS. It makes NO sense.
 
A little update.

I just talked with a nice woman who was a vet for almost 20 years. She now works as someone who teaches vets how to use ProZinc and has been the last couple of years. And also has a cat with diabetes.

She asked for my cats blood work. Turns out, they never tested fructosamine …..
So it might not even BE diabetes, but her UTI at that point.
Only might - chance is there but small.

I’m going to try to update it into my SS, cause I still haven’t figured how to make a picture into a URL.
 
I’m sorry, english is not my native language so I might have grammar mistakes.
I just want to say I think your English is great and you’re very easy to understand. :)
Luckily none of us will attempt this in your native language. It would not be pretty. :eek:
 
I do wonder if the carbohydrate levels of the food you're using are truly low. It may also be that Kimberly is very sensitive to carbs.

I think it will be helpful to see what the results of the fructosamine test are. It's also possible that there may be something medical (e.g., insulinoma) that is causing the wide swings in numbers. An insulinoma is a very rare condition and in all of the time I've been here, there's not a cat that I'm aware of that's been diagnoses with this.
 
I do wonder if the carbohydrate levels of the food you're using are truly low. It may also be that Kimberly is very sensitive to carbs.

I think it will be helpful to see what the results of the fructosamine test are. It's also possible that there may be something medical (e.g., insulinoma) that is causing the wide swings in numbers. An insulinoma is a very rare condition and in all of the time I've been here, there's not a cat that I'm aware of that's been diagnoses with this.
I am thinking the same… I’m very intrigued no matter what.
Do you know what I should ask for in the test for it to also look for insulinoma?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top