NEW MEMBER Cap Needs Your Help

Charity & Cap

Member Since 2025
Hey!

My gorgeous, sweet boi got diagnosed in late Feb, with his numbers at 472 glucose. Vet put him on 1 unit of Prozinc every 12 hours after a meal. Switched him to all FF/Tiny Tiger pate and some of the Regal zero carb chicken / duck brands, and shifted him to Dr. Elsey's low-carb cat food.

We had a checkup last week and his numbers were 374, so she increased the dose to 1.5 every 12 hours and wants to see him back in a month. Taking him to a vet is super expensive / horrible for him (he does not travel well, and it's an hour one way) so I need to know how to deal with this / track his blood sugar at home, but I'm anxious about pricking his ear, learning to read a meter (I did buy the ReliOn Premier Compact) and messing with him. He's a gentle, mild-mannered cat, but hates me messing with his ears and resents getting his shots. He also is picky and sometimes doesn't want to eat at the right times.

Last week, we had a bit of a scare when he ate the wrong wet food by accident. I did not realize and gave him his shot, only to leave for 2 hours and come home to him having puked up all his dinner. He refused to eat four 5 hours and I had no way to tell if he was feeling okay / his insulin was too high or too low, which convinced me I had to bite the bullet and get on board with blood testing.

Cap has a history of health problems -- he has allergies and it took me 2 years and changing up his diet to cure him of his skin condition. But he no longer takes that medication (Atopica) and has been okay for two years.

Any tips you can give me and/or reassurance and guidance about using the spreadsheet, testing him (I guess 60 is the range he should ideally be in, on a human meter?), etc. would be appreciated. I know it's not going to hurt him to prick his ear, but it will hurt me! :D Any tips would be appreciated!

We lost another cat to this disease a year ago, which made this diagnosis upsetting. I currently have one other cat in the house (5 years old, female) and she does not favor wet food. If it's important to take them both off it altogether, I can try, but Cap likes to nibble in-between meals (the vet says despite his high numbers, he was behaving well and shiny and looked a lot "better" than she would expect, which made her think he was self-regulating somehow).

ETA: He is 7 years old, and 11 pounds (down from 15). Allergic to peas, beef, and dairy products.
 
Last edited:
Allergic to peas, beef, and dairy products.
Can you add this to your signature also and add DX Date to your signature
Tap on your name above then tap on signature and add it ,then tap save
Going to tag a Prozinc user
@Suzanne & Darcy

@Cap's Mama
I tagged Suzanne for you v
but I would also copy and paste what you wrote on the Prozinc Forum. Suzanne will get notified there also . I would add NEW MEMBER in your title first
NEW MEMBER Cap Needs Your Help.

To add that tap on the word Thread Tools that's to the right , then tap on Edit Title add add that , then tap save

I noticed on your spreadsheet for the DX date you have 2/27/25? You said it was in April, can you correct that .

On your spreadsheet where it says Current Insulin Prozinc not how many units you are giving .

Where it asks you about the Dosing Method Hete is the link , there are 2 dosing methods to choose from , when you decide add it to your signature and spreadsheet


You can read all the yellow stickys here about Prozinc

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/
 
Last edited:
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. Youcan fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capillaries it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets any brand
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

Try putting a thin layer of Vaseline on the ear so the blood will bead up


Here is a video one of our members made, just ignore when she has to code it, that's because she is using a pet meter ,with a human meter like the Relion no coding is needed
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
 
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. Youcan fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capillaries it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets any brand
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

Try putting a thin layer of Vaseline on the ear so the blood will bead up


Here is a video one of our members made, just ignore when she has to code it, that's because she is using a pet meter ,with a human meter like the Relion no coding is needed
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar

Thanks.

I assume the human meter will give me an accurate cat reading and I just record it in the spreadsheet?

What should the baseline numbers be to give insulin per the meter? That is what is confusing me atm.

I think I changed everything you noted in your original post. (I double checked the paperwork, and he was diagnosed on the date on the spreadsheet, so I fixed it in the original post. Details aren't always my strong suit.)
 
Newbies are generally advised to not give any insulin if the cat is under 150 mg/dl.

Normal blood glucose levels are roughly 60 to 150. You want your cat to stay within this range as much as possible with insulin and diet. This will take time to achieve so have patience :bighug:
 
@Cap's Mama
Yes the human meter is perfectly fine. Almost all of us use it. Can you put the Dx Date on your signature please , the moderators prefer we do put it there also
. Tap on your name above then tap on signature and add it ,then tap save

You need to put in the U cell or square how many units of insulin you gave
 
What happened between the dates of 2/27 and 3/10?
Have you tested Cap since 3/10 you need to be testing at night also , You need to withhold food 2 hours prior to testing his AMPS test and PMPS test so it's not good influenced and get some additional tests after that.

To add the additional tests in your title after you test his AMPS and his PMPS test

tap on the word Thread Tools that's to the right , then tap on Edit Title add add the tests then tap save
 
Last edited:
Between the dates -- I gave the recommended dose 2ce a day after food as instructed. It took a couple of weeks to get him into an eating cycle that was 12 hours apart (he eats 4/5 times a day, but now I pick up his dry food after 2pm so he's hungry at 5:30). I was not blood testing (obviously; I am going to start tomorrow, hopefully), but his lethargy improved, he perked up, and he pees LESS but still too much.

How often should I try to test at first? I'm not sure he's going to tolerate it, but I'll try.

So anything above 150 is okay to give his regular dose; below that, I should ask here, I assume.

And I track his numbers on the spreadsheet when I blood test twice a day? Should I also post them in this thread?
 
Between the dates -- I gave the recommended dose 2ce a day after food as instructed. It took a couple of weeks to get him into an eating cycle that was 12 hours apart (he eats 4/5 times a day, but now I pick up his dry food after 2pm so he's hungry at 5:30). I was not blood testing (obviously; I am going to start tomorrow, hopefully), but his lethargy improved, he perked up, and he pees LESS but still too much.

How often should I try to test at first? I'm not sure he's going to tolerate it, but I'll try.
:bighug::cat::cat:
So anything above 150 is okay to give his regular dose; below that, I should ask here, I assume.

And I track his numbers on the spreadsheet when I blood test twice a day? Should I also post them in this thread?

Welcome to FDF
 
Between the dates -- I gave the recommended dose 2ce a day after food as instructed. It took a couple of weeks to get him into an eating cycle that was 12 hours apart (he eats 4/5 times a day, but now I pick up his dry food after 2pm so he's hungry at 5:30). I was not blood testing (obviously; I am going to start tomorrow, hopefully), but his lethargy improved, he perked up, and he pees LESS but still too much.

How often should I try to test at first? I'm not sure he's going to tolerate it, but I'll try.

So anything above 150 is okay to give his regular dose; below that, I should ask here, I assume.

And I track his numbers on the spreadsheet when I blood test twice a day? Should I also post them in this thread?
Even though you didn't test on those dates you still need to put them on the spreadsheet and how many units you have . You can put in the AMPS and the PMPS cells No Test .

You don't have to pick up the Dr Elsey's Dry food at 2 PM
What are your shooting times? The only thing we want you to do is don't feed him 2 hours before you test him first thing in the morning AMPS and same goes for his PMPS. We encourage members to feed small snacks about 1- 2 tablespoons maybe around +3 and +5 . You want to try and find his nadir , which is the lowest point in the cycles . Vary the testing times each day. You need to test at night also.
Yes you should post and ask if his number is 150 or below, since you are just starting to test and we don't know how his numbers are on the Prozinc.
You can put in your Title
Help Need Dosing Advice The Date then Cab and his AMPS or his PMPS
 
And I track his numbers on the spreadsheet when I blood test twice a day? Should I also post them in this thread?
You need to be testing more than just twice a day. Yes post them in your title also

Have you read all the yellow stickys about Prozinc
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozincapa-pzi.24/

Sorry you need to add SLGS to your signature also

Normal BG is between 50 and 120 on a human meter. . You don't need the dose on your signature because it will be changing, so you can delete that
@Cap's Mama

Did you give any insulin between 4-11 thru 4-15 ? If you did you need to fill in the Unit cell

@Cap's Mama
 
Last edited:
I try to feed him around 5:30-5:45am after he has eaten, and again at the same time in the evening.

He is usually hungry again around 10am and sometimes at noon. I usually pick up the dry food so he doesn't eat it at 4pm (when he's hungry again) and ruin his appetite for his supper. Sometimes he wants a snack about 8/9pm. He's always been a hungry boy.
 
He is usually hungry again around 10am and sometimes at noon. I usually pick up the dry food so he doesn't eat it at 4pm (when he's hungry again) and ruin his appetite for his supper. Sometimes he wants a snack about 8/9pm. He's always been a hungry boy.

We don't use times , because we are all in different times zones . You would say @+4 for example which means 4 hours after the AMPS test and PMPS test.
Like I said only without food 2 hours prior to testing his AMPS and PMPS test , you can feed him small snacks throughout the cycle .

I private messaged Suzanne and asked her to take a look at your posts and give you some advice

To help with the testing bring him to the same spot every time to test. Put down a few of the Dr Elsey's kibble and try and test him right away. Or put down a teaspoon of the wet food

@Cap's Mama
 
@Cap's Mama

Do you have the
U-40 syringes with half unit markings
We use these syringes with half unit markings because we adjust the doses by 0.25 units at a time and these make it easier to do that

https://www.chewy.com/ulticare-vetr...UXMApB0cErUdCN43mTYcWA9JOs3N51H8aAhdMEALw_wcB


Amazon also has them, you won't need a vets script from Amazon

UltiCare VetRx U-40 Pet Insulin Syringes, Comfortable and Accurate Dosing of Insulin for Pets, Compatible with Any U-40 Strength Insulin, Size: 3/10cc, 29G x ½’’, with Half Unit Markings, 100 ct Box
Amazon's
Choice

Amazon link
https://a.co/d/ecDK1ZF




  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
 
:bighug:

What time do you normally give breakfast and dinner? You want to give test blood glucose levels and give insulin at the same time. Some people like to do it all while the cat is busy eating and won't notice. I test, prep the food and meds (my cat takes them for other health issues), and give insulin while my cat is eating.

A few small meals spread throughout the day works for most diabetic cats. A programmable timed feeder works great for both dry and canned food. If possible, limit the dry to a very small amount daily. Some diabetics are carb sensitive.
 
Back
Top