New Lantus user, BG at 295 after second shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Missy & Kitty

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,

I brought my diabetic cat home from the vet's office yesterday, and the nice folks here are trying to help me figure out the dosage for her. Kitty's BG was pretty low all day yesterday, so we didn't give her an evening shot. This morning was the first time I gave Kitty Lantus. You can see the spreadsheet on my signature of her dosage and test results. I gave her .5 units at 9:00PM, but by +2, her BG went up. I made sure it was the correct dose, and I felt to make sure it wasn't a fur shot. What should I do? I plan on testing again +4. Is there something I can do for her in the meantime, or is it best to leave it alone until we know the results from the next test?

I'm feeding her Friskies pate, and I fed her quite a bit while I injected the evening shot. She has not eaten since 9:00PM.

Any help would be appreciated.
 
Re: New Lantus user, BG higher after shot

Hi and welcome to Lantus Land!!

It's totally normal for that +2 to be similar to your Pre-shot numbers. As you get further into this sugardance, you'll find that +2 number can be very helpful to predict how active that cycle might be.

If you look at China's Spreadsheet, you'll see that her numbers were all over the place when we first started and we're just now getting numbers that make sense, and look like we're on the right track. This isn't a sprint and it'll just take time to learn how Kitty will respond.

I can't tell you how much this wonderful message board and the people who volunteer their time and experience has meant to China and me. Just take a deep breath, calm down, and give it some time.

Good luck to you and Kitty, and hope to see you posting again soon.
 
Thank you so much for responding, Chris.

I thought that her BG was supposed to go DOWN after her shot. This morning's +2 was down from the AMPS, so I thought the PM would do the same. Someone on the other forum said this:
>= 280 mg/dL, especially if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and in danger of DKA and hepatic lipidosis
- Test for ketones; more than a trace, go to vet ASAP.

Since Kitty is at 295, I freaked out!
 
Since Kitty is new to Lantus, it's going to take time to get her "dialed in" to the best dose. Please take a few minutes and look at other's spreadsheets and I think you'll feel much better. The statistics you quote are more for cat's who have been on Lantus for awhile.

Lantus is a "depot" insulin, and it will take some time for the "depot" to fill, and increases and decreases in doses is done in .25u at a time, and then held for at least 6 cycles. Since you're new, you should hold the .5 you're giving for at least 10-14 cycles (5-7 days) Changes in doses is done in small amounts so you don't miss that "perfect" amount for Kitty

The decision to increase or decrease is based more on the nadir (the point in the cycle where the Lantus is the most effective) than it is on Pre-shot numbers

You're doing fine...give it some time, and ask lots of questions. I know I sure did!!

It's safe for you to take the 911 down....If Kitty drops below 100, or is showing symptoms that worry you, feel free to post the 911!! The first few times China dropped below 100, I know I freaked out too!

The saying in here is "Better too high for a day, than too low for a minute"...Kitty has had high blood glucose for awhile before diagnosis...it's going to take some time to get it under control
 
Hi!
I just saw Kitty's SS and profile.
All your kitties are so cute!!

I'm not really experienced enough to give advice, but until someone more experienced will jump in, I wanted tell you that I think it's OK what you are seeing.
It's too soon to evaluate if the dose is right for Kitty, since she just started getting insulin this morning.
I think it takes 3 days or so for her depot to build up.

Have you read the stickies on the top of everyone's condos?
Lots of helpful information are found there!

I don't want to give you wrong information by mistake, so please read the stickies, and post your dosing question again tomorrow morning, if no one becomes available tonight.
Just wanted to tell you not to worry :smile:
 
Oh, you guys...this whole thing just has my nerves shot.

Chris & China said:
You're doing fine...give it some time, and ask lots of questions. I know I sure did!!

I'll do my best to not worry. If her BG drops to below 100, I have some canned food with gravy I can give her. I was going to test her one more time at 1:00 before I went to bed. Should I test her at +6 as well, just in case?
 
If your next test gives you the similar number to the one before, I think you are OK to go to bed.
I don't think below 100 calls for gravy, unfortunately for Kitty :lol:
If you are worried, maybe some regular food?

By the way, really horrible neighbor wanting to use a kitty as shooting practice!!!
Makes me really mad! :-x :-x :-x
I'm glad Red is safe with you!!!!
 
The quick answer is "no"....don't give anything HC unless Kitty goes below 50, but I know how I felt the first time China went below 100! Since you're new to Lantus, it's just a good number to be a little more vigilant about testing until you have more tests under your belt and a better idea of where Kitty's nadir is.

Most nadir's are between +5 and +8, but ECID (every cat is different) and until you get some more testing, it's way too early to know when Kitty's nadir is going to be.

If Kitty does drop below 100, but above 50, give a teaspoon of LC food and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if she's going up or continuing to drop.

If I were you, I'd probably go ahead and get a +4 or +5, and unless it's a really low number, relax and get some sleep. Maybe in the morning you could get a +10 or +11 if you happen to be up then. When we first start this dance, I don't think you can test too much, but Kitty didn't drop really low during her AM cycle..I'd be very surprised if she did on this PM cycle

Lantus just doesn't work like that...the "depot" has several days to fill yet
 
Hi and welcome to LantusLand. Lantus takes a little getting used to and patience, especially at the beginning.

You won't see the full effect of the dose for 5 to 7 days. This is because Lantus is a "depot" insulin, not all of it is used at once, some is stored in a reserve depot or shed. the shed slowly release some insulin through out the cycle, but you won't see the full effect of this until it filled which can take up to a week when you begin. Older insulins did take effect immediately, but wore off in a few hours and then the cat was left w/ no insulin until the next shot. It was hard on them and you saw a lot of fluctuation in BG.

Lantus also has a delayed onset of usually about 2 hours. Since we feed at shot time you also are seeing the food raising the BG for some later. so it isn't unusual to see a flat or even slightly elevated number at +2.

Another thing that can be frustrating is that meters aren't exact. they can be off+/- up to 20% on any given test. So that 295 is basically the same as the 255 preshot number. It is within the 20% variable.

I know you want your baby better NOW, but it just takes a little time for everything to start to work.
 
The Stickies are listed at the top of the Lantus Tight Regulation board....they start with "Sticky"

There are 6 of them, and they have all kinds of good information.

This is the link to the Lantus TR board...look at the top..there are 4 "announcements" and then 6 "sticky"s viewforum.php?f=9
 
mariko said:
If you are worried, maybe some regular food?
I just gave her some of the LC Friskies pate. She hadn't eaten since 9:00, so I thought she would be hungry.

mariko said:
By the way, really horrible neighbor wanting to use a kitty as shooting practice!!!
Makes me really mad!
Me too! They are always shooting dogs and cats that come onto their property. It upsets me so bad, but I am really glad that they called me first. I have told them several times to just call me instead of shooting an animal.

Chris & China said:
The quick answer is "no"....don't give anything HC unless Kitty goes below 50, but I know how I felt the first time China went below 100!
D'oh! You're right.

Chris & China said:
If I were you, I'd probably go ahead and get a +4 or +5, and unless it's a really low number, relax and get some sleep.
I was about to test her again. I'll let you know what I find.
 
Yes, Ann, thank you for your reply! I am feeling a lot better now. This is so scary, and I don't want anything to happen to Kitty because I don't know what I'm doing.
 
And thank you, Mariko, for the information! I will check those out in morning. I'm about to get a reading from the cat, and hopefully I can go to bed after that. I'm so tired! Ha!
 
Get some sleep!! Tomorrow is already here :lol:

See you later today

(might be nice to know your name too....although I can just call you Kitty's momma....lol)
 
Nice to meet you Missy!

I'm still fairly new to this sugardance too (which is why I'm up at 1am...wanted a +6 just to make sure China wasn't going too low)

Have a peaceful night!!

I guess the board is hiccuping...I really didn't post the same thing 3 times :lol:
 
Yeah, there's something going on with the site; it's very slow. Not cool when you are freaking out about your cat! Ha!

Chris & China said:
I guess the board is hiccuping...I really didn't post the same thing 3 times
I wondered about that. I thought you were just really adamant that I get some sleep. :-D

Thank you, everyone, for your help this evening/morning! I really appreciate it, and I look forward to chatting with you later on. Good night, sweet dreams, and may your furry babies have normal numbers.
 
I agree with Chris.
I think you are OK to go to bed :-D
Well done getting good numbers of tests today!
I had such trouble getting her ear bleed in the beginning I wanted to scream and stomp on the meter :lol:
 
mariko said:
Well done getting good numbers of tests today!
Hooray!!

mariko said:
I had such trouble getting her ear bleed in the beginning I wanted to scream and stomp on the meter
Oh my goodness, yes! I had a heck of a time yesterday. Her BG was so low most of the day that I had to test quite often. I didn't realize that I should warm her ear first to get the blood flowing more freely. She doesn't cry as often when I do that, and the blood does come out easier.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top