catladybob
Member Since 2021
Before I start, I just wanted to thank you all here for taking the time to help. My cat will be 19 at the end of this month. She was originally diagnosed around 2015 and went into remission twice. Both times only took a few months and she was on 1 unit max during these times. Her diabetes came back in May 2019 and hasn't left. I have not been checking her sugar at home. I was taking her to the vet every 2 weeks and adjusting her doses as per the vet's instructions. The week before Christmas, she had a weird episode that I thought was neurological. She was smelling the floor frantically and walking over things like they weren't there. I picked her up and her head was swaying. It all ended on its own in less than 2 minutes. Her vet says it was most likely a hypo event but that it was odd that it ended on its own. He lowered her dose to 2 units [ she'd been on 4 twice a day up until this time. Her bg was 115 during this visit. ] A few weeks later I started with the Freestyle Libre sensor. The vet's current instructions are to give her .5 unit when her sugar is under 350 and 1 unit when it is above. This does not seem right to me. With .5 unit, her bg shoots up - sometimes on 1 unit as well. 2 units brings her down too low and makes me afraid to give her next dose which raises the bg again and starts the cycle over. The link to her spreadsheet is below. Thank you in advance for taking the time.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1gNxZ7C1ED4bLJOP2skFVS06gZATO1idOSC2Y1MYeFrA/edit?usp=sharing
Thank you,
Anne
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1gNxZ7C1ED4bLJOP2skFVS06gZATO1idOSC2Y1MYeFrA/edit?usp=sharing
Thank you,
Anne