New member - help needed re: shot tonight due 2 hours

Ottoman

New Member
Hello, I’m Sophie, and I’m new here! My cat Otto was diagnosed March 2025 when I noticed polyuria/polydipsia. Blood work and urine normal aside from glucose, no other known health conditions. He has had poor glucose control since then, typically ranging 350-450 before shots and 300-350 after his shot, but had significant improvement in weight, urination, etc. He’s now on 4 units of Lantus BID for about 2 weeks. Plan was to try this dose and if no improvement, do further testing. I noticed his personality and urination has REALLY improved, but numbers still weren’t great until today. Apologies don’t have spreadsheet yet.

He has vet appointment tomorrow so I was performing a glucose curve. AMPS was 390, +2 300, +4 211, +6 128, +8 101, +10 102. He’s due for his next shot in 2 hours. I will note he ate less today than usual, but his appetite varies and it does not seem out of his typical range.

I’ve given him shots just above 200 in the past (was on 3 units at the time) and he did ok, but honestly have NEVER seen his numbers this consistently low (if ever <200 it was for an hour and bounced back up). I’m guessing I skip shot tonight if pre shot number is still low, but I’m worried he will bounce up high since he’s done that with skipped shots in the past (example: he got a fur shot on accident yesterday and PMPS got to 560, wondering if that impacted today’s results?) Any advice would be helpful! Again, seeing vet tomorrow but wanted to keep him safe tonight.
 
Hello, I’m Sophie, and I’m new here! My cat Otto was diagnosed March 2025 when I noticed polyuria/polydipsia. Blood work and urine normal aside from glucose, no other known health conditions. He has had poor glucose control since then, typically ranging 350-450 before shots and 300-350 after his shot, but had significant improvement in weight, urination, etc. He’s now on 4 units of Lantus BID for about 2 weeks. Plan was to try this dose and if no improvement, do further testing. I noticed his personality and urination has REALLY improved, but numbers still weren’t great until today. Apologies don’t have spreadsheet yet.

He has vet appointment tomorrow so I was performing a glucose curve. AMPS was 390, +2 300, +4 211, +6 128, +8 101, +10 102. He’s due for his next shot in 2 hours. I will note he ate less today than usual, but his appetite varies and it does not seem out of his typical range.

I’ve given him shots just above 200 in the past (was on 3 units at the time) and he did ok, but honestly have NEVER seen his numbers this consistently low (if ever <200 it was for an hour and bounced back up). I’m guessing I skip shot tonight if pre shot number is still low, but I’m worried he will bounce up high since he’s done that with skipped shots in the past (example: he got a fur shot on accident yesterday and PMPS got to 560, wondering if that impacted today’s results?) Any advice would be helpful! Again, seeing vet tomorrow but wanted to keep him safe tonight.
@Christie & Maverick
 
Hello and welcome, Sophie :). There are a few things that would be very helpful to get started in order to help you better. Here is the information: Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

I’m glad you are able to test at home, that is very important in keeping your cat safe. If you can please create a spreadsheet. Experienced members will be unable to offer thoughts with regard to questions on dose without seeing a spreadsheet.

Some other questions for you, what are you feeding Otto and what is his typical feeding schedule?
 
Apologies, I thought I had added a signature but i did not save properly. He is on fancy feast classic pate. Blood sugar was 226 before shot, so I gave his typical dose. I will create a spreadsheet so it’s ready for any future questions. Thanks!
 
I knew I forgot something, that was one of my other questions…what meter are you using? ;)Thanks for updating your signature. Sending some good positive vetty vines for the visit tomorrow. Let us know how we can help after you get a chance to visit with your vet and give us an update.
 
Most members including myself use the human meter ReliOn Premier monitor and strips, you can purchase it at Walmart, the monitor is $19.99 and the strips are $9.00 for 50 and $17.88 for 100 is always good to have extra strips especially at the beginning of learning to test, I’ve been testing going on 4 years and sometimes I miss and use 2-3 strips in just one test, it happens, sometimes the strip is bad or put too much blood in another, you only need a tiny bit on the tip, also in a week or two the capillaries on the ear on “sweet spot” ( the outer part of the side of the ear) will swell and it will be much easier, if only a tiny bit of blood comes out, you can press on either side to bleed it out
 
Back
Top