Hi. This is my first post. I'm looking for some advice and encouragement for my 13-year male, Smudge, who may be coming out of remission. He was diagnosed Feb 2011 with ketoacidosis and heart failure. The vet was ready to euthanize, but I said, "Isn't there a way to save him?" He was hospitalized for 3 agonizing days, had many tests, fluid removed from his lungs, and stabilized. He came home weak, but alive! The vet's only advice re feeding was DM. Over the next 3 months, she gradually had me reduce his insulin, from 2 units twice a day to 1 unit once a day, until one morning in June when he crashed with hypoglycemia, BG of 38. She said to stop the insulin. I told her that I had researched cat foods and had switched him from mostly dry to 99% canned food (Fancy Feast.) I asked her if the dietary change could have affected his blood sugar. She admitted that it could. He has been his old sweet self, very mellow and affectionate, and you would never guess from looking at him what he had been through.
Mindy, our female cat, doesn't like canned food, so I'm feeding her Innova Senior Cat dry food and DM, leaving out a bit for her at night, on top of the clothes dryer, along with wet food on the floor for him. Every morning, both dishes were empty, and I now realize that he was probably eating both. Over the last couple of weeks, he has been acting sick again, with increased thirst and urination, lethargy, and just not being himself. I took him in for a fructosamine test the day before Thanksgiving, and the results weren't ready until just before the end of the day. His fructosamine was 540. The vet said we could bring him in for a glucose curve or do it at home, and to get back to her after Thanksgiving. We opted for at-home testing with the ReliOn Confirm glucometer. She also advised against giving him any insulin until we had the results of the glucose curve.
On Thanksgiving, he was looking so miserable and dazed that I pulled out the PZI insulin he was getting back in the spring, and gave him about 3/4 unit, praying that I wasn't killing him in the process. Within 4-5 hours, he was markedly better, looking more alert, back to purring and wanting to be held. The insulin was 2 weeks past its stated expiration date, but my neighbor the nurse said all that means is that its effectiveness is diminished, which further decreased the chance of my overdosing him. I also started keeping the dry food locked up unless Mindy is eating it under my supervision.
We called the vet and told her that we will try to do our own glucose curve over the weekend, but it's really frustrating after our first couple of attempts. My husband volunteered to be the ear-sticker, and he was able to get blood, but not enough for the glucometer. The blood is also not beading up the way it does on videos we've been watching.
We do plan to contact the vet on Monday. If we are unable to complete the glucose curve at home, we'll have to take him in. I'm thinking we also need to test for ketones.
Regarding his heart condition (cardiomyopathy): He's on atenelol and enalapril and seems to be doing fine.
So, here are my questions: (1) Is it possible that he could have come out of remission because of the dry food he was sneaking into his diet, and is it possible that locking it away (along with the single dose of insulin) could have such an immediate effect? I really wish it was that simple, but afraid to get my hopes up. (2) The 33-gauge lancet, even at the second-shallowest setting, seems to go entirely through his ear, but it's still hard to get enough blood for the test. We're warming his ear, applying a dab of petroleum jelly, and aiming for the "sweet spot" but are thinking there must be something we're overlooking.
Thanks for whatever help you can provide. Again, I'm new to this site, and to forums in general, so I apologize if I stumble around at first.
Mindy, our female cat, doesn't like canned food, so I'm feeding her Innova Senior Cat dry food and DM, leaving out a bit for her at night, on top of the clothes dryer, along with wet food on the floor for him. Every morning, both dishes were empty, and I now realize that he was probably eating both. Over the last couple of weeks, he has been acting sick again, with increased thirst and urination, lethargy, and just not being himself. I took him in for a fructosamine test the day before Thanksgiving, and the results weren't ready until just before the end of the day. His fructosamine was 540. The vet said we could bring him in for a glucose curve or do it at home, and to get back to her after Thanksgiving. We opted for at-home testing with the ReliOn Confirm glucometer. She also advised against giving him any insulin until we had the results of the glucose curve.
On Thanksgiving, he was looking so miserable and dazed that I pulled out the PZI insulin he was getting back in the spring, and gave him about 3/4 unit, praying that I wasn't killing him in the process. Within 4-5 hours, he was markedly better, looking more alert, back to purring and wanting to be held. The insulin was 2 weeks past its stated expiration date, but my neighbor the nurse said all that means is that its effectiveness is diminished, which further decreased the chance of my overdosing him. I also started keeping the dry food locked up unless Mindy is eating it under my supervision.
We called the vet and told her that we will try to do our own glucose curve over the weekend, but it's really frustrating after our first couple of attempts. My husband volunteered to be the ear-sticker, and he was able to get blood, but not enough for the glucometer. The blood is also not beading up the way it does on videos we've been watching.
We do plan to contact the vet on Monday. If we are unable to complete the glucose curve at home, we'll have to take him in. I'm thinking we also need to test for ketones.
Regarding his heart condition (cardiomyopathy): He's on atenelol and enalapril and seems to be doing fine.
So, here are my questions: (1) Is it possible that he could have come out of remission because of the dry food he was sneaking into his diet, and is it possible that locking it away (along with the single dose of insulin) could have such an immediate effect? I really wish it was that simple, but afraid to get my hopes up. (2) The 33-gauge lancet, even at the second-shallowest setting, seems to go entirely through his ear, but it's still hard to get enough blood for the test. We're warming his ear, applying a dab of petroleum jelly, and aiming for the "sweet spot" but are thinking there must be something we're overlooking.
Thanks for whatever help you can provide. Again, I'm new to this site, and to forums in general, so I apologize if I stumble around at first.