New: human vs. pet BG meters?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikesMom

Member Since 2022
My vet sold me the AlphaTrak2 meter, but wow I am VERY put off by the price of the test strips and lancets. Feels like highway robbery, and I see that a lot of people here feel the same about the pet meters.
So, my very inexperienced newbie question is: is there a difference in the reading you get from human BG meters? I see that there’s a specific code for cats on my AT2 test strips, am I supposed to look for special strips when buying a human meter? Or is the reading pretty much the same as it would be with a pet-specific meter?
 
Hi,
Yes using an Alphatrak is quite expensive compared to a human meter and easier to get the test strips for a human meter.

You can't get cat specific strips or coding for a human meter we just use the regular test strips.

The readings will be different between the two. So that is why vets prefer the pet meter. But with a human meter we can still determine whether an insulin dose is too high or too low, whether a cat is hypoglycemic, etc. Because this site was created before pet meters were available so there is a lot of data on what the blood glucose values on a human meter tell us.
 
Hi,
The readings will be different between the two. So that is why vets prefer the pet meter. But with a human meter we can still determine whether an insulin dose is too high or too low, whether a cat is hypoglycemic, etc. Because this site was created before pet meters were available so there is a lot of data on what the blood glucose values on a human meter tell us.
Thanks! Where do I find data on reading with a human meter? I’ve looked around on the forum but haven’t found it yet. Is there a mathematical formula I can apply to the human meter reading?
 
Actually there is no conversion factor. We have just based our decisions on the values we see on the human meter.

I have seen some members using both but but when you compare the readings the difference between the two are not something that can be distilled into a formula for some reasono_O.
 
But then, how do I use the reading? Are pet and human meters relatively similar in the readings they give, or wildly different? If they are very different, how do I know if his BG is safe to give insulin when I only know what the safe range for a pet meter is? I’m even more confused than when I asked.
 
Sorry I am probably not explaining it well. The BG levels from a human meter safe for giving insulin are described in this link


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

For Lantus we have two protocols which we can use depending on how often we are able to test, TR and SLGS. TR is more aggressive and requires more testing and the SLGS is if you are unable to test as often. These are described here. And they describe when to increase or lower a dose and when it is too low to give insulin.

Also if you maintain a spreadsheet here on the site for others to look at you can get advice from expeerienced members. If you look over at the Lantus forum. Members post daily readings for others to see and advise.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

For information on getting started with the spreadsheet you can go here.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
 
But then, how do I use the reading? Are pet and human meters relatively similar in the readings they give, or wildly different? If they are very different, how do I know if his BG is safe to give insulin when I only know what the safe range for a pet meter is? I’m even more confused than when I asked.

the number difference is basically what is low..on AT2 the lower begins 68, on human it begins at 50.
depending on which protocol you follow, you will need to pay attention to those numbers...
 
But then, how do I use the reading? Are pet and human meters relatively similar in the readings they give, or wildly different? If they are very different, how do I know if his BG is safe to give insulin when I only know what the safe range for a pet meter is? I’m even more confused than when I asked.

set up your spreadsheet for which meter you will use and the colors will correspond correctly. you will probably go to human meter anyway, because impossible to afford the AT2 strips!
 
Human meters tend to read lower than a pet meter like the AlphaTrak. That is why in this forum we say the normal range on a human meter is 50-120.....on a pet meter while it is 68-150.

On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number compared to 68 on the AT2.
Meaning you will need to intervene with food to bring the BG number up
Human meters tend to read lower than a pet meter like the AlphaTrak.

When starting out we suggest you don't shoot any number under 200
. If you get a BG below 200 stall, don’t feed and post and ask for help, and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is arising
You can say Help Stalling BG then the number


.

I would suggest that you set up our spreadsheet so you can track Mike's BG
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

If you need help setting up the spreadsheet just ask we have a member that would set it up for you
 
Last edited:
When starting out we suggest you don't shoot any number under 200
. If you get a BG below 200 stall, don’t feed and post and ask for help, and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is arising
You can say Help Stalling BG then the number

Do you mean don’t shoot under 200, regardless of whether it’s a pet or human meter?
Can you give me some clarity on what exactly the emergency is here? No offense, I know everyone means to be helpful, but it’s not really a sure thing that someone will definitely be online to give me help when I need it within that 20 minutes.

Also I’m waiting to set up his spreadsheet until I do his first Curve. That will be tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
Last edited:
Do you mean don’t shoot under 200, regardless of whether it’s a pet or human meter?
Can you give me some clarity on what exactly the emergency is here? No offense, I know everyone means to be helpful, but it’s not really a sure thing that someone will definitely be online to give me help when I need it within that 20 minutes.

Also I’m waiting to set up his spreadsheet until I do his first Curve. That will be tomorrow.
Yes. If under 200 post for dosing advice. Then stall, DON’T FEED and check the bg again in 20-30 minutes and if over 200 you can shoot. If still under depending on which method you follow there are suggestions on whether to give insulin and how much. Do you have some tests already? If so please start your spreadsheet now and include all information you have. We look for trends.

When you post for dosing advice write that in the subject and add the question mark prefix from the drop down list. Write something like help, should I shoot or need dosing advice now.
 
Yes. If under 200 post for dosing advice. Then stall, DON’T FEED and check the bg again in 20-30 minutes and if over 200 you can shoot. If still under depending on which method you follow there are suggestions on whether to give insulin and how much. Do you have some tests already? If so please start your spreadsheet now and include all information you have. We look for trends.

When you post for dosing advice write that in the subject and add the question mark prefix from the drop down list. Write something like help, should I shoot or need dosing advice now.

OK, I’m bolding this not to be rude, but so I don’t have to keep re-stating: I do not have reading to report yet. I am starting the spreadsheet tomorrow, when I do his first curve.

Your answer is just restating exactly what was said before. So let me be very specific:

This information is scary to me as someone very new to dealing with pet diabetes. You’re telling me that when I test before insulin (which from what I understand, is also a test before feeding), if it’s under 200 I should not feed. That sounds counter-intuitive, and Mike would also be very hungry under those conditions.

Here are the questions I’m trying to get answers to:

  • Is under 200 an emergency?
  • Why shouldn’t I feed him? My understanding is I should test, then feed, then shoot; he’s going to be very hungry under these conditions.
  • Can you please tell me what a normal response to this would be, what might I be advised to do when asking for help? As I said, I’m worried about what I’ll do if no one is here to help. What if my internet is down? The world is imperfect, things go wrong. I’d like to know what this information means and what I should do, assuming help isn’t available.
I’ve only been treating Mike since last Tuesday. This information is all very new and overwhelming, and I’m trying hard to understand.
 
Let me be perfectly clear. Going too low is far more dangerous than being too high. I suggest that you go to the lantus forum and do some reading. The stickies are at the top. Read the methods we use here. Read the basics. Read about depot insulin and how it works.

I have no idea how long you have been giving insulin without any testing. We are very data oriented here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top