Boom64
Member Since 2026
Hello everyone,
Thank you for taking the time to read. Long story short, Bumper was diagnosed in September and was prescribed 2 units of Lantus via the Solostar pen. After a couple instances of his BG dropping too low, my vet recommended I only give him 2 units if his BG was above 250 mg/DL and 1 unit if below. I thought this seemed a little contradictory to what I had read about Lantus online, but it seemed to work for a couple months. She also said I only needed to prime the needle with 1 unit before shooting, which I recently discovered is incorrect and should be 2 units. My observation was that 2 units would drop his nadir into an acceptable range, but by his next shot he would be in the 150 range. 1 unit would typically sustain this for a couple doses before he'd shoot back up again. I found myself repeating this for the months of November and December. All in all, he was very active, playful and had a healthy appetite.
In early January, his fructosamine test came back at 349, which concerned my vet. She was worried he may experience hypo episodes soon. This scared me and I became more conservative with giving him 1 unit, which significantly raised his nadir, but seemed to keep him in the 170 - 250 range (on a Relion meter which I believe is still high). After about of week of this, 2 units began to not lower his BG until sometimes 12 hours later, but 1 unit seemed to drop him quicker but not as low. I thought this was possible bouncing.
About this time, I began priming with 2 units, and noticed a significant increase in the efficacy of 1 unit which dropped his nadir into the 70-80 range for about a week. I thought this was great, and assumed perhaps the priming issue was the reason and that 1 unit would suffice. This morning, I tested him at 364 mg/DL, which was significantly higher than he has been recently. I really struggled to decide his dose, but I decided on 2 units. By his nadir, he was at 132 mg/DL, but again I was concerned about switching his dose around daily.
Basically, I've debated trying 1.5 units via syringe, or just sticking with the 1 unit while priming 2 units prior regardless of his preshot number. I've lost confidence in my vet for several reasons since his diagnosis, so I am hesistant to see what she has to say. She seems to think that both an Alphatrak and Relion give the same number (which has also caused confusion for me when determining his dose based on a 250 mg/DL reading.
Anyways, I am lost. Bumper's quality of life has incredibly improved since his treatment began, but I am not confident in what I am doing at the moment. My spreadsheet is in my signature. Any input would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!
Thank you for taking the time to read. Long story short, Bumper was diagnosed in September and was prescribed 2 units of Lantus via the Solostar pen. After a couple instances of his BG dropping too low, my vet recommended I only give him 2 units if his BG was above 250 mg/DL and 1 unit if below. I thought this seemed a little contradictory to what I had read about Lantus online, but it seemed to work for a couple months. She also said I only needed to prime the needle with 1 unit before shooting, which I recently discovered is incorrect and should be 2 units. My observation was that 2 units would drop his nadir into an acceptable range, but by his next shot he would be in the 150 range. 1 unit would typically sustain this for a couple doses before he'd shoot back up again. I found myself repeating this for the months of November and December. All in all, he was very active, playful and had a healthy appetite.
In early January, his fructosamine test came back at 349, which concerned my vet. She was worried he may experience hypo episodes soon. This scared me and I became more conservative with giving him 1 unit, which significantly raised his nadir, but seemed to keep him in the 170 - 250 range (on a Relion meter which I believe is still high). After about of week of this, 2 units began to not lower his BG until sometimes 12 hours later, but 1 unit seemed to drop him quicker but not as low. I thought this was possible bouncing.
About this time, I began priming with 2 units, and noticed a significant increase in the efficacy of 1 unit which dropped his nadir into the 70-80 range for about a week. I thought this was great, and assumed perhaps the priming issue was the reason and that 1 unit would suffice. This morning, I tested him at 364 mg/DL, which was significantly higher than he has been recently. I really struggled to decide his dose, but I decided on 2 units. By his nadir, he was at 132 mg/DL, but again I was concerned about switching his dose around daily.
Basically, I've debated trying 1.5 units via syringe, or just sticking with the 1 unit while priming 2 units prior regardless of his preshot number. I've lost confidence in my vet for several reasons since his diagnosis, so I am hesistant to see what she has to say. She seems to think that both an Alphatrak and Relion give the same number (which has also caused confusion for me when determining his dose based on a 250 mg/DL reading.
Anyways, I am lost. Bumper's quality of life has incredibly improved since his treatment began, but I am not confident in what I am doing at the moment. My spreadsheet is in my signature. Any input would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!