New low result - which dosage?

hummys

Member Since 2019
Newbie here. We have a nice (I think) problem. We just got a BG reading of 167 - over 100 below his recent average. As you can see from our spreadsheet, we've been on a steady regimen of 1 unit with the exception of one 0.5 unit following a 203 reading. With this new result, should we reduce to 0.5 this morning, or no dose at all?

Also, if helps we started him on Young Again food -- we give him 3 portions of that a day along with 2 tablespoons of no/low carbs wet twice a day.

Thanks everyone.
 
Last edited:
Newbie here. We have a nice (I think) problem. We just got a BG reading of 167 - over 100 below his recent average. As you can see from our spreadsheet, we've been on a steady regimen of 1 unit with the exception of one 0.5 unit following a 203 reading. With this new result, should we reduce to 0.5 this morning, or no dose at all?

Also, if helps we started him on Young Again food -- we give him 3 portions of that a day along with 2 tablespoons of no/low carbs wet twice a day.

Thanks everyone.

Welcome to the forum!

Are you going to be home to monitor? Do you have medium and high carb foods on hand? Plenty of test strips?

I see you're using the Alpha Trak and I know those strips are expensive. Have you considered using a human meter? They're commonly used here by many members - inexpensive and the strips are much less expensive than the Alpha Track; if not, that's ok too...

I know it's scary to see the first low number, but it is after all what you're aiming for and it looks like you've arrived.

Have you read the stickies above - on shooting low numbers? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
 
Will you be able to get any daytime readings? I'm not real experienced with the low dosages so take my advice with a grain of salt. From the few midday readings you do have it doesn't look like he's got a wide swing, I'm only seeing like 40-50 point variances, so I would probably just stick with the 1. It seems to be doing the trick and bringing the BG down and if history holds you probably won't go much lower than 100. If you really feel the need to decrease I would only go down to .75u
 
Thank you both. Our vet said that once BG is 200 or lower, then we should reduce to 0.5 units. We were just wondering if it got as low as 167, is that too much and we should skip the dose altogether?
 
Thank you both. Our vet said that once BG is 200 or lower, then we should reduce to 0.5 units. We were just wondering if it got as low as 167, is that too much and we should skip the dose altogether?

Often the vet will say that because they've sold you that prescription food that is full of carbs - and that's not where you want your kitty to stay. You're aiming for green numbers (when you enter them on the SS)...just think if you listened to your vet, you'll never see a number below 200...
 
Thank you both. Our vet said that once BG is 200 or lower, then we should reduce to 0.5 units. We were just wondering if it got as low as 167, is that too much and we should skip the dose altogether?
I would give my cat a full dose at that number, but I’d want to be able to monitor him. I think it depends on whether your cat is prone to sharp drops. It doesn’t seem that he is. You can help him keep his blood sugar from dropping into dangerous territory with food. I think your dose should depend on whether you can monitor him. You have to do something you’ll be comfortable with.
 
We just got a BG reading of 167 - over 100 below his recent average.

Also, if helps we started him on Young Again food -- we give him 3 portions of that a day along with 2 tablespoons of no/low carbs wet twice a day.

Transitioning to low carb makes a big difference in BG. If you shot the 1 unit, can you get some tests in today?
 
Back
Top