New Member / Jude's AMPS 159 / Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Your SS siad you gave him 1 unit yesterday morning and evening. I would give him at the ost ½ unit and would test BG at abount 4-5 hoirs after shot to see what nis happening. Dose is based on the lowest BG between shots and Vetsulin has a rapid drop an ony ony last 9-10 hours or so.
 
@Marielle
I agree with Larry to give 0.5 units and check Jude's BG around @+2 or @+3 , Vetsulin hits hard and fast , you also need to be testing more than just at AMPS and PMPS

Please read here about Vetsulin
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.231587/

Also tap in this blue link ,we need information about Jude
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help
 
I entered it now (I had it in the remarks section); I tested him at 11:15 AM.
We don't go my hours because we are all in different time zones
So that was 3 hours after the 159 correct?
You need to put @+3 224 under the 159, members need to see that ,some don't look at the remarks section , After you do that you will have to change the color code manually to yellow.
Let me tag a few members for you since it's 3 hours now , if you shoot now you will be off schedule with your shootings times .you can only shoot every 12 hours .
When you get a low BG you need to wait and test again 15 or 20 minutes after that.
Also can you fill out your signature


Ladies I don't know what to tell her now, she's off her shooting schedule now
@Bandit's Mom

@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Marje and Gracie
 
Last edited:
So that was 3 hours after the 159 correct?
You need to put @+3 224 under the 159, members need to see that ,some don't look at the remarks section , After you do that you will have to change the color code manually to yellow.
Let me tag a few members for you since it's 3 hours now , if you shoot now you will be off schedule with your shootings times .you can only shoot every 12 hours .
When you get a low BG you need to wait and test again 15 or 20 minutes after that.
Also can you fill out your signature

@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Yes, I tested at 8:15 (159) and at 11:15 (224); I will update the sheet correctly.

I'm trying to fill out the signature, but I keep getting an error code advising me to contact the administrator. Here is what I'm writing:
Jude DOB 4/2016 Dx 3/25/24 Vetsulin AlphaTrak3 Purina Pro Plan
Jude's Sugar Sheet
 
My vet was having me shoot only once per day. 2 units once per day. I asked him if we could switch to twice a day, and he said that was fine, but he wanted me to wait until tomorrow to do that, but I went ahead and started 1 unit twice per day on 4/6 (because his bg went low on 4/4 when I was doing a curve, and the mods in the FB group discouraged the once a day only shot). We are moving Jude to Lantus tomorrow.
 
Glad you are switching to Lantus tomorrow, We will have to see how many units the members here tell you how many units to start with .
Do you have the U-100 syrings with the half unit markings yet
We adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time ,the half unit markings make it easier to do that .
You can get them here without a script unless you can find them at a local pharmacy

https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-Gauge-Veterinary-Insulin-Syringes/dp/B009LTE0DO
 
My vet was having me shoot only once per day. 2 units once per day. I asked him if we could switch to twice a day, and he said that was fine, but he wanted me to wait until tomorrow to do that, but I went ahead and started 1 unit twice per day on 4/6 (because his bg went low on 4/4 when I was doing a curve, and the mods in the FB group discouraged the once a day only shot). We are moving Jude to Lantus tomorrow.
New update
@Bandit's Mom
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Marje and Gracie
 
I have U-100 syringes with half unit markings. I will go to the vet's office in the am to get their help with measuring with these new syringes.
Very easy
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg



You can read about Lantus here ,read all the yellow stickys
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
 
How many carbs is the Purina Pro Plan
@Marielle
After you start Lantus you need to change your signature after the word Vetsulin put a /Lantus as if 4-8
Then in your spreadsheet after you have Vetsulin do the same thing
And put a blank line above the date you start Lantus and put Started Lantus and Color code it any color so members are aware of it
 
PPP Vital Systems chicken
PPP Vital Systems turkey
PPP Sensitive Skin and Stomach arctic char

I have photos of the ingredients, but I can't figure out how to upload photos here.
I use the carb calculator, and I came up with 10.9 on most of them, but I think it's actually higher than that.
 
On the chewy site is say
PPP Vital Systems chicken
PURINA PRO PLAN Vital Systems Chicken Entree Wet Cat Food, 85-g can, case of 24
www.chewy.com › Cat › Food › Wet Food


Rating 4.1
') 0px 0px / 13px 15px repeat-x;">') 0px 0px / 13px 15px repeat-x;">
(28) · CA$40.56 · In stock
This recipe contains approximately 9.0% protein and 3.10% Carbohydrates on an as-fed basis.



URINA PRO PLAN Vital Systems 4-in-1 Turkey Pate Wet Cat Food, 3-oz can, case of 24 Customer Questions - Chewy.com
www.chewy.com › product-questions

This one is too high
This recipe has a sodium content of 0.52% and a carbohydrate content of 12.7%, both on a dry matter basis


The last one
RINA PRO PLAN Focus Sensitive Skin & Stomach Classic Arctic Char Grain-Free Entree Canned Cat Food, 3-oz can, case of 24 - Chewy.com
www.chewy.com › Cat › Food › Wet Food


Rating 4.2
') 0px 0px / 13px 15px repeat-x;">') 0px 0px / 13px 15px repeat-x;">
(209) · In stock
This variety contains approximately 1% Carbohydrates on an as fed basis (4.54% on a dry matter basis
 
Last edited:
@Marielle
Since no one replied back I assume you skipped the dose since your shooting schedule will be way off
Yes, I skipped it because I was waiting to hear back. I'll check his bg in about an hour and keep and eye on it periodically until it is time to shoot again. If he doesn't go too high, I may go ahead and move him up to a 7:00 or 7:30 shoot time, since that will work better in the mornings when I need to get to work.
 
Yes, I skipped it because I was waiting to hear back. I'll check his bg in about an hour and keep and eye on it periodically until it is time to shoot again. If he doesn't go too high, I may go ahead and move him up to a 7:00 or 7:30 shoot time, since that will work better in the mornings when I need to get to work.
Sounds good Marielle ,don't forget to NS for this mornings dose :cat:
I am very anal lol :p

I'll check back in on you tonight :cat:
@Marielle
 
Jude's AMPS this morning is 159. He is on 1 unit of Vetsulin 2x a day. I didn't know not to feed him after the bg test, so I did (I'm learning). What should I do?

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1p7DGceGd04fSI0FGosKYJvylvUSXHa0pLBzdpqfXBXs/edit?usp=sharing
so the arctic char and chicken are okay? the turkey is not?
I find this information bizarre. The formulas are nearly identical. I feed the chicken to my heart kitty and I used to feed her the turkey. I think the information on the turkey is wrong. I am going to look into this.
 
Okay. I see the problem with all these differing carb values. One number is supposedly “as fed”. Another is “percentage of calories from carbs” and another is “dry matter analysis. That explains the wildly differing carb percentages.
 
Anyway, I am sure that this food is too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. It contains brown rice as the grain. The only reason I feed a little of it to my cat with heart disease is because my cardiologist insists that I feed her food with a grain (but absolutely no legumes, peas or pulses that she says damage the heart). She gets 1/4 to 1/2 a can a day and the rest she eats the Weruva foods she was eating before the heart disease was diagnosed.
 
Yes, I tested at 8:15 (159) and at 11:15 (224); I will update the sheet correctly.

I'm trying to fill out the signature, but I keep getting an error code advising me to contact the administrator. Here is what I'm writing:
Jude DOB 4/2016 Dx 3/25/24 Vetsulin AlphaTrak3 Purina Pro Plan
Jude's Sugar Sheet
The issue is you have linked everything to the SS. If you send me a PM, I can fix this for you quickly. Just click on “marje and gracie” to the left and then “start a conversation”.
 
Don’t let the vet have you start with a large dose. Definitely not more than 1 unit, and that only if you can test and monitor the cycle carefully and intervene with carbs if necessary. The reason I say this is because you have already seen some green and blue numbers and now you will be feeding low carb food — is that correct? We always recommend making dietary changes to lower carbs carefully because that really can help to lower BG.

It will take a few days for the depot of Lantus to build up so that you can see how Jude will respond on a particular dose. So don’t be discouraged if you don’t see a lot of action, but it is still best to be cautious about the starting dose and we don’t have a lot of data on Jude’s spreadsheet yet.
 
Don’t let the vet have you start with a large dose. Definitely not more than 1 unit, and that only if you can test and monitor the cycle carefully and intervene with carbs if necessary. The reason I say this is because you have already seen some green and blue numbers and now you will be feeding low carb food — is that correct? We always recommend making dietary changes to lower carbs carefully because that really can help to lower BG.

It will take a few days for the depot of Lantus to build up so that you can see how Jude will respond on a particular dose. So don’t be discouraged if you don’t see a lot of action, but it is still best to be cautious about the starting dose and we don’t have a lot of data on Jude’s spreadsheet yet.

Jude has been eating the Purina Pro Plan food for years, so he is used to it. The only food change is that I won't be giving him the turkey, as the carbohydrate content is too high.

The dr. has prescribed one unit 2x a day, starting tomorrow. My plan is to monitor him tomorrow with periodic bg tests (every three hours) to see how he is doing. Going forward past tomorrow, I'm less sure about what to do, especially in light of your comment about Lantus building up. Should I being doing periodic bg checks on Jude for three-four days and then do a curve? I work 30 min. from home, so I'm trying to plan for what I need to do.
 
The issue is you have linked everything to the SS. If you send me a PM, I can fix this for you quickly. Just click on “marje and gracie” to the left and then “start a conversation”.
Hi Marje it looks like she filled out her signature :cat:
Just a heads up tomorrow she will be starting Lantus ,was using Vetsulin See her post #44 Thanks Marje :cat:
@Marje and Gracie
 
Last edited:
Jude has been eating the Purina Pro Plan food for years, so he is used to it. The only food change is that I won't be giving him the turkey, as the carbohydrate content is too high.

The dr. has prescribed one unit 2x a day, starting tomorrow. My plan is to monitor him tomorrow with periodic bg tests (every three hours) to see how he is doing. Going forward past tomorrow, I'm less sure about what to do, especially in light of your comment about Lantus building up. Should I being doing periodic bg checks on Jude for three-four days and then do a curve? I work 30 min. from home, so I'm trying to plan for what I need to do.
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
@Marielle
I see you have already put a line above the date you will start lantus which is 4-8 on your spreadsheet
I need you to put on your
spreadsheet after you have Vetsulin upper left hand corner where it asks you what Insulin you are using
Put a /Lantus as of 4-8 ok

Also on your signature after you have Vetsulin you need to put a / mark then Lantus as of 4-8

Go to the top tap in your name then tap on signature and add what I said ,then tap save :cat:
 
Also on your signature after you have Vetsulin you need to put a / mark then Lantus as of 4-8

Go to the top tap in your name then tap on signature and add what I said ,then tap save :cat:



@Marielle
 
@Marielle
Have you read all the yellow stickys about Lantus?
Especially the 2 dosing methods to choose from
Both will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
When you decide which one you want to follow add it to your signature and at the top of your spreadsheet so members know
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

if you are going to follow TR using the Alpha Trak and the BG falls under 68 you reduce

If you are going to follow SLGS with the Alpha Trak you reduce if the BG falls under 90

Most of us here use a human meter

Also have your hypo kit ready
If you ever need to bring Judes BG up to safe numbers we suggest feeding med or high carb wet food, also have some honey on hand
Med and High Carb food



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
the Alpha Trak meter 68 is your "take action" number, meaning that you will want to give a teaspoon of high carb food such as gravy lovers and then retest in 20 minutes to make sure BG is up and then to keep testing every 20-30 minutes to make sure BG is staying up and not dropping back down. Depending on if it is going up, not going up, still dropping, etc., you will need to either keep giving HC food, switch to LC food,
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top