New Member April 15.24 Mrs. Jones AMPS 324/18 Managing Highs and Lows

Status
Not open for further replies.

MissyCat6

Member Since 2024
Good Day! What a wonderful group of caring pet parents! We have been managing Mrs Jones' (age 14) newly diagnosed diabetes for a month. She's on Lantus and gets 2 i.u in the morning and 1.5 i.u in the evening. This dosage is an increase (last 4 days) as we didn't see any movement to regulation. She is high in the morning and afternoon(387-288) and 63 at some point around 10pm MT. The last 2 nights, I was so worried, I fed her corn syrup and did an assist feed as I thought she would drop too low during the night. She is "wearing" a Freestyle Libre 2 sensor and we have a reader so I can check readily. Any idea on what is happening? Could it be the cross over of two shots intersecting? Or is the drop happening because at her evening meal, she drops to a great level and therefore doesn't need the evening shot? We have a call with our vet scheduled tomorrow too. Thanks!
 
Welcome to the best group you could ever find.
We don't like to give different doses morning and night
I will tag a few experienced members for you
Can you set up what we call our signature ,it's information we need about Mrs Jones
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedlyhelp
also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help

Do you see mine about Tyler in gray letters
The link I gave you will also explain how to set up our spreadsheet and his to use it, its easy, you can look at other members spreadsheet to see what it looks like. If you have trouble setting it up just ask and someone will set it up for you.

I would suggest going back to your title and putting NEW MEMBER first
Look to the right of your post and tap in Thread Tools then tap on Edit Title and add NEW MEMBER first and tap save
@MissyCat6
 
Good Day! What a wonderful group of caring pet parents! We have been managing Mrs Jones' (age 14) newly diagnosed diabetes for a month. She's on Lantus and gets 2 i.u in the morning and 1.5 i.u in the evening. This dosage is an increase (last 4 days) as we didn't see any movement to regulation. She is high in the morning and afternoon(387-288) and 63 at some point around 10pm MT. The last 2 nights, I was so worried, I fed her corn syrup and did an assist feed as I thought she would drop too low during the night. She is "wearing" a Freestyle Libre 2 sensor and we have a reader so I can check readily. Any idea on what is happening? Could it be the cross over of two shots intersecting? Or is the drop happening because at her evening meal, she drops to a great level and therefore doesn't need the evening shot? We have a call with our vet scheduled tomorrow too. Thanks!
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
 
Hello and welcome. I've moved your post to the Feline Health forum which is where we ask new people to start. Then we can get you organized with a spreadsheet and some basics, so you can then be ready for the busier Lantus forum.

Putting things in the signature will really help us, as there are common questions we ask everyone. First topic is food - what food is Mrs. Jones eating, and how often? Getting regulated is a balance of the right amount of insulin and food. And the type of food you feed can influence how we help with dosing.

It's good to hear you are giving Lantus - which is a good insulin for cats. However, the dosing methods we use have us give the same dose of insulin in the AM and PM. Lantus is a depot style insulin, which means it's cumulative over time. With differing doses AM and PM, it's hard to figure out a good dose with our dosing methods. Cats typically need two doses of insulin a day, I rather suspect the problem is the size of dose(s) you are giving. A spreadsheet with blood sugar data will help us help you.

Also note, the Freestyle Libre tends to read lower that a human blood glucose (BG) meter in lower numbers. It's always good to test lower Libre numbers with a handheld meter. It's possible she wasn't as low as you thought she was.
 
Hello Wendy and Neko! Thanks so much!

Food: Mrs. Jones is eating Square Pet PowerCat Ultra Low Carb dry food. She has never eaten wet food in her life except right before a dental. She refuses it.
AM-5:45am-6:15am 3 tablespoons
PM-5:45pm-6:15pm 2-2.5 tablespoons and 9:30pm 1 tablespoon (as per Vet so she gets enough food daily and won't bug us to eat at night)

Dosing: 6:45am 2 iu
6:45pm 1 iu (was 1.5 iu last three nights but gave her 1 tonight due to hypo last 3 nights)

I will create the spreadsheet tonight. Thanks for the tip on the Freestyle Libre. We've been using the reader to the sensor now after the iPhone app was not reliable. Do you suggest strips too? Thanks!
 
All I could find for that food was the guaranteed analysis and using the formula for that you get around 14% carbs. We suggest feeding food 10% carbs or less, that's what we consider low carb. The Square Pet does have potato fairly high on the list of ingredients, so not surprising the carbs aren't really low. Low for most dry foods though. In Canada we have another lower carb option which is Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein. Or you can try freeze dried or air dried food for crunch.

For feeding, you might want to reserve some of her main meal for later, say about 3-4 hours after the shot, both AM and PM. That way if she's going lower, she has some fresh food/carbs on board to balance the insulin.

I think a better solution on dosing would be to give her 1.5 units AM and PM. The depot means that what you shoot in the AM can influence the night as well.

In Canada, a lot of people use the Freestyle Lite, it needs just a small blood drop. Sometimes you can get test strips for it on sale.
 
Hello! Thanks so much! I've added details to my signature and the spreadsheet has been submitted.:)
 
Thank you! I will look for that food tomorrow. For a feeding schedule, do you suggest if she eats a total of 6 tbsp of dry during the day, have a post-breakfast snack (i.e., feed 3 times per day)? I wondered if there was a crossover period of the Lantus creating the dip:(
 
Thanks again, you are all wonderful! I'm going to see how tonight goes and hopefully we'll get the ok for at 1.5 AM and 1.5 PM. :)
 
Thanks for getting the spreadsheet started. The U column is where you put the number of units of insulin given.

As far as snacks at this point in time, I'd stick with what you are doing for the evening, and do the same if you can during the day. ie. reserve a little bit of food for a few hours after the shot.
 
I should have mentioned, but if you use the World version of the spreadsheet, it has two tabs. One is called "World" and you enter the mmol/L we see on our meters, and the other tab is the US tab that automatically does the conversion to US numbers. There's actually a third tab called Labs, which some people use to enter blood work data. I liked the Labs tab cause I can track trends. The non diabetic cats have also got Labs spreadsheets.
 
Do you suggest strips too? Thanks!
What ever human meter you purchase you need to get the test strips the go with it. It tells you on the box of the meter
We need more information in your signature besides just Jones (age 14)

Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.)
also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help

Do you see mine about Tyler in gray letters

We need
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedlyhelp
also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help

Do you see mine about Tyler in gray letters
@MissyCat6
 
Last edited:
Thank you! Yes, she is fussy to begin with so gradual indeed is the way to go! Waving at you from Alberta! :)
 
Thank you! Please let me know if how I am entering the data is correct. I couldn't find the World tab so I am multiplying my numbers on the reader by 18. Thanks so much!
 
Thanks! Oh goodness, I should have known the U is IU. Data is now entered. We did indeed give her a night snack yesterday evening. We also spoke with our vet today. We will be moving now to 1.5 in the am and 1.5 in the pm! However, if her numbers are low at dinner, we will give her 1 instead of 1.5. Her numbers are slowly dropping this morning, much better than yesterday:)
 
Thanks! Oh goodness, I should have known the U is IU. Data is now entered. We did indeed give her a night snack yesterday evening. We also spoke with our vet today. We will be moving now to 1.5 in the am and 1.5 in the pm! However, if her numbers are low at dinner, we will give her 1 instead of 1.5. Her numbers are slowly dropping this morning, much better than yesterday:)
@Wendy&Neko
@Red & Rover (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Marje and Gracie
Can you look at her SS ladies
Thank you

@MissyCat6
It's best to give the same dose for both cycles
 
Last edited:
Hello! Thanks so much! I've added details to my signature and the spreadsheet has been submitted.:)
You need to add this information to your signature
I think I gave you the link about the signature in post number 13 above
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Tap in your name up top then tap on signature and add this information
Then tap Save :cat:

@MissyCat6
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top