New- low numbers??

Kjensoc

Member Since 2019
Hi, new here!!!

My sweet boy was diagnosed 2/7 and his BG was 569. After finding this forum (thank you)!!!! I bought an Accu-Chek Guide. On 2/11 I tested twice and his BG was 389 at 4am 8 hrs after insulin. And up to 399 at 4 pm in a fasted state. My Accu-Chek was faulty and I just got the new one mailed to me yesterday (2/20). He was at 124 last night 2 hours after insulin and eating. And this morning he woke me up and at 4 am and appears to be starving (he is eating far less of his new food). His BG is now 109. Do I give him moderate carb food? Still give him insulin? So confused!
 
Welcome to the group!

Confusion is normal at this point in the process so no worries on that count. A couple of questions/thoughts...

How many hours is it until your usual shot time? In most cases you don't want to feed your kitty within the 2 hours prior to shot time. However, I'd suggest testing in 30 min. or so to see in which direction numbers are going.

If it' is your shot time, I might stall for 30 min with the same idea -- don't feed and re-test at the 30 min mark. If numbers have risen above 150 AND if you will be home to monitor, it would be OK to give Simba his shot. You need to monitor carefully, though. If numbers are not rising, it would be prudent to skip Simba's shot this morning. We typically advise someone who is new to managing their cat's diabetes to not shoot if numbers are below 150 (if you're following the Tight Regulation Protocol) until you've gotten a bit of experience under your belt.

When you have a few minutes, it would be very helpful if you could set-up a spreadsheet. This is the link to the instructions. The spreadsheet (SS) will allow you to track Simba's progress and by linking it to your signature, we will be able so see how he's doing and offer guidance.

I'm not going to be able to hang out with you -- I've got to get to work. I'll see if I can round up some folks.
 
I just tested again and he's down to 100. His shot would be at 8AM (1.5 hours from now). He is totally starving and begging for food. Should I give him some medium carb food now. I can't delay his shot bc I have to go to work. Should I skip it?
 
Hello and welcome. Sorry you didn't get a reply right away. A couple tricks you can use to get some eyes on you are to use the "?" prefix on the subject line. On your first post to the top right you'll see a small menu that allows you to edit the subject line and include a prefix. People will scan for that question mark as it let's us know people have questions. People may not have known that the question was time sensitive, so adding something like "need to dose soon" or something like that in the text would let people know you needed a quick reply.

Looking forward to seeing more details in your spreadsheet. Please include any other relevant medical conditions in your subject line. Whether or not Simba had been diagnosed with DKA or other conditions when he got his diabetes diagnosis can change how people answer dosing questions.

Looks like Simba is responding well to the Lantus, so that's good news!
 
Back
Top