New Lantus user question!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

AmySawyer

Member Since 2014
Started my kitty Marley on Lantus yesterday (first shot 1 unit at 6pm) checked her BG levels +3 (285) & +6 (164).

This morning AMPS her BG is 150. I was told to post here for advice before doing anything else.

Should I feed her (she eats low carb Fancy Feast Classics) & then give a lesser dose?

Please help!
 
I'm guessing it has been 30 minutes already.
We want to see if she is dropping or rising, without food.
 
I also should have mentioned yesterday PMPS her BG was 436. Which had been normal pre shot range since we started her on Humulin 30/70 2 weeks ago when she was diagnosed.

As this mornings pre shot number was significantly lower than her "normal" pre shot values, I was unsure what to do. & after posting without getting a reply (it's early I know!) we fed her the Fancy Feast Classics but did not give her a shot... Only because we are so new to Lantus & just wasn't sure how safe it would be. It takes both me & my husband to test or shoot & he had to go to work for 7am. He is planning to come home around 9am for us to test again...

Any insight would be much appreciated!
 
Oops.... Like I said very new to ALL of this feline diabetes stuff, so I guess I made the wrong choice by feeding....
 
I normally am up earlier and shoot at 6:00am and 6:00pm. I just slept in a little today.
Since you already fed, why don't you try to get a test at 9:00am, and let us know what that number is.

I'm guessing your shot schedule isn't all that flexible. Meaning, if you shoot late today, the next shot would be due 12 hours after that one and so on.
 
I think you should start a post over in the Lantus Tight Regulation forum. There are a lot of people posting there. They will be there to help you.
 
Will post an update when we test at 9am. I'm sure it will be a little higher since we fed her at 6:30am. But if we shoot at 9am, we can do 9pm, it'll just be tricky during the work week as we both have to be at work before 9am...

It seems like the Lantus was lasting longer than 12 hours in her system for it to be in the 100-200 range pre shot... Should we lower the dose to say .75 units?
 
I was going to post: Since you did not give insulin, and I am guessing you are not planning to (because you can't get another test until 9:00am, am I understanding that correctly?), then put the 150 in the AMPS column and the word "Skip" in the U column.

If your shot schedule is flexible and you can shoot at 9:00am and 9:00pm, and so on, then let me know and we'll do the spreadsheet differently.
then I saw your post before mine.

I think lowering the dose to 0.75 units would be a good idea, but I would like to see you post over in the Lantus forum, for others opinions, too. I think Marley was coming down from a bounce through the night and that's part of the reason for the 150 this morning.

If you shoot at 9 this morning, you can slowly change your shot time back to earlier. Moving the shot back by 15 minutes each cycle has the least effect on the depot that Marley is just beginning to build. Or you could change it by 30 minutes once per day.
 
Updated the spreadsheet... & Posted on the Lantus Tight Regulation forum.

At least I have an idea of what to do next time if her pre shot values seem lower than "normal" we will wait 30 mins & test again to see if it's going up or down. Thanks for that advice. Still not exactly sure what the safe shooting range would be if the pre shot value is below 200...

Maybe we should just wait & give her next shot at 6pm? so we can stay on the same schedule?
 
I think that is what we will do! Test & Shoot again at 6pm (we'll do a few tests in between too & update the spreadsheet as we go).

Posted more on the Lantus Tight Regulation forum :)

Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top