New member 11/26/2020 Larry's mom

Status
Not open for further replies.

Larry’s mom

Member Since 2020
Hi, I've been lurking but wanted to write to introduce myself. I'm so glad to have this resource and community!

I've attached a link to Larry's spreadsheet. We had hoped to get him into a clinical trial for feline diabetes but the doctor said his "spec" test came in at 50 and was too high. He did not have pancreatitis symptoms at the time. Prior to that the doctor wanted me to raise his Lantus from 1.0 unit to 2.0 right away, and that seemed wrong to me so I did 1.5 for a few days -- his doses are a bit erratic, therefore. I think I will try 1.5 for now, but today I gave 1.5 and saw his BG go pretty low -- to 68 at 1 p.m. Just now it is 69, though, so I think it is leveling off and will start to climb -- I will keep testing throughout the afternoon. (Human meter)

To complicate things, he has not had pancreatitis symptoms until yesterday (and I just found out about the spec score last night). In the last day or so, as his BG levels have gone down to a good level, he has started to not eat much. He is mainly licking his food rather than eating it. I am trying to get a vet appointment for tomorrow or Friday now that he seems symptomatic (he threw up a bit last night).

Anyway, that's our story. Any advice is welcome as we navigate this new wrinkle in his health. Thanks!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1uyDGEbh5ak7711pptd3J8rrB3pg1Td42Yu7uMoV9mrI/edit?usp=sharing

Larry's Mom
Larry is on Lantus, 1.5 2x/day
Wet FF pate
Pancreatitis symptoms and high spec score
 
Hello and welcome!

It's always concerning when a cat doesn't eat, and doubly so for a diabetic cat, so I really hope you can get him in to the vet tomorrow (or, even better, that it resolves on its own).

The Primer on Pancreatitis linked above is a great resource. Pancreatitis is very frustrating-- there's no actual treatment for the condition, so what you're doing is trying to manage the symptoms while waiting for them to subside. There are three big weapons in the arsenal to request: pain meds, anti-nausea meds, and fluids (assuming no heart condition). Pancreatitis is extremely painful, and that in itself can cause a cat to stop eating, so pain meds are a must. Nausea is often a problem as well-- good meds for cats include Cerenia and ondansetron (a human med, but works well). And then fluids, just to make him more generally comfortable.

Hope Larry's feeling better very soon!
 
Hello and welcome.

First of all, you are using a spreadsheet template from a certain FB group. They took our spreadsheet, made some changes to it, and now that spreadsheet dies on certain devices like tablets. As it just did on my iPad. If you have the time/ability, could you copy the numbers over to our original version of the spreadsheet? If not, we have people who can help you. Here is the link to our spreadsheet instructions: FDMB Spreadsheet Instructions:

Thankfully, the SS still opens on a laptop, so I'm over here now.:)

A couple things about dosing. With the dosing methods we use here, we find it's best to give the same size dose in the AM and PM with Lantus. So it'd be best to find a dose that you can continue to shoot, instead of having to give a reduced dose at time. At least until you get more data and comfy with shooting lower numbers. As a suggestion, how would you feel about trying 1.25 units for a bit? We have a couple dosing methods, take a read
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) sometime and see which you'd like to follow, but with both of them you would only have increased to 1.25 units from 1.0 units.

Inflammation is part of pancreatitis, and many cats numbers will temporarily go up when they are having a flare. If you can get the proper meds and fluids if needed (pain relief, anti nausea), you may find numbers go down even more.
 
I think I’m not replying correctly — sorry! We are at the vet and will be getting help for the pancreatitis.

I know consistency is important with Lantus but he has been really low so I’ve given him .25 just to not skip a shot — preshot numbers like 119. I hope once he starts eating we can go back to 1.0 or 1.25 as you suggest.

I will reconfigure the spreadsheet when I get home.
Thanks again to all for your support and advice!
 
For info: Ondansetron can really help treat nausea. It's a human med. If your vet doesn't stock it, you should be able to get it at a human pharmacy with a written veterinary prescription.

Another thing: if there's any possibility Larry might be constipated, that can cause nausea and inappetence as well. If he hasn't been pooping regularly I'd suggest asking the vet to give him a quick exam to make sure he's not 'backed up'.


Mogs
.
 
The vet put him on .5 tablet Cerenia daily, Famotidine .5 tablet 2x a day, and Metronidazole 1.6 Mls 2x a day. Also gave him fluids. Larry seems to be feeling better but still isn’t eating much. His BG is still within normal range (112) after .25 units of Lantau this morning.

Will fix the spreadsheet when I’m on my PC.
 
I'm glad the vets have given you something to help Larry. I had hoped they would also prescribe pain relief (typically buprenorphine) and an appetite stimulant. I'm glad Larry is feeling better for the fluids. If his appetite doesn't pick up well I'd suggest getting back to the vet about the other meds, particularly something for pain (makes it easier for a pancreatitis kitty to eat).

(((Larry)))


Mogs
.
 
I'm glad the vets have given you something to help Larry. I had hoped they would also prescribe pain relief (typically buprenorphine) and an appetite stimulant. I'm glad Larry is feeling better for the fluids. If his appetite doesn't pick up well I'd suggest getting back to the vet about the other meds, particularly something for pain (makes it easier for a pancreatitis kitty to eat).

(((Larry)))


Mogs
.

She wanted to see if the anti-nausea meds work first. I’ll definitely follow up.

Quick question; Does metronidazole need to be refrigerated? They didn’t tell me one way or the other. Thanks!
 
Quick question; Does metronidazole need to be refrigerated? They didn’t tell me one way or the other. Thanks!
Assuming a liquid typically no. However, if it is compounded with a flavoringrefriging it may be required. Also, refrigerating it may make it taste less bitter. Metronidazole tastes terrible. It makes many cats foam at the mouth
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top