@Marielle
Have you read all the yellow stickys about Lantus?
Especially the 2 dosing methods to choose from
Both will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
When you decide which one you want to follow add it to your signature and at the top of your spreadsheet so members know
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
if you are going to follow TR using the Alpha Trak and the BG falls under 68 you reduce
If you are going to follow SLGS with the Alpha Trak you reduce if the BG falls under 90
Most of us here use a human meter
Also have your hypo kit ready
If you ever need to bring Judes BG up to safe numbers we suggest feeding med or high carb wet food, also have some honey on hand
Med and High Carb food
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-
10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.
16- 24 is high carb.
the Alpha Trak meter 68 is your "take action" number, meaning that you will want to give a teaspoon of high carb food such as gravy lovers and then retest in 20 minutes to make sure BG is up and then to keep testing every 20-30 minutes to make sure BG is staying up and not dropping back down. Depending on if it is going up, not going up, still dropping, etc., you will need to either keep giving HC food, switch to LC food,