New member: Complicated situation that led to me possibly make things worse. Still stuck need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

matt9150

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone, I hope you can help me as the love of my life and only true friend is having problems. She’s been an indoor cat her whole life. She’s only 10 and has had weight loss. Her hind legs are especially skinny. But other areas seem to be growing. It’s hard to tell what is real and what is just my biased hope that things are getting better. She still drinks water and eats food and purrs and is mobile. She rarely talks to me unless I’ve screwed up something to her distaste and still has her personality.

Here’s the full story, sorry long post.

My cat Jade has been on diet management food for well over 6 months now and I had recently started her on insulin just before the coronavirus pandemic became known to be spreading. The vet recommended at the second to last visit that she be put down or to start her on insulin. I obviously chose the latter. We started her at 1 unit and the next visit about a few weeks later moved to 1.5 units.

Just after this time around when the news became more aware of the disease and the symptoms I started having a persistent cough after using a different taxi twice daily to an appointment and back for a couple weeks. I’ve never had one before in my life and I had a loss of taste for the first time ever. According to the CDC those were possible mild symptoms for covid-19. Also just before the cough came I got my phone replaced without the people replacing my phone giving me my old SIM back. I have no way to contact anyone except by email, so I can’t phone the vet to ask for advice.

I decided for the safety of others who are more vulnerable then I to self quarantine until the symptoms go away. My parents are either susceptible themselves or live with people who are and I don’t want to risk anyone else’s life. I don’t have friends who could help and in January my car broke down, which I haven’t been able to afford to fix yet.

During this self quarantine I’ve noticed her not getting much better on the insulin/special food combo. So, stupidly I think, I go to the internet for advice. The website I find and the people giving advice say they are all veterinarians trying to give basic advice for people with pet problems. I search for an answer to why my cat isn’t getting better and come across an article written on diabetes by a vet that says cats can take higher increases to insulin dosages then most vets recommend. It says up to a unit a week can be increased safely.

I’m still not entirely trustful of what is said, so I decide to be “cautious” and increase the dose .5 units per week until I see some improvement. Well I’m now at 5 units per dose and there still isn’t much improvement. So I go again to the internet and of course I can’t find the previous website.

I came across a post from another user years ago who talked about a similar situation with their cat and reading the advice led me to believe, rightfully I think, that I’m making things worse or that I missed her proper dosage.

So now my question: Do I stay at 5 units and backtrack slowly over weeks and months? Do I immediately take her dose down, if so how much? Do I risk the potential safety of others if I have a deadly disease and go to an unfamiliar vet to get this mess figured out? The vet hospital I usually go to is closed due to the pandemic and my current vet who is working out of a consolidated vet hospital space is only taking life and death emergency cases right now.

I’m filled with more questions then answers and will gratefully take any advice people here have. I know I was an idiot to trust what the internet says and I regret it. I’m hoping now from you all I can get the full picture and can get back on track with making sure she lives at least a few more years. Cost is an issue, but I’ll figure out a way to make it work. She’s worth going into a bit of debt for.

With hope for a brighter future, thank you in advance for taking the time to read and help. With anxiety and depression issues and living alone this is quite stressful and I really don’t know what to do.
 
Last edited:
Hi Matt and Jade,
First of I hope you are ok.

I have lots of questions to ask you before I can really help you so here goes.

What type of insulin are you using?
Are you giving it twice a day?

Are you home testing the blood glucose levels?
If not home testing, how are you deciding That you need to increase the dose?

What type of food are you feeding Jade.?
Wet, dry, high carb, low carb? What is the diet management food?

Are you able to go out and buy things if needed?
Do you have honey and high carb food there in the event of a hypo event?

Feline diabetes is very treatable and there is no reason why Jade should not live many more years once she is getting the right treatment.
I will just comment that 5 units is a very large dose if you are not home testing And you run the risk of a hypo event.

Looking forward to hearing back from you Matt.
I’m sure we can help you once we get the whole picture.:)
We are not vets but we are people who have lived with feline diabetes 24/7 for years. This is by far the best possible place you and Jade could be.
 
Thank you for responding, I’m ok, I’m worried more about Jade or the vulnerable population then myself. I’m younger and healthy, non smoker, no pre-existing medical condition.

I’m using ProZinc twice a day every 12 hours. I’m not home testing, I’ve been looking for signs of physical improvement and if there aren’t any, which there weren’t then I upped the dose .5 units weekly. Which I did until I reached 5 units.

I have special vet brand dry food that I feed her called Purina Pro Plan Veterinary X Dietetic Management food. She’s always been a grazer and just eats when she wants to. Never had any problems before.

I have honey on hand and some carb food, but not sure what’s edible for her that’s in my house. I can leave, but I risk infecting or even killing another person and I couldn’t imagine if someone lost a loved one because I thought I was fine to go out.

Yeah I realized it was a high dose after reading a previous response to a user here and posted because of it. Do I start lessening the dose immediately? do I go back to 1.5 units? Do I stay at this dosage for a few weeks and then lower it? I made a big mistake, but I don’t know how or how fast to fix this and I don’t want to make things any worse then I already have.

Thank you, it means a lot. I want to be able to save her if I can before giving up and putting her to sleep. She’s still the same cat who picked me as a kitten all those years ago, so she really means the world to me.
 
Last edited:
Hi Matt,
First of all I would very strongly advise you to home test. You really have no idea what the BG levels are doing by just looking at Jade. By the time she is showing hypo symptoms she will be dangerously low.
I am going to tag @Chris & China (GA) to give you a shopping list for you to order online to be able to home test. I don’t live in the US so will ask Chris to tell you what you need to get started and where to buy it.

The. Special vet dry food you are feeding has nothing special about it but the price. It will be high carb and is probably the only thing that is saving Jade from dropping low at the moment while being on 5 units.
You would be far better feeding a low carb canned food which you can get from the store such as fancy feast pates or tiki or Weruva canned foods. I will send you a link to suitable foods.

HOWEVER DON’T CHANGE ANY OF THE FOOD UNTIL YOU ARE HOME TESTING THE BLOOD GLUCOSE LEVELS.
Once you change over to low carb the BG levels will drop up to 100 points. We can help you do this safely. So for now keep feeding the same food until you are testing the blood glucose.

With the proper care you will not have to put her to sleep. I don’t think I have seen one cat die here from diabetes. They die from other things that happen to all cats such as kidney disease, cancer etc.

So your jobs at the moment are to read the links I have given you, set up the spreadsheet, order the equipment when Chris comes along and tells you, and at the moment continue what you are doing with feeding.
With the insulin dose, I think I would reduce it to 4 units until you start testing and we can see what is happening.

Keep asking questions.
I am also going to give you the link to set up a spreadsheet where you can enter all the BG data for both you and us to see. We need to be able to see that before we can help with the dosing.

here is the link to the spreadsheet
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/suggestions-tech-support-testing-area.6/

Here is the link to how to home test. It is not hard and Jade will not hate you.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

here is a link for new members
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Here is a link about hypos. Print it off and put on your fridge. If Jade has a hypo you need to have it hand
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

Suitable foods
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
 
Thanks again so much for the information, I live in Canada, so I don’t know if they’ll ship or not, but I’ll take a look and start reading through everything. I don’t have a printer, so not sure what to do about that part though.

I’m not worried about testing, she’s one of the most relaxed cats I’ve ever owned, she won’t bite or scratch for anything. Super loving and mellow. I will immediately drop the dose to 4 and will buy the testing kit necessary, though it may take a couple weeks to ship.

The vet originally told me before when we first started her on insulin to feed her and give her the shots every 12 hours while watching her physical appearance to see if any changes occur, so I’ve been operating under that advice, which apparently is wrong, so thanks for correcting me on that before I make it worse. Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Thank you Jeanne for the welcome! I’m hoping everything’s not too late. I lost a step brother to suicide and an aunt to cancer already this year and I don’t want to struggle with anymore deaths, I’ve had enough to fill 2020 already.

Plus grieving alone with anxiety and depression is not the easiest time. Hoping to avoid that here. My vet definitely scared me when he suggested putting her down, but I’m willing to fight and do whatever it takes to not let that happen.
 
Oh my! I am so sorry for these terrible losses. sigh...My sincere condolences.
I think the Vet was just meaning if you arent going to treat the diabetes, euthanasia is the kinder option because untreated diabetes is a slow and arduous death. Jade would literally starve to death. That Vet could use a better bedside manner. :rolleyes:

But thats behind you! Believe me the folks here (I call Veterans) KNOW THEIR STUFF! I trust them with MY life...well...most of them anyway :p;):smuggrin:
j.
 
Btw.. are you up to learning how to home test Jades glucose levels??? We all here do (well tbh I havent had a diabetic kitty in YEARS) But all the folks here do home testing its really the only way to keep on top of insulin doses. As insulin starts working the needs for it change. People here WILL help you!
There are all kinds of threads on how to get started here . You can find it here:
Suggestions, Tech Support & Testing Area
I would link you but for some reason I cant get links to work :confused:
Just go to the main page its near the top.
good luck! ;):coffee:
 
Thanks again so much for the information, I live in Canada, so I don’t know if they’ll ship or not, but I’ll take a look and start reading through everything. I don’t have a printer, so not sure what to do about that part though.

I’m not worried about testing, she’s one of the most relaxed cats I’ve ever owned, she won’t bite or scratch for anything. Super loving and mellow. I will immediately drop the dose to 4 and will buy the testing kit necessary, though it may take a couple weeks to ship.

The vet originally told me before when we first started her on insulin to feed her and give her the shots every 12 hours while watching her physical appearance to see if any changes occur, so I’ve been operating under that advice, which apparently is wrong, so thanks for correcting me on that before I make it worse. Thanks!
Hi Matt and welcome to you and Jade!

JT is right you’ve come to the right place. I just want to tell you that I also listened to bad vet advice so don’t feel horrible. We think we’re dealing with experts and trust them blindly. You’re on the right track now and it sounds like you’re describing my Minnie so testing will be super simple for you. When you get there, we all have lots of tips to share based on our experience with our cats so please ask away!!
Also, nothing to print. You don’t need a printer. You’ll create and update the spreadsheet on google drive and the link will be in your signature, like mine, that way we can all access it and see the numbers to give you correct guidance.

again welcome and don’t beat yourself up! Minnie was unregulated for over 6 months, she developed severe neuropathy of the back legs and now she’s recovered over 90% and is completely back to her old self and complaining when I don’t get her food ready fast enough ha! Jade will be just fine :bighug:
 
Hi Matt,
First of all I would very strongly advise you to home test. You really have no idea what the BG levels are doing by just looking at Jade. By the time she is showing hypo symptoms she will be dangerously low.
I am going to tag @Chris & China (GA) to give you a shopping list for you to order online to be able to home test. I don’t live in the US so will ask Chris to tell you what you need to get started and where to buy it.

The. Special vet dry food you are feeding has nothing special about it but the price. It will be high carb and is probably the only thing that is saving Jade from dropping low at the moment while being on 5 units.
You would be far better feeding a low carb canned food which you can get from the store such as fancy feast pates or tiki or Weruva canned foods. I will send you a link to suitable foods.

HOWEVER DON’T CHANGE ANY OF THE FOOD UNTIL YOU ARE HOME TESTING THE BLOOD GLUCOSE LEVELS.
Once you change over to low carb the BG levels will drop up to 100 points. We can help you do this safely. So for now keep feeding the same food until you are testing the blood glucose.

With the proper care you will not have to put her to sleep. I don’t think I have seen one cat die here from diabetes. They die from other things that happen to all cats such as kidney disease, cancer etc.

So your jobs at the moment are to read the links I have given you, set up the spreadsheet, order the equipment when Chris comes along and tells you, and at the moment continue what you are doing with feeding.
With the insulin dose, I think I would reduce it to 4 units until you start testing and we can see what is happening.

Keep asking questions.
I am also going to give you the link to set up a spreadsheet where you can enter all the BG data for both you and us to see. We need to be able to see that before we can help with the dosing.

here is the link to the spreadsheet
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/suggestions-tech-support-testing-area.6/

Here is the link to how to home test. It is not hard and Jade will not hate you.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

here is a link for new members
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Here is a link about hypos. Print it off and put on your fridge. If Jade has a hypo you need to have it hand
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

Suitable foods
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

This is amazingly detailed and comprehensive. Thank you Bron!!! :cat:
 
Hi everyone, I hope you can help me as the love of my life and only true friend is having problems. She’s been an indoor cat her whole life. She’s only 10 and has had weight loss. Her hind legs are especially skinny. But other areas seem to be growing. It’s hard to tell what is real and what is just my biased hope that things are getting better. She still drinks water and eats food and purrs and is mobile. She rarely talks to me unless I’ve screwed up something to her distaste and still has her personality.

Here’s the full story, sorry long post.

My cat Jade has been on diet management food for well over 6 months now and I had recently started her on insulin just before the coronavirus pandemic became known to be spreading. The vet recommended at the second to last visit that she be put down or to start her on insulin. I obviously chose the latter. We started her at 1 unit and the next visit about a few weeks later moved to 1.5 units.

Just after this time around when the news became more aware of the disease and the symptoms I started having a persistent cough after using a different taxi twice daily to an appointment and back for a couple weeks. I’ve never had one before in my life and I had a loss of taste for the first time ever. According to the CDC those were possible mild symptoms for covid-19. Also just before the cough came I got my phone replaced without the people replacing my phone giving me my old SIM back. I have no way to contact anyone except by email, so I can’t phone the vet to ask for advice.

I decided for the safety of others who are more vulnerable then I to self quarantine until the symptoms go away. My parents are either susceptible themselves or live with people who are and I don’t want to risk anyone else’s life. I don’t have friends who could help and in January my car broke down, which I haven’t been able to afford to fix yet.

During this self quarantine I’ve noticed her not getting much better on the insulin/special food combo. So, stupidly I think, I go to the internet for advice. The website I find and the people giving advice say they are all veterinarians trying to give basic advice for people with pet problems. I search for an answer to why my cat isn’t getting better and come across an article written on diabetes by a vet that says cats can take higher increases to insulin dosages then most vets recommend. It says up to a unit a week can be increased safely.

I’m still not entirely trustful of what is said, so I decide to be “cautious” and increase the dose .5 units per week until I see some improvement. Well I’m now at 5 units per dose and there still isn’t much improvement. So I go again to the internet and of course I can’t find the previous website.

I came across a post from another user years ago who talked about a similar situation with their cat and reading the advice led me to believe, rightfully I think, that I’m making things worse or that I missed her proper dosage.

So now my question: Do I stay at 5 units and backtrack slowly over weeks and months? Do I immediately take her dose down, if so how much? Do I risk the potential safety of others if I have a deadly disease and go to an unfamiliar vet to get this mess figured out? The vet hospital I usually go to is closed due to the pandemic and my current vet who is working out of a consolidated vet hospital space is only taking life and death emergency cases right now.

I’m filled with more questions then answers and will gratefully take any advice people here have. I know I was an idiot to trust what the internet says and I regret it. I’m hoping now from you all I can get the full picture and can get back on track with making sure she lives at least a few more years. Cost is an issue, but I’ll figure out a way to make it work. She’s worth going into a bit of debt for.

With hope for a brighter future, thank you in advance for taking the time to read and help. With anxiety and depression issues and living alone this is quite stressful and I really don’t know what to do.
Oh and I did get the exact same advice. You change the dose based on behavior, you don’t have to monitor at home, etc etc etc. these guys here really handheld me through testing because I was terrified and now I do it 3-4 times a day. I took baby steps but I’m doing it now and it’s just part of the routine like feeding and giving the insulin injections. She was at 9 units a day when I started and i’ve been able to safely bring her down to 5.5. It makes me wanna cry when I think about what a difference home testing truly makes!

Also, the last vet we saw said Minnie would probably not get better and gave her a 30% chance of recovery. And like I said, it feels like she’s recovered 95% at this point. What I’m trying to say is that you’re much better off listening to us and not the vets :)
 
Oh my! I am so sorry for these terrible losses. sigh...My sincere condolences.
I think the Vet was just meaning if you arent going to treat the diabetes, euthanasia is the kinder option because untreated diabetes is a slow and arduous death. Jade would literally starve to death. That Vet could use a better bedside manner. :rolleyes:

But thats behind you! Believe me the folks here (I call Veterans) KNOW THEIR STUFF! I trust them with MY life...well...most of them anyway :p;):smuggrin:
j.

Thank you for the condolences, it hasn’t been easy, but I’m still going so that’s good enough.

I will trust the veterans with my 9 lives and Jade’s too ;) :p Another users cat named Minnie sounds like my situation so hopefully that will be the end result too for Jade!

Not sure I’m going back to that vet after getting so many tests done over and over for things they just tested for previously and so I just trusted he was the expert and continued to say yes. Cost thousands of dollars overall, but that’s all behind me now!
 
Last edited:
Btw.. are you up to learning how to home test Jades glucose levels??? We all here do (well tbh I havent had a diabetic kitty in YEARS) But all the folks here do home testing its really the only way to keep on top of insulin doses. As insulin starts working the needs for it change. People here WILL help you!
There are all kinds of threads on how to get started here . You can find it here:
Suggestions, Tech Support & Testing Area
I would link you but for some reason I cant get links to work :confused:
Just go to the main page its near the top.
good luck! ;):coffee:

I’m up to learning anything that could help Jade. I am a sponge ready to soak up knowledge and advice. I will take a look, thank you!
 
Hi Matt and welcome to you and Jade!

JT is right you’ve come to the right place. I just want to tell you that I also listened to bad vet advice so don’t feel horrible. We think we’re dealing with experts and trust them blindly. You’re on the right track now and it sounds like you’re describing my Minnie so testing will be super simple for you. When you get there, we all have lots of tips to share based on our experience with our cats so please ask away!!
Also, nothing to print. You don’t need a printer. You’ll create and update the spreadsheet on google drive and the link will be in your signature, like mine, that way we can all access it and see the numbers to give you correct guidance.

again welcome and don’t beat yourself up! Minnie was unregulated for over 6 months, she developed severe neuropathy of the back legs and now she’s recovered over 90% and is completely back to her old self and complaining when I don’t get her food ready fast enough ha! Jade will be just fine :bighug:

Thank you Aleluia! I will be looking forward to all the tips and knowledge people can provide. I’ve got a dedicated tab to this website on my phone and I’m checking it often to see if anyone else has advice or knowledge to share.

One question about google drive, I have some personal projects I’m working on that I don’t want to share, could I create a new gmail account to have a separate drive from my personal one?

Thanks, that sounds like Jade’s situation, just in a shorter time frame. I’m really hopeful and happy to hear of the positive end result for you and your cat after making a similar mistake.
 
Seems Vets arent sympathetic with all thats going on in the US right now. I dont know what I would do just going into diabetes these days. My vet was so on board with this site she called and asked me questions lol.
I wish every vet had the same demeanor. It would be VERY hard now to find a new Vet. I mean they wont even SEE people right now. :rolleyes: I would have to talk face to face with anyone I was entrusting my baby to. GOOD LUCK!
 
Oh and I did get the exact same advice. You change the dose based on behavior, you don’t have to monitor at home, etc etc etc. these guys here really handheld me through testing because I was terrified and now I do it 3-4 times a day. I took baby steps but I’m doing it now and it’s just part of the routine like feeding and giving the insulin injections. She was at 9 units a day when I started and i’ve been able to safely bring her down to 5.5. It makes me wanna cry when I think about what a difference home testing truly makes!

Also, the last vet we saw said Minnie would probably not get better and gave her a 30% chance of recovery. And like I said, it feels like she’s recovered 95% at this point. What I’m trying to say is that you’re much better off listening to us and not the vets :)

Yeah that’s what they told me and I was going crazy that nothing was changing. I’m definitely not afraid of testing. She takes her needles without moving a muscle. I can pick her up cradle her like a baby and rub her tummy at any time and she won’t even put a paw on me to say no. She’s the most calm cat I’ve ever had in my life.

Home testing is a revelation, I can’t wait to order to start fixing all my mistakes! No more vets for me. Too much $$$ anyways (though I would pay it if it means making her better!).
 
Last edited:
Seems Vets arent sympathetic with all thats going on in the US right now. I dont know what I would do just going into diabetes these days. My vet was so on board with this site she called and asked me questions lol.
I wish every vet had the same demeanor. It would be VERY hard now to find a new Vet. I mean they wont even SEE people right now. :rolleyes: I would have to talk face to face with anyone I was entrusting my baby to. GOOD LUCK!

I don’t blame them for cutting off non essential treatments to try to lessen the potential of spreading the virus through the adults who own the cats coming and going. We gotta do whatever it takes to save lives. But I do wish he was more caring/knowledgeable. This advice had I stuck with it could have killed my emotional support animal family member. I’m glad I finally got fed up and decided to come here!
 
Hello and welcome!

You've gotten a bunch of good advice/tips already, so for now I'm just here to say hi, basically :). So glad you found us, hope you can get the home testing up and running soon, as Jade's on a pretty high dose right now and we want to make sure she's safe. As others have said, FD is a very manageable condition, so hopefully we can get her feeling more herself again soon, too!

One question about google drive, I have some personal projects I’m working on that I don’t want to share, could I create a new gmail account to have a separate drive from my personal one?

You certainly could do that, but you won't be sharing your entire drive folder here, should just be a link to that specific file-- no one should even be able to see any of your other files. If you have separate google drive accounts I think you'll have to keep switching back and forth designating a primary account to access and edit your files. It would be an added level of "security" (in quotes because who knows what is secure these days, anyway?) when sharing on a public forum, just a bit more of a pain to work with the files.
 
Hello and welcome!

You've gotten a bunch of good advice/tips already, so for now I'm just here to say hi, basically :). So glad you found us, hope you can get the home testing up and running soon, as Jade's on a pretty high dose right now and we want to make sure she's safe. As others have said, FD is a very manageable condition, so hopefully we can get her feeling more herself again soon, too!



You certainly could do that, but you won't be sharing your entire drive folder here, should just be a link to that specific file-- no one should even be able to see any of your other files. If you have separate google drive accounts I think you'll have to keep switching back and forth designating a primary account to access and edit your files. It would be an added level of "security" (in quotes because who knows what is secure these days, anyway?) when sharing on a public forum, just a bit more of a pain to work with the files.
I was just about to say that but you saved me all the typing Nan, who btw is one of the people who have been holding my hand through my Minnie’s home testing and interpreting the numbers :cat:

Matt, I think this is why you mentioned printing: “Here is a link about hypos. Print it off and put on your fridge. If Jade has a hypo you need to have it hand” I don’t have a printer either so I just bookmarked and saved it in my favorites folder on laptop and cell :)
 
I live in Canada, so I don’t know if they’ll ship or not,
Waving to you from Ontario.

Thank you for self-isolating. Check to see if paramedics in your part of the country come to your house to test you for the virus. They follow strict testing protocols.

You can get a meter from Shoppers Drug Mart or another local pharmacy, pay with a credit card, and have it delivered. All pharmacies deliver. Or you can order from a number of Cdn online diabetic supply websites.

One of the best meters in Canada is the FreeStyle Lite. It takes the smallest amount of blood. It comes with a few lancets and a testing device. Some places offer a free meter if you buy 100 test strips. You will be going through more strips than you think and strips are expensive in Canada. Also, you will need a box of the appropriate lancets.

https://www.freestyle.abbott/ca/en/products/lite.html

Fancy Feast pates and Friskies pates are low carb – but do not change the diet until you have a meter and are testing regularly. Switching to a low carb diet can drop the numbers drastically.
 
Hi Matt and Jade.
I see you wrote your first post at 3AM and now your world just got turned upside down for the better. This is honestly the best place to be, feline diabetes just isn't taught in veterinary college so we all speak from practical experience. I got lucky having two clinics with vets who are completely into learning and sharing so I was testing at home from the start years ago. There are many Canadians here, I'm west of Toronto.
Jade isn't going anywhere and is definitely not "going to sleep" because of a manageable medical condition. This is not the tragedy people think it is and it helps to have a calm cat, I've had two that were on board with me poking holes in them.
This is what we call the Dear Mom letter. Years ago when I was tearing my hair out and losing my marbles I read this and everything changed. It will for you too.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/letter-from-your-kitty-to-you-during-this-time.131186/
 
Hello and welcome!

You've gotten a bunch of good advice/tips already, so for now I'm just here to say hi, basically :). So glad you found us, hope you can get the home testing up and running soon, as Jade's on a pretty high dose right now and we want to make sure she's safe. As others have said, FD is a very manageable condition, so hopefully we can get her feeling more herself again soon, too!



You certainly could do that, but you won't be sharing your entire drive folder here, should just be a link to that specific file-- no one should even be able to see any of your other files. If you have separate google drive accounts I think you'll have to keep switching back and forth designating a primary account to access and edit your files. It would be an added level of "security" (in quotes because who knows what is secure these days, anyway?) when sharing on a public forum, just a bit more of a pain to work with the files.


Thank you Nan! I’m really glad too, it’s lessened the emotional stress already just knowing someone else’s cat recovered fully after the owner following the advice given here. I’ve had more hope then quite some time now so thank you all for giving me that boost!

Oh, ok I wasn’t aware people could only see the one sheet when clicking a link share. I’ll just keep it all in the same one then, thanks!
 
I was just about to say that but you saved me all the typing Nan, who btw is one of the people who have been holding my hand through my Minnie’s home testing and interpreting the numbers :cat:

Matt, I think this is why you mentioned printing: “Here is a link about hypos. Print it off and put on your fridge. If Jade has a hypo you need to have it hand” I don’t have a printer either so I just bookmarked and saved it in my favorites folder on laptop and cell :)

That’s great to hear the support you’ve gotten from them! Yes, that’s why I mentioned printing, ok, will do!
 
Waving to you from Ontario.

Thank you for self-isolating. Check to see if paramedics in your part of the country come to your house to test you for the virus. They follow strict testing protocols.

You can get a meter from Shoppers Drug Mart or another local pharmacy, pay with a credit card, and have it delivered. All pharmacies deliver. Or you can order from a number of Cdn online diabetic supply websites.

One of the best meters in Canada is the FreeStyle Lite. It takes the smallest amount of blood. It comes with a few lancets and a testing device. Some places offer a free meter if you buy 100 test strips. You will be going through more strips than you think and strips are expensive in Canada. Also, you will need a box of the appropriate lancets.

https://www.freestyle.abbott/ca/en/products/lite.html

Fancy Feast pates and Friskies pates are low carb – but do not change the diet until you have a meter and are testing regularly. Switching to a low carb diet can drop the numbers drastically.

Hello there Red! I can’t get a test unfortunately because I’m not symptomatic enough to warrant it, so I figured this was the next best thing. I’m probably just overthinking things and have a new allergy or something, but I don’t want to take that chance with someone else’s life at potential risk.

Thank you for the advice! What type of lancets do I need to buy? It seems crazy that vets recommend dry food for diabetic cats when it’s not the right option, but I’ll be switching her to the wet stuff after I start metering. Too bad I just bought 2 bags to stock up on just before this thing started to get known. Ah well, I’m on the right track now and that’s all that matters!
 
Last edited:
Hi Matt and Jade.
I see you wrote your first post at 3AM and now your world just got turned upside down for the better. This is honestly the best place to be, feline diabetes just isn't taught in veterinary college so we all speak from practical experience. I got lucky having two clinics with vets who are completely into learning and sharing so I was testing at home from the start years ago. There are many Canadians here, I'm west of Toronto.
Jade isn't going anywhere and is definitely not "going to sleep" because of a manageable medical condition. This is not the tragedy people think it is and it helps to have a calm cat, I've had two that were on board with me poking holes in them.
This is what we call the Dear Mom letter. Years ago when I was tearing my hair out and losing my marbles I read this and everything changed. It will for you too.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/letter-from-your-kitty-to-you-during-this-time.131186/

Yeah Noah, this has already been completely eye opening on so many levels. I’m really glad I found this place. Thank you for saying that, I’ve definitely been worried the moment he suggested putting her down so those fears are receding hearing from others who have seen this and made their lovable fluff balls all better.

That definitely sounds like something I need. I will absolutely read it. Thank you!
 
Last edited:
https://www.amazon.ca/FreeStyle-sterile-lancets-100-ea/dp/B0015JA5PA?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Your local pharmacy should carry them.

Explain to your vet that your cat stopped liking the prescription food. You will be eligible for a full refund. The vet may try to switch your cat over to the canned Purina DM. The pate version is low carb but there is nothing special about it except the exorbitant price. Fancy Feast and Friskies (pate only) will do just fine. Do pick up a couple of cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers for you hypo supply kit. It is a high carb food and the gravy part can be used to bring the numbers up if necessary.

Rover was a diabetic for well over 4 years. It was his kidneys that failed and had nothing to do with diabetes.
 
https://www.amazon.ca/FreeStyle-sterile-lancets-100-ea/dp/B0015JA5PA?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Your local pharmacy should carry them.

Explain to your vet that your cat stopped liking the prescription food. You will be eligible for a full refund. The vet may try to switch your cat over to the canned Purina DM. The pate version is low carb but there is nothing special about it except the exorbitant price. Fancy Feast and Friskies (pate only) will do just fine. Do pick up a couple of cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers for you hypo supply kit. It is a high carb food and the gravy part can be used to bring the numbers up if necessary.

Rover was a diabetic for well over 4 years. It was his kidneys that failed and had nothing to do with diabetes.

I’m sorry I should have made the connection. Free Style meter has Free Style lancets duh lol. I will purchase that brand meter and the lancets. I didn’t know that was possible to get a refund, thank you so much for telling me! Is any kind of that brand wet cat food ok? She loves fish flavour, salmon or tuna so I’d look to that unless there’s a difference between the different varieties. I will pick up the gravy feast as extras in case of hypo.

I’m so sorry for your loss, I hope Rover’s memories brings you peace. It’s always hard losing a cat :(
 
Last edited:
Is any kind of that brand wet cat food ok? She loves fish flavour, salmon or tuna so I’d look to that unless there’s a difference between the different varieties.
Here is the link for the food chart. It is an American chart but quite a few are available in Canada. You are looking for under 10% carbs.
Scroll down to the Fancy Feast section. I'm sure there are some fishy pates under 10%.
 
he suggested putting her down
Is this the same vet you're seeing now? I hope he doesn't have a 22 behind the door.
Honestly we've all been there, I once got into it quite loudly with a pharmacist when she mumbled "these syringes are for a cat" with a sneer on her face.
I'm Dickson, Noah was the cat. No big deal, better than you knowing my middle name. :blackeye: :(
 
Is this the same vet you're seeing now? I hope he doesn't have a 22 behind the door.
Honestly we've all been there, I once got into it quite loudly with a pharmacist when she mumbled "these syringes are for a cat" with a sneer on her face.
I'm Dickson, Noah was the cat. No big deal, better than you knowing my middle name. :blackeye: :(

Yes, same one I’m still using (though not anymore after knowing about home testing!). I don’t understand why people have to be so judgemental sometimes, it’s sad.
 
Update: I have signed up for the downloadable coupon, but it hasn’t shown up yet. If it doesn’t by tomorrow I’ll order it anyways. Money is less important then Jade, but if I can save some money it definitely helps! Either way I’ll be getting the meter and strips hopefully this week to get started. Depending on delivery back ups/timing available.

Thanks again @Red & Rover (GA) for the tip on FreeStyle and everyone else for all the information they’ve provided. I don’t know where my emotions would be if I didn’t find you all. Thank you so much for the kind welcome!
 
The love of my life and only true friend.
I decided for the safety of others who are more vulnerable then I to self quarantine.
So, stupidly I think, I go to the internet for advice. I know I was an idiot to trust what the internet says and I regret it.
She’s worth going into a bit of debt for.
Good morning Matt. I usually don't reply to new members because I'm not very good at it but what you said above caught my eye. The "new best friends" on the internet is one thing, knowing that we understand "love of my life and only true friend" is another. Take a peek in the Grief forum one day and you'll understand why we do the things we do. We don't shame or ridicule, no question is too stupid and it's never, ever "just a cat". We've all been through this.
Because you're a ProZinc user and I wasn't you might not hear from me again, I don't give medical advice and like many people here I don't even have a diabetic cat anymore. I just wanted to assure you that as others have said this is the best place to be, your search for some sanity is over.
Wait until you realize how many members here are old/older/really old and/or retired and/or disabled. That's why we're here all day, what else are we going to do?
Safe travels my friend :bighug:, give Jade a rub for me.
 
Good morning Matt. I usually don't reply to new members because I'm not very good at it but what you said above caught my eye. The "new best friends" on the internet is one thing, knowing that we understand "love of my life and only true friend" is another. Take a peek in the Grief forum one day and you'll understand why we do the things we do. We don't shame or ridicule, no question is too stupid and it's never, ever "just a cat". We've all been through this.
Because you're a ProZinc user and I wasn't you might not hear from me again, I don't give medical advice and like many people here I don't even have a diabetic cat anymore. I just wanted to assure you that as others have said this is the best place to be, your search for some sanity is over.
Wait until you realize how many members here are old/older/really old and/or retired and/or disabled. That's why we're here all day, what else are we going to do?
Safe travels my friend :bighug:, give Jade a rub for me.

I don’t want to get too behind the scenes, but my closest and best friend of the last decade after I explained some of the issues going on mentally from childhood problems that I’d never shared with anyone before told me that I’m not worth the energy to be in a relationship with anymore. So it’s hard to know who to trust and who not to and what to say and what to keep secret. I haven’t opened up to anyone else since except my counsellor. I guess I just wanted to emphasize that she’s been there for me through all the ups and downs. Sees me when I’m sick, cuddles me when I feel low, just being there for emotional support every time. So she means more then anything else in this world to me besides my mom.

I will take a look and it means a lot to know that so many others have been where I’m at and turned things around before it’s too late. That’s how everyone should be to others and I’m thankful that I’m among like minded people wanting to make things better rather then adding to the negativity already out there.

I appreciate you responding to me, I feel more at peace that I can fix this. Well since that’s the case then I appreciate those retired folks willing to spend their time helping strangers through scary and unknown situations with their fur balls. Y’all don’t have to do this, but you do, which speaks to a kindness and compassion being lost in this crazy world.

Thank you, I will give her extra cuddle time for you. All the best!
 
I'll keep this short and this is all pretty obvious stuff. I'll never work in a cubicle again or for anyone who cares about my online presence plus I've already said too much years ago about me and the world I live in. I have made what I would consider actual friendships here and have even met two members in person here but it's still the internet. Nothing gets that stain out, not even club soda. :banghead: :blackeye: :(
 
You're right Matt...We dont HAVE to do this. I would sooner cut off a limb, than to see someone in the shoes, I once walked in, suffer alone in silence. You are now part of an extraordinary community that CARES. Ive been here since 2006-7? (The years just melt away into today)
We ALL promise to guide you through this difficult journey that we were guided through. We ALL want the best for you and Jade. We ARE family. ...WELCOME TO OUR FAMILY.:bighug:
 
I'll keep this short and this is all pretty obvious stuff. I'll never work in a cubicle again or for anyone who cares about my online presence plus I've already said too much years ago about me and the world I live in. I have made what I would consider actual friendships here and have even met two members in person here but it's still the internet. Nothing gets that stain out, not even club soda. :banghead: :blackeye: :(

Lol, oh yes the youth period. Good times (been there too brother!). It’s great to make new connections though!
 
You're right Matt...We dont HAVE to do this. I would sooner cut off a limb, than to see someone in the shoes, I once walked in, suffer alone in silence. You are now part of an extraordinary community that CARES. Ive been here since 2006-7? (The years just melt away into today)
We ALL promise to guide you through this difficult journey that we were guided through. We ALL want the best for you and Jade. We ARE family. ...WELCOME TO OUR FAMILY.:bighug:

It speaks to the high character of all involved with this wonderful website. Thank you so much *insert hug emoji* (don’t know the code so this will have to do!)
 
So update, I guess I got lucky! The pharmacy is able to deliver on Thursday. So I should be able to start testing and getting everything set up really soon!

Btw I want to ensure I’m doing this right, so do I post any questions in this thread from now on? Do I create a new one each time? Should I post in a different category?
 
So update, I guess I got lucky! The pharmacy is able to deliver on Thursday. So I should be able to start testing and getting everything set up really soon!

Btw I want to ensure I’m doing this right, so do I post any questions in this thread from now on? Do I create a new one each time? Should I post in a different category?
They like to keep threads to no more than 50 comments. Not sure what you’re up to now on this one but since you’ll likely get plenty of replies, probably best to start a new one and call it something along the lines of getting ready to test or questions about testing :)

PS - isn’t great discovering the emojis???:cool:
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top