New Member, April 24

Status
Not open for further replies.

Autumn Palmer

Member Since 2020
My cat was diagnosed as a diabetic a little over a month ago, he’s is 15 years old. He takes 3U of vetsulin two times daily and at his spot checks at the vet his blood sugar is always 90-120. The vet tells me he’s right where he should be, however, he is now very aggressive towards my other cat without provocation, he has trouble controlling his bladder, and he is not nearly as alert and responsive as he once was. He is currently on amoxicillin to treat an infection.
My question regards home testing. I have not yet begun home testing, but I really want to start given his symptoms. I know how to get the blood and use the monitor, but how do I adjust his insulin dosage per his blood sugar level? Also, does anyone have any tricks to controlling his anger and peeing? I can tell he does not feel good, I want to do everything I can to make sure he is happy and well.
 
WELCOME TO FDMB! So HAPPY you've found us! Aggression can be the result of your kitty feeling crappy. Some think its because they know something is wrong and that survival mode kicks in. That doesnt mean all other options should be eliminated. I cannot give dosing advice as I havent had a diabetic in a very long time. That just goes to see how GOOD this site and its members are...I'm still here:p
Its going to be ok. You might try reading here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/suggestions-tech-support-testing-area.6/
Learn to set up a spreadsheet it will help us help you!
There will be others chiming in.
Again WELCOME:bighug:
jeanne
 
Hello and welcome!

He takes 3U of vetsulin two times daily and at his spot checks at the vet his blood sugar is always 90-120.

That's low for a vet reading! Yes, it's right in the middle of the normal range of BG, but a) most cats run quite a bit higher due to stress at the vet, and b) on 3U of vetsulin, you'd expect a pretty wide range of BG readings throughout the day. The odds of hitting normal numbers and having that be the lowest point of the day during the times you happened to be at the vet's office... I'm worried that your cat (name?) might be going much lower during the day at home, and that that might be the cause of the aggressive behavior. See the list of symptoms at How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL! Print this Out!!

I'm very glad you found us and want to start home testing! I don't want to scare you, but I'm afraid your cat could be in danger.

Most of us here use human meters-- cheaper and more convenient to get strips (and you will find that you go through more strips than you think!). If you are in the US, the ReliOn brand at WalMart is popular, but really, there's not a lot of difference among the different meters so it's just what is convenient for you. One other consideration is the size of the blood droplet needed if you have a choice on that (smaller is better). You'll also need lancets, in the beginning you should use the larger size (26 or 28 gauge, usually sold for "alternate site testing" in humans).

Please let us know if you have any questions!
 
I know how to get the blood and use the monitor, but how do I adjust his insulin dosage per his blood sugar level?

Oops, sorry, read right through this and gave my "what monitor should I buy?" answer! Anyway, dose adjustments will come later once you start gathering data, but just to give you an idea of where your cat is: we don't recommend that new people give an insulin like Vetsulin when BG is less than 200 on a human meter (225 or 250 on a pet meter such as is used in a vet's office), and anything under 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter any time during the day is too low and risking hypoglycemia.

3U is a large dose. Most cats start around 1U 2x/day, and we adjust in increments of 0.25U.
 
I did some searching online for the ReliOn meter and saw I need a lancet. When my cat (Monty) is tested at the vet he always just pricks his ear rather than uses a lancet which I’m assuming is usually used for humans to prick their own finger. Would I be better off using the lancet or pricking him with just the needle?

Hello and welcome!



That's low for a vet reading! Yes, it's right in the middle of the normal range of BG, but a) most cats run quite a bit higher due to stress at the vet, and b) on 3U of vetsulin, you'd expect a pretty wide range of BG readings throughout the day. The odds of hitting normal numbers and having that be the lowest point of the day during the times you happened to be at the vet's office... I'm worried that your cat (name?) might be going much lower during the day at home, and that that might be the cause of the aggressive behavior. See the list of symptoms at How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL! Print this Out!!

I'm very glad you found us and want to start home testing! I don't want to scare you, but I'm afraid your cat could be in danger.

Most of us here use human meters-- cheaper and more convenient to get strips (and you will find that you go through more strips than you think!). If you are in the US, the ReliOn brand at WalMart is popular, but really, there's not a lot of difference among the different meters so it's just what is convenient for you. One other consideration is the size of the blood droplet needed if you have a choice on that (smaller is better). You'll also need lancets, in the beginning you should use the larger size (26 or 28 gauge, usually sold for "alternate site testing" in humans).

Please let us know if you have any questions!
 
I did some searching online for the ReliOn meter and saw I need a lancet. When my cat (Monty) is tested at the vet he always just pricks his ear rather than uses a lancet which I’m assuming is usually used for humans to prick their own finger. Would I be better off using the lancet or pricking him with just the needle?

The lancets. You'll likely be testing multiple times a day, so that's the easiest and cheapest way to do multiple sterile pokes.
 
His original does was 1U, however his BG did not budge with that during his day at the vet so he was bumped up to 1.5U. We have been gradually increasing to 3 U since that time due to his BG still being high at check ups and his symptoms at home such as peeing, aggression, and the fact he is not very alert as he had always been. Should I lower his dose to 2.5 for the time being as I begin to delve into home testing?

Oops, sorry, read right through this and gave my "what monitor should I buy?" answer! Anyway, dose adjustments will come later once you start gathering data, but just to give you an idea of where your cat is: we don't recommend that new people give an insulin like Vetsulin when BG is less than 200 on a human meter (225 or 250 on a pet meter such as is used in a vet's office), and anything under 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter any time during the day is too low and risking hypoglycemia.

3U is a large dose. Most cats start around 1U 2x/day, and we adjust in increments of 0.25U.
 
Thank you so much for your help! I wish I had found this site sooner, this is a huge help.
Don’t you worry. You found it just in time. It took me over 6 months since my Minnie was diagnosed so Monty will be fine. I was thinking the exact same thing Nan said. Those numbers at a vet visit with stress and all seem too low.
In the meantime like JT suggested, set up your spreadsheet and your signature (see mine below). If you need help with either let us know

It will also be helpful to tell folks what food Monty is on. Welcome!!! :)
 
I went out and got the ReliOn meter as suggested, he was getting really stressed the first time I tried doing it on him so I’m giving him space but will try again soon. Right now he gets Fancy Feast seafood classic pate with both insulin shots (8am and 8pm) and he gets original meow mix throughout the day. I am working on getting him off of it, I want to get his blood sugar regulated first.
What are the best times to be taking his blood sugar?

Don’t you worry. You found it just in time. It took me over 6 months since my Minnie was diagnosed so Monty will be fine. I was thinking the exact same thing Nan said. Those numbers at a vet visit with stress and all seem too low.
In the meantime like JT suggested, set up your spreadsheet and your signature (see mine below). If you need help with either let us know

It will also be helpful to tell folks what food Monty is on. Welcome!!! :)
 
I went out and got the ReliOn meter as suggested, he was getting really stressed the first time I tried doing it on him so I’m giving him space but will try again soon.

Are you giving him treats afterward? To get him to associate the testing with "good things", give him something yummy after every attempt, successful or not! For non-food-motivated cats, you can use anything he likes as a treat-- brushing, a play session, whatever.

Right now he gets Fancy Feast seafood classic pate with both insulin shots (8am and 8pm) and he gets original meow mix throughout the day. I am working on getting him off of it, I want to get his blood sugar regulated first.

Hmmmm... if he went from a meow mix diet (high carb) to a combination of high and low carb (the FF), that could also be bringing his BG numbers down. Whatever you do, don't stop offering him the meow mix during the day before you get the testing up and running-- that could be what has been keeping him safe!

What are the best times to be taking his blood sugar?

We test before every shot (to make sure he's high enough for insulin), and then usually one or more times between shots. With Vetsulin, most of the action happens between 1-6 hours post-shot, so you want to get a test in early, at +2 or +3 hrs after the shot, then decide from there how closely he needs to be monitored.
 
Hi Autumn and your sugarkitty. What is his name? Usually people tell us their cat's name, but forget to tell us theirs. ;)

How to set up your signature is pretty easy. Directions are here: Editing your Signature, Profile, and Preferences

Only takes about 1 minute, to add some information to your "User Id" Signature. But once you do, through the magic of computers, that information will be seen at the bottom of each of your posts. Retroactively too!
 
I went out and got the ReliOn meter as suggested, he was getting really stressed the first time I tried doing it on him so I’m giving him space but will try again soon. Right now he gets Fancy Feast seafood classic pate with both insulin shots (8am and 8pm) and he gets original meow mix throughout the day. I am working on getting him off of it, I want to get his blood sugar regulated first.
What are the best times to be taking his blood sugar?
Hi Autumn welcome so you say you are shooting the vetsulin at 8 am and 8 pm
So those are your times
You Test 8 am which is his AMPS (pre shot) Feed then you wait 30 minutes , and then give the insulin. With Vetsulin you have to make sure there is food on board with Vetsulin because it's fast acting .
 
  • Warm the ear with a rice sock or a warm washcloth wrapped in a plastic bag.
  • Either freehand or use a lancing device; new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed; then progress to a 31g or 33g which are finer.
  • Be sure to poke in the "sweet spot" and not the major vein that runs along the length of the ear. Poking the vein will not only hurt, but will result in a lot of blood. The sweet spot is on the edge of the ear.
4395c545-36bf-4aba-bec7-4392fcdb191c-jpeg.48119

But did you also know there is a particular way for the lancet to be used? It has one side that is beveled so the sharpest part goes in first, if used correctly.
You don't have to use the lancing device, you can just hold the lancet and do it freehand
 
I went out and got the ReliOn meter as suggested, he was getting really stressed the first time I tried doing it on him so I’m giving him space but will try again soon. Right now he gets Fancy Feast seafood classic pate with both insulin shots (8am and 8pm) and he gets original meow mix throughout the day. I am working on getting him off of it, I want to get his blood sugar regulated first.
What are the best times to be taking his blood sugar?


That ear diagram saved my life when it comes to testing. Just follow those steps/tips and you’ll get Monty well again soon! :)
 
I got the ReliOn meter, I’m just working on getting him comfortable with it so that he will let me do what I need to do. I give him freeze dried treats after every attempt.
After reading through here I decided to lower his insulin to 2U until I can check his blood sugar, and it has really turned around his overall demeanor. I obviously don’t know if his BG is to high now but due to his behavior I don’t think that his BG is to low.

 
After reading through here I decided to lower his insulin to 2U until I can check his blood sugar, and it has really turned around his overall demeanor. I obviously don’t know if his BG is to high now but due to his behavior I don’t think that his BG is to low.

Great news!!!!! :cat:

Let us know if you have any questions on the testing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top