Hi Deb and Gus Elmo what dose of lantus was Gus Elmo started on ?
4 units seems too high of a dose , did the vet increase by whole units?
We don't base the dose on Pre Shots , we base them on how low the dose takes them
We adjust the dose by 0.25 units
Do you have U-100 syringes with the half unit markings? Make it easier to adjust the doses
If you can fill out what we call our signature that will be helpful,it's at the end of everyone's post in gray
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
- Add info we need to help you:
- Caregiver & kitty's name
- DX: Date
- Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
- Name of your meter
- Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
- Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
- DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
- Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
- Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
- Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
Take a look at mine
We also use a spreadsheet to track our cats BG so we know how the insulin is working and how low they are dropping so we know when to either increase or decrease the dose
We adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time . We don't adjust the dose by going by the Pre Shots
About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced
Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing
+1 same as you do for AM cycle
We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers
I'll give you the link to set it up , if you have trouble just ask and we have a member who will gladly do it for you
You can look at any members spreadsheet to see what it looks like, it's at the end of everyone's signature just tap on it
Royal Canin Glycobalance (both wet and dry) is too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. The wet is around 14% carbs You need not restrict yourself to prescription food. Any low carb canned food (or raw food) will do.
So if you switch to low carb food you need to definitely be monitoring him because the BG can drop by 100 points
Here is a list of wet foods, a lot of members feed Fancy Feast Pate or Friskies, or any other one you will see on the chart
We like to feed 6% carbs and under
Here is the food chart
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/