New here

Status
Not open for further replies.

cricket0414

New Member
Hi
I'm new here. I have a 11 year old little boy - Cricket - that has been diabetic for three years. We made our second trip to the er this afternoon for low blood sugars. I have 5 cats total so monitoring the food situation is not easy. I don't know why he bottomed out today - I saw him eat several times and monitor him well. I am home with my cats most days as I work from home but occasionally am gone for long days - 12 hours plus as I am a caterer. I am nervous when I am gone for a long time.
Some of the topics I read have an abbreviation, OTJ - does that mean off the juice (insulin)?
I will go to my vet tomorrow for a follow up with Cricket. I don't think he is in remission - I just opened a new vial of insulin - humilin N and I wondered if it was too concentrated.
 
Sorry to hear that Cricket is not well. A couple of questions immediately come to mind - are you home testing so that you know what his blood glucose levels are? what dose of insulin are you giving him? What are you feeding him?

And yes, OTJ means that the kitty no longer needs insulin. Many become controlled with diet changes. Their caregivers knew to decrease the dose by hometesting.

If you are home testing, others will most certainly want to see some recent data. If you are not, I highly recommend that you read up and begin testing. It is the best way to minimize the chance of another hypoglycemic episode for Cricket.
 
Thank you for your reply.
I have not been home testing but discussed it today with the e.r. vet. My regular vet discouraged it even though I tested my dad regularly for 10 years. I know it is different and uses their ears. The e.r. Dr. mentioned urine sticks. I will discuss this with the my vet as I hate being in the dark where the numbers are concerned.
Per my vet's recommendation he eats wet friskies - the pate' blend. Not any kind with gravy. However, do to the fact that I have inherited 3 family member's cats, monitoring the food situation isn't easy. 2 cats have there own "suite" and they have epicurean tastes of fancy feast which Cricket tends to get into. His numbers are always a little high at his bs checks. Those cats also get dry cat food. I also admit that when I am getting ready to leave the house for long catering jobs or any other reason, I will give him a "treat". This hypoglycemic thing happened a year ago and freaked me out to the point that I am scared that he'll be too low while I am gone and would rather he be on the high side.
He is currently on 3 unit of Humulun N. He is an active, happy cat. I am unsure of his age. I got him 10 years ago at the humane society and he was an adult by that time. My vet thought he was around 1 - 2 years at that time.
 
Please please please order a newbie kit by hitting the link below. home testing will empower you and keep your vet from making lots of payment to him PLUS and most importantly keep your kitty safe and healthy.
Testing is the #1 thing you can do to help your kitty, there is nothing more important.
 
Hi Cricket's parent, and, of course, sweet Cricket, too,

I love his name, by the way! Knowing your name would be helpful...

Humulin N is a fast acting insulin, much better suited to humans than cats, as cats tend to metabolize insulin about twice as fast as humans. There are more cat friendly insulins you might want to speak with his vet about. Lantus and Levemir are slower acting (for lack of a better term) and tend to give a gentler curve or BG (blood glucose) swing in a 12-hour period. N can drop a sugar cat's BGs pretty fast and really doesn't last long enough, so their BGs can shoot right back up. Think of a roller coaster ride and you pretty much have the picture... Giz was on N the first several months of her sugar dance, so you can trust me on this. Then again, every cat is different, and there have been some here who have done well on N, although they are in the minority...

If you decide to stick with N, I most humbly suggest you start pricking Cricket's ears, meaning home testing. You can always offer him a treat in exchange for that tiny bead of blood... If you tell us your general location (no specifics necessary), perhaps one of us lives near you and can show you how easy it is... Actually, no matter what insulin you decide to go with, I most humbly suggest home testing since Cricket has had a couple of hypos (low blood sugar incidents)...

Both Giz's ER vet and regular vet discouraged me from home testing as well. (And, I admit it took me one month and 28 days to finally do so...) I think her regular vet explained his reasoning best. He said he discouraged home testing because, quite frankly, a lot of parents wouldn't do it and might put their cats down thinking the whole ordeal of shots and ear pokes would be too traumatic for their cat... Meaning, he knows this is a very treatable disease and wants to keep it simple for anyone who's overwhelmed hearing their cat is diabetic (and, who isn't?) -- and, therefore, wants to save these extra-sweet furries... And, this vet has undoubtedly saved lots of sugar cats with his keep it simple philosophy.

It doesn't mean you can't be proactive, Cricket's parent (see how nicely your name would fit in here...). I still remember doing Giz's first curve (checking her BGs every two hours for 12 hours) at home. It was like an Agatha Christie mystery unfolding... It was finally seeing what N was actually doing to her...

And, believe me, I understand the anguish and worrying about leaving Cricket for long periods of time... There were countless nights when I'd come home from work and my hand shook putting the key in the door wondering about Gizzie... And, then, there she'd be with that finally you're home look on her precious face greeting me... And, I'd just drop my purse and fall to my knees and hug her and be so overwhelmed with gratitude for yet another day.









Eventually, and after several insulin changes, we both became adept doing our sugar dance, and I was greeted with her it's about time look on her precious face... I would hug her and was still constantly overwhelmed with gratitude for yet another day... We danced for four years...










Much love and welcome to the place you never want to be, but will be blessed for having found kind of hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever whispering in my heart and who sent me Nikki!
 
You do not need your vet's permission to home test. You can just start and then bring in a spreadsheet full of blood glucose numbers to help you both decide about dosage and treatment.

We have taught many people how to test over the internet. Here is a good beginning site: Newbie hometesting site and Video for hometesting

We figure we would never just get insulin from the doctor for our child, go home and give insulin and take him/her back a few weeks later to have their levels checked. We would test before each shot. We do the same for our 4 legged children.
 
Thank you for your replies. It sounds like I need to pursue home testing. My vet is great so I am sure if I press him on it he will do it. I tested my dad for his diabetes for years so nothing new there. I will check out the newbie site also. Cricket is used to his shot in the morning so another prick hopefully will not be too traumatic. I just hate not knowing where his numbers are!! I am glad I am not the only one that is so nervous coming home from a long night and hoping he is o.k. He is my top cat - not to pick faves but he's been with me for the worst 10 years I will ever have. The death of my parents and also my brother. Without him and my other cats I would not have come through everything I have as well as I have.
Thanks again for everyone's help.
Sara
 
Sara, just making sure you know to feed at least a 1/2 hour before shooting with N insulin. Fast acting and food needs to be on board first. As for home testing, you do not need any permission from your vet and it is a life saver.
 
Dear Sara, and, of course, you too, sweet Cricket,

Thank you. It will all be okay.

Love and hugs for you and Cricket.
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever whispering in my heart...
 
I am truly sorry for your loss of such important family members, but also very glad that you have your furry ones with you!

We can totally help you with this, and given your past experience, this will be a breeze.

Jen
 
Went to vet this a.m. BS was back up there so we are restarting insulin with 1 unit. I thought I knew enough about insulin/diabetes but I guess I don't!! Usually Cricket does eat before he get's his shot but I am also feeding 5 at time first thing in the morning. Sometimes two or three think someone else is getting something better than the rest of them so it can be chaotic. I must be more vigilant with him. I discussed home testing and we will be doing that as well.
Cricket was mad that we had to go out in the snow this morning and we will return to vet on Wed for a follow up and probably again in a week or two. He is happy as a clam now.
Thanks to all for your suggestions and support - Nice (but too bad we have this) that there are other people experiencing this.
Sara
 
Cats metabolize insulin twice as fast as humans...thats one difference. Similar though is the need to watch the amount of carbs in the diet, and for cats this is especially important as they are carnivores.

REad the faq if you haven't already ( sticky just above) as its VERY helpful

Jen
 
Dearest Sara, and, of course, you too, sweet Cricket (who's name just makes me smile!),

I'm liking Cricket's vet more and more...

When you say you're restarting insulin with 1 unit, are you still using N, or a different insulin?

As for thinking you knew enough about insulin/diabetes? Just remember that Cricket is still a cat, and we all know how cats will mess with you... They're actually incredibly good at that!

Welcome to the dance!

Much love and you can so do this kind of encouraging hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and Giz, forever whispering in my heart...

PS: Drive carefully on Wednesday... And please keep us updated when you can, okay?
 
As of today, still using the humulin N - might discuss lantus with Vet? I have just been told there may be better options then N.
Cricket is doing well today although one of his siblings tinkled on the kitchen floor this morning. At first I thought my refrigerator was leaking but know it was Jasmine!!
 
I would see if your vet has any experience with, or is willing to try, any of the longer lasting, milder insulins like Lantus, Levemir or PZI. Any are easier to work with than Humulin.

Was your vet going to help you learn to home test?
 
Cricket's sugar was nice and low today at 4 p.m. at the vet on 1 unit at 8 a.m. We are sticking with that for now and will recheck in 2 weeks. Dr said it really wasn't soon enough since Sunday's event. We did discuss Lantus and if sugar is high at next appointment will we start that.
Cricket was such a good boy but really didn't want to be out for a 3rd day out of 4. One lady in the waiting room got a little too much in his (as well as my) face while we were there. Just poked through the crate more than we would have preferred!!
Thanks again for everyone's thoughts and advice, Cricket and I appreciate it very much
Sara
 
i would recommend a switch to lantus.
his numbers aren't regulated after 3 years (tho lack of home testing may be a factor -- many cats test much higher at the vet because of stress, so the dosage recommendation doesn't always truly reflect their situation at home). still, lantus is a very good insulin for most cats, and the protocol the lantus forum users here follow has provided excellent results for many kitties.
 
Dearest Sara, and, of course, you too, sweet Cricket (can't stop smiling at his name!),

Was just checking in and saw your update from yesterday...

cricket0414 said:
Cricket's sugar was nice and low today at 4 p.m. at the vet on 1 unit at 8 a.m. We are sticking with that for now and will recheck in 2 weeks. Dr said it really wasn't soon enough since Sunday's event. We did discuss Lantus and if sugar is high at next appointment will we start that. Cricket was such a good boy but really didn't want to be out for a 3rd day out of 4.

Can you tell us what his nice and low BG was at 4 p.m.? That's pretty much 8 hours (+8) after his shot at 8 a.m., right? N doesn't usually go that kind of distance. Especially when factoring in vet stress (because he didn't want to be out for day 3 of 4...). Then again, ECID, Every Cat Is Different... Different? Try possibly unique!

Have you thought more about home testing Cricket? Trust me, dearest Sara, I'm not pushing, just putting it somewhere in that part of your brain that can still handle the thought of doing so after dealing with all of our input and your research... That's all, okay? Okay, so maybe I'm gently urging that part of your brain... Like I told you before, it took me one month and 28 days to clutch and poke Gizzie's precious ear...




One lady in the waiting room got a little too much in his (as well as my) face while we were there. Just poked through the crate more than we would have preferred!!

I don't know why some people feel compelled to do that in the waiting room of our vet's office... Perhaps it's because they're just as nervous as we are, but we wouldn't do that. I know I absolutely loved Forest, a cat dumped as a kitten in a box at the back door of both Giz's and Nik's vet (he, the vet, can soooooooo never retire...)... She grew up to become the resident greeter. And, she was purrfect doing that job! She'd greet dogs, cats, ferrets, and all sorts of kidimals -- even birds and nervous parents... And, she'd just smile this kind of "I know this sucks" smile on her face and everyone within her presence would just smile in return -- even Gizzie; and, at least two birds I saw...

Okay, she also liked to lay on the printer because it was warm, so the resulting bill was also warm with a bit of cat hair on it... Kind of made you feel like it wasn't so bad paying it... Forest was a purrfect professional -- and, yet, still a cat...

Much love and we'll check in on you both again kind of continued encouraging hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, who probably greeted Forest with a knowing smile at The Bridge...






Thanks again for everyone's thoughts and advice, Cricket and I appreciate it very much

You are most welcome!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top