New In Town

Status
Not open for further replies.

DevilPup

Member Since 2018
Hi All, my 13 yo neutered male, dsh kitty, Spike was diagnosed about a month ago. The vet advised that his BG was over 400. I purchased a glucometer and started testing him at home. We decided to attempt to regulate him by changing his diet. We adopted Spike from a shelter almost 13 years ago. They fed him only dry food. He has eaten primarily dry food all his life. We are now giving him wet pate 3 - 4 times per day. I have reduced the amount of dry food and also mixed his usual dry food with some very low carb, high protein dry. He eats very little dry now. When first diagnosed I could not wrap my head around it, as he did not appear to be diabetic. No increase in drinking water, urinating or eating. He weighs 15 pounds.

Since testing his BGs at home, he fluctuates a bit (probably because of the food and when he's eating). He is currently hovering around 220-260. Twice, he went over 300 (which I attribute to his rhinitis). He also has other illnesses which may be affecting his numbers. He has chronic pancreatitis, chronic allergic rhinitis/sinusitis, asthma and anxiety issues. He takes Flovent for his asthma, so no prednisolone is administered for that illness.

Within the last week, more signs of his diabetes have surfaced. He is definitely drinking more water, eating more, and urinating more. He is always tired, sleeps a lot, does not play, and just not well. That is why I decided to start him on insulin. Today I purchased Lantus. The Vet suggested I start with 1 unit BID.

My concern is that with where his numbers are hanging at, that 1 unit of lantus will be too much and I will have a hypo on my hands. I cannot test him by myself. Testing Spike requires two of us. I wanted to start tomorrow (Sunday) with his first shot. I will be able to monitor him all day. On Monday, I decided to stay home from work, but my husband will not. I will not be able to test him until he gets home from work.

Would it be better to start him with maybe a one-half unit?
 

Attachments

Welcome! The recommendation is to start with 0.5 units since you are feeding wet food. This is based on the "Start Low, Go Slow" protocol which is listed below. You will find a great deal of information and very experienced people on the Lantus/Levemir Insulin Forum. Read all of the yellow stickies at the top of that forum for more info. I would suggest you type insulin questions in that specialized forum and then general questions in the Main Health Forum.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/
 
The links below will help you get started. Setting up a Profile and Signature will help members get to know Kitty. Setting up the Spread Sheet will keep your numbers in a format that everyone here is familiar with. Also it is color coded!! You started great with Spikes Numbers! He isn't too bad, IMO. Look at my Spread Sheet for Harley. His starting numbers were the stuff of nightmares. Now he swings the other direction and I still have nightmares!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/editing-your-signature-profile-and-preferences.130340/

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/creating-a-fdmb-profile.159626/

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/understanding-the-spreadsheet-grid.156606/
 
Hello and welcome to the FDMB!
We are now giving him wet pate 3 - 4 times per day. I have reduced the amount of dry food and also mixed his usual dry food with some very low carb, high protein dry. He eats very little dry now.
You were given some excellent initial dosing advice in the your thread in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir Insulin Support Group given dry food remains in the picture: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ready-to-give-first-shot.201018/#post-2235214. This can change once Spike is exclusively on a wet or raw low carb diet.

Hope to see you posting often! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top