Hello! I just joined this group despite my cat being diagnosed with diabetes for about 6 weeks. I am feeling behind on getting all of the info about cat diabetes and a little stressed about my situation. I am located in the US and am on Eastern time. My cat Mimi, 13yo female, was diagnosed with diabetes when her blood work came back with blood glucose level of 522 mg/dL. She got a urinalysis and did not have ketones. This was a new vet since I had to move for a job. Mimi went in for an in-vet blood glucose curve on 10/18/2022 and her BG was 375, 310, 436, and 322 throughout the day. They started testing at 8am and tested in 2 hour increments until 4pm. After this, they decided to put her on 2 units of Lantus twice a day every 12 hours. After 2 weeks on 11/2/2022 they did an in-vet BG curve again and her numbers were 270, 379, 445, and 318. They said to keep her on 2 units and bring her back in again in 2 weeks since her levels weren’t in the normal range. I wasn’t able to take her in for another curve because I was sick and then the Thanksgiving holiday came up, so I decided to start giving at home testing a shot. I went to my old vet today (since I’m visiting the area for Thanksgiving) to learn how to test BG in person, and on the Alpha Trak 2 monitor at 3 pm (7 hours post 2 units Lantus) her glucose was 46. The tech was concerned so she took her to the back to do a BG test from a vein. It was 76. The vet said that this is fine and told me me to cut her insulin in half to 1 unit and continue administering at the 12 hour mark. I tested her at 7pm and her BG on the AlphaTrak was 112. I thought this might be too low to give her insulin but since the vet today said she was fine, I did my best to estimate .5 units (rather than the 1 unit recommended). At 9:15pm, I tested again and it was 92. I’m nervous her levels will get too low. She doesn’t seem to have any symptoms of hypoglycemia and is acting normal. When is low BG considered too low on the pet monitor? How often should I be testing tonight? Should I have skipped the dose tonight based on these numbers? When is it better to skip vs give a small dose? I don’t have any high carb food besides treats so I gave those to her after I took the 9pm test. Also, for some further information, I have been giving her insulin at 8am and 8pm (previously was 7:30am and pm but I got behind). I switched Mimi to Young Again Zero about 3 weeks ago and she really likes it. I have tried to do wet food but she doesn’t really like it and only licks up a little bit. Other health conditions: Mimi also has bladder stones which we found out caused acute kidney disease (which we originally thought was chronic). Thank you everyone for your help.
Last edited:
