New member - Daniel and Ares

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daniel&Ares

Member Since 2024
Hi Everyone! My name is Daniel and I have a sweet 12 years old boy called Ares who was diagnosed with diabetes in June 2024. Ours is a cautionary tale, so buckle up, here it goes:

This next paragraph attempts to summarise Ares' medical history in a slightly tongue-in-cheek fashion, reading it is OPTIONAL as I will summarise the important parts after the TL;DR.
I've been asking for dental cleanings from our vet for 2-3 years as the mighty Ares was approaching the age of 10. I knew from our previous vet, that above 5-6, regular dentals are a good idea. Unfortunately, we had to leave this vet and switch to a new one after we moved because he didn't do house calls to the new area we moved to and back then, it was very difficult to take Ares to the vet. He is a big, strong boy, weighing ~9kg (not anymore) who had none of it and of course we didn't want to stress him, so we looked for a new vet who was willing to do house calls in our area. Big mistake! NEVER leave a vet if you are satisfied, no matter what. You will soon see why. Anyways, so we switched to a new vet and Ares was healthy, and as his name suggests, mighty cat. I asked for dentals many times, the vet always denied. He said that his teeth are alright. Probably that's the reason why he lost one of his upper canines 1-1.5 years ago. Again, I asked for a dental cleaning, and again: denied. No need to worry, his teeth are healthy enough and he was buffled why Ares lost his canine (completely, as in, it was not broken, it fell clean out). Fast-forward to April 2024. I wanted a complete blood panel and a dental procedure as I told the vet that the dentals are long overdue and also, I would like some lab results as Ares is now old and I believe in the power of prevention. The vet agreed to both after he briefly checked Ares' teeth. After the dentals, the vet casually informed us that his other upper canine had to be extracted as puss formed underneath it (not sure if it was an abscess). Other than that, the cat is very healthy. Then the lab results came back (which I will upload). What was immediately apparent: low white blood cell counts all over. I asked the vet what could cause this and when should we do more testing and check-ups to determine the cause. He said no need for that, he most likely has feline-AIDS/FIV, or bone-marrow disease, or leukemia. Whichever it is, not much can be done apart from taking immune supplements to improve his immune system. No need to bother the cat with more lab tests. Also, in the lab results Ares' fructosamine was already in the ~400 range if memory serves me right and his BG was 10 mmol/l. The vet said that this is not serious, pay no attention to it. After a couple of months, at the end of May / beginning of June Ares suddenly developed a ravenous appetite which we tried to satisfy, especially because he started to lose weight and drink a lot. The vet called for another blood test. Fructosamine was in the 700-800s, BG was above 23 mmol/l. "Ares has severe diabetes." - said the vet in a surprised tone (as if there wasn't any indication at all in Ares' previous blood panel...). Next day, the vet popped over to our house and with him brought aid in the form of a little vial, that said "Caninsuline" on the label. "How much insulin do you give your cat again?" - asked the vet from his mysterious friend over the phone as he entered into Ares' (and my) domain, while shaking my hand. "10 units!" It has been decided! 10 units of caninsulin it is, that will be the starting dose of Ares, the now 8.5 kg, 12 years old mighty cat who was freshly diagnosed with diabetes with a recent history of dental problems and low white blood cell count! Tremendous! "When should we go back for testing?" - I inquired. "If you really want to, you can bring him over next week and we can check his BG levels as we can't do it here on a house call." I was flabbergasted. Although I was quite uneducated on the topic back then, so I had no idea that 10u of caninsulin is a great big starting dose, I still suspected that something is off. No mention of home testing? Wants me to take Ares for a drop of blood and all of a sudden stopped doing house calls? I'm afraid this is goodbye. Back we went to our old vet the very next week.
So yeah, thinking that any vet will suffice since you will make sure that there will be regular health check ups for your cat and that will make sure you and a vet will be able to prevent the problems before they arise, so it is perfectly okay to leave your old (and good!) vet, so your cat can still have house calls? Well think again! Never leave a good vet. EVER. I learnt this the hard way as I'm more than sure that Ares would be in a much better condition and health, had we not leave our good old trusty vet for house calls. Which didn't matter in the end because we have to do regular vet visits now.

TL;DR: Never leave a good vet. Ares lost an upper canine 1-1.5 years ago. I asked for a routine blood check and dentals this April. His other upper canine needed to be extracted as puss was forming underneath it. His lab results came back, turns out he has low white blood cell counts. At this point his fructosamine and BG was elevated, vet said it's not serious. Few months later in June we had to do another blood test, since he developed a ravenous appetite and started drinking a lot, was lethargic. Results came back: fructosamine through the roof, BG is 23 mmol/l. Lo and behold, Ares has diabetes. Vet prescribed 10u of caninsulin, didn't mention home testing. I asked about when we should check his BG again and he said that if we want to, we can bring him to the office next week. After this I went back to our old vet. This is June 2024.

So, what happened between June and now? We couldn't test Ares' BG at home, turns out he is untestable, so started using a Freestyle Libre. Our new old vet switched him to 2u of Lantus at the end of July / beginning of August. As of November 2024, Ares is still unregulated, hence I registered here after lingering in the shadows, reading a lot and arriving at a conclusion that although we love our current vet to bits and know that he is very competent (probably among the most competent ones in the country where I'm located) but surprise-surprise: he might not have the most experience with FD. Why do I say this? Although the 10u of caninsulin prescribed by the other vet without regular testing was a very irresponsible move, suddenly putting Ares on 2u of Lantus based on three blood glucose tests (each a week apart), was also not well thought out in my humble opinion (although we weren't able to test him at home back then). But I didn't know any better. Another red(orange?) flag was that the vet started raising doses in 0.5 units / day by raising the AM dose first, then later the PM dose, then the AM dose again, so long and so forth. We still didn't have enough data to back this "protocol" up but at least we now had some tests done, thanks to Freestyle Libre. However, at this point the device only remained on Ares for a day or two max. Later, as you can see it from the spreadsheet, I was able to apply the devices to stay on for the whole 14 day duration. Anyways, so when we reached 4u/4u with Lantus, the vet wanted to do an IGF-1 and test for acromegaly. Which is a good point but I feel like (based on what I read here) it was premature. Results came back, Ares indeed had elevated IGF-1 but not above the acromegaly threshold (I intend to complete the spreadsheet with all his lab results btw). Regardless, the vet wanted to make sure with an MRI. At this point, I was getting a bit impatient and didn't really agree with his approach. I felt like that probably, we should much rather concentrate on Ares' teeth. Instead of putting him under anesthesia for an MRI, we should be putting him under anesthesia for dental clean ups / teeth extraction. Anyways, I didn't want to confront with our vet, so I went with the MRI. It came back negative. After that I asked that shouldn't we do the dentals? Or maybe give him antibiotics in case he might have an infection that is causing insulin resistance? The vet said that he would like to regulate the cat first and doesn't want to put him under anesthesia again so soon. Regarding the latter, I agreed. But the former? I didn't want to point it out that he might not be regulated like ever, if indeed his teeth are the problem. Catch-22. The vet told me that he is sure Ares doesn't have any abscesses as he would be in severe pain and would probably wouldn't have a good appetite. At this point, I was convinced that he might be right. Anyways, whatever is going on we agreed that he cannot be put under anesthesia so soon, so in the mean time we might as well just raise the dose more aggressively, so we did. We are at 8.5u of Lantus at the moment and the vet is thinking about switching to Levemir. I kind of support this but at this point, looking at the data, am utterly clueless (and unfortunately, it seems like that my vet is too), thus I decided to register and ask for help: Is Ares underdosed? Or maybe the opposite: could it be that he is overdosed? His teeth are in a bad condition, there is a slight inflammation of the gums but he has good appetite (albeit he drops the food sometimes), also, he has a bit more drooling and sometimes there is a slight discolouration (blood even) but probably no abscesses. If this is the case, could this cause such heavy insulin resistance and thus we should really start planning for a safe dental cleaning? Should we switch to Levemir at this point as he's been on Lantus since July/August? I wouldn't say to no avail, because although his BGs are high, he stopped losing weight (stopped at 6.5-7kg, was 8.5-9kg originally, he is a BIG cat but was indeed overweight), he has appetite but not a ravenous one like before, his coat has improved (shiny, soft and silky smooth again) and his activity is improved as well (going up and down the stairs again, patrolling in the garden, hunting for mice). As mentioned earlier, I kind of support the idea of a switch to Levemir to see how he reacts. In the meantime, I would like to ask for an IAA and a test for ketones in the blood and also planning to ask for a second opinion: the lab where they did Ares' MRI had a vet who is specialised in cat endocrinology and at a glance seemed to be more well informed regarding FD than our vet.
Some additional info: I entered the maximum values from the Freestyle Libre into the spreadsheet, except when there was a nadir, I entered the minimum in those cases as well (so cells with two values usually contain the nadir but sometimes if I felt that the difference between the min and max was so big, I entered both). The spreadsheet is almost complete but I will do some refinements, I will have to update the dosing information in the earlier phases (if I can recall them). I will also complete the lab results.
Also, as I mentioned, Ares has access to the garden (but he can't leave it and other cats can't enter anymore either as I closed the whole place off) and that's where he is doing his number 1 and 2 business so I can't really test for ketones with urine strips and can't prick his ears (hence the Libre).
Help would be very much appreciated and thank you so much for bearing with me, sorry for making the post so long!
 
Hello and welcome to you and super sweet Ares.
Anyways, so when we reached 4u/4u with Lantus, the vet wanted to do an IGF-1 and test for acromegaly. Which is a good point but I feel like (based on what I read here) it was premature. Results came back, Ares indeed had elevated IGF-1 but not above the acromegaly threshold (I intend to complete the spreadsheet with all his lab results btw)
Can you tell me what the IGF-1 level was? MSU recently changed their reference levels. The test is not premature if there are other signs beside dose saying it might be a possibility. Can you tell me the date he started insulin and the date of the IGF-1 test? There can be false negatives if tested too soon. Sometimes either CT scan or MRI will not show tumour. The current dose of 8.5 units is a flag. There are other conditions that can require a larger dose such as IAA (insulin auto antibodies) and Cushings. My girl had both acro and IAA.

For the spreadsheet, the U column is where the dose goes.

Ask your vet if they would refer you to a dental specialist. They are more comfy giving dentals to complicated cats, though Neko's GP vet gave her first when she was unregulated. That vet was also more experienced with dog diabetes and we started on Caninsulin but she was willing to learn with me.

What country are you in? So I can refer proper brands to you. Also, Levemir is being discontinued is some places. Lantus can sting cats at higher doses, which is why some switch, and why I did.

Ketones testing you can do at home, and should regularly. Tips to catch and test a urine sample You might want to make sure he stays in at night, and provide a little box for it. If you know when he pees regularly, put him in a room with a litter box at that time. We had one member who knew should could put kitty in a room after a meal to get a sample.

Can you explain why you can't blood test him? We've had people learn to home test fractious cats. We might have tips for you. It helps if kitty is food motivated.
 
Hi Everyone! My name is Daniel and I have a sweet 12 years old boy called Ares who was diagnosed with diabetes in June 2024. Ours is a cautionary tale, so buckle up, here it goes:

This next paragraph attempts to summarise Ares' medical history in a slightly tongue-in-cheek fashion, reading it is OPTIONAL as I will summarise the important parts after the TL;DR.
I've been asking for dental cleanings from our vet for 2-3 years as the mighty Ares was approaching the age of 10. I knew from our previous vet, that above 5-6, regular dentals are a good idea. Unfortunately, we had to leave this vet and switch to a new one after we moved because he didn't do house calls to the new area we moved to and back then, it was very difficult to take Ares to the vet. He is a big, strong boy, weighing ~9kg (not anymore) who had none of it and of course we didn't want to stress him, so we looked for a new vet who was willing to do house calls in our area. Big mistake! NEVER leave a vet if you are satisfied, no matter what. You will soon see why. Anyways, so we switched to a new vet and Ares was healthy, and as his name suggests, mighty cat. I asked for dentals many times, the vet always denied. He said that his teeth are alright. Probably that's the reason why he lost one of his upper canines 1-1.5 years ago. Again, I asked for a dental cleaning, and again: denied. No need to worry, his teeth are healthy enough and he was buffled why Ares lost his canine (completely, as in, it was not broken, it fell clean out). Fast-forward to April 2024. I wanted a complete blood panel and a dental procedure as I told the vet that the dentals are long overdue and also, I would like some lab results as Ares is now old and I believe in the power of prevention. The vet agreed to both after he briefly checked Ares' teeth. After the dentals, the vet casually informed us that his other upper canine had to be extracted as puss formed underneath it (not sure if it was an abscess). Other than that, the cat is very healthy. Then the lab results came back (which I will upload). What was immediately apparent: low white blood cell counts all over. I asked the vet what could cause this and when should we do more testing and check-ups to determine the cause. He said no need for that, he most likely has feline-AIDS/FIV, or bone-marrow disease, or leukemia. Whichever it is, not much can be done apart from taking immune supplements to improve his immune system. No need to bother the cat with more lab tests. Also, in the lab results Ares' fructosamine was already in the ~400 range if memory serves me right and his BG was 10 mmol/l. The vet said that this is not serious, pay no attention to it. After a couple of months, at the end of May / beginning of June Ares suddenly developed a ravenous appetite which we tried to satisfy, especially because he started to lose weight and drink a lot. The vet called for another blood test. Fructosamine was in the 700-800s, BG was above 23 mmol/l. "Ares has severe diabetes." - said the vet in a surprised tone (as if there wasn't any indication at all in Ares' previous blood panel...). Next day, the vet popped over to our house and with him brought aid in the form of a little vial, that said "Caninsuline" on the label. "How much insulin do you give your cat again?" - asked the vet from his mysterious friend over the phone as he entered into Ares' (and my) domain, while shaking my hand. "10 units!" It has been decided! 10 units of caninsulin it is, that will be the starting dose of Ares, the now 8.5 kg, 12 years old mighty cat who was freshly diagnosed with diabetes with a recent history of dental problems and low white blood cell count! Tremendous! "When should we go back for testing?" - I inquired. "If you really want to, you can bring him over next week and we can check his BG levels as we can't do it here on a house call." I was flabbergasted. Although I was quite uneducated on the topic back then, so I had no idea that 10u of caninsulin is a great big starting dose, I still suspected that something is off. No mention of home testing? Wants me to take Ares for a drop of blood and all of a sudden stopped doing house calls? I'm afraid this is goodbye. Back we went to our old vet the very next week.
So yeah, thinking that any vet will suffice since you will make sure that there will be regular health check ups for your cat and that will make sure you and a vet will be able to prevent the problems before they arise, so it is perfectly okay to leave your old (and good!) vet, so your cat can still have house calls? Well think again! Never leave a good vet. EVER. I learnt this the hard way as I'm more than sure that Ares would be in a much better condition and health, had we not leave our good old trusty vet for house calls. Which didn't matter in the end because we have to do regular vet visits now.

TL;DR: Never leave a good vet. Ares lost an upper canine 1-1.5 years ago. I asked for a routine blood check and dentals this April. His other upper canine needed to be extracted as puss was forming underneath it. His lab results came back, turns out he has low white blood cell counts. At this point his fructosamine and BG was elevated, vet said it's not serious. Few months later in June we had to do another blood test, since he developed a ravenous appetite and started drinking a lot, was lethargic. Results came back: fructosamine through the roof, BG is 23 mmol/l. Lo and behold, Ares has diabetes. Vet prescribed 10u of caninsulin, didn't mention home testing. I asked about when we should check his BG again and he said that if we want to, we can bring him to the office next week. After this I went back to our old vet. This is June 2024.

So, what happened between June and now? We couldn't test Ares' BG at home, turns out he is untestable, so started using a Freestyle Libre. Our new old vet switched him to 2u of Lantus at the end of July / beginning of August. As of November 2024, Ares is still unregulated, hence I registered here after lingering in the shadows, reading a lot and arriving at a conclusion that although we love our current vet to bits and know that he is very competent (probably among the most competent ones in the country where I'm located) but surprise-surprise: he might not have the most experience with FD. Why do I say this? Although the 10u of caninsulin prescribed by the other vet without regular testing was a very irresponsible move, suddenly putting Ares on 2u of Lantus based on three blood glucose tests (each a week apart), was also not well thought out in my humble opinion (although we weren't able to test him at home back then). But I didn't know any better. Another red(orange?) flag was that the vet started raising doses in 0.5 units / day by raising the AM dose first, then later the PM dose, then the AM dose again, so long and so forth. We still didn't have enough data to back this "protocol" up but at least we now had some tests done, thanks to Freestyle Libre. However, at this point the device only remained on Ares for a day or two max. Later, as you can see it from the spreadsheet, I was able to apply the devices to stay on for the whole 14 day duration. Anyways, so when we reached 4u/4u with Lantus, the vet wanted to do an IGF-1 and test for acromegaly. Which is a good point but I feel like (based on what I read here) it was premature. Results came back, Ares indeed had elevated IGF-1 but not above the acromegaly threshold (I intend to complete the spreadsheet with all his lab results btw). Regardless, the vet wanted to make sure with an MRI. At this point, I was getting a bit impatient and didn't really agree with his approach. I felt like that probably, we should much rather concentrate on Ares' teeth. Instead of putting him under anesthesia for an MRI, we should be putting him under anesthesia for dental clean ups / teeth extraction. Anyways, I didn't want to confront with our vet, so I went with the MRI. It came back negative. After that I asked that shouldn't we do the dentals? Or maybe give him antibiotics in case he might have an infection that is causing insulin resistance? The vet said that he would like to regulate the cat first and doesn't want to put him under anesthesia again so soon. Regarding the latter, I agreed. But the former? I didn't want to point it out that he might not be regulated like ever, if indeed his teeth are the problem. Catch-22. The vet told me that he is sure Ares doesn't have any abscesses as he would be in severe pain and would probably wouldn't have a good appetite. At this point, I was convinced that he might be right. Anyways, whatever is going on we agreed that he cannot be put under anesthesia so soon, so in the mean time we might as well just raise the dose more aggressively, so we did. We are at 8.5u of Lantus at the moment and the vet is thinking about switching to Levemir. I kind of support this but at this point, looking at the data, am utterly clueless (and unfortunately, it seems like that my vet is too), thus I decided to register and ask for help: Is Ares underdosed? Or maybe the opposite: could it be that he is overdosed? His teeth are in a bad condition, there is a slight inflammation of the gums but he has good appetite (albeit he drops the food sometimes), also, he has a bit more drooling and sometimes there is a slight discolouration (blood even) but probably no abscesses. If this is the case, could this cause such heavy insulin resistance and thus we should really start planning for a safe dental cleaning? Should we switch to Levemir at this point as he's been on Lantus since July/August? I wouldn't say to no avail, because although his BGs are high, he stopped losing weight (stopped at 6.5-7kg, was 8.5-9kg originally, he is a BIG cat but was indeed overweight), he has appetite but not a ravenous one like before, his coat has improved (shiny, soft and silky smooth again) and his activity is improved as well (going up and down the stairs again, patrolling in the garden, hunting for mice). As mentioned earlier, I kind of support the idea of a switch to Levemir to see how he reacts. In the meantime, I would like to ask for an IAA and a test for ketones in the blood and also planning to ask for a second opinion: the lab where they did Ares' MRI had a vet who is specialised in cat endocrinology and at a glance seemed to be more well informed regarding FD than our vet.
Some additional info: I entered the maximum values from the Freestyle Libre into the spreadsheet, except when there was a nadir, I entered the minimum in those cases as well (so cells with two values usually contain the nadir but sometimes if I felt that the difference between the min and max was so big, I entered both). The spreadsheet is almost complete but I will do some refinements, I will have to update the dosing information in the earlier phases (if I can recall them). I will also complete the lab results.
Also, as I mentioned, Ares has access to the garden (but he can't leave it and other cats can't enter anymore either as I closed the whole place off) and that's where he is doing his number 1 and 2 business so I can't really test for ketones with urine strips and can't prick his ears (hence the Libre).
Help would be very much appreciated and thank you so much for bearing with me, sorry for making the post so long!
Welcome Daniel and Ares, you are in the right place, after reading all you have gone thru, it is good you have reached out to us, it is unfortunate that many Vets as good as they are they are not familiar with Feline Diabetes, example, the insulin Ares was introduced to at first is an insulin for dogs, Vets, that are not familiar they treat FD as they do a dog, and complications arrive, for us to help it is important to know just a bit more about Ares, what are you feeding, are you home testing, etc, we need you to create your signature and a spreadsheet, so we can help you. It is very important that diabetic cats have a diet of low wet cat food between 0-10%, dry food and snacks(kibbles) contain between 25-35% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, so the pancreas do not have a chance to heal ,you should create what is called a HYPO KIT which contain, KARO Syrup or Honey, some High Carb foods between 11-15% and some High Carbs between 16-24%, in case his Bg gets 50 or lower, below there are several links to get you started I will also tag a Lantus Expert to help you with dosing, home testing is very important, it is unfortunately the Libre has many downfalls, as you experienced, they tend to fall off, or the sensor stops working before the 14 days, also the monitor only read up to 365 BF after that you will only see a HI, and in the low BG it is extremely inaccurate sometimes up top 10-25 points, most of us members use the human monitor ReliOn Premier and strips, it is inexpensive and very accurate, or any human monitor. Ask away, no concern is ever small:bighug::cat::cat:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...DMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
Hello and welcome to you and super sweet Ares.

Can you tell me what the IGF-1 level was? MSU recently changed their reference levels. The test is not premature if there are other signs beside dose saying it might be a possibility. Can you tell me the date he started insulin and the date of the IGF-1 test? There can be false negatives if tested too soon. Sometimes either CT scan or MRI will not show tumour. The current dose of 8.5 units is a flag. There are other conditions that can require a larger dose such as IAA (insulin auto antibodies) and Cushings. My girl had both acro and IAA.

Hi Wendy and Neko! Thank you for your reply. So, Ares' IGF-1 is 504 ng/ml. I saw that people here reference >1000 ng/ml years back, I guess those were the old thresholds. On his results, it states that acro is > 598 ng/ml.
I was at the vet's today and asked him for an IAA test, fortunately he said that there are some labs here who test for that and found it a good idea, so taking Ares for a blood test on Thursday.

For the spreadsheet, the U column is where the dose goes.
I know, I filled those in already. Except for the old ones, I have to figure them out (if I can). He was on 2u/2u, 2u/3u, 3u/3u, 3u/4u and 4u/4u for quite long between the end of July and mid-October.

Ask your vet if they would refer you to a dental specialist. They are more comfy giving dentals to complicated cats, though Neko's GP vet gave her first when she was unregulated. That vet was also more experienced with dog diabetes and we started on Caninsulin but she was willing to learn with me.
Sounds good, I will do that, although they always seemed comfortable with dentals. It sounded more like that he has a strong opinion against dental procedures while BG is high. Which I can understand but if that's why the BG is high, than it's a catch-22.

What country are you in? So I can refer proper brands to you. Also, Levemir is being discontinued is some places. Lantus can sting cats at higher doses, which is why some switch, and why I did.
I'm in Hungary. Vet told me today that he can get us Levemir. However, after seeing the most recent data, especially between 29-31 October and the last couple of days (although BG was high, but it was flat in the 20-23 mmol region, which sure seemed like a slight improvement), the vet thinks we might not need to switch. Regardless, I was thinking about switching anyways due to the high dose and what you say: Lantus stings. Although Ares' doesn't seem to mind. He is more angry at the fact that we are "doing something" to him. So we might just stay on Lantus for now, especially after seeing the data after two days of 8.5u: his BG is constantly below 20 mmol and in the range of 15-18 mmol. And it's getting nice and flat, so it seems like that we are indeed approaching a dose that works for Ares for now. I'll update his spreadsheet tomorrow.

Ketones testing you can do at home, and should regularly. Tips to catch and test a urine sample You might want to make sure he stays in at night, and provide a little box for it. If you know when he pees regularly, put him in a room with a litter box at that time. We had one member who knew should could put kitty in a room after a meal to get a sample.

Can you explain why you can't blood test him? We've had people learn to home test fractious cats. We might have tips for you. It helps if kitty is food motivated.

We tried, for weeks. Every day. On the rare occasion we could drew some blood from his ears, it wasn't enough. Tried to massage and warm up his ears prior to pricking it, tried vaseline, everything. It was much easier to get a Freestyle Libre and apply it. And he is not bothered by it anymore, he graciously accepted the fact that we attach a sensor to him for 14 days. Actually, even the vet had a difficult time getting blood from his ears. Cutting it with a lancet, pricking between the outer edge and the vein etc. It hardly ever works. No can do. Once, at the vets they warmed up his ears and needed to cut it three times to draw some blood. So it's not just the fact that he doesn't tolerate it at all, it is also very difficult to make his ears bleed (again, he is called Ares for a reason haha). Tried pricking the paw pads as well: no bleeding at all.
Fortunately, the Libre 1 seems accurate enough. Couple of times when we were at the vet and had a sensor on and they were taking his blood for lab tests, we used a drop from the vials to test and compare it with the Libre readings and they were accurate. I know that there could be a lag but still, this is much better than nothing. Oh and he is not really food motivated. Initially, when he had those periods when he tried to fight the insulin injections (he still occasionally have those), beating me up and bullying me to death, I tried to inject him while he was eating. Nope.
Regardless, any tips are welcome. As for the urine samples for ketone testing, I think I'll have to figure out a way to get urine samples from the garden. Fortunately, he has his special places where he takes a pee, so I might be able to prepare those places in a way that when he takes a pee, I can go and collect.
 
Welcome Daniel and Ares, you are in the right place, after reading all you have gone thru, it is good you have reached out to us, it is unfortunate that many Vets as good as they are they are not familiar with Feline Diabetes, example, the insulin Ares was introduced to at first is an insulin for dogs, Vets, that are not familiar they treat FD as they do a dog, and complications arrive, for us to help it is important to know just a bit more about Ares, what are you feeding, are you home testing, etc, we need you to create your signature and a spreadsheet, so we can help you. It is very important that diabetic cats have a diet of low wet cat food between 0-10%, dry food and snacks(kibbles) contain between 25-35% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, so the pancreas do not have a chance to heal ,you should create what is called a HYPO KIT which contain, KARO Syrup or Honey, some High Carb foods between 11-15% and some High Carbs between 16-24%, in case his Bg gets 50 or lower, below there are several links to get you started I will also tag a Lantus Expert to help you with dosing, home testing is very important, it is unfortunately the Libre has many downfalls, as you experienced, they tend to fall off, or the sensor stops working before the 14 days, also the monitor only read up to 365 BF after that you will only see a HI, and in the low BG it is extremely inaccurate sometimes up top 10-25 points, most of us members use the human monitor ReliOn Premier and strips, it is inexpensive and very accurate, or any human monitor. Ask away, no concern is ever small:bighug::cat::cat:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...DMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

Hi Corky and Maria, thanks for your response. When he was put on Caninsulin, I indeed didn't know that it's for dogs but after some research when he's been already on Lantus for quite a while, I learnt that it is for dogs and it's not a very good insulin for cats. So I was very happy with my decision to immediately switch vets.
My signature was created, maybe it's not visible for some reason? I also completed his spreadsheet but will do some refinements and an update soon.
I'm feeding him low carb wet food. All of them below 10%, most of them below 5%. We have some medium and high carbs here at home in case we need to deal with a HYPO incident and we also have honey.
To be honest, I didn't have the issues that you describe with the Libre. It did fall off initially, but I learned to apply it in a way that it stays on. Also, we did some checks at the vet and it seems to be accurate. Regarding the HI readings, the Libre 1 devices outside of Canada and the US has a better range, they measure up to 27.8 mmol (500 mg/dl), so in Ares' spreadsheet, most of those blacks with 500 means > 500. I'm worried about the low readings though, as you mentioned that it's quite inaccurate there and that's what I've heard too. This is why if I see that Ares' bg starts to rapidly drop, I give him some food immediately. And also because I don't want his liver to panic, causing a bounce. These are still LC foods btw, because these drops are still in the high ranges. If I'd see a sharp drop below 13 mmol, I would probably feed him some medium carbs immediately. The Libre is good at indicating sharp and rapid drops, so with that you can try to manipulate the curve with food and ever since I'm doing that, I saw less bounces than before.
BTW, he is fed multiple times a day, almost free feeding: whenever he asks for food, he gets it.
Also, I try to follow the TR regulation for now but I intend to switch to a looser regulation later on. I would perfectly be happy to see a flat curve around 10 mmol, mainly because the above reasons: Libre is inaccurate in lower ranges and I can't test him any other way. However, I will have to start testing for ketones and if I can't do that from the urine, I will have to figure something out regarding the ear pricking. If I manage to come up with something to prick his ears, than I'll probably re-evaluate achieving remission with TR but for now, I'm using the Libre and manipulating the curve with food to avoid long sharp drops and would be happy with a flat curve around 10 mmol. Thanks!
 
As far as updating the spreadsheet, it is really the last two weeks that are the most important to us. It would be a LOT of work to go back further.

High and flat is not the goal. Numbers under renal threshold and flat are a better goal. If Lantus is not stinging you can continue with it, though some higher dose kitties do better on Levemir. It can be hard to tell with some kitties if Lantus is stinging. I did a lot more fur shots with Lantus, as Neko would walk away during the shot. She purred during Levemir shots.
I'm worried about the low readings though, as you mentioned that it's quite inaccurate there and that's what I've heard too. This is why if I see that Ares' bg starts to rapidly drop, I give him some food immediately. And also because I don't want his liver to panic, causing a bounce. These are still LC foods btw, because these drops are still in the high ranges. If I'd see a sharp drop below 13 mmol, I would probably feed him some medium carbs immediately.
I wouldn't feed medium carbs until much lower than 13 (235 in mg/dL). The Libre tends to show lower than a hand held meter would in lower numbers below 5.6 (100). Don't be afraid of bounces, they mean that his body is working correctly in response to lower numbers than he's used to. Almost all newly diagnosed cats, and even some longer term diabetics bounce. It is normal, annoying only to us. I thought of bounces as the insulin finally working to get him closer to good numbers. The only way to stop bounces is for his body to spend lots of time in normal BG numbers again. Just live through the bounces. Use those cycles to do something for yourself.

As far as blood testing, it can take time for their ears to learn to bleed. You also need to use larger size lancets, maybe 26 gauge, in the beginning.
 
As far as updating the spreadsheet, it is really the last two weeks that are the most important to us. It would be a LOT of work to go back further.
Phew, great! In that case, I won't bother filling those in. I have entered the data from 22 October - 3 November.

High and flat is not the goal. Numbers under renal threshold and flat are a better goal. If Lantus is not stinging you can continue with it, though some higher dose kitties do better on Levemir. It can be hard to tell with some kitties if Lantus is stinging. I did a lot more fur shots with Lantus, as Neko would walk away during the shot. She purred during Levemir shots.
I see. But isn't the renal threshold 14 mmol/l in cats? I'm aiming for 10 mmol/l which is below it.
That is so sweet that she purred during Levemir shots and what a coincidence that you mention it: Ares purred during Lantus yesterday, which never happened before. He was quite relaxed, napping at his spot and he was getting cuddles from us and this way didn't mind the injection at all.

I wouldn't feed medium carbs until much lower than 13 (235 in mg/dL). The Libre tends to show lower than a hand held meter would in lower numbers below 5.6 (100). Don't be afraid of bounces, they mean that his body is working correctly in response to lower numbers than he's used to. Almost all newly diagnosed cats, and even some longer term diabetics bounce. It is normal, annoying only to us. I thought of bounces as the insulin finally working to get him closer to good numbers. The only way to stop bounces is for his body to spend lots of time in normal BG numbers again. Just live through the bounces. Use those cycles to do something for yourself.
Understood, thank you! At what point would you give med carbs and high carbs respectively to try and prevent a HYPO episode?

As far as blood testing, it can take time for their ears to learn to bleed. You also need to use larger size lancets, maybe 26 gauge, in the beginning.
That's good to know! Although I think we tried with a fairly big lancet. I'll double check to make sure how big was it exactly.
 
Done, thanks!
Good job on your spreadsheet, now the Lantus expert can help you turn all those red BGs into yellows, blues, and future greens. As long as Ares is eating low carbs, and 4-6 melas a day to keep that BG stable, you and Ares will be on the way to a healing pancreas, You Got This!;):joyful::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Nice to see those mid day blues today.:cool:
I was at the vet's today and asked him for an IAA test, fortunately he said that there are some labs here who test for that and found it a good idea, so taking Ares for a blood test on Thursday.
Would love to hear which labs those are. Until recently, Michigan State University in the US was the only one that tested for it, so it was difficult/expensive for people in Europe to get the test done.
But isn't the renal threshold 14 mmol/l in cats? I'm aiming for 10 mmol/l which is below it.
Renal threshold depends on the cat. For Neko, and using a human meter, it was around 12.2 (220) but I've also seen it as low as 8.4 (151) in other cats.
So, Ares' IGF-1 is 504 ng/ml. I saw that people here reference >1000 ng/ml years back, I guess those were the old thresholds. On his results, it states that acro is > 598 ng/ml.
Again, do you have a date when the blood was taken for the test? Also the date he started insulin. I want to make sure there was enough in between that it wasn't a false negative. And yes, studies have shown that the reference number range should be lower. Also, the type of assay used to test IGF-1 has changed so it seems that individual labs have some variation in numbers. It used to be >1000 at Royal Vet Clinic, the only place that did the test in Europe, but now there are more labs able to do the test. There have also been some small studies that show that "normal" may vary based on age or weight of cat.
 
Nice to see those mid day blues today.:cool:
Yes, finally! Although his BG is high again but I guess that is expected, since his BG was high for months and now all of a sudden we got some good numbers.

Would love to hear which labs those are. Until recently, Michigan State University in the US was the only one that tested for it, so it was difficult/expensive for people in Europe to get the test done.
We are going to the vet today, so hopefully we will find out.

Renal threshold depends on the cat. For Neko, and using a human meter, it was around 12.2 (220) but I've also seen it as low as 8.4 (151) in other cats.
How can I find out what's Ares' renal threshold?

Again, do you have a date when the blood was taken for the test? Also the date he started insulin. I want to make sure there was enough in between that it wasn't a false negative. And yes, studies have shown that the reference number range should be lower. Also, the type of assay used to test IGF-1 has changed so it seems that individual labs have some variation in numbers. It used to be >1000 at Royal Vet Clinic, the only place that did the test in Europe, but now there are more labs able to do the test. There have also been some small studies that show that "normal" may vary based on age or weight of cat.
Sure. Blood was taken on 08.27.2024, he was diagnosed on 06.18.2024 and was put on Caninsulin the day after (if memory serves me right, but we definitely started insulin therapy the same week). At the end of July, he was put on Lantus. At the time of the IGF-1 test, I think he was around 7.5 kg and almost 12 years old (he was born in November 2012).
 
6/18 to 8/27 is 70 days, if I counted right. A video by Dr. Woolhead of RVC talks about her research where about 1/3 of acrocats tested false negative if tested before 73 days after starting insulin. If the IAA tests negative, might want to think about an IGF-1 retest at some point.
How can I find out what's Ares' renal threshold?
A couple different ways, but it means testing both blood sugar and urine for sugar which sounds like it's tricky for you. Some people test blood sugar and urine for sugar (using Ketodiastix or equivalent) at home a couple hours later. I used to test Neko's blood sugar before and after her vet appointment where a urinalysis was done and over time figured it out that way. If he's in high numbers quite a bit, it's harder to figure it out. And might be something you have to try when he's spending more time in the blues.
 
6/18 to 8/27 is 70 days, if I counted right. A video by Dr. Woolhead of RVC talks about her research where about 1/3 of acrocats tested false negative if tested before 73 days after starting insulin. If the IAA tests negative, might want to think about an IGF-1 retest at some point.

A couple different ways, but it means testing both blood sugar and urine for sugar which sounds like it's tricky for you. Some people test blood sugar and urine for sugar (using Ketodiastix or equivalent) at home a couple hours later. I used to test Neko's blood sugar before and after her vet appointment where a urinalysis was done and over time figured it out that way. If he's in high numbers quite a bit, it's harder to figure it out. And might be something you have to try when he's spending more time in the blues.

Thank you! We submitted Ares' blood for IAA but it will take some time to get the results. IDEXX was the name of the lab but I will confirm once we have the results. And sure, we will consider an IGF-1 retest if it's negative because as you pointed out, only 70 days passed. However, I don't think he has acro. The only symptom is that he is resistant to insulin and that's it. MRI was negative, no wide face, or enlarged paws or any other acro specific deformities. Also, he was losing weight rapidly when he was diagnosed, rather than gaining weight. Anyways, if IAA is negative and after the dental procedures he is still resistant, we will definitely retest.
 
Quick update: I will update the spreadsheet and we are now on 9u Lantus. After some good numbers, he bounced back up. He was getting 8.5u Lantus for a week because it was the first time his BG dropped down to 8 and because I think we also had a bounce. After that, I raised the dosage to 9u but it doesn't really bring his numbers down, so the vet and I decided to switch to Levemir. However, I was a bit startled because I went to the vet's office today and the vet wants to start Levemir on 2u. I don't know if that's a good idea to drop down so drastically, especially since I mostly read here that usually when switching from one L to another, they usually drop down to 70% in dosage (which would be 6.3u in our case), if at all. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
 
Quick update: I will update the spreadsheet and we are now on 9u Lantus. After some good numbers, he bounced back up. He was getting 8.5u Lantus for a week because it was the first time his BG dropped down to 8 and because I think we also had a bounce. After that, I raised the dosage to 9u but it doesn't really bring his numbers down, so the vet and I decided to switch to Levemir. However, I was a bit startled because I went to the vet's office today and the vet wants to start Levemir on 2u. I don't know if that's a good idea to drop down so drastically, especially since I mostly read here that usually when switching from one L to another, they usually drop down to 70% in dosage (which would be 6.3u in our case), if at all. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
For the Levemir swap, I would go to about 6.5 units as the 70% suggests. It's not likely he'll need that much less Levemir, cause his numbers weren't wonderful on even 8.5 units of Lantus. But some cats do show a marked reaction to an insulin switch. Even more so if IAA is involved. So the reduction is a safety mechanism in the beginning of the switch. Most cats ended up needing around the same amount of Levemir. If after several days of the switch he's still high, you can speed up the increases. Do NOT drop the Levemir dose to 2 units. In dogs, Levemir is a more powerful insulin. That trips up some vets as it's not true in cats.
no wide face, or enlarged paws or any other acro specific deformities.
Neither did Neko ever have any have of those physical signs, even 5 years after her diagnosis. Only 35% of acros have clinical symptoms on diagnosis, according to a research paper I read. I've seen lots of acros initial lose weight too if spending so much time in higher numbers. Glad you aren't ruling this out as a possibility. He's definitely showing signs of something causing insulin resistance.
 
For the Levemir swap, I would go to about 6.5 units as the 70% suggests. It's not likely he'll need that much less Levemir, cause his numbers weren't wonderful on even 8.5 units of Lantus. But some cats do show a marked reaction to an insulin switch. Even more so if IAA is involved. So the reduction is a safety mechanism in the beginning of the switch. Most cats ended up needing around the same amount of Levemir. If after several days of the switch he's still high, you can speed up the increases. Do NOT drop the Levemir dose to 2 units. In dogs, Levemir is a more powerful insulin. That trips up some vets as it's not true in cats.
Thank you! Regarding the speed up: how about increasing 0.5 every 2 days if there is no substantial improvement? What about the first increase after the initial dose? It sounds like that in this case I don't have to wait 5-7 days before the first increase if his numbers are not good enough. Anyways, I'll be updating the ss as soon as we started on Levemir.

Neither did Neko ever have any have of those physical signs, even 5 years after her diagnosis. Only 35% of acros have clinical symptoms on diagnosis, according to a research paper I read. I've seen lots of acros initial lose weight too if spending so much time in higher numbers. Glad you aren't ruling this out as a possibility. He's definitely showing signs of something causing insulin resistance.
I see. And of course I'm not ruling it out. :) You provided me with plenty of evidence that acro is much sneakier than one would believe and it seems like that it's a condition that is difficult to rule out or diagnose with absolute certainty. So if the switch and the dentals don't improve things / he still requires high doses and IAA is negative, then I'll definitely retest for IGF-1.

Thank you so much for the help, very much appreciated! This condition is so nerve wrecking, especially that Ares is still unregulated after almost 6 months. However, the existence of this forum and the help from the members give me some peace of mind at least. :cat:
 
If you get your spreadsheet up to date, then when you switch insulins, we can help you decide when to increase, if you need to, after you switch to Levemir. Going up 0.5 units every two days is too fast.

When you start Levemir, put a blank line before that day on your spreadsheet, and mark it "start Levemir" or something like that, so it's easy for us to spot it. There will be some Lantus depot for a couple days plus the building Levemir depot. Making it trickier to see how the switch is working at first.
 
If you get your spreadsheet up to date, then when you switch insulins, we can help you decide when to increase, if you need to, after you switch to Levemir. Going up 0.5 units every two days is too fast.

When you start Levemir, put a blank line before that day on your spreadsheet, and mark it "start Levemir" or something like that, so it's easy for us to spot it. There will be some Lantus depot for a couple days plus the building Levemir depot. Making it trickier to see how the switch is working at first.
Thank you! I updated the ss. I also have some data between 06 Nov and 12 Nov but have yet to upload those. Both after 05 Nov and 15 Nov, as soon as his numbers improved, he bounced back up a day after.
I was very happy that after a day of Levemir, it seemed like his numbers started improving but he bounced back hard. However, what also caught my eye looking at the graphs is that it seems like Levemir is producing a flatter curve (I also read that this is a characteristic of Levemir). On Lantus, he had some wild swings and fluctuations.

Anyways, I don't know if I should raise the dose now. Normally, I would raise 0.5 seeing these numbers but I'm not sure now that we have switched recently and the fact that there was seemingly a bounce.
 
Last edited:
It's OK to increase during a bounce, you just want to try to avoid increasing the same time they break the bounce. Bounce breaking cycles can have extra downward momentum and an increase on top can mean a faster drop.

Are's numbers are high enough now that it's not that easy to see true Levemir flat cycles. That will come.
 
Currently updating the ss and Ares is about to get his AM shot. His BG is 7.4 mmol/l and was 6.5 mmol/l ~20 minutes ago. By the protocol, I should maintain the dose. However, there is that part in phase 2, which talks about scenarios when BG is between 2.8-5.6 mmol/l right before the next shot. Although Ares is above 5.6 but not by much and this is the first time he dropped below 8 (and he dropped below 10 for the first time couple of weeks ago). Should I just give him his current dose?
 
Currently updating the ss and Ares is about to get his AM shot. His BG is 7.4 mmol/l and was 6.5 mmol/l ~20 minutes ago. By the protocol, I should maintain the dose. However, there is that part in phase 2, which talks about scenarios when BG is between 2.8-5.6 mmol/l right before the next shot. Although Ares is above 5.6 but not by much and this is the first time he dropped below 8 (and he dropped below 10 for the first time couple of weeks ago). Should I just give him his current dose?
He is 5.2 mmol/l now.
 
Okay, so he went all the way down to 4.6 mmol/l. Fed him and his BG started to increase steadily. I gave him his current (7.0u) dose after ~2 hours his regular AM shot time and at that point his BG was 11 mmol/l.
Also, I would like to adjust the times when I'm giving him his shots. Until today, he was getting his shots at 6am / 6pm. So now, with these low pre-shot numbers, he got his AM shot at 8 rather than 6. Would it be okay to give him his next PM shot at 7? It would be nice if I could give him his shots at 7am / 7pm. Thanks!
 
Sorry, without seeing spreadsheet updates for the cycles you are talking about, it's really hard to help.

As far as changing dosing times, you can change the shot times by 15 minutes a shot, or 1/2 hour once per day. If you shot at 8 at AM, you can shoot at 7:30 tonight, then 7AM tomorrow morning.

However, there is that part in phase 2, which talks about scenarios when BG is between 2.8-5.6 mmol/l right before the next shot.
Not sure what you are referring to here. This Sticky Note describes the Tight Regulation Protocol.
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) This Sticky Note is in the Lantus, Levemir and Biosimilars forum. You might want to read the other Sticky Notes we have there, as they provide help with what to do when you see lower numbers, at any time, including at preshot time. Especially helpful when you are in a time zone with not many other people. I am still up on the west coast of Canada, but a big wind storm is threatening our power. I'd also suggest that when you have a more urgent question, you start a new post with a link to the older one. That way people know about the new situation.
 
Sorry, without seeing spreadsheet updates for the cycles you are talking about, it's really hard to help.
No problem but I updated the spreadsheet when I posted, so it should be up-to-date, is that not the case?

As far as changing dosing times, you can change the shot times by 15 minutes a shot, or 1/2 hour once per day. If you shot at 8 at AM, you can shoot at 7:30 tonight, then 7AM tomorrow morning.
Thank you, I'll do this then.

Not sure what you are referring to here. This Sticky Note describes the Tight Regulation Protocol.
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) This Sticky Note is in the Lantus, Levemir and Biosimilars forum. You might want to read the other Sticky Notes we have there, as they provide help with what to do when you see lower numbers, at any time, including at preshot time. Especially helpful when you are in a time zone with not many other people. I am still up on the west coast of Canada, but a big wind storm is threatening our power. I'd also suggest that when you have a more urgent question, you start a new post with a link to the older one. That way people know about the new situation.
I'm referring to the " Management of Diabetic Cats with Long-acting Insulin - summary published in 2013" document under the Tight Regulation section in the sticky you posted. Phase 2 of Table 3 says that when we see BGs between 2.8-5.6 mmol/l pre-shot, we have different options to handle the situation. I chose option 2.
I hope you will be able to pull through the storm without a problem!
 
Survived the windstorm. On the west coast we call them cyclones - it had hurricane force winds but thankfully didn't make it to where we live.
I updated the spreadsheet when I posted, so it should be up-to-date, is that not the case?
I was looking at the US version - when you have multiple entries in the World version cell, you have to manually enter the US values as it doesn't translate over. I also didn't see the 4.6 or 5.2 you referenced on either page of the spreadsheet. Seeing his first greens (under 100 or 5.5) is a significant event and should be recorded. :D

Over time and with more data, you'll be able to shoot lower preshot values. Some cats naturally have late nadirs, like mine did. Cats on Levemir even more so. My girl's typically Lev nadir was in the +9 to +12 range. I had to learn to shoot lower numbers. The flip side is that her BG would go up until onset, which for her was at +5.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top