New Member - just started home testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

meghan sparky

Member Since 2021
My Boy was diagnosed four weeks ago and we just started testing him. He’s fluctuated with his insulin dosage (Lantus pen). He started off at 1 unit to 2 and then 3 two times a day and is now back to 2 units a day. I know this is really high but the increase was due to infection.

I just started home testing last night. His BG was 61 +11 at 6:30 last night. He did not get insulin last night. I tested this morning and he was 123 at 6:30 am, which is 3 points higher than normal range.

I am due to feed him at 7:15. I plan on calling vet at 7:30 because I don’t feel right giving him 2 units after he eats. My problem is, is that the doctors at my vet don’t come in until 9 and I don’t want to throw off Sparky’s insulin regimen if he needs a shot. I don’t know if I should lower to one dosage or to give my a dosage at all.

Thank you.
 
I recommend skipping the dose. Since he was only 61 last night and 123 this morning with no insulin for 24 hours, it may be a sign that he may be heading towards remission. Now that the infection is clearing it is also reducing his insulin needs.
 
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.
If you need help with setting anything up just ask, we have a member that will be glad to help you with it
 
Thank you! I decided to skip his morning insulin dose. It was a gut feeling. I am waiting to hear back from my vet about next steps. Hopefully we’re on the path to remission!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top