New Member - 7/18

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all. Found out this week that my cat, Mochi, is diabetic. I made a post on reddit about my initial reaction which detailed the beginning signs of diabetes. At the start of July, I noticed my cat having some issues with her hind legs. They were slipping and sliding underneath her when she walked, and she was also having difficulty hopping onto the bed and on her cat tree. At first, I thought it was because most of my apartment is hardwood floors and when she walked on carpet she seemed walk fine. I was still worried so I ended up getting her joint supplements (Dasuquin) in case this was arthritis as she's a bit on the heavier side. She was also laying down on the ground more often, but I had thought that she was cooling down cuz it's been warm now. Still persisted and so I called up my vet to schedule an appointment for Friday 7/19/24. On Monday I started panicking and I got so overwhelmed at the thought of my cat being in pain and unable to say anything that I started going down countless rabbit holes online on potential issues that she may have. From saddle thrombus to arthrits, but the one that really stood out to me was diabetes. Ended up calling my vet again to ask for the appointment to get scheduled for 7/16/24 as I could not bear having to stay as anxious as I was at the time and wanted answers ASAP.

As expected, my vet said that Mochi was diabetic and I've been quite overwhelmed with a lot of emotions. The doctor wanted to do an insulin start-up the next day (7/17/24) with me bringing Mochi into the office early in the morning and coming back in the evening. They monitored her, did xrays, and put a FreeStyle Libre sensor on her. When I came to pick her up after ~10hrs, they gave me the run down on how to inject insulin and how to use the sensor.

After all that, I took Mochi home and gave her my first bit of her insulin. After that, on Reddit, a few people had commented and said that this website was a really great resource, so I immediately checked it out. Now that me and Mochi are here, I'm ready to delve deeper to learn how to manage Mochi's diabetes so that she can be a happy and fulfilled sugar cat.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
We recommend giving a good suitable insulin such as Lantus or Prozinc, feeding a lowcarb wet diet and monitoring the blood glucose to give your kitty the best chance at a normal life.
Can you tell us what insulin Mocha has been prescribed and how much?
What food are you feeding her? We recommend a low carb wet diet. There is no need to feed an expensive prescription food. Here is a FOOD CHART for you to have a look at. Look for foods that are 10% carbs or lower.
And here is a link for new members HELP US HELP YOU
You will find the link to our spreadsheet and our signature. The signature will tell us all about Mocha so we are not always asking you information and the spreadsheet you can add the data from the libre.
You might like to think about hometesting the blood glucose yourself using a human meter once you have got used to giving the shots and reading the libre.
Also look at the hypo chart in the link above and make sure you set one up asap in case of low numbers.
For the leg weakness which is diabetic neuropathy you can get Zobaline from life.link.com which will help resolve it along with getting Mocha back into normal numbers. You can’t buy the zobaline at the vet.
It’s normal to feel overwhelmed in the beginning. It will get much better:)
Keep asking questions.
 
Hi Nicole
I used to give Tyler
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-60-capsules-5
the Vitacost brand another member told me about
Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

Same as Zobaline , but the Zobaline is so expensive as you know
This is the same thing
The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
So I bought the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and added it to the Vitacost brand
If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half and crush it up and add it, some members didn't even add the folic acid and the neuropathy improved
The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food
Has no taste, no need to crush it up, I still give it to Tyler every now and then and he has never tasted it in his food , I always add water to his food and just stir up the methyl B-12 good
I switched to the vitacost brand because the zobaline was too expensive,
Even though the vitacost brand is 5000 mcgs and the zobaline is 3000 mcgs
What they don't need they will pee out because it's water soluble.

The Zobaline is expensive for 60 pills, 30.00 some other places want 33.00
I used to use the Zobaline when I joined, then a member told me about the Vitacost brand .

It took about 2 months for Tyler to get back to walking normal, jumping on to the couch, running around
But every few weeks I did see a slight improvement
Some members didn't even add the folic acid to the vitacost brand and it still helped and the neuropathy was gone
 
Welcome to FDMB.

There are three basics to consider when getting started on the adventure: insulin, home testing, and food. Bron has asked that you fill us in on which insulin the vet prescribed. Lantus (now in generic/biosimilar form -- glargine) and Prozinc are the two insulins that the American Animal Hospital Assn recommends for feline diabetes.

The best way to monitor your cat's progress and to keep your kitty safe is to home test. The Libre will do that. Please keep in mind that cats are part Houdini and can manage to remove the sensor. The Libre is also not always accurate in lower range numbers -- it gives a falsely low reading. We recommend that you also learn how to test using a hand held meter. Many people here use the Walmart Relion meter since the strips are the least expensive available.

Finally, we strongly encourage a low carbohydrate canned food diet. This is a link to a chart that includes the carb amounts for most of the foods available in the US. We consider low carb as under 10%. However, most members feed their cat a food that's in the neighborhood of 5%.

Please let us know if you have questions. We're here to help.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
We recommend giving a good suitable insulin such as Lantus or Prozinc, feeding a lowcarb wet diet and monitoring the blood glucose to give your kitty the best chance at a normal life.
Can you tell us what insulin Mocha has been prescribed and how much?
What food are you feeding her? We recommend a low carb wet diet. There is no need to feed an expensive prescription food. Here is a FOOD CHART for you to have a look at. Look for foods that are 10% carbs or lower.
And here is a link for new members HELP US HELP YOU
You will find the link to our spreadsheet and our signature. The signature will tell us all about Mocha so we are not always asking you information and the spreadsheet you can add the data from the libre.
You might like to think about hometesting the blood glucose yourself using a human meter once you have got used to giving the shots and reading the libre.
Also look at the hypo chart in the link above and make sure you set one up asap in case of low numbers.
For the leg weakness which is diabetic neuropathy you can get Zobaline from life.link.com which will help resolve it along with getting Mocha back into normal numbers. You can’t buy the zobaline at the vet.
It’s normal to feel overwhelmed in the beginning. It will get much better:)
Keep asking questions.

Thank you for the resources! Here's some more information on our end:
1. We've been prescribed Lantus at 1u twice a day.
2. Before her diagnosis, I fed her half wet food (Tiki Cat After Dark - Chicken/Quail egg) and half dry food (Orijen Classic Cat). The reason behind having the dry food was so that I could leave it out for her to graze on when I'm gone for work. Currently, I've been trying to do a full wet food diet (Tiki Cat & Friskies Classic Pate), which she's been eating up. My vet strongly recommended that I feed her a strict twice a day feeding schedule, but on the Feline Diabetes FB group that I joined the other day, they said that my vet is treating my cat like a dog in terms of feeding and that its okay for cats to graze. I'm a little stressed trying to figure out how I can feed her w/o the kibble during the day. I'm looking into automatic cat feeders, but I'm worried she won't take to it.
3. A lot of people have mentioned doing at-home testing. I do plan to start ASAP in conjunction w/ the Libre. Currently I'm really low on $ from all the testing/x-rays that we had to do the last 3 days, so I'm hoping that when I get paid, I can grab her her own set of testing tools (i'm also a diabetic so I have my own meter and lancet device, but I'm assuming that I shouldn't be sharing that with her and to keep those things separate). As for the chart, I'll get on that ASAP!
4. Someone reached out to me on Reddit when I posted and talked about Zobaline as well! I went ahead and ordered it on Amazon and am waiting for it to arrive.

2 questions I have are:
1. Insulin dose changes: Currently I'm working with my vet to monitor Mochi with the Libre and keeping to the 1u of Lantus. However, lots of resources online have said that I should be monitoring and doing 4-6 tests a day, every 2 hours for the first 5-10 day in order to find the overlap/shed times. I live alone with no family or friends nearby and work from 8am-6pm with only 1 WFH day a week. I'm pretty stressed out about all this information that I should be testing and changing dosage units and such. Part of me just wants to keep with the Libre and with my vet's recommendations, as it aligns with my schedule. But the other part wants to desperately do everything that I'm reading about for my cat so that she has the best chance. My biggest fear is coming home from work and finding out that she had an episode of low blood glucose and I wasn't there to help her because I wasn't taking the best course of action.
2. Feeding schedules: As mentioned above, my vet has strongly recommended feeding 2x a day, 12 hrs apart. Currently I've been feeding her at 7:30am/pm but have been working backwards in 15min incriments every day to adjust her feeding times to when I leave for work and come back. My vet said to be strict with her food and not let her graze after giving her insulin, but Mochi has a tendency to walk away from her food for a few minutes, come back to take a few more bites, and repeat. This happens over a period of 30min-1hr. When I fed her this morning at 7:30, I let her eat for 15mins and do her thing then gave her insulin. After that, I left her food bowl out till about 8am and then took it away. Luckily she finished everything by 8am. Normally though, I would leave it up to an hr. I'm not sure exactly what my question regarding feeding is, but what does your feedin schedule look like?

I'm still doing more reading on everything but it feels like there's so much to know and I won't be able to take care of it before I have to go back to work (I took the rest of the week off plus next monday so that I could monitor her and make sure she would be okay before I start having to leave for the office regularly). My mind is just constantly spiraling down because I'm so worried for her and I'm trying hard not to let it get to me... but its rough and I keep questioning myself like 'Can my current lifestyle support Mochi?' and 'would she be better off with someone else who can be with her all day?' There's a lot of guilt and sadness in my heart for my little lady.
 
Feeding two main meals and small snacks tends to level out the bg. Older insulins required 2 meals a day but not with depot insulins. I would get an auto feeder and start feeding her from it when you are home to help her get used to it. You can also freeze food and leave it out right before you leave the house. It will also help prevent the bg dropping too much while you are away from home. You will be able to go back to work and manage her needs. We have a sticky on just this which I will link for you. Deep breaths. This site will help you. I was afraid to test at first for fear my cat would hide and so my vet had me stop in for a check mid cycje twice a week. I eventually became a testaholic and Max was not bothered at all.
 
It sounds like you're in a good place with the insulin your vet prescribed and with what you're feeding Mochi. I was my cat's solo caregiver and I worked full time. I had a timed feeder and it was a great help! I did not feed Gabby only twice a day. I split up her meals into several portions and fed over the first few hours after her shot. If your cat grazes, there's no need to switch her feeding schedule around. The only time you need not feed Mochi is from the 2 hours prior to shot time until shot time. You don't want your pre-shot test to be influenced by food.

I've been around here a long time and I don't know if anyone used a separate meter for their cat if they were diabetic. What I would suggest is that you buy the same brand of meter especially if the strips for your meter are covered by your insurance.

As for frequency of testing, the minimum number of tests is 4. You want to get a pre-shot test at both AM and PM. Ideally, getting one additional test each cycle is recommended. On weekdays, I would get a test in before I left for work. I also moved my shot time to 5:00 so I had room to test a few times if I needed to. (I was also a bit of a testaholic!)

You are correct. There's a huge amount of information to digest. However, you know more than you think you do if you've been managing your own diabetes. It's really not all that different. Mochi would be very confused if her person gave up on her at a time when she's likely not feeling great. I treated Gabby's diabetes for 6.5 years until she crossed the Bridge. (See post #7 in Gabby's Legacy.) I wouldn't have traded that time for anything. Yes, there are some lifestyle adjustments like when I had to travel but I had a great cat sitter. My friends understood if I needed to stop at home to get a test in during an evening out. It's all overwhelming at first but it does become routine.
 
It sounds like you're in a good place with the insulin your vet prescribed and with what you're feeding Mochi. I was my cat's solo caregiver and I worked full time. I had a timed feeder and it was a great help! I did not feed Gabby only twice a day. I split up her meals into several portions and fed over the first few hours after her shot. If your cat grazes, there's no need to switch her feeding schedule around. The only time you need not feed Mochi is from the 2 hours prior to shot time until shot time. You don't want your pre-shot test to be influenced by food.

I've been around here a long time and I don't know if anyone used a separate meter for their cat if they were diabetic. What I would suggest is that you buy the same brand of meter especially if the strips for your meter are covered by your insurance.

As for frequency of testing, the minimum number of tests is 4. You want to get a pre-shot test at both AM and PM. Ideally, getting one additional test each cycle is recommended. On weekdays, I would get a test in before I left for work. I also moved my shot time to 5:00 so I had room to test a few times if I needed to. (I was also a bit of a testaholic!)

You are correct. There's a huge amount of information to digest. However, you know more than you think you do if you've been managing your own diabetes. It's really not all that different. Mochi would be very confused if her person gave up on her at a time when she's likely not feeling great. I treated Gabby's diabetes for 6.5 years until she crossed the Bridge. (See post #7 in Gabby's Legacy.) I wouldn't have traded that time for anything. Yes, there are some lifestyle adjustments like when I had to travel but I had a great cat sitter. My friends understood if I needed to stop at home to get a test in during an evening out. It's all overwhelming at first but it does become routine.

Thank you so much for the kind words. And yea, I don't think I would ever give up on Mochi but all this info has been making my brain spiral into a negative loop. I'm just constantly scared I'm going to do something wrong. I mean, just yesterday I was trying to practice getting blood from her ear and then ended up hurting her (part of her ear tore a little). She had flinched when I went to poke her and then bam, a tear. It was small and she even just turned over to sleep right after, but I was shaken up and all the confidence that I had building up just vanished. I'm thinking that I might be better off doing her paw pad, especially now that she bit off her FreeStyle Libre and I can't afford to get her another one.

As for testing, would this work? Pre-shot test at 6:00AM, food then insulin. Another test shot at 8:00AM just before I leave for work. Then in the evening, pre-shot test at 6:00PM, food then insulin. Test shot at 8:00PM and maybe 10:00PM/before bed. As mentioned above, I think I'm nervous needing to poke her that many times, especially after this incident. I'm definitely giving her treats after her shot and will also do it for after these.. but augh.. I just feel so terrible even though I know its needed.

Anyway, thank you again for the info! I'll have to try tonight since we're Libre-less now..
 
I am sorry you had that little incident with the ear. But don’t let it put you off. You will very quickly get used to doing it and it rounds as if Mochi is a real sweetheart.
They very quickly get used to being tested. At night I would come downstairs, quickly test Sheba and was back
up in bed in only 1 minute. She didn’t move in her bed at all when I tested her.
I personally would persevere with the ear testing.
That sounds a good routine you have worked out for shooting and then testing before you go to work.
 
Last edited:
I am sorry you had that little incident with the ear. But don’t let it put you off. You will very quickly get used to doing it and it rounds as if Mochi is a real sweetheart.
They very quickly get used to being tested. At night I would come downstairs, quickly test Sheba and was back
up in bed in only 1 minute. She didn’t move in her bed at all when I tested her.
I personally would persevere with the ear testing.
That sounds a good routine you have worked out for shooting and then testing before you go to work.

I really hope I can get better at this sooner. I feel terrible that I've been pricking Mochi over and over and being unable to have the meter read it bc of errors like too little blood or such.. Is there a particular reason why people go for the ears over the paws? I'm assuming its for health since they're walking around on it?
 
Have you been warming the ears first? You can use some rice in the tip of a sock and warm in microwave but test it first to see it’s not too hot. Also milk the ear towards the tip.
Also hold a torch behind the ear so you can see the vein that runs around the ear. You need to prick between the vein and the edge of the ear. Are you using a cotton ball to hold behind the ear as you test? Everyone fails at first so don’t worry.
most people use the ears. But some use the paws.
 
upload_2024-7-19_15-7-39.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-7-19_15-7-39.jpeg
    upload_2024-7-19_15-7-39.jpeg
    79.2 KB · Views: 141
It's not just you being inexperienced with home testing!! It takes a few weeks for the capillary bed along the edge of the ear to build up. Once it does, it will be easier to get blood. You might want to check on what gauge the lancet is. You want a wider lancet at the beginning -- usually below a 28 gauge (e.g., 26 gauge). Once Mochi's ear builds up the capillaries, you can switch over to a thinner lancet (e.g., 29 - 30).
 
Hi all, not sure if I needed to post under this thread again to keep the forum clean or if I needed to post separately. It's been 4 days since my initial post and while it's still so much I feel like me and Mochi have gotten better at things. I've been updating her sugar sheet as much as possible while I'm at home. I start work tomorrow so the testing will go down to either 2-5 tests per work day, depending on how busy life gets for me.

I'm writing this mostly as a way to vent and get this off my chest, as I'm feeling burnt out and steadily slipping into a depressive state. I know that Mochi has been doing a little better. She's started playing more, is looking out the window more, and her gait/jump sometimes seems better (she has a few times where she backs down right before a jump, but yesterday she flew up to about 26in on my patio!). I keep trying to tell myself to be patient, that this is a marathon, and that diabetes can be managed. But I also keep holding out hope that she goes into remission ASAP, ideally within 6 months because apparently if cats don't go into remission within that time frame, then their diabetes will likely be lifelong. But Mochi's chances are slimmer as she has issues with her hind legs due to neuropathy damage (I think that's the term), which probably means that she was in an uncontrolled state for a long period of time?? I don't know. But yeah, this is exactly what's happening: I have to pump myself up and tell myself 'We can do this! One day at a time!', but then I also think 'But we should really aim for remission ASAP...', to 'but it doesn't look like there's much hope because of XYZ'. After that, I begin to spiral and attempt to gourge on my information. Before, trying to learn as much as I can helped me a lot to make informed decisions. But in this instance, I'm just coming out of all this tired, exhausted, and guilty. I get instances where I find myself wondering if this is worth it all? I find myself shamefully thinking, 'isn't it better to let her go now? at least she's happy and calm now and I'm not financially struggling.'

I will admit, after the inital Dx of diabetes and having to walk away with a bill of $1.5k, I felt a little resentful to Mochi and to my past self for not getting insurance. I thought, 'Wow, how am I going to get thru this? I love Mochi with all my heart, but I also need to think about myself.' And then when I think that, I just cry and cry. I love her so much and want the best for her but I feel so overwhelmed. From the future follow-up visit costs (my vet wants nearly $500 to do full panel bloodwork, labs, and the like every 6 months especially now that she's Dx with early CKD), the amount of information, the amount of guilt building up in me every time I scoop her up for a test, constantly monitoring her like a helicopter parent and thinking 'is that a sign? is that an issue? what's going on there??', the constant fear that she'll have a hypo episode and I'm not there (or even if I'm there, just the fear of the thought of seeing it happen paralyzes me) and then my own body screaming to take care of myself and remove myself from this situation. I feel so burdened by the future and 'what-ifs', and constantly having to talk myself out of it.

I guess my question is: when did it get to the point where all of this just came together and became the 'norm'? When did all the overwhelming information make sense and all the shots, dosage adjustments, timings... when does the future not feel like a burden but more like a journey? If that makes sense. I live alone and am away from my family and most of my friends, so she's all I really have. I don't want to lose her but I also don't want her to be in pain and for me to slowly grow more apathetic to all of this. I know this is just me complaining and it sounds like I'm whining about 'this is so much! I want to give up! will this constant state of panic and fear be my norm? I don't want that!' Augh, so many conflicting thoughts in my mind. Hopefully typing this out and venting will help me feel better about this.
 
Hi all, not sure if I needed to post under this thread again to keep the forum clean or if I needed to post separately. It's been 4 days since my initial post and while it's still so much I feel like me and Mochi have gotten better at things. I've been updating her sugar sheet as much as possible while I'm at home. I start work tomorrow so the testing will go down to either 2-5 tests per work day, depending on how busy life gets for me.

I'm writing this mostly as a way to vent and get this off my chest, as I'm feeling burnt out and steadily slipping into a depressive state. I know that Mochi has been doing a little better. She's started playing more, is looking out the window more, and her gait/jump sometimes seems better (she has a few times where she backs down right before a jump, but yesterday she flew up to about 26in on my patio!). I keep trying to tell myself to be patient, that this is a marathon, and that diabetes can be managed. But I also keep holding out hope that she goes into remission ASAP, ideally within 6 months because apparently if cats don't go into remission within that time frame, then their diabetes will likely be lifelong. But Mochi's chances are slimmer as she has issues with her hind legs due to neuropathy damage (I think that's the term), which probably means that she was in an uncontrolled state for a long period of time?? I don't know. But yeah, this is exactly what's happening: I have to pump myself up and tell myself 'We can do this! One day at a time!', but then I also think 'But we should really aim for remission ASAP...', to 'but it doesn't look like there's much hope because of XYZ'. After that, I begin to spiral and attempt to gourge on my information. Before, trying to learn as much as I can helped me a lot to make informed decisions. But in this instance, I'm just coming out of all this tired, exhausted, and guilty. I get instances where I find myself wondering if this is worth it all? I find myself shamefully thinking, 'isn't it better to let her go now? at least she's happy and calm now and I'm not financially struggling.'

I will admit, after the inital Dx of diabetes and having to walk away with a bill of $1.5k, I felt a little resentful to Mochi and to my past self for not getting insurance. I thought, 'Wow, how am I going to get thru this? I love Mochi with all my heart, but I also need to think about myself.' And then when I think that, I just cry and cry. I love her so much and want the best for her but I feel so overwhelmed. From the future follow-up visit costs (my vet wants nearly $500 to do full panel bloodwork, labs, and the like every 6 months especially now that she's Dx with early CKD), the amount of information, the amount of guilt building up in me every time I scoop her up for a test, constantly monitoring her like a helicopter parent and thinking 'is that a sign? is that an issue? what's going on there??', the constant fear that she'll have a hypo episode and I'm not there (or even if I'm there, just the fear of the thought of seeing it happen paralyzes me) and then my own body screaming to take care of myself and remove myself from this situation. I feel so burdened by the future and 'what-ifs', and constantly having to talk myself out of it.

I guess my question is: when did it get to the point where all of this just came together and became the 'norm'? When did all the overwhelming information make sense and all the shots, dosage adjustments, timings... when does the future not feel like a burden but more like a journey? If that makes sense. I live alone and am away from my family and most of my friends, so she's all I really have. I don't want to lose her but I also don't want her to be in pain and for me to slowly grow more apathetic to all of this. I know this is just me complaining and it sounds like I'm whining about 'this is so much! I want to give up! will this constant state of panic and fear be my norm? I don't want that!' Augh, so many conflicting thoughts in my mind. Hopefully typing this out and venting will help me feel better about this.

I can tag a few members for you

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
ASAP, ideally within 6 months because apparently if cats don't go into remission within that time frame, then their diabetes will likely be lifelong.
That's not totally true. It took me 2 years and 4 months to get Tyler into remission, not saying it would take you that long. A lot of members cats have gone into remission in less than 6 months and others longer :bighug::bighug::cat:

Are you still using the sensor or just the one touch ultra?
I know your financial situation isn't great , you might want to get this meter since the meter and test strips are cheap.
I don't know what you are paying for the test strips for the one touch
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least if you need more test strips you can runintoWalmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart

Can you add SLGS method to your spreadsheet also please
 
Last edited:
That's not totally true. It took me 2 years and 4 months to get Tyler into remission, not saying it would take you that long. A lot of members cats have gone into remission in less than 6 months and others longer :bighug::bighug::cat:

Are you still using the sensor or just the one touch ultra?
I know your financial situation isn't great , you might want to get this meter since the meter and test strips are cheap.
I don't know what you are paying for the test strips for the one touch
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least if you need more test strips you can runintoWalmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart

Can you add SLGS method to your spreadsheet also please

Hi Diane,

Thanks for the tips and support! Added SLGS and I just went into Walmart and grabbed the Relion stuff. I'm gonna try it tonight along side the OneTouch to compare and then use it exclusively tomorrow.

Re: remission, I think after reading so many articles on diabeties for cats, I've just been stressed that its now or never lol! Like I want everything to happen now, now, now but that's not how diabetes works. I want my cat to be okay now, I want to be able to have money to pay for all the procedures she needs now... I think time and being patient with the process is so difficult, especially when this has been the only thing I've been thinking about the last few days. It's hard to do anything and not think about this! I tried going on a walk the other day and all I could do was think 'I need to be home in 30 mins to test, I need to look up this and that' and ended up cutting my walk short cuz I also kept thinking 'what if I find her unresponsive? I've only left for like 20 mins, but what if something went wrong?' Augh, I don't know. I'm stressed that I'm going back to work tomorrow and can't be around to monitor either.. Just lots of emotions hitting me in the face all at one lol
 
I was a mess when Mac was diagnosed. I’ve sent as lot with CKD but fd was so scary. I feared my cat would hide all the time. I wasn’t going to rest and was seeing my vet for a nadir check twice a week. I bought a Relion just in case and brought it to the office. He read 65. I started testing right away. It gets easier and does become routine for both of you. Some cats run to their testing spot when it’s time because they know they will get a treat. Treats also made sub-w fluids easy with Max. Just post and vent whenever you feel the need. We all have been in your shoes. :bighug:
 
@Nicole and Mochi

I know it's overwhelming in the beginning ,hang in there ,we are all here to help you. When you go back to work leave her some food out .
When ever you can swing it you can get an auto feeder and set it for certain times to open while you're at work

some info on auto feeders always add a little water to the wet food
Here is an auto feeder that hold 5 slots and comes with 2 ice packs for wet food
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C500-Digital-Automatic/dp/B01AUYLVU8/ref=sr_1_6?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIuM_y2p79_AIVDvrICh1_xAy6EAAYASAAEgJBDfD_BwE&hvadid=178540036693&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&hvrand=6990619631848479728&hvtargid=kwd-12652445711&hydadcr=10635_9894649&keywords=petsafe 5-meal automatic pet feeder&qid=1675560889&sr=8-6

Extra ice packs so you can keep them in the freezer ready to go
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Rep...5c-bd5c-e23f6094563c&pd_rd_i=B091HTXNHR&psc=1

This one has 3 slots with one ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Automatic-Feeder-Digital/dp/B01MXDFB28

Extra ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Mate-Replace...cb-974a-deec2fb8a80c&pd_rd_i=B07KFP7PRG&psc=1


Mochi is so adorable :cat:

I see Mochi has early CKD , Just a suggestion
I see you are feeding Tiki Cat and Fancy Feast Classic Pate
The FF is high in phosphorus
The Tiki Cat is probably ok ( what Tiki Cat are you feeding? )
Just a suggestion for cats with CKD you want low carb/ low phosphorus
if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085

The Tiki Cat is probably around the same price for the Weruva pates

Nicole since you have enough data you might want to start posting on the Lantus Board, there are more eyes on there
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
How we post there is
Date , Mochi AMPS # and then any additional BG numbers after that. You can continue with the PMPS also.
To add additional numbers tap on Thread Tools ,it's on the right , then tap on Edit Title and add the numbers and tap save
We like you to post every day if you can and then link your previous days post to the new one

You will find your previous days post up top
Ignore where it says insert cancel, just showing you where it is , just copy and paste it to your new thread




So you will always post your previous days post to your new one
 
Last edited:
Things will get better. It’s always hardest in the beginning. And the cost hurts too.
Mochi is not in pain with diabetes and once you get the BGs more under control she will pee and drink less.
As you say…one day at a time.
I think you are doing great. You have only been here a few days and you have already got your SS set up with data, your signature set up and you are hometesting and feeding low carb wet food! Fantastic!
Keep posting each day and soon we will send you over to the Lantus page:)
 
@Nicole and Mochi

I know it's overwhelming in the beginning ,hang in there ,we are all here to help you. When you go back to work leave her some food out .
When ever you can swing it you can get an auto feeder and set it for certain times to open while you're at work

some info on auto feeders always add a little water to the wet food
Here is an auto feeder that hold 5 slots and comes with 2 ice packs for wet food
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C500-Digital-Automatic/dp/B01AUYLVU8/ref=sr_1_6?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIuM_y2p79_AIVDvrICh1_xAy6EAAYASAAEgJBDfD_BwE&hvadid=178540036693&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&hvrand=6990619631848479728&hvtargid=kwd-12652445711&hydadcr=10635_9894649&keywords=petsafe 5-meal automatic pet feeder&qid=1675560889&sr=8-6

Extra ice packs so you can keep them in the freezer ready to go
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Rep...5c-bd5c-e23f6094563c&pd_rd_i=B091HTXNHR&psc=1

This one has 3 slots with one ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Automatic-Feeder-Digital/dp/B01MXDFB28

Extra ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Mate-Replace...cb-974a-deec2fb8a80c&pd_rd_i=B07KFP7PRG&psc=1


Mochi is so adorable :cat:

I see Mochi has early CKD , Just a suggestion
I see you are feeding Tiki Cat and Fancy Feast Classic Pate
The FF is high in phosphorus
The Tiki Cat is probably ok ( what Tiki Cat are you feeding? )
Just a suggestion for cats with CKD you want low carb/ low phosphorus
if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085

The Tiki Cat is probably around the same price for the Weruva pates

Nicole since you have enough data you might want to start posting on the Lantus Board, there are more eyes on there
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
How we post there is
Date , Mochi AMPS # and then any additional BG numbers after that. You can continue with the PMPS also.
To add additional numbers tap on Thread Tools ,it's on the right , then tap on Edit Title and add the numbers and tap save
We like you to post every day if you can and then link your previous days post to the new one

You will find your previous days post up top
Ignore where it says insert cancel, just showing you where it is , just copy and paste it to your new thread




So you will always post your previous days post to your new one

Sorry for the late reply and thank you for your kind help! Things have been exhausting the last week and I'm trying to get through it lol. Also, thank you for the automatic feeder suggestions. I did get 2 cheap ones off of FB marketplace and am hoping they work. I'm planning to only use it for a lunch meal, so my feeding times will be breakfast then insulin, auto feeder for lunch, dinner then insulin, and then a small meal before bed.

I also was looking at the food as well and came to the same conclusion with Weruva. I had initially started Mochi on FF ask it would be cheaper to feed with Tiki (before her diagnosis, I fed her a mix of wet/dry with Tiki Cat (the chicken and quail egg) and Orijen classic kibble). The FF was to replace the Orijen so that she can hit her caloric needs of (I'm aiming for a range of 201kcal-268kcal). She was able to hit that range with the addition of kibble, but now that it's been removed, I've been worried that she's not getting enough. TC chicken/quail is only 129kcal for the 5.5oz cans I get her, and then I was using 1 can of FF (91kcal) to get her over the edge. I think my plan going forward is to slowly replace FF with Weruva. I got the Weruva Wx Phos version off amazon and she seems to take a liking to it. I'm just worried about my budget cuz its really bad right now, especially with the upfront costs.

I'll try to start posting over on the Lantus board. Her BG has been looking fairly stable so that's a little bit of weight off of me. I'm still struggling and everything still feels like a lot, but we're trying.
 
Things will get better. It’s always hardest in the beginning. And the cost hurts too.
Mochi is not in pain with diabetes and once you get the BGs more under control she will pee and drink less.
As you say…one day at a time.
I think you are doing great. You have only been here a few days and you have already got your SS set up with data, your signature set up and you are hometesting and feeding low carb wet food! Fantastic!
Keep posting each day and soon we will send you over to the Lantus page:)

Thanks for the encouragement Bron. It really has been tough the last week. I've been getting better at testing her and recording her BG and it looks like she's starting to get fair stable numbers, so that's been reassuring. It just feels like a lot on other fronts now and it just. seems like it's not letting up :banghead::banghead:
 
Just wanted to update this thread a little with new wins and lows, as typing it all out really helps.

Wins: Mochi has been doing well with testing and her 1u of insulin. We plan to move to 1.25u soon but am waiting for the right syringes/getting paid. Overall, her sugar seems to be doing good so far. She seems to be more playful and alert, which is lovely. She's also been pooping more!! I've been worried about that for the past week.

Lows: Looking for a new vet and thinking back on my interactions with current vet. I felt weird that she was telling me things like 'you HAVE to buy the syringes from us' or that I 'HAVE to use a FreeStyle Libre or a pet glucometer' or that I 'HAD to come in to the clinic in order for the vet tech to teach me how to test Mochi's BG'. The more I think about it, the weirder I feel--especially with that last part. It feels like there's no trust at all. I've asked around and have a list of a few vets that are around my area, but man.. I feel gross about that.

Mochi's legs have been worrying me more. Currently she's on Zobaline and I understand that these take time to show results. She does seem to walk a lot more without having to flop over to rest, but sometimes I take a glance at her legs and see that her paws are bent down low or her gait is off, or even that her toes get folded all weird... and then I just want to cry. I'm hoping that Zobaline and her diabetes being managed can reverse the damage so that she can run and jump freely again, I just need to be patient..

One question that I had was if everyone will have to encounter a hypo event. I have my hypo kit ready, know what the protocols are, and I test often, but

Other low is that I'm just tired all the time. Despite having a better routine with the testing and shots, I think my body is screaming for me to stop stressing out so much. I'm constantly exhausted, I feel a headache lurking all the time, and I've been getting to the point where I get antsy in my own apartment. I haven't felt like this since the middle of the pandemic. At that time, I didn't have Mochi and was living alone so I ended up going back home from Illinois to California (definitely dangerous at the time, but I was getting so depressed and was always so anxious that being by myself was becoming harder). But that feeling is back again, and it's killing me because I don't know how to handle it this time. Before, I just left and surrounded myself with my loved ones. But now I feel trapped and stuck in this constant, vicious cycle of stressing out over Mochi despite the fact that in reality.. it's not hard. The testing and shooting. It's just me constantly thinking. Thinking about Mochi's mortality, the worry that I'll find her gone, the worry that something will happen and when I take her to the emergency vets, I won't be able to do anything because I don't have the money to help her, the stress of trying to fix her ASAP so that I don't have to worry as much... It's just a lot. I try to go out and walk for about an hour, but even then I'm worrying about her. I don't know, I feel immensely supported by members online and here on the forum, but I also just feel so alone. I feel like my apartment is too big and lonely but at the same time I feel suffocated. It's just all very overwhelming and its because of my own mind. I feel like I'm constantly running a 10 out of 10 in terms of stress and alertness. I think the onlyh thing that I can do in this case is take this one day at a time and let time go on... It's just so hard when my body is begging me to relax now!

Anyway, that's it lol. It feels like when I finally am getting used to one thing, something else pops up. Sigh!
 
Thanks for the update. I’m sorry you are so overwhelmed with it all, but it will get better.
Try not to worry about the neuropathy. You are doing the right things to get it better and it will just take time.
When you are testing you are much less likely to see a hypo because you can intervene before it gets to that. Anytime you are unsure just post and ask and change the subject line to reflect your concern.
 
Hi again, I had some questions regarding food.

Since I've transitioned to all wet food (Tiki Cat mixed with either Fancy Feast pate or Weruva Wx), I've been struggling to get her to hit her caloric needs. She's 13.4lbs so I calculated that she would need at least 200-280kcals per day. Currently, I've been trying to weigh her food so that I have a better understanding of her needs and before AM/PMPS. Before her AM/PM shots she gets about 75g of food (TC: 50g, FF/Wx: 25g) that she grazes on periodically but usually doesn't finish. At most, she gets about 68.5kcals for 2 meals. Recently I invested in an automatic feeder and plan to have it set for 2 meals (10AM and 2PM) with a 2hr grazing allowance. So far she seems to really snack on about 25g worth of food (TC: 25g = 20.7kcals per meal and 41.4kcals for 2 meals) during the middle of the day. If I add all of that up, she only really gets 178kcals a day???

That's really under her required range, even if she isn't that active.. Should I be worried that she doesn't eat that much? Should I get a bag of Dr Elseys/Young Again dry food for her to add to her meals? Her BG has been really good lately, but I'm worried that she's not getting enough in her.. Maybe I should try 2x feeding before her AM/PM shots so that she's more willing to eat more? Idk what to do... If anyone has any advice, I'd definitely appreciate it!
 
Do you think she could be nauseated? Maybe ask the vet for a script for some ondansetron which you pick up at a pharmacy. If she has some nausea that will stop her wanting to eat more. Also try anything to see if she’ll eat more. I would try other wet food options before trying the low carb dry but at the end of the day, we need her to eat.
Have you tried freeze dried food?
 
I just emailed my vet to ask for a prescription. She started chewing randomly especially after I give her her post-test churu. I didn’t think much of it, but apparently it could be a sign of nausea.. I’ll try stopping by a petsmart after work tomorrow to get a few single cans of wet food that she might like. I give her freeze dried chicken breast as a topper to her food, which she’ll eat. Once she’s tempted for food, she’ll eat some of the food underneath but it’s not much. Even tonight, she finished about 30-40% over the course of 3 trips to her food bowl. Even then, I had to plop her in front of her bowl to tempt her to eat. I’m also concerned that she may be constipated because her poo has been looking bad (small, shriveled, looks hard).

Gah, now that I think about it, maybe she really is nauseous if she needs me to pick her up and put her in front of her bowl every now and then. But she definitely comes up to me when it’s time for her meals before her shots.. I’m getting a baby weighing scale tomorrow so I’ll be able to monitor her more. Augh idk, I’m getting more upset now cuz I can’t afford another vet visit..
 
I know it’s hard. Vet fees are so high now.
Nauseated cats will ask for food then when it’s put down they can’t eat it, or only a bit. They can smack their lips together.
For the constipation, try a teaspoon of cooked pumpkin in the food twice a day. You can either cook the pumpkin in water then drain and mash with nothing added or you can buy canned pumpkin.. the one with nothing added. I freeze left over pumpkin and get out as needed. You might need to start with smaller amount to get her to eat it. My cats like it.
 
I give her pure pumpkin with her meals that have been frozen as I had heard it helped with hairballs (pre-diabetes dx).

Im so scared that she’ll need to go to the vet. Right now my worst nightmare is her needing to go to the emergency for something and I’m unable to pay for treatment and will have to let her go… augh I’m sorry, you’re always so helpful Bron I’m just stressed because money is so tight. I can’t even really afford to buy her other food while I still have food at home. I feel like a terrible pet owner being unable to give her the best and I’ve been starting to think that I should let her go soon before anything happens and when she’s stuck in the hospital in pain.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top