Sherri & Moondance
Member Since 2021
Sherri (human) and Moondance (cat) here .
Moondance is 15 y.o. with a history of IBD, dental problems, and anxiety issues. Last Fall he started drinking & peeing much more than usual. I really expected a Dx of diabetes at his annual exam in November, due to the PU/PD and longterm use of Prednisolone for IBD, but bloodwork was good (except high WBC). A few weeks later he was acting weird so I took him back in. His teeth were a mess and they had to pull them all (half in early Dec, half in mid-Jan). Somewhere in there he started refusing to walk up the steps or walking up in slow motion. I wrote it off as being due to pain, cone of shame, pain meds, etc. He did not heal well from the extractions and had to have a surgical repair done in Feb. In March we found a recurrence if infections in his mouth, so more antibiotics. Every time I took him in, I mentioned the PU/PD and strange behavior with the stairs.
Finally in April I realized he wasn’t just walking in slow motion, he was really struggling to get up the steps. Back to the vet in early May who ran bloodwork and found BG at 268. We weaned him off the Prednisolone and hoped that would due the trick. It didn’t, so here we are! His numbers have never been terribly high 230-380. Vet recommended Rx food (Purina DM canned), but Moondance has been on homemade raw for years. I did’t see how switching could possibly help.
So, now he gets methyl b12 for the (suspected) neuropathy. I’ve started testing at home (which is going pretty well) with a Relion meter, placed an order for Lantus from Mark’s Pharmacy in Canada, and ordered u100 syringes with 1/2 unit markings from Amazon. My goal is remission (of course), but I am a bit intimidated by the TR testing requirements and nervous about hypos. Luckily, I work from home so frequent monitoring shouldn’t be a problem. I picked up some MC and HC canned food and corn syrup today to be prepared for lows. Tomorrow, I will start feeding and testing according to the schedule I plan when we start the insulin.
Vet said starting dose of 1 unit 2x/day, which is in line with the recommended .25u/kg. Moondance weighs about 10.5 lbs. But since his BG has never been terribly high, should I start w/ .5 u instead?
This board is a godsend! I welcome any words of wisdom or advice.
Moondance is 15 y.o. with a history of IBD, dental problems, and anxiety issues. Last Fall he started drinking & peeing much more than usual. I really expected a Dx of diabetes at his annual exam in November, due to the PU/PD and longterm use of Prednisolone for IBD, but bloodwork was good (except high WBC). A few weeks later he was acting weird so I took him back in. His teeth were a mess and they had to pull them all (half in early Dec, half in mid-Jan). Somewhere in there he started refusing to walk up the steps or walking up in slow motion. I wrote it off as being due to pain, cone of shame, pain meds, etc. He did not heal well from the extractions and had to have a surgical repair done in Feb. In March we found a recurrence if infections in his mouth, so more antibiotics. Every time I took him in, I mentioned the PU/PD and strange behavior with the stairs.
Finally in April I realized he wasn’t just walking in slow motion, he was really struggling to get up the steps. Back to the vet in early May who ran bloodwork and found BG at 268. We weaned him off the Prednisolone and hoped that would due the trick. It didn’t, so here we are! His numbers have never been terribly high 230-380. Vet recommended Rx food (Purina DM canned), but Moondance has been on homemade raw for years. I did’t see how switching could possibly help.
So, now he gets methyl b12 for the (suspected) neuropathy. I’ve started testing at home (which is going pretty well) with a Relion meter, placed an order for Lantus from Mark’s Pharmacy in Canada, and ordered u100 syringes with 1/2 unit markings from Amazon. My goal is remission (of course), but I am a bit intimidated by the TR testing requirements and nervous about hypos. Luckily, I work from home so frequent monitoring shouldn’t be a problem. I picked up some MC and HC canned food and corn syrup today to be prepared for lows. Tomorrow, I will start feeding and testing according to the schedule I plan when we start the insulin.
Vet said starting dose of 1 unit 2x/day, which is in line with the recommended .25u/kg. Moondance weighs about 10.5 lbs. But since his BG has never been terribly high, should I start w/ .5 u instead?
This board is a godsend! I welcome any words of wisdom or advice.