New Member 10-24 Hunter AMPS 309 @+4 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

JENNof2

Member Since 2022
new member- so thank you for your suggestions and for your patience if I mess up with details

Hunter, our 13 yo male is newly diagnosed last week. Both vet and I were a bit surprised it was diabetes as symptoms pointed to thyroid, weight loss, dull coat/skin, sad, low energy and sedentary, ravenous eating drinking and peeing. I preferred to first approach with change of diet, and start insulin this week. diet WAS dry urinary (2016 urinary issue so was on different dry -either purina pro ut or hills ut -since then) plus twice daily small amount of Friskies wet mixed with pumpkin. Upon diagnosis, we IMMEDIATELY dropped all day dry food and wf/pumpkin, and switched to 3/4 X day Wellness wet ONLY with a bit of water added. Hunter changed overnight- jumping on beds, purring, social, soft, chasing his sister. He also stopped drinking and peeing nonstop. I began testing him in AM pre food to get some kind of home test baseline. Continued feeding 3X day wet food all week. His numbers are still in the 300 area, but his personality and body seem to have already responded

questions:

drinking is minimal now compared to how he was drinking SO much before - how can i best monitor this to know he's getting enough? I add 1-2 tbs water into the wet food, so is this enough?

he tested 309 this am and we started the Prozinc insulin this morning with 2 units per the vets instructions. is this customary? uneasy seeing other's units so much lower (yes ECID).

am monitoring Hunter... nothing notable

will test every hour or two today to get some kind of idea of BC with insulin. Is every hour too much?

is it ok for him to eat 3 x today if he is only getting insulin 2 x?

I added his SS on my signature, hope it shows up

thank you for any support and advice
 
he tested 309 this am and we started the Prozinc insulin this morning with 2 units per the vets instructions. is this customary? uneasy seeing other's units so much lower (yes ECID).
The usual starting dose in 1 unit twice daily. With a BG of 309 I would go with one unt.
will test every hour or two today to get some kind of idea of BC with insulin. Is every hour too much?
The usual testing interval is every two hours when wanting details of how the BG is over time. Every two hours is called a curve. Sime test about 6 hours after shot a lot and sometimes more often depending upon how BG is doing. If if BG goes low then more often is called for.
is it ok for him to eat 3 x today if he is only getting insulin 2 x?
Yes, a lot of caretakers here feed 3 or more times a day. It is important to feed constantly day to day in order to see how the BG is doing day to day.
 
Agreed. The recommended initial dose is always 1 unit. Prozync is a very good insulin for cats. You don’t have to limit feeding to 2 or even 3 times a day. Diabetic cats can’t process the food nutrients efficiently so they eat but are always hungry and lose weight. They also burn calories just by peeing since there’s sugar in their urine. Most of us feed the 2 larger meals at shot time then smaller meals throughout the day. This is also easier on their pancreas. Does he need to gain weight back? If so you can feed him more as long as everything is low carb. Freeze dried treats are great and so is plain baked chicken. The rule of thumb is 20 x ideal weight to get his daily caloric intake. So if his ideal weight is 15 pounds, he should be eating at least 300 calories a day, more if he needs to put weight back.

I never had an issue with not enough water, but you can keep adding water to the food. Do you have a water fountain? Sometimes those help them drink more.

you’re doing great already by home testing and switching his food from dry. Keep asking questions!
 
Welcome
Here is the link to read about Prozinc and the 2 dosing methods that will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
Read all the yellow stickys
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/

If you can fill out what we call our signature that will be helpful,it's at the end of everyone's post in gray

To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine


We also use a spreadsheet to track our cats BG so we know how the insulin is working and how low they are dropping so we know when to either increase or decrease the dose
We adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time . We don't adjust the dose by going by the Pre Shots

About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers
I'll give you the link to set it up , if you have trouble just ask and we have a member who will gladly do it for you


You can look at any members spreadsheet to see what it looks like, it's at the end of everyone's signature just tap on it


As long as the Wellness wet is low carb that's fine
Here is our food chart if you would like to take a look
We like to stay with 6% carbs preferably less
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
thank you. as 2 units was prescribed and already administered, I will continue to monitor throughout day and of course test before second dose. testing @4+ was 166.

will feed a smaller amount 1 or 2 X in afternoon
will test @+6 - if it goes any lower, what would no shot number be?

thank you for the link- I had already read this and the prozinc dosing info and that is what prompted my question about the amount, as info from vet says dosing is related to weight, which equals 2 units.
 
I think it would be a good idea to go to your title and put leave New Member
after that put 10-24 Hunter AMPS 309 @+4 166 and any additional tests after that you can then add PMPS and any tests after that.
Just so members won't have to scroll through and see what his numbers are
You can do a new post every day and then link the previous days post to it
To change your title look to the right and you will see the word Thread Tools click on that then tap on Edit Title , after you're done tap Save
 
I think it would be a good idea to go to your title and put leave New Member
after that put 10-24 Hunter AMPS 309 @+4 166 and any additional tests after that you can then add PMPS and any tests after that.
Just so members won't have to scroll through and see what his numbers are
You can do a new post every day and then link the previous days post to it
To change your title look to the right and you will see the word Thread Tools click on that then tap on Edit Title , after you're done tap Save
ty- will do
 
With the 166 at +4, please post his +6 as it may be too low. If he does go too low, I’d recommend starting from scratch at 1 unit. I forget with Prozync what the no shot value is. For Lantus it was anything under 200, although with experience and more testing data, I was giving Minnie insulin at numbers even lower than 100. Not saying at all that you should do that at this stage. I think under 200 would be a token dose or no shot.
 
This is from the prozync sticky note so I was correct in saying 200:

When in doubt, ask the Forum or your vet for advice BEFORE dosing your cat.
  • The proper sequence for dosing insulin is: Test/Feed/Shoot. In the beginning, if your cat’s BG is not up to at least 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, if your schedule allows, you can stall (without feeding) for 20+minutes, then retest the BG. You are looking for a number that is rising, not falling and up to 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}. If you stall once, but can’t do another round of stalling and your cat hasn’t reached a BG of 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, you’ll need to skip the dose and wait until the next cycle. NOTE: Because pet-specific meters (such as the AlphaTrak2) often read higher than human meters, you may want to adjust the NO-SHOOT number to 225 mg/dL {12.5 mmol/L} or even 250 mg/dL {14 mmol/L} This gives you an added margin of safety when using an AlphaTrak2 or other pet-specific meter.
  • IMPORTANT NOTE: Do not feed your cat within the two-hour window right before the scheduled dose time; doing this can raise your cat’s blood significantly, giving you a higher BG number based on food. This could result in your giving insulin when you should not, or giving more insulin than you should.
  • FDMB has general BG references for use with human meters: A cat is considered regulated if BG is in the mid-200s mg/dL {mid-11s mmol/L} for pre-shot and in low 100s mg/dL {low 5.6s mmol/L} or double digits (U.S. mg/dL) for nadir. (BUT not below 50 mg/dL {2.8 mmol/L} which is approaching hypoglycemia range, which is too-low blood glucose). If you are using anAlpha Trak2 (pet meter) the “potential for low numbers” starts below 68 mg/dL {3.8 mmol/L} and below. Again: You may want to consider raising your No-Shoot number to as much as 250 mg/dL {14 mmol/L} in the beginning of this sugar dance when using a pet-specific meter. That’s your and your vet’s decision.
  • If you need help with a hypo, post right away on the PZ forum and on the Health forum with the title: 911 HYPO - Need Help ASAP to get the maximum guidance to help you steer your cat back to safer levels. You should also put the 911 prefix on your thread by selecting “911” from the Dropdown-Menu box to the left of the thread title. The 911 prefix in the subject line should only be used for emergencies such as symptomatic hypos, very low numbers (below 30 on a human meter), and/or very sick cats potentially needing ER care. Please remove the 911 as soon as someone has responded and you have received help.
  • If hypo symptoms are severe (seizure/loss of consciousness, etc.) go to the nearest ER vet clinic immediately.
 
Can you please update your title with the numbers you have put on your spreadsheet. Also can you do your signature :cat:

If you can fill out what we call our signature that will be helpful,it's at the end of everyone's post in gray

To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top