New Lantus User 9/30 AMPS-493, +6-330, PMPS-388

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori in Ohio

Member Since 2010
Gingers SS

Ginger was on Humulin N for about 3 weeks with bad results. Went low too fast and right back up high too fast.
Started on Lantus 9/27

I was told not to increase her dosage until next week. (I messed up on day 2)

She is feeling so much better now even though her numbers are high.
 
Welcome to LL! Have you read the stickies on top of the page? They will help you get up to speed using Lantus. Yes, we usually hold the initial dose for about 7 days. Lantus builds up a shed in the system, so until it is filled Ginger won't be using the whole amount you are shooting and you won't know exactly how well it is working until the shed is filled. Patience is the watchword here.
 
Thank you.
Yes, I have been reading the sticky's and even copy and pasted the storage shed stuff to an email to my husband so he will understand as well.

If her numbers are still high on Monday, is it ok to up her dose to 2 units, 2x a day?
Or should I do 2 units at AM, and 1 unit at PM?
 
Lantus works best with a consistant dose, every 12 hours. And, we usually increase by a quarter unit at a time. Others will be by to help you more, and every day.. there are a lot of days before Monday :-D
Mainly, I'm just stopping in to say "Welcome to Lantus Land". It's a great place to be, you will see.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

I'm the mom of a tortie, as well.

Like Ann suggested, there are starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. There's a huge amount of information in those notes. I'd suggest reading the "New to Lantus" and the "Tight Regulation Protocols" stickies first. We do subscribe to a particular protocol and becoming familiar with those guidelines will help you with making dosing decisions.

It's great that you're home testing and have your spreadsheet (SS) set up. You want to hold the initial dose of Lantus for 5 - 7 days. This allows a "shed" (there's a sticky on the shed) to build. It's looking like you could increase Ginger's dose over the weekend but we can cross that bridge when you're ready.

If you've not already bought them, you will want to get syringes that are marked in 1/2 unit increments. In response to your question, doses are increased in 0.25u amounts so having a syringe that is in half units will help you be consistent in your dosing. The same amount of insulin is given at AM and PM shot times.

Please visit our condos (the threads for each of our kitties -- one condo per cat per day) and look at our SSs. It's a great way to learn. And ask questions. We're all here to help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top