New Levemir user on the main board

Status
Not open for further replies.

janelle and Nomad

Member Since 2010
There is a new levemir user that posted on the main board yesterday under "Day 1 ". Since I don't use levemir or the TR model I wanted to redirect him to you.

I do have a related comment about board members who are not members of a certain insulin support group gioving any advice to people using a particular insulin. In the past I have been "scolded" for responding to any insulin questions because I am not a member of a particular insulin support group and I do not use the TR model on my own cat. Sorry if any of you read this post before I edited it. My intent was to get this "newbie" some attention. This board should be open to a diversiity of view points but unfortunately I have sometimes found this is not true.
 
Jan, I am sorry you have been "scolded". In the old days, saying "I don't use that insulin, but..." was sufficient to give the new person the idea that you cared and wanted to help. And, of course, there is a lot of basic info that is universal, like testing, food changes (but only if already testing), etc., etc.

Thanks for the heads up.
 
I once posted on another insulin support group about a new member on that particular insulin. You would have thought I committed the sin of the century from the response I got LOL. Since I am a human health care professional I decided to manage my cat's insulin schedule myself. He is now down to .25 or .5 mg. Only every second or third day so I must be doing something right! ;-)
 
Do you mean a .25u or .5u? Confused...? But that is good if he is getting it every 36 hrs or so. What are his BGS?

Beau was down to .05u and "as needed" as he went off insulin. I am just wondering how you are making the dosing decisions? Not questioning you, just curious. I found that I could not follow the strict protocol with Beau either and he went off insulin in about 6 weeks after I figured that out. I could not shoot him at low numbers either (the old shoot low to stay low), he would just hypo (well, drop to 30s, he didn't have symptoms).
 
Nomad gets a quarter unit if he is over 130 and a half unit if he is near 170 or 180. He was down to a quarter unit every two or three days. He had dental work done a week ago and was about fifty points higher for a few days so I upped it a half unit for a couple of days. He then went two days without any insulin. today I gave him a quarter unit this morning. I know if some people read this they will remind me about the insulin shed needing to be filled. My goal l was to get Nomad between 70 and 130 which I. Have now on most days. Nomad also starts getting hypo symptoms at 60. When I saw some people in the lantus group were posting nadirs in the 40s and 50s, I knew that was too low. In humans a well managed diabetic is in the 80 to 150 range if you are using a more conservative insulin schedule. Since cats run a liitle lower I shaved some off to get Nomad's target range.

My vet was the opposite of the TR model. They were fairly nonchalant and said as long as he was below 250 or 300 that was OK. I figured there had to be a happy medium someplace.
 
Well, as you know, 250 to 300 is way to high. I know some cats (non-diabetics) are reported to be in the 45-70 area, but the lowest civvie I have ever tested was in the upper 60s. That said, Beau ranges, mostly, from 75-100 as a diet controlled diabetic. I would not feel the need to shoot insulin on those numbers. He has not had insulin for over a year, but there are people shooting "the Ls" below those numbers. Makes me cringe.

I know you are not asking for "advice", but have you thought of trying something less than .25u? Like .15u so you can shoot consistently for a little while at slightly lower numbers. It might be just the trick to get him the rest of the way off insulin. To see how I did that with Beau, look at his SS from mid Aug to Mid Sept of 2009. I was able to "lead" him down the dosing scale and then to "as needed" and then off, but it did take going down in .1u increments and then to .05u, then a few shots of .05u every now and then to do it. Anything more would have sent him into a hypo, but skipping allowed him to climb. Just a thought...
 
Hi Jan,
I just want you to know that your alert here about a new Lev user is absolutely welcome! If you're not aware, we are quite the minority on the board. Levemir users are constantly invited to the Lantus board, as some members feel the 2 boards should be combined because the 2 insulins are so similar it shouldn't make a difference.

To those of us who use the minority insulin, it certainly does make a difference! I want to make it easy for other FD parents and veterinary professionals to find information and real life Levemir cases, so this ISG remains. We are very open to "alternative" ideas on the use of Levemir, I myself use a technique which is controversial. The Lantus/Levemir protocol is somewhat strict and not everyone has a cat which follows the rules.

So we welcome anyone who is interested in Levemir or newbies alike!
 
Ihave read some of the thimgs on microdosing and at that this point I don't think I could find a reliable way to measure lower than a quarter dose.They should make syringes with smaller increments they would also be good for pediatric cases. Remission was never my expectation in the first place for Nomad.When he found me he was already diabetic.At this point he will hold his own for a few days but his numbers go up again if he has an infection or any stress. I really don't care if he doesn't make it to the falls, so to speak.

I have decided to stay out of any discussions of diet or insulin dosages for others.A few board members take adament views on these topics and there is no room for discourse.
 
jan ellery said:
Ihave read some of the thimgs on microdosing and at that this point I don't think I could find a reliable way to measure lower than a quarter dose.They should make syringes with smaller increments they would also be good for pediatric cases. Remission was never my expectation in the first place for Nomad.When he found me he was already diabetic.At this point he will hold his own for a few days but his numbers go up again if he has an infection or any stress. I really don't care if he doesn't make it to the falls, so to speak.

I have decided to stay out of any discussions of diet or insulin dosages for others.A few board members take adament views on these topics and there is no room for discourse.

Jan, your signature says it all - if you have a happy go lucky kitty, that's all that matters!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top