New member intro

Status
Not open for further replies.

3catHousehold

New Member
Hi - My name's Jen and my newly diabetic cat is Sir Thomas. I also have two other cats - the girl is the oldest (I think) and the healthiest; the other boy we've been treating for kidney disease for two years this May. I'm definitely a little overwhelmed having two cats with two different illnesses to actively manage and care for.

I've been reading and searching posts for a few days, which have been very helpful. I was even able to get a spreadsheet set-up, though it doesn't have a lot of entries.

We're a little over a month into this and even though we're struggling with the glucose numbers still, we've seen definite improvement in the amount of water he's drinking and urine he's producing. We did a first ketone test today and that was negative, which was nice to find out. I think my next order of business is to find the U-100 syringes so we can give and measure more accurate fractional doses (I think I saw them on Amazon?). Would any syringes labeled U-100 work or are there variations like gauge that I should look for?

We're using the ProZinc insulin two times a day, twelve hours apart and are currently giving a dose of 1.5 units each time. I'd be curious to learn if there are others out there that had good +6h numbers but with pre-shot numbers in the 400's - and if so, where did you go from there? It seems like we can only go down in dosing from where we're at to avoid the +6h numbers getting dangerously low (like what happened one day last week when he vomited his breakfast and didn't eat again before the +6h test). From what I've read, it doesn't seem like continuing to stay at this dosage for longer than a week will result in any positive change in his glucose numbers, right? I've read some about the rebound effect, but haven't seen specifics on the kinds of numbers people get when that occurs, so not sure if we might be in that situation or not.

P.S. Just before we started insulin, we switched him over to mainly eating classic FF wet food (from mainly Iams dry food). He's definitely enjoying the switch, as is the girl cat!
 
Welcome Jen and Sir Thomas,

I can't help you with the dosing as my sugar-son Lord Maxwell was a Lantus boy. But I can tell you where to find the cheapest or at one of the places to find cheap U-100 syringes with 1/2 unit marks...If you have a Wal-mart near by that is the place. When Max was still on insulin (he's diet controlled now) I got mine there. I paid about $13 for a box of 100.

I'm sure others will be along shortly that can answer your questions about dosing with PZI

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Walmart's ReliOn syringes......you would want the 3/10 cc U-100 syringe and they now come marked with 1/2unit markings on them. I use the 1/2" needle, not the 5/16th, and I also use the 29 gauge.



Click on the pic to bring it up bigger.
 
I think he is doing fine. We figure the first week or so is all about collecting data. The high amps may be something you can alter with food. Sometimes, if you can feed several small snacks overnight, it will mean a lower morning number. You can freeze the food and leave it out to thaw or use an automatic feeder that opens several times during the night.

I would stay with the 1.5 dose for a few more cycles. If you could get a test during the night, it would be helpful. A test before bed is good.
 
Thanks for the replies on the syringes, that's helpful.

I also appreciate the reassurance on Sir Thomas' numbers. I did put some wet food in the freezer today after reading several people mention this. It's something we can definitely try, though the girl cat pretty much goes for whatever food she can, so not sure Sir Thomas will get any or much of it unsupervised. We haven't done a lot of pmps testing, but so far both the amps and pmps are giving numbers in the 400's.
 
Keep watching your BG levels carefully. With the change in diet to canned high protein low carb food and a high dose of insulin, I believe my cat's need for insulin dropped signigicantly and contributed to a hypo event as soon as his shed was full again. Your dose is certainly not as high as my cat's which began at 2 u twice a day and eventually went to 4 u twice a day but just be careful and be ready in case... At the time of my cat's seizure, i was not testing but once the seizure occurred, I knew the importance of doing that at home.

I used a timer feeder to give 4 smaller meals a day. It made me feel better when I was not here during the day to have some food for him to eat. I also think that contributed to my cat being off the juice in a short time after being diagnosed. Good luck. I hope your cat gets off the juice too!
 
Hi Jen and Sir Thomas ~ welcome, you've found a new family : ) The folks here are wonderful, and I was in your 'new' shoes a couple of months ago when we took in a diabetic foster kitty.

Just a quick comment re: ordering from Amazon. I received the wrong syringes and wrote to Diabetic Supplies 4 Less (the vendor) and they responded: "I sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. Amazon tends to merge descriptions from different vendors. Unfortunately, there is nothing in our power we can do about this."

I returned them for a full refund, however it was a little annoying.....luckily my kitty went off the juice (OTJ) so I didn't need them.....

Best of luck on your new journey!
 
Darlene & Jack said:
Do you need a prescription to buy the syringes at Wal Mart?

Depends on what state you live in. Some states require a prescriptionfor insulin syringes, others do not. Here's a list of which states do and do not: http://listserv.lehigh.edu/lists/diabetic/html/prescriptions.html You can also call your local pharmacy and ask.

If you buy from Hocks.com or other online pharmacy, you do not need a prescription.

3catHousehold said:
I think my next order of business is to find the U-100 syringes so we can give and measure more accurate fractional doses (I think I saw them on Amazon?). Would any syringes labeled U-100 work or are there variations like gauge that I should look for?


You want U100 insulin syringes that are 3/10 cc with half unit markings. Needle gauge and lenght and brand to use are just preference.

I've used the BD Ultrafine II ones: https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/_.../AAAAAAAABsw/B4gp2NpnA2k/s912/BD close up.jpg

And these Monoject ones but I don't remember if they had half unit markings or not: https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/_...AAAACKs/rXbJU1yurug/s720/Monoject 30 unit.jpg (Ignore the set up. I used the empty box for my then-gerbils' playbox :lol: )

And I've used these Monoject ones that do have half unit markings: http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com/product/monoject-ultra-comfort-insulin-syringes_1289_88.htm

3catHousehold said:
We're using the ProZinc insulin two times a day, twelve hours apart and are currently giving a dose of 1.5 units each time.

ProZinc is a U40 insulin. You can use U100 insulin syringes with ProZinc as long as you are converting the dose: http://felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm
 
Thank you for all of the responses about syringes and things to try and look out for with Sir Thomas. All of this food stuff is definitely more challenging with multiple cats. I haven't heard back from the vet yet from Friday and am growing frustrated by that. Did decide to lower his dose down from 1.5 to 1 unit BID starting last night and do extra glucose testing today and maybe Thursday to see where he's at. He's actually gotten to where the glucose tests bother him less than the insulin injections (though these don't bother him much either) -- we are doing the tests in his paw pads because he just wouldn't tolerate us messing with his ears.
 
Just a note...You can get the 31g 3/10cc 5/16" inch needles at Walmart as well. I switched from the 29g to the 31g when Bandit was having a weird skin reaction towards the end of his run on Lantus and I thought maybe thinner needles would help (Which is not something for any new people to be afraid of, his was the first time anyone here had heard of this happening.) They were $13, but I live in NY so I had to get a new script from my vet for them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top