New here! With dosing question!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ahprat

Member Since 2021
Hello all!

I am new to the forum. I have a 7 year old sugar cat named Moldy. He has been diagnosed diabetic since June 2020. He has a diet that consists of friskies pate am/pm preshot and young again zero mature to graze/snack. He *was* on 2U of Lantus. I say was because last night he was acting different and his bs preshot was 77! It went to 70 before I went to bed last night. I figured it’d shoot back up this morning but when I tested preshot it was at 99! I’m still kind of in panic/don’t hold my breath mode. Around +4 of when shot time would’ve been he was 133 and then +7 or 8 he was 126. He’s also been grazing on his breakfast most of the day.

So here’s my question(s) for now,

Tonight if his preshot numbers are still in blue/green what does this mean? Obviously I think his dose should be lowered if he’s not blue/green but what should it be lowered to?

Thank you so much for reading! I’m excited to be here and hopefully learn without making my brain hurt
 
Might be a good idea to set up your signature, it's at the end of everyone's post in gray

Click on your name upper right hand corner , a drop down will appear , tap in signature , fill out info
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
Welcome. What kind of meter are you using? On a human meter 50-100 is normal. On a Peter meter over 68 is safe.
 
Can you please fill out your signature , I posted how to do it above :cat:
Can you fill in last nights pre shot and any tests after that
You don't have much data, do you maybe have the last 2 weeks of testing and add those to your spreadsheet
So you have been testing since June 2020
 
Last edited:
He’s been diabetic since June. I test sporadically because he stopped coming to me when it was shot/feeding time. I’ve never really kept track because he’s almost always ran high until we did our diet change.

unfortunately I don’t have access to the spreadsheet here, only on my phone. I did give all the info you needed above (I think), I’ll update my signature later on tonight (feeding time with kids, dogs, and a cat so not the best time for me yet).
 
He’s been diabetic since June. I test sporadically because he stopped coming to me when it was shot/feeding time. I’ve never really kept track because he’s almost always ran high until we did our diet change.

unfortunately I don’t have access to the spreadsheet here, only on my phone. I did give all the info you needed above (I think), I’ll update my signature later on tonight (feeding time with kids, dogs, and a cat so not the best time for me yet).
No problem, so what you want to know what would be your no shoot number is that correct?
 
No problem, so what you want to know what would be your no shoot number is that correct?

I waited 30 minutes and got 180 so I went ahead and shot him at 1.75 (approximately). I had a nice individual in a fb group suggest to lower when the time came. I’m definitely going to keep a closer eye on him.
 
I unfortunately don’t have previous data. His testing has been sporadic because he would hide come feeding/shot time. Last night he was just acting different, not bad, but not like normal.
 
He was at 95 amps. So again, we did not shot. I shot 1.75 last night. This mean I should go down to 1.50 next shoot?
 
It’s hard to know what the no shot number should be as he’s been in insulin for awhile but we don’t know what his bg was doing. Since following SLGS I guess under 150 I might not shoot until you have more data this week. @Wendy&Neko what do you think?
 
Hi Lexi the date of 6-4 should go under 6-3 not above it @ahprat
:cat: Just delete it and put 6-4-21 under 6-3
Should be 6-3-21
Then 6-4-21
6-5-21 then so on
It’s easier for me to do spreadsheets that way, otherwise I accidentally input stuff elsewhere and my spreadsheet gets messed up without me knowing (if I’m in a hurry).

I just tested again +4 of his normal shot time and he’s 97. We skipped shooting this morning.
 
It’s easier for me to do spreadsheets that way, otherwise I accidentally input stuff elsewhere and my spreadsheet gets messed up without me knowing (if I’m in a hurry).

I just tested again +4 of his normal shot time and he’s 97. We skipped shooting this morning.
I understand but I think the members here might find that confusing, if they need to give you advice are going to be confused and will have to start from the bottom up to see how your kitty was doing in the past. There has never been a spreadsheet set up like this before
@ahprat
 
I unfortunately don’t have previous data.
Your meter should hold the last couple weeks worth of data in it.
It’s easier for me to do spreadsheets that way, otherwise I accidentally input stuff elsewhere and my spreadsheet gets messed up without me knowing (if I’m in a hurry).
Those of us who help with dosing look for patterns in the data. I'm afraid we won't be able to help if we have to stand upside down to look at the spreadsheet. ;) It's actually less work to just enter data on the next line down, than to create a new line above existing data.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top