New Member - Elmsley

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scott & Buster

Member Since 2022
Elmsley was diagnosed with diabetes 5/13/22, the same day he officially became one of my kitties. Before this, he was the neighborhood's cat, coming around many times per week to say hello and get a meal after his family moved without him 6 or 7 years ago. I noticed this year he was getting thinner and thinner while maintaining a very healthy appetite. I took him to the vet expecting a hyperT diagnosis and left with the diabetes diagnosis instead. His in-office glucose was 475 and he had glucose in his urine - he was started on 1.5 units of Prozinc twice daily; it was increased to 2 units twice daily on 5/22.

Elmsley is likely at least 10 years old and weighed 6.5 pounds at diagnosis. Other than the diabetes and poor body condition (you can see his hip bones sticking up), his labs were pretty good for a stray - though we won't know for sure if his kidneys are okay until we get his blood sugar under control and hopefully rebuild some muscle mass. He also had a moderate upper respiratory infection for which he got 2 rounds of Convenia and a week of kitty jail at home so he didn't spread it to our existing cat, Buster.

As far as diet, I did get talked into buying prescription food, however then I found this group and he's been eating classic Fancy Feast (Chicken, Beef, Turkey & Giblets, Liver & Beef), and whenever he needs a snack or breakthrough food until dinner, he gets a partial can of Tiki Cat After Dark chicken blends or baked chicken tenderloin chunks as treats, sometimes mixed in with some sodium free, no onion etc. chicken stock for a poor man's broth. I still have the Hills m/d, and he gets some from time to time, however I figured this would be a good moderate carb to have on hand (I also have a few cans of 9Lives on hand for high carb needs along with a brand new bottle of Karo). I've tried some of the Instinct dry food as day filler (it had fewer carbs and similar protein to the dry m/d), however I have stopped giving it partially because of this group (and not having to buy prescription food helps do this), but also because of how it leaves the glucose high for longer and I'm having enough trouble getting him where he needs to be without an unnecessary obstacle.

He's also still in MUST EAT NOW phase so nothing is left for later and he will eat until he vomits if you let him; his average day looks like 1.5oz between 7 & 730am, another 1.5oz around 8am, and another 1.5 oz around 10am. He gets 1/3 - 2/3 of a can of Tiki Cat or diced chicken tenderloin between 2 and 5 when he starts crying about being hungry, then the staggered feeding for dinner mirrors breakfast with the rest of the Tiki cat for his late night snack. Sometimes he gets more Fancy Feast depending on how urgent his hunger is. He is pulling in 300-400 calories per day.

Even though he is the sweetest cat, we have been on the struggle bus for the past month - some is Elmsley, most of it is me - and as a diabetic myself it is beyond frustrating that things are not going smoother:
  • Glucose Testing - I think this was the hardest thing to get a handle on, and I have help to hold him. I would have to hit his ear two, three (four) times to get it to bleed enough - even with warm rice, rubbing his ear, etc. On top of that, Elmsley is a wiggler - the longer it takes the more he wiggles around. I would get the test strip in place to get the sample and he'd jerk his head at the last second. I must have gone through half a container of strips due to partial samples being drawn up, either due to wiggling or due to not enough blood. What immensely helped was reading the sticky about testing for the 10th time and registering the note about starting out with the 28 gauge lancelets - I was using from my own supply and they are 31s. Now that he's got a brand new lancer with the 28s, its so much easier and faster to get the sample into the meter. We've also been allowing him to eat about a quarter can of Fancy Feast right before testing, which seems to help take the MUST EAT NOW edge off for him. Its only been 3 tests with the food and new lancer, but it is like night and day; hopefully that continues, but if anyone has any other suggestions I would appreciate hearing them.
  • Fur shots - I actually started out fairly well with his insulin injections, but I think I went down the information overload rabbit hole and ended up changing my technique for the worse to be parallel to the spine instead of a 45 degree angle. Sometimes back to back doses would be fur shots; its hard to look at that next test result and know its your fault. But I did correct the technique and got 14 doses in a row that I know weren't fur shots. When the fur shots were bad I considered shaving a patch in his scruff so I could "see", but that seems less urgent now. If anyone has other tips for avoiding fur shots I would appreciate hearing them.
  • Regulation - I cannot get his blood sugar into a reasonable range after almost a month. My gut tells me his dose needs to be increased again even with the cluster of fur shots, however I have been hesitant to bring this up with the vet because up until recently its been a crap shoot as to if he was even getting a proper injection. I've also read that getting the injection in his scruff isn't the best place for absorption, so this evening I tried to give his shot more on his side and broke my streak of no fur shots - though I quickly saw the moral of the story: regulate the cat, then worry about sites since the scruff seems to be working to actually give him his dose. Even with the missed dose tonight, and the probable higher glucose in the morning, I think a week of data with full dosing on board is enough to show the vet and ask for an increase in dose? Or should I wait longer for the numbers to come down?
  • Inappropriate Elimination - I expected this considering he's been outside for 7+ years, and of course he's peed outside the litter box here and there, but tonight was the first time he decided he was going to pee on a couch cushion. Everything until that was an easy cleanup or diversion - bath mats, rugs, towels, etc. We even tried to move a litter box out of the temporary location we placed it during kitty quarantine but he wasn't having it (peed twice on the floor where it used to be so it went back). The only saving grace is that he's drinking so much he's diluted his urine to the point where it barely smells right now. I understand that this will probably get better once his glucose regulates and he stops with the excess drinking, however does anyone have any tips on how to handle this and keep him out of kitty jail? Peed pads come to mind, however I have a feeling that he has been trained/encouraged by his original family/the neighbors when they took him in on cold or rainy days to use those in lieu of a litter box.

Thanks everyone for making it though this long intro, as well as for any tips.

Scott
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome Scott and Elmsley to the forum. He’s a very lucky boy to have you.
well done getting the spreadsheet up and running. Very helpful.
Areyou able to get any tests in during the cycles as that will tell us how low the dose is taking Elmsley. I would try to get one each cycle if you can.
It almost always takes longer than a month to get a cat regulated. Some cats are never regulated. Most cats take months so don’t get disheartened.
He will be hungry until his BGs are down to more normal levels because his body can’t absorb all the nutrients in the food at the moment. But now he is getting insulin, things will start to improve.
Has he been tested for a UTI which is very common in diabetic cats.
I won’t comment on the dose as I don’t use Prozinc.
Here is a diagram of places to give an injection.
upload_2022-6-6_16-38-19.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-6_16-38-19.jpeg
    upload_2022-6-6_16-38-19.jpeg
    52.3 KB · Views: 216
Bron and Sheba (GA), thanks for the quick reply.

I am more confident that I will be successful in getting more glucose tests done, so yes, I can try to test mid-ish cycle. My vet initially started me out on the mid-day only testing, and it took me a couple of days to realize I wouldn't inject my own insulin without testing first so I switched to PS.

Elmsley had 2 urinalyses last month, the vet didn't suspect a UTI and I didn't push for a culture like I would have with a CKD cat since the Leukocytes in the urine could be explained by inflammation from uncontrolled diabetes and the blood work could be explained by the URI he is mostly over (but still has sneezing fits sometimes), plus no casts, bacteria, etc. was found in the urine. Plus he got two doses of Convenia - if he did have a UTI hopefully it is sensitive to it, especially since even though he's an overall good boy, he is a stray and I have no idea how he would react to being pilled. I've learned the hard way while giving chicken chunks that he's got sharp little piranha teeth lol. :)

The side of chest location is where I tried to move to when I messed up my no fur shot streak. I think for now I will stay where I know I cannot miss and try a different spot when he has more room to miss a dose. I am also thinking ahead to wanting to get a Libre to do curves and I think with him the best placement would be scruff because I think he would try to pull it off if he could reach, so getting better with the other injection sites is on my radar. Speaking of the Libre, I think he maybe too thin right now for one - he's got next to no fat plus the muscle wasting; I've used the Libre myself in the past and I know the punch it packs on application. Am I wrong thinking he needs to gain some weight before trying one?

I understand we're waiting for someone with more Prozinc exposure to comment, but it sounds like I need to give it more time. I guess my own experience colored an expectation that the numbers would come down pretty quickly on a steady regimen.
 
Oh... and shocker this morning on his glucose test... it was "only" 400. I was expecting 600s again after last night's fur shot, but I guess filling him up on tiki cat over the second can of fancy feast last night helped with not skyrocketing his BGs. :D
 
hi Scott and Elmsley, welcome to the club. Elmsley sure is lucky to have you caring for him! What a handsome kitty.

Even my boy Hendrick who is super chill for the most part...WILL start to wriggle and squirm if I take too long to get the BG test done. So I can totally sympathize. I have sort of a mental clock running in my head and unfortunately that also makes me start to stress as that clock ticks on because I know that if I take too long we'll have to bag it and try again at a different time. I still give treats if we fail though.

Diane posted a lot of very helpful tips, getting that ear warmed up (I use a usb-c rechargeable hand warmer) is super super important and we NEVER succeeded until we used vaseline. And even still, today, six months of pokes later -- sometimes it takes two or three pokes. For some reason that ear just wont bleed sometimes! But for the most part it's one and done, he barely feels it.
 
Welcome! Believe it or not you've made most of our lives here much easier by doing so much of the legwork upfront. So props to you!

So, I would actually hold the dose until you can get about 5 days (or night's) worth of midcycle tests - specifically in the +4 to +7 range. That is the typical nadir on ProZinc, and we dose based on how low the dose takes him. For now, our target is for that number to be 90-120. If he goes below 90, reduce by 0.25U. If he approaches 50 or lower, you'll probably want a 0.5U reduction (I can help with this). We have dosing stickies, but until you get settled with testing and everything else they aren't important - just pay attention to reduction point. If you think he went below 90 at any point in the cycle, tag me and I'll take a look.

You can see the 2U is capable of dropping him 200 points in a cycle. The few lower 300s you've gotten and that 243 are a clue he's going low, just not sure how low. I don't think it is dangerously low at this point.

When they drop lower and/or faster than they're used to (the definition of this is incredibly cat-specific, it does not have to be anywhere near hypo level), their liver perceives it as a threat and dumps stored glycogen and counterregulatory hormones in order to spike BG back up. We call this a bounce (not to be confused with Somogyi). The bounce can last up to 6 cycles/3 days - so I suspect that's these very high numbers you're seeing the last few days (coupled with the skipped shot).

Like Bron said, it takes time. Average cat on ProZinc usually takes up to 3 months to regulate, but not all get there and end up switching to a depot insulin like Lantus. Until he's regulated, his appetite will be higher and he will have the PU/PD. Renal threshold, the point at which glucose spills into urine, is between 200-300 for most cats. The PU/PD seems to be tied to that number as well.

I would monitor ketones 2-3 times a week, DKA is serious risk for cats (as you know, humans as well, but cats are smaller and prognosis not as good). A lot of people here just use Ketostix on a fresh urine sample, but they do also make the blood ketone meters. Strips for those are a bit pricey.

As for Libre...not sure. I am not a huge fan because they almost never last the full 2 weeks. Cats manage to pull them off, even if you get a kitty kollar or shirt. Sometimes they just fizzle out. And in lower numbers, they tend to read artificially low. But for people struggling to test they can be a game changer.
 
If you don't mind me asking, what insulin do you personally use? I may be able to help you make some distinctions as to what you can expect to be different for you vs a cat, one insulin vs another.
 
So, I would actually hold the dose until you can get about 5 days (or night's) worth of midcycle tests - specifically in the +4 to +7 range. That is the typical nadir on ProZinc, and we dose based on how low the dose takes him. For now, our target is for that number to be 90-120. If he goes below 90, reduce by 0.25U. If he approaches 50 or lower, you'll probably want a 0.5U reduction (I can help with this). We have dosing stickies, but until you get settled with testing and everything else they aren't important - just pay attention to reduction point. If you think he went below 90 at any point in the cycle, tag me and I'll take a look.

I've got a few days of mid cycle data - a +4 at night, and +5 +6 +7 during the day. I'll aim for a +4 again tomorrow morning, I've been avoiding a morning +4 since he eats at +3, but I can withhold his +3 food until after the +4 reading. Honestly, I don't expect to see anything close to the reduction points you mentioned; based on the recent mid cycles I would suspect a bounce over going too low - I was a bit surprised to see the 245 at +4 last night. I am guessing he's been really high for a long time; I wonder if maybe I should give him the higher carb m/d food the next few days to help minimize that 200pt swing?

I would monitor ketones 2-3 times a week, DKA is serious risk for cats (as you know, humans as well, but cats are smaller and prognosis not as good). A lot of people here just use Ketostix on a fresh urine sample, but they do also make the blood ketone meters. Strips for those are a bit pricey.

He climbed up on my kitchen counter and peed last night... how inconvenient that he peed on the counter, but how convenient I could just drop a ketone strip in it... it was negative. :)

If you don't mind me asking, what insulin do you personally use? I may be able to help you make some distinctions as to what you can expect to be different for you vs a cat, one insulin vs another.

Lantus & Humalog. I was expecting it to be like Lantus where you start seeing good progress in pre-meal readings after a few days. I was just reading on the Prozinc site it can take 45 days to regulate some cats on it. Hopefully not - thats a long time for a living room to be covered in puppy pads and to be on counter diversion (though better than the 3 months the group has been seeing). :nailbiting:
 
And even still, today, six months of pokes later -- sometimes it takes two or three pokes. For some reason that ear just wont bleed sometimes! But for the most part it's one and done, he barely feels it.

I am happy to say that the 28s have helped immensely - the most times in a row I've had to poke is twice so far, and we're getting done in under a minute or so. Plus way less wasted test strips! The lancer also has "non-slip nubbies" on the end that leave indents on his ear, so know know where I actually poked as well.

I watched your Hendrick Pokey video - it looked like he had a spot shaved on his scruff - was that so you can see better for injections?
 
Go ahead and increase to 2.25U (realistically I think you could go 2.5U but erring on side of caution til more data over time).

So one of the things you can do is strategically feed the curve yes, but it doesn't necessarily have to be medium or high carb food. What's current feeding schedule? For cats on wet food, you usually start to see the BG effects in about 20-30 mins. What we don't know yet is when onset is, depending on how hard and fast that is, you may want to feed regular low carb half hour before that for example. That was still a relatively gentle curve so I would think LC would suffice.

Glad on the ketones! That's a first though :blackeye: I feel your pain - my cat was unregulated for over a year, and we eventually had to confine him to the laundry room. Felt terrible about it but we could not keep cleaning and replacing carpet, padding, etc. That's a long sordid story of bad vet advice and other underlying conditions. Hopefully yours will be quicker!

So Lantus is an interesting one in cats. It generally takes a little longer to regulate them actually, because it's more gentle. We say it is not good at bringing high numbers down, but rather keeping things flat. ProZinc is sort of an intermediate between your Lantus and Humalog.

At this point my suggestion is to follow our Modified ProZinc Method - so as long as you can one additional test in per cycle, with a fair amount of then falling around nadir, you can increase by 0.25-0.5U every 3-5 days to hopefully get him into better numbers more quickly. The specifics are laid out here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/

Once you start seeing those lower numbers you can always then choose to switch to the other method. I just hate to leave cats in high numbers on a dose for a full week.

Additionally - those midcycle tests don't need to be fasting. We just want to see the data on a normal day, with him eating however he normally eats. We just want the preshots fasting, so you have a consistent data point to base shoot/no shoot decisions on when you get lower numbers.
 
Thanks @FrostD, I'll check out the modified prozinc method.

His feeding schedule is somewhat spread out since he'll eat everything immediately. He eats breakfast (1.5-2 cans Fancy Feast) between 7-10am, generally gets about a half can of tiki cat or diced chicken tenders around 1 or 2pm, then dinner (1.5-2 cans FF) between 7-9pm. That time from around 1pm-dinner is generally when he is bouncing off the walls hungry - on the counter, in the cabinets, rummaging on the cat food shelf, digging in the recycle, etc. Maybe he needs an actual meal instead of just some tiki cat in the afternoon to help tide him over. This is a good representation of my house daily: Kid cooking with grandma. - YouTube

How many hours should they be fasting before a preshot reading?
 
How many hours should they be fasting before a preshot reading?

2 hours. So for example in our house we shoot at 630am and pm, so one of the Google home units speaks up at 4pm and says "About to enter the No food zone for Hendrick" which reminds us to make sure theres no food in his Surefeed RFID chip feeder

I watched your Hendrick Pokey video - it looked like he had a spot shaved on his scruff - was that so you can see better for injections?


no that was from when he was hospitalized for DKA and they put a Libre on him. It did make it easier to learn how to shoot the insulin though, thats for sure
 
How are things going Scott and Elmsley?
Sorry for the delay in responding. Things are going ok. I partnered with my vet and she agreed that the insulin dose needed increased, and she was mostly onboard with the recommendations and methods. Yes to 2.25 then bump to 2.5 if needed, however hold for 7 days and don't increase without guidance if nadirs below 170. I am good with the longer hold and I actually wanted the higher nadir values - once we get there we can cross that bridge.

We started 2.25 units on 6/9 (and true to form, I promptly fur shot on 6/11 :banghead:). His PS readings have come down a bit, and his nadirs are down 50-100ish points though still above target. For the most part the naidrs are pre-lunch or after a half can of Tiki Cat snack time. I've also made the switch to allowing him to have an additional can of Fancy Feast for lunch instead of just Tiki Cat (for those following along at home that brings us to 4-6 cans of FF daily), so that may account for the higher PS values the last few cycles. He's happier with it, and his pre-dinner hunger has definitely calmed (he would literally bounce off the walls hungry during his 2 hr fasting period PS) - so its worth the few points trade off to me since he's headed for an increased insulin dose anyway. Also hoping regulation calms his appetite soon - 360-540 calories daily in the form of FF (plus a can of tiki and tenderloin chicken as treats) is stretching the budget.

We're still in pee pad city, and he's lucky there's not much carpet in the house - and that he's fairly regular on where he's going to pee - or he'd be in kitty jail again. Although an expense to switch out pads, it's given a bit of a sign that his body is happier with his insulin dose - his urine is starting to get that normal smell back, though nowhere near what a healthy cat's would smell like. And I may be crazy and reading too much into it... however I think there is a pattern to his peeing outside the litterbox. The vast majority of the urine ends up in the litterbox, however I've noticed that when food is delayed, or he's not satisfied with what he's been given (still having to ration portions) - generally HUNGRY - is when he pees outside the box. It makes me wonder if he picked up this behavior being the neighborhood cat - he's friendly enough that people would take him in for small stretches, and I wonder if he's learned that if he pees outside the litterbox he gets sent back outside where he can go to someone else's house and see if they will feed him too.

Getting back to the insulin - I think even though he missed a dose of insulin on 6/11 I will move to the 2.5 units tomorrow - his PS values that night and the next day didn't seem too impacted by the missed dose - does anyone think I need to wait a day?
 
I’ll ask @FrostD about the increase as I don’t use Prozinc.
Don’t forget that the pm cycle BGs are just as important as the am ones. And many cats drop lower at night, so try and get at least one test on every night. Even a before bed test is good.
 
Yes I would go ahead and increase to 2.5U but please be sure.to get a few nighttime tests each week as well
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top