New here

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elisawish

Member Since 2021
Hi hi! My name is Elísa from Iceland.
My sugercat name is Robin, he is 11 year old male. He's a lazy but playful cat. We started noticing he was getting weaker, diarrhea and peeing alot with bad smell. His fur was grease and loosing fur.
He was diagnosed in late Mars.
He is on caninsulin 5IE twice a day.
He's overweight also. 7 kg.
this isint my cat, my sister owns it and is in school in masters in reykjavik Iceland, our parents live in near a small town on Iceland and on a farm so the cat was there, our parents are never home cuz of work so my brother used to take him to vet and see to him. I had 2 cats and live at the town So when my kitten died do to a car... I took my sister cat so my other cat would not be alone. And I am not working (i am a LPN nurse) at the moment (have a child with spina bifida) so I am more home and can see more.
But it seems like with my daughter that if something is rear in this country the doctors and vet are clueless and lost when it comes to something new like diabetes cats and children born with spina bifida. So this is not new to me to find everything out by myself and trusting my mother instinct and my gut.

But it's like having a long term ill child you become expert in your child disease. Same with our furry child.
 
Hi Elisa and welcome to the FDMB! I'm so glad you're here from the FB group!

We're all concerned about that 5U dose, especially of Caninsulin. That's a very high dose! As harsh as it sounds, the high carb kibble is probably why he's still here.

I'm glad you only went with the 1U dose tonight. The video you posted in the group really looked like he may have been in hypoglycemic crisis. A severe hypo can cause blindness and the video looks like he wasn't able to see which is why he was sniffing everywhere.

We have discussed changing his diet in the group some. Is that something you plan on doing? Canned pate foods are usually going to be under 10% carbs which is what we recommend.

When you have a little time, will you do your "Signature" for us? If you click on your sign on name, the option for "Signature" should come up. A new box will open up for you to enter some basic information so people don't have to ask the same questions over and over again.

Your name/Cat's name, age, sex, date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of meter, type of food, any other health problems or meds? and then (once you get one), the link to our spreadsheet.
 
Hi Elisa and Robin and welcome to the forum.:)

It would help a lot if you could set up a spreadsheet. I will post the link below. If you have any trouble setting it up I will ask @Bandit's Mom if she can help you. She is very quick at doing it.
I can see you have gone down to 1 unit according to Chris. I agree with her that low carb food could make a huge difference.
I think if you are reducing the dose, I would test the urine for ketones daily as an insurance. You can do this by buying a bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy, collecting a urine sample from Robin and following the instructions on the bottle. Any ketones above a trace needs vet attention.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

Bron
 
forgot to answer, i have started SS and switch food (started giving him Purina Gourmet Mousse Cat Food insted of Hills dry food) and he's getting 1.5U now. i can see diffrents in the BG test ! but he stills sleeps alot.
going to the city after this weekend and i am going to buy ketostix there. I have 3 cats with Robin, how am i going to be abel to get an urine sample from him ?
 
As crazy as this sounds, you can use a soup ladle. Just follow him each time he goes to the litter box and put that ladle underneath when he starts to urinate. Also, there are certain kinds of litter that allow the urine to pool on the surface. I bought some from Amazon called ChekUpKit for Cat, along with a smallish litter box. When I check his urine, I put him in a room away from the other cats with that special litter and a water bowl.
 
how am i going to be abel to get an urine sample from him ?

You can also use aquarium gravel or dried beans/peas and put him in a room by himself until he pee's. (of course if you use any of the above, you should rinse it well first)

I'm glad you didn't go up more than to 1.5! Look at that lovely green streak!

He may bounce high again by morning but don't increase again due to a high AMPS. Stay with the 1.5U dose for now. Looks like getting rid of the kibble is doing good things for him!
 
As you are following the SLGS method you need to reduce the dose if the BG falls under 90 to 1.25 units

Bron is right.....with that 72, I'd reduce down to 1.25. Do you have syringes with half unit marks? If not, you'll have to just do the best you can but try to be as consistent as possible. Maybe use an old syringe and some colored water to make a "sample" syringe so that you have something to compare to when you're using the actual insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top