New Home Tester Help Comparing Relion and Alphatrack 4 Vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gabrielle

Member Since 2014
Hi,

I am doing a formal BG curve tomorrow which I will send to my vet-- this will be the 1st time as I am brand new to home testing. I spoke with him today and he said they use an Alpha Track I am using a Relion Confirm. From the reading I have done and the info I have been pointed to it seems like the general rule is that the AT will get numbers about 30 higher. Is that sufficient info to share with my vet so he can get a sense of how Yoko is doing? Is there any other info I should give him? Her numbers look a bit whacky so I want to make sure I give him anything he needs to interpret.

Thank You!
Gabrielle & Yoko
 
Re: New Home Tester Help Comparing Relion and Alphatrack 4 V

[Unsubstantiated information about pet-specific meter reference numbers has been removed by Moderator.]

Not always.

We suggest using an inexpensive human glucometer with pet-specific reference numbers (which your vet may not know about). One many of us use is the WalMart Relion Confirm, or Confirm Micro, which is also sold at American Diabetes Wholesale as as the Arkray USA Glucocard 01 or 01 Mini (same manufacturer - Arkray USA). It uses a tiny blood droplet and the cost is significantly lower for test strips (like $0.36 each). In Canada or other countries, you'll need to look for one you can afford, and easily obtain test strips to use.


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Re: New Home Tester Help Comparing Relion and Alphatrack 4 V

Thank you BJM. I have seen this, but missed the part about the Relion Confirm, which I use, having "pet specific reference numbers." I am confused, is that the data below with the numbers for human, non-US and Alpha Track specified? I am sorry if this is obvious, it is all new to me and for a smart person I am feeling on the dumb side the last few days. Perhaps I have read too much.

If you could clarify what the "pet specific reference numbers." are and where to find them if it is in fact different than the data you posted that would be great! I am beginning to feel a bit weary with all of this :)

Thank you!
 
Re: New Home Tester Help Comparing Relion and Alphatrack 4 V

The numbers are the pet-specific reference numbers, from left to right (as it states) are for
1) human glucometers measuring in mg/dL
2) human glucometers measuring in mmol/L
3) pet-specific meters measuring in mg/dL
 
Re: New Home Tester Help Comparing Relion and Alphatrack 4 V

Gabrielle said:
I am beginning to feel a bit weary with all of this :)
((((((Gabrielle))))))
Chin up, sweetie; you're doing brilliantly!
But just go at your own pace, be patient with yourself, and...remember to breathe....

Eliz
 
Re: New Home Tester Help Comparing Relion and Alphatrack 4 V

Breathing...oh crud, I forgot about that! Thank you for the support. Overall I am grateful for this site, all of you, and that I can take control of Yoko's health and move towards a possible remission. I am going out of town for 5 days next week, so I think I am particularly desiring to get a good picture of how Yoko is responding to the insulin. I have made the decision to have a friend who isn't working right now take her in, he could use a little $ and I know he will be home to catch any hypo situations!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top