Hello, I’m Sophie, and I’m new here! My cat Otto was diagnosed March 2025 when I noticed polyuria/polydipsia. Blood work and urine normal aside from glucose, no other known health conditions. He has had poor glucose control since then, typically ranging 350-450 before shots and 300-350 after his shot, but had significant improvement in weight, urination, etc. He’s now on 4 units of Lantus BID for about 2 weeks. Plan was to try this dose and if no improvement, do further testing. I noticed his personality and urination has REALLY improved, but numbers still weren’t great until today. Apologies don’t have spreadsheet yet.
He has vet appointment tomorrow so I was performing a glucose curve. AMPS was 390, +2 300, +4 211, +6 128, +8 101, +10 102. He’s due for his next shot in 2 hours. I will note he ate less today than usual, but his appetite varies and it does not seem out of his typical range.
I’ve given him shots just above 200 in the past (was on 3 units at the time) and he did ok, but honestly have NEVER seen his numbers this consistently low (if ever <200 it was for an hour and bounced back up). I’m guessing I skip shot tonight if pre shot number is still low, but I’m worried he will bounce up high since he’s done that with skipped shots in the past (example: he got a fur shot on accident yesterday and PMPS got to 560, wondering if that impacted today’s results?) Any advice would be helpful! Again, seeing vet tomorrow but wanted to keep him safe tonight.
He has vet appointment tomorrow so I was performing a glucose curve. AMPS was 390, +2 300, +4 211, +6 128, +8 101, +10 102. He’s due for his next shot in 2 hours. I will note he ate less today than usual, but his appetite varies and it does not seem out of his typical range.
I’ve given him shots just above 200 in the past (was on 3 units at the time) and he did ok, but honestly have NEVER seen his numbers this consistently low (if ever <200 it was for an hour and bounced back up). I’m guessing I skip shot tonight if pre shot number is still low, but I’m worried he will bounce up high since he’s done that with skipped shots in the past (example: he got a fur shot on accident yesterday and PMPS got to 560, wondering if that impacted today’s results?) Any advice would be helpful! Again, seeing vet tomorrow but wanted to keep him safe tonight.