New Here :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

CreativelyKim

Member Since 2013
My Neeno was just diagnosed today.
I have been on an emotional roller coaster.
I am scared, upset, heart-broken.... but determined.
Thank you so much for having this website and this community. I already feel a little bit of relief that I can come here and learn about what I will be dealing with in regards to my cat. I understand that all cats are different, but being able to comb through your posts and gather information is going to be of great help to me.

To all of you that have been here before me, I thank you for sharing your knowledge, your information and your struggles. It means a lot to those of us who are feeling a little intimidated and a little lost.

xo,
Kim
 
CreativelyKim said:
...I am scared, upset, heart-broken.... but determined.

Kim, I think you're going to do just fine! ;-)

A diagnosis of feline diabetes can come as a real shock. All of us have been there! And intially there's a lot to take in. But it does get easier. And we can help you.

I'll ask the questions that everyone will want to know:
Has Neeno started on insulin yet? If so, what type and what dose?
What are you feeding Neeno at the moment...(dry food, wet food)?
And are you willing to learn to test Neeno's blood glucose at home..? This has enormous benefits. It will help you keep Neemo safe; it will give you a sense of control over the situation; and it will save you a lot of money in vet's bills.

Diabetic cats do best on a low carb wet/canned diet. And some lucky cats can become diet-controlled (go into 'remission') after just a short course of insulin.

Dry food raises blood glucose levels. So if Neeno is eating dry food but hasn't yet started on insulin then this would be the perfect time to transition him to low carb wet food. If he's eating dry food but has already started on insulin then we'd suggest that you don't transition him to wet food until you can test his blood glucose at home. That's because the reduced blood glucose levels may mean that a lower insulin dose is needed.

Hometesting probably sounds a bit daunting (well it certainly did to me initially!), but it is actually not that difficult to learn. It only involves taking the teensiest weensiest drop of blood from the outer edge of your cat's ear; and then transferring that to a test strip in a blood glucose monitor. There are very few nerve endings in the edge of the cat's ear and this should not hurt Neeno at all. Most of us reward our cats by giving them a treat either during or after the test, and the cat soon learns that 'test time' means 'treat time'.

We look forward to learning more about you and Neeno.

Welcome to FDMB!

Elizabeth
 
Welcome! Tell us a bit about you and your kitty. If you wish, add your city and state to your signature (using the control panel at the page top) so we can see if there are some nearby folks to assist you in learning to home test.

While you are getting started, check my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for methods to check for urine ketones. Ketones rise when fat is broken down and too many lead to diabetic ketoacidosis, a potentially fatal complication of diabetes.

Terrific info on food at Cat Info along with a printable food list.
If you're not on insulin yet, Make the food change now as it may drop the glucose level 100 points.
 
Welcome Kim and Neeno! :YMHUG:

Just want you to know you are in the right place. :thumbup And you're not lost, you found us!

My Lucian and I have only been dealing with FD for 7 weeks, so we have no advice, we're still very much newbees. :-D But, I understand your feelings and have run the gamut of emotion many times in these 7 weeks, but things will get better for you and Neeno, as they have for Lucian and me.

There are so many people here, willing to give of themselves, to help you. The experience, support and caring here, is amazing. You'll do just fine.



Wishing the best for you and Neeno! cat_pet_icon
 
Thank you so much for the warm welcome, support and kind words.
I have been an emotional wreck these past few days. Let's face it, there's a full moon! :lol:

I gave Neeno his first insulin shot this morning (8am, with the exception of the one the vet administered last night) it wasn't perfect, I was shaking like a leaf, but we did it and he didn't freak out or seem to mind much at all. The part I have a hard time with is pulling the plunger back to make sure there's no blood. It's hard to do that while tenting his skin and trying to keep the needle in there and keep him from wiggling. That's when he'd move around. It took 3 tries :? But we got it.

We are a FOUR cat family and all of this came to be in the last 6 months.... WHEW! Below I will give info on Neeno and his treatment and after that the back story on these 4 cats that have come to be my family in the last 6 months :-D

Neeno received his first dose of insulin from the vet last night (as she was showing us how to administer).
He received his second dose from me this morning at 8am.
He's been prescribed Lantus - 1 unit every 12 hours.
Neeno was on dry food when he first showed up (about a month ago) I've been making a transition to wet by mixing some in with his dry. The vet prescribed the diabetic diet food but they didn't have any in stock and I've read from this site and others that Fancy Feast Classics is a good option so we went with that and will probably stick with it for now. He loves it. He was on 90% wet prior to yesterday so we decided to just make the switch.
Yes I am willing to learn to test his blood gluclose at home. I watched a lady do it on YouTube last night. I would like to get a little more efficient at giving him the shots I think before I add another scary aspect to his treatment plan nailbite_smile

After we came home from the vet he drank water like crazy again... for probably 5 minutes straight. Then he inhaled his dinner..... and wanted more. I am a little confused on this.... am I supposed to give him more food? Am I supposed to keep him on regulated portions? I don't give him treats yet because I haven't researched that area enough to know if they will have a huge impact on his blood glucose or if there are treats out there that will be ok for him. He is not obese or over-weight. In fact he's probably under weight.
He has muscle-wasting on his hind quarters :sad: Which was something I thought was strange but of course makes perfect sense after his diagnosis. He had also been eating like a horse but not putting on any weight which I thought was weird because Buggy (my female cat) put on 4 lbs after being put on steroids for her asthma :oops: (In my story below I explain that Neeno has a flea allergy that had gone untreated (prior to him coming to live with me) and he was scabby and itchy and was biting, scratching and pulling his fur out. So the vet gave him a steroid shot to help counteract the inflammation).

Another thing I think is strange is that they did all of his blood work the first time I took him to the vet and the vet said his blood work looked excellent with 1 or 2 exceptions that were most-likely related to his skin allergy. But now he is diabetic..... was it just the steroid shot that put him over the edge? His shape was SO different I knew something wasn't right.... like the muscle-wasting had already started in his back legs prior to him coming to live with me. But if he was far enough along to be muscle-wasting wouldn't the blood work reveal that he was diabetic?

He seems to be handling the insulin well, he's back to his chirpy, trilling self. I'm keeping a close eye on him today. He hasn't hardly taken in water (since his 5-minute drink last night) that I've seen which is good (right?). Because he's on all wet food now and perhaps the insulin is helping bring things back under control so he doesn't have as much sugar that needs to be dumped out through his bladder with excessive water.


A TAIL of 4 Kitties

So I've had to take 3 cats to get vaccinations and treatments for minor things several times in the past 6 months. The female we have, named Buggy, (I rescued her from craigslist) showed up with a horrible cough (like having a hairball) several times a day. I KNEW something wasn't right. So I took a video of her episode and took her to the vet. She has asthma :-| Had to have a steroid injection which has pretty much made the coughing disappear. The first shot lasted about 3.5 months before I had to take her in again. She went from 9lbs up to a whopping 13lbs after the steroid shot. I asked the vet what I could do about getting her weight back down and she advised a grain-free canned food diet and for me to give her slightly less than what I had been. She had to have X-rays and tests and the food change has been a bit expensive, but how could I say no? It broke my heart watching her cough every day and not being able to do anything for her.
The first male showed up before her on our doorstep and had to have all of his vaccinations and booster shots plus he's an indoor-outdoor kitty so I have to give ALL of them flea treatment once a month (NOT CHEAP! But I get it at Costco so I DO save some money).

Chardie & Neeno are two boy kitties both about 8 years old that my ex-husband and I got when we were together. They were kittens when we brought them home. When we split up I couldn't take them because I was living in an apartment with 2 roommates. He and his Dad kept them. Then he moved to California to be with his pregnant girlfriend and left the cats with his Dad. We were not on speaking terms at this point so I figured I'd probably never see my boys again :sad: But about a month ago I received a text from him out of the blue asking if I would be willing to take the boys and/or find them a new home. I figured that Jeff (my boyfriend) would FLIP OUT and say hell no.... but he said, "Tell him we'll take them." I was shocked! But I wasn't going to ask questions at that point. So we made arrangements for my ex to bring the cats over while we were building a screen to sequester them from the two cats we already had. As it turned out, my ex's Dad had a stroke and would be moving down to CA to be closer to him and would no longer be able to care for the cats. His mental health had started to deteriorate and he was NOT taking good care of the cats. From what I understand, he wasn't cleaning the litter box often enough and the cats had started using the hallway as a toilet. Also.... his Dad had started letting Neeno go outside and he never took the cats to vet for vaccinations or check-ups or anything. When the boys were mine, they were indoor-only. When I first saw Chardie he was pretty much like I had remembered him, but quite a bit fatter. Neeno on the other hand was VERY SCRAWNY his fur was falling out/being pulled out, he was scabby and itchy and twitchy and I barely recognized him. My ex had no idea what was wrong with him. I believe the muscle-wasting had already started on his hind-legs. I couldn't believe how scrawny and boney he looked :( It was absolutely heart-breaking.

We got him to the vet right away and they did vaccinations and ran a bunch of tests to try and figure out what was making him itchy and chewy all the time. Turns out he has a flea allergy. The vet said his blood work looked excellent with the exception of two minor things that she believed to be related to his skin allergy. They gave him some antibiotics and a steroid shot (for the inflammation) and I gave him Frontline to keep the fleas off. We brought him back home and he perked up and started to act like the cat I remembered. He had a VORACIOUS appetite and drank a LOT of water..... but the vet had told me that he would eat and drink more due to the steroids. We then had a follow-up but he did not receive his boosters because we had been having some vomiting going on. Gave me some pepcid to give him and hairball treatment and set an appointment to come back in.

It was over that period of time that I noticed a MAJOR increase in water-intake and HUGE pee clumps in the litter box. We were also experiencing first-hand the JOYS of having a spraying cat!! ACK! We devoured all the information we could from books and the internet to help with his spraying behavior he was also starting to get aggressive towards the other cats in the house. We have Feliway spray, plug-ins, collars, 3 cat towers, tons of toys the list goes on and on and on as does expenses for all of it. He had always consumed a lot of water, but it was only in about the last week that it really seemed to get out of control and then the spraying and aggressive behavior started and I knew I had to take him back to the vet. And that was yesterday when I received the news that Neeno is diabetic. So here we are :smile:

Thank you for taking the time to read and/or comment. I appreciate your feedback and support!

XO,
Kim
:YMHUG:
 
hi Kim

good job on looking after your 4 kitties so well - big pat on the back!

The hind leg weakness for diabetics is called neuropathy - its reversible (yay!). It will improve on its own when Neeno's bg comes more under control but a lot of us give methyl as a supplement. I used zobaline
http://www.ilifelink.com/zobaline-for_diabetic_cats-3_mg_x_60_tablets.html. My cat got regulated pretty quickly and her neuropathy cleared up - she can now jump up to my counters and climb the fence outside again :-D

Drinking, eating and peeing a lot are the most common symptoms of diabeties in cats.
Assuming he's not overweight, feed him as much as he wants. His body isn't metabolizing his food properly at the moment and he's literally starving.

You can also add water to his food - thick soup/stew consistency. You will probably see a reduction in drinking water from a bowl in the next weeks - as he will get most (mine now get all) water from his food. This is a natural way for cats to get fluids.

Next one, testing nailbite_smile . You've gotta do it - its the only way to make sure Neeno is safe. With the switch to wet food, Neeno's bg numbers may have already dropped (its that much better for him!) and so 1u could be too much already - although that is usually a safe dose to start with. No human diabetic would ever do a shot without testing first - same for our kitties.
Testing really isn't that bad after the 1st few freaking out times (usually by the kitty's mama!) - I tested my cat a few hours ago and she slept/purred through the whole 'ordeal'.

And remember...keep asking for questions and for help - we've all been in your shoes :YMHUG:
 
Deb & Wink - Thank you so much!! :) Yeah... he's pretty much already my husband. Definitely a keeper and he's been by my side through all of this with ALL of the cats. In fact he did most of the driving back and forth yesterday during our vet visit and to pick up the insulin and back to the vet. I was an emotional wreck.

Yes.... I am very determined to do what I can to keep my cats healthy, comfortable and happy. It's the very least that they deserve for all of the unconditional love and affection they give me and how they enrich my life experience by just having them around.

Deep breathing is definitely a good thing!! And chocolate!! YES!!! ALL OVER THAT! dancing_cat
I will keep asking questions and reading posts. I have to spend a couple of hours and then take a break as I'm receiving a FLOOD of information right now. I need some time to process it all. But I'm printing stuff out and I have the hypoglycemia page on my fridge and I'm taking notes.
Totally awesome. Thank you for posting that I will definitely make a note to check it out and get started on it.
THANK YOU!!!! :thumbup

Denise & Honey - Thank you so much! Sometimes I don't realize how much work it all is until I take a step back and really look at it.... or if I get sick and have to rely on someone to help me.
HOORAY!! That is such good news! I will look into that! He doesn't have any issues running or jumping, his favorite spot is on the very top of the tallest cat tower and he doesn't seem to have any issues getting up or down from there. So hopefully we can get it reversed in good time so he has more strength.
Ok! Well I will give him some more during his next feeding, the vet gave me the go-ahead since he's so small. The water intake has already decreased quite a bit! It's good to see that!
Yeah, I'm going to do the testing. We're taking him back for the day long (is it a curve?) test on Friday. I drop him off in the morning and they keep him there and test him all day.

Thank you so much for your comments and input! :-D

XO,
Kim
 
CreativelyKim said:
Another thing I think is strange is that they did all of his blood work the first time I took him to the vet and the vet said his blood work looked excellent with 1 or 2 exceptions that were most-likely related to his skin allergy. But now he is diabetic..... was it just the steroid shot that put him over the edge? His shape was SO different I knew something wasn't right.... like the muscle-wasting had already started in his back legs prior to him coming to live with me. But if he was far enough along to be muscle-wasting wouldn't the blood work reveal that he was diabetic?
Yes, the steroid shot could very easily moved a cat from borderline diabetes to full-blown diabetes! Once the fleas are gone, he shouldn't need any more steriods, which should help a lot.
 
Another spanner in the works...very few of us do curves at the vets.
First, its expensive and secondly, the numbers can be higher due to vet stress - we do the curve at home. It basically means testing every 2 hours over 1 cycle, ie. 12 hours.

Also, lantus is a depot insulin so it takes at least a week to build up. When I joined, I tested before each shot, then did some spot tests to practice testing and to get an idea of the highs and lows in Honey's cycle.
I didn't do a curve until 2 weeks after starting insulin and by that time, I could do it myself!
 
Welcome! You have definitely found the right place. I love how perfectly the word "determined" describes every action I've taken on learning this "Sugar Dance" with my own kitty. Quite well-said!

Denise & Honey said:
Another spanner in the works...very few of us do curves at the vets.
First, its expensive and secondly, the numbers can be higher due to vet stress - we do the curve at home. It basically means testing every 2 hours over 1 cycle, ie. 12 hours.

Also, lantus is a depot insulin so it takes at least a week to build up. When I joined, I tested before each shot, then did some spot tests to practice testing and to get an idea of the highs and lows in Honey's cycle.
I didn't do a curve until 2 weeks after starting insulin and by that time, I could do it myself!

Exactly! No need to do an expensive and most likely inaccurate curve test at the vet when you can do it yourself. In fact, I still haven't ever done a proper "curve" on my own kitty; I test "too much" already! :lol:
 
Good Advice!!

The insulin shot this morning went MUCH more smoothly than yesterday!! HOORAY!! :RAHCAT

I have a couple of questions. Firstly I apologize for being redundant because I know there are thousands of resources on here, I'm just having some difficulty wading through all of them :) Even if you can point me to the right place to find the information I need I would be so very grateful.

Are there step-by-step instructions here for how to do a curve?
I guess I should ask before that - do any of you have personal recommendations for glucometers and lancets? I've seen the spreadsheet with different glucometers, I guess I would rather listen to some personal recommendations from you guys as to which you prefer and why? Or least if you could maybe point me to the right thread.
Neeno is only on his 2nd day of insulin. Is there a period of time I should wait to do it? I would like to practice taking the blood samples for a little while before picking a day to test him (thankfully I have found someone local who is a member of the forum and can probably teach me how to do it, or the vet would of course).

I'm still wondering about his food intake. The vet gave me the go-ahead to give him 3 (3oz) cans of food (Fancy Feast Classics) per day since he seems to be really hungry all of the time. Yesterday he had breakfast then insulin at 8am. I gave him his extra can around 3pm. Then he had dinner and insulin at 8pm. But he still seems to be hungry off and on throughout the day. He's 8 years old and at his last appointment he weighed 11lbs. He's pretty skinny and has some muslce-wasting going on. I'm not concerned about him gaining weight, I'm concerned about throwing off his blood glucose by feeding him more food during the day. Is this something I should be concerned about?? Should I have scheduled snacks throughout the day or should I be feeding him more food during his two main meals?

Thank you so much!! :thumbup

xo,
Kim
 
Curves are easy it is simply testing every 2 hours between shots so you would test at amps, +2, +4, +6, +8, +10 and pmps...that's a curve. Then there is a mini curve that is testing every 3 hours...amps, +3, +6, +9 pmps.

That's all it is, nothing fancy or complicated at all.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Here is a shopping list for hometesting:

A human glucometer. Any one that sips and takes a tiny sample is fine. Some members stay away from any meter with True in the name and the Freestyle meters. Some people think they are unreliable and read lower than other meters. The meters are often free at drug stores; it’s the strips that are expensive. You can, however, buy them on ebay at less than half the price of stores. Lots of people here also like the ReliOn from Walmart. It is an inexpensive meter and its strips are the cheapest around. Try the meter out on yourself or someone else before you try it on your cat. You want to be familiar with it before you poke the cat.

Lancets and a lancet device. Usually, until the ears “learn” to bleed, a 26-28 gauge is good. Any brand will work as long as the lancets match your device.

Ketone strips. (Ketostix) Just like human diabetics use. You will sometimes need to test urine if the numbers are high.

Rice sack. Make this out of thinnish sock, filled with raw rice or oatmeal and then knotted. You heat this in the microwave until very warm but not hot. Then heat the ears before poking. You can also use a prescription bottle filled with very warm water. It provides a good surface to poke against.

Also nice to have. Flashlight: so you can look at the ears and find the little capillaries that come off the vein running down the ear. Vaseline: Put a tiny smear where you want to poke. It will help the blood bead up.

And some lo carb treats to give your kitty, successful test or not Lo carb treats

And how to get him ready for testing: First pick a place where you want to test. Some people use the kitchen counter, a blanket on the floor, between your legs while sitting – whatever works for you. Take the kitty there and give him/her lots of praise while you play with his/her ears. Give a treat and release. Next time, add the rice sack (thin sock filled with raw rice, heated in the microwave until very warm but not hot) or a prescription pill bottle filled with very warm water. Lots of praise, treat and release. Finally add the lancet so he/she will get used to the noise. The hope is that when you finally poke, they will be used to the process and know a treat is coming!

The 3 cans of FF sounds about right. They are unusually hungry in the beginning because their bodies are not metabolizing the food well. What might help is to add some warm water and mix so it is like a gravy. It'll make him think he is getting more to eat. You can divide up the total into several smaller meals during the day. And no, don't worry about it throwing off his blood glucose. When you start testing, you just note what he ate when so you can factor in the food. The only time not to feed is 2 hours before the shot in the am and pm. You want to test and get a number that is not influenced by food.

Here are the directions for the spreadsheet: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
It's a little tricky, so if you need help, ask.

Keep reading and asking questions. You are doing great!
 
A magnifier - free-standing, visor, eyeglass clip-on, or syringe clip-on - may be very helpful in measuring doses precisely. Check our shopping partner, Amazon, for varieties.
 
Thank you everyone!
Your advice and support has been VERY helpful!

We are doing pretty good. He had his first curve done at the vet. I had already made the appointment and didn't feel as though I was comfortable enough to do it myself yet. Things are looking good and the vet had us increase his insulin to 2 units twice a day instead of 1 unit twice a day. But his numbers are looking better already and he's starting to "fill out" again which makes me really happy to see. His eyes are bright, he's alert, his fur looks great. He's acting like a normal kitty again.

We are still dealing with some spraying and territorial aggression within the household. :?
Which has me extremely frustrated. I'm still reading everything I can get my hands on to figure out how to resolve this issue.
We have plenty of cat towers and litter boxes in multiple rooms in the house. I'm sure he's still not feeling 100% and that might have something to do with it as well. We'll keep working on it.

I do notice though, that he seems to be most aggressive/territorial/prone to spraying about 2-3 hours prior to feeding time.
We've had to change feeding time to make sure we are here to give him his insulin. The cats cannot graze in my house due to another kitty who has special needs and is trying to lose a few lbs. She will go around and eat ALL of the leftover food until she literally pukes. So I cannot leave food out for grazing. I've tried giving them a mid-day snack (not actually giving extra food, but more like spacing it out more) but they still seem hungry about 2 hours prior to feeding time. So they follow me around and beg or plant themselves in the kitchen where I prepare their meals. And if I don't feed Neeno when he wants me to, he goes after his companion, Chardie, and attacks him (rather harshly) or starts going on patrol around the house, antagonizing the other male, Biz or spraying on things.

Would it be beneficial for me to break up their feedings into 4 feedings per day? Instead of 2 feedings plus a snack?

Oh! And the Vet was kind-of pushing the prescription food on us.... she said she had never heard of putting diabetic cats on Fancy Feast Classics, but she was going to check with the other vet and compare the foods.... This is one of the most FRUSTRATING things about taking this cat to Banfield Pet Hospital at PetSmart. We RARELY see the same Vet when we go :( So the first vet we saw when dealing with Neeno & his diabetes said that prior to there even BEING a prescription food Fancy Feast Classics was what they always told their clients to feed their diabetic cats.....

The Vet wasn't SUPER pushy about it, she was just mentioning that getting him on the prescription food could be really important to getting his BGL to level out. I just want to know your input on it.

Thank you!
 
Yes, it can help to break up the food into mini-meals; it helps keep the glucose levels more stable.

Are you feeding enough to the hungry, non-overweight cats? Pop over to Cat info to read up on safe weight loss and calorie requirements.

I'll note that one of my civvies lost weight when I switched everyone over to low carb, canned food (Friskies Turkey and Giblet pate). The extra moisture in canned food helps fill them up.
 
My vet said that wet food helps them lose weight too. Plus FF classics are a great low carb food. The prescription diet is not required . If you want a higher quality food then Wellness grain free varieties are better cuts of meat etc.

Really you need to start home testing, I worry about Neeno going too low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top