Marianne Lima
Member Since 2022
Good evening!
First of all, thanks for all the help you’ve been providing on this forum.
I am a member since November last year, but this is my first thread here. I’ve been fighting with Samuka’s diabetes for almost 1 year (diagnosed on July 2022). We are currently at 4.5 units of Lantus, and we are getting readings between 15 to 19 (AlphaTrak 2). Last night we just measured his BG and he got a 9.5mmol/L, which the vet told me to skip the insulin shot (and after reading some threads from the forum, I think it would be wiser to give him a token shot instead). This morning we measured 21.1 (no surprise at all).
He is currently eating Fancy Feast classics 2x per day (pre-shot meals), and during the day we give to him dry freeze chicken. Sometimes he manages to eat a tiny bit of his brother's dry food (Blue Wilderness Indoor kibbles) before we noted, but I do the best to remove the other kitty's food before Samuka steal from him (other kitty is called Tobias, no diabetes). He is a big boy (8.1kg), and I am also giving him 1 capsule of pure Metamucil (which I believe it started helping to keep lower than 21 mmol/L BG).
The vet wants me to pay for an Internal Medicine vet appointment, since they don't know what to do anymore. I truly believe that we can control his diabetes by dosage control, since he got some pretty good results a few months after he started on insulin - after that, the vet recommended to give him only one shot of Lantus by middle of day, instead of two. It definitely didn't work, and since that, it has been pretty hard to have his BG lower than 10 mmol/L.
I've added all of Samuka's BG results through his almost 1 year insulin treatment on his spreadsheet, and it would be great to have some thoughts of things that I can do to try to control it. The vet takes forever to respond to our BG curves, if we need to increase/decrease the dosage, and I saw some of the spreadsheets here that some of the members are managing the dosage daily (reducing/increasing .25; .5' 1 unit) as per BG results. I think this would be wise to try, but it would be great to have some thoughts about it. Samuka never had a hypoglycemic experience.
Thank you all for your help, and I am eager to help
First of all, thanks for all the help you’ve been providing on this forum.
I am a member since November last year, but this is my first thread here. I’ve been fighting with Samuka’s diabetes for almost 1 year (diagnosed on July 2022). We are currently at 4.5 units of Lantus, and we are getting readings between 15 to 19 (AlphaTrak 2). Last night we just measured his BG and he got a 9.5mmol/L, which the vet told me to skip the insulin shot (and after reading some threads from the forum, I think it would be wiser to give him a token shot instead). This morning we measured 21.1 (no surprise at all).
He is currently eating Fancy Feast classics 2x per day (pre-shot meals), and during the day we give to him dry freeze chicken. Sometimes he manages to eat a tiny bit of his brother's dry food (Blue Wilderness Indoor kibbles) before we noted, but I do the best to remove the other kitty's food before Samuka steal from him (other kitty is called Tobias, no diabetes). He is a big boy (8.1kg), and I am also giving him 1 capsule of pure Metamucil (which I believe it started helping to keep lower than 21 mmol/L BG).
The vet wants me to pay for an Internal Medicine vet appointment, since they don't know what to do anymore. I truly believe that we can control his diabetes by dosage control, since he got some pretty good results a few months after he started on insulin - after that, the vet recommended to give him only one shot of Lantus by middle of day, instead of two. It definitely didn't work, and since that, it has been pretty hard to have his BG lower than 10 mmol/L.
I've added all of Samuka's BG results through his almost 1 year insulin treatment on his spreadsheet, and it would be great to have some thoughts of things that I can do to try to control it. The vet takes forever to respond to our BG curves, if we need to increase/decrease the dosage, and I saw some of the spreadsheets here that some of the members are managing the dosage daily (reducing/increasing .25; .5' 1 unit) as per BG results. I think this would be wise to try, but it would be great to have some thoughts about it. Samuka never had a hypoglycemic experience.
Thank you all for your help, and I am eager to help

O Ale é de Alessandra