Hi Everyone:
My name’s Sophie. My triplet cats now 10 yo (boy Pudge with blue eyes and long brown hair, his sisters Angel with blue eyes and fluffy gray hair and Spitfire green eyed with short black fur) and I live in Southern California. They were feral kittens rescued by my daughter in the wilds of Utah’s wintry mountains – no mama cat in sight.
Pudge, male, was diagnosed with diabetes on Dec. 17, 2011. Spent 3 days in the hospital (Dec. 14 – 17th) to confirm diagnosis, rehydrate and establish proper dose of insulin. His symptoms were: dull and flaking fur, peeing lots though not frequently, losing weight and starting to hug his water dish. Pudge is a big cat but overweight at 17 pounds 15 oz – vet thinks he should lose 3 – 4 pounds or weigh 14 to 15 pounds. All 3 cats had been on dry food diet with food always available.
Lab results for Pudge, 10 yo male (I have copies of the lab results):
12/14/2011
Albumin 4.0 (HIGH) Ref. Range 2.5-3.9 g/dL
BUN 40 (HIGH) Ref. Range 14-36 mg/dL
Glucose 435 (HIGH) Re. Range 64-170 mg/dL
Urine analysis Gluecose strip 3+ (HIGH), no ketones, no bilirubin
Fructosamine 586 (HIGH) Ref. Range 142-450 umol/L
No other illness.
12/17/2011
Glucose 71 Ref. Range 64-170 mg/dL
Vet’s recommendations on 12/17/2011 (brought him home @ 1:30 pm):
ProZinc insulin 4 units on U-40 twice a day, 12 hours apart
Hill’s r/d with liver & chicken mixed with his regular dry food
Bring Pudge back in one week for blood test (Mon. Dec. 26).
We bought ProZinc and a tray of Hill’s r/d cans from the vet. I had to call later to find out what time the am insulin was administered (told 9:00 am), gave us 5 U-40 syringes which got us through Monday, Dec. 18 night. By Sunday, we knew Pudge hated Hill’s food.
Vet’s recommendations and verbal only lab results from 12/26/2011:
Blood glucose 260 while normal value at max is 170
Fructosamine 430 while normal upper range is 450
Keep him on 4 units of ProZinc insulin
Make appointment for 4 weeks – if his blood glucose isn’t down we’ll consider increasing insulin.
For over a year, off and on, I checked my mom’s glucose and administered Lantus – though she didn’t have diabetes her levels had to be checked due to other conditions and meds. My daughter checked the internet and found info that cats’ glucose can be checked. Moreover, I got very concerned when I finally (!!) noticed that glucose of 71 from Dec 17 (reported by the lab to the vet's office at 4:00 AM) and Pudge on 4 units ProZinc! Switched to all canned Fancy Feast classic pate turkey or chicken, and treats to freeze dried rabbit since Pudge got sick on beef and liver.
We bought: ReliOn Micro with 30 & 33G lancets, triple antibiotic with pain relief ointment, BD insulin syringes 30G ½ inch (we know how to convert dosages of U-40 to U-100) and Keto-Diastix.
Have a problem with checking blood glucose: Pudge’s ears either bleed profusely –I hit a vein- or no blood. Pudge’s beginning to hate ear pokes. He’s a very strong cat who’s very loving but believes in immediate retaliation if you cause him accidental pain, though 2 seconds later all’s forgiven. Where else could I check for blood glucose? I don’t want to go the pads route due to litter box waste or other unsanitary surfaces. Any suggestions?
All 3 cats are now on all canned Fancy Feast pate (chicken or turkey since they hate liver and Pudge threw up beef pate) – I told the vet of this food switch
I lowered Pudge’s ProZinc insulin to 3.0 u on U-100 (or only 1.2 units of the vet’s recommended 4 units on U-40) which is what I use with ProZinc. I was scared of that BG of 71 on 12/17/11 on the 4:00 AM lab report while Pudge was alone in the hospital on a dosage of 4 units on U-40 which I later found out they administered at 9:00 am that same morning. I thought that was crazy though I don’t know what food they were giving him. They said he only ate at night when no one was around.
12/30/11 PM blood glucose 206
12/31/11 AM blood glucose 241 +6 =133 PM=415
1/1/2012 AM blood glucose=415 but this BG was taken 15 minutes after Pudge had 3oz of Fancy Feast classic
1/2/2012 AM blood glucose=389 so I got concerned and increased AM ProZinc to 5 units on U-100 (or 2 units on U-40 meaning half of the vet recommended amount). Pudge has a good appetite. Is this too much jumping around with the dosage? What would you suggest?
My questions:
1. Can blood glucose be tested other places than ears and between pads? Pudge even growls at the injections and, yes, he growls and does not hiss! He’s an immensely strong cat.
2.I would like to support his pancreas with smaller meals. How does such schedule work with the necessary blood glucose tests? I hate to inject blindly!! Pudge eats well, started to wash again, play some, skin’s less flaky and har shinier, pees less, poops OK.
3.Would he benefit by switching to Lantus? Why?
4.At what point should ProZinc dosage be increased / decreased and why?
Any comments and suggestions would be much appreciated. Many thanks for your time and I’m very glad we have found your forum.
Happy 2012!!!
Sophie and the triplets (older and not very computer literate).
My name’s Sophie. My triplet cats now 10 yo (boy Pudge with blue eyes and long brown hair, his sisters Angel with blue eyes and fluffy gray hair and Spitfire green eyed with short black fur) and I live in Southern California. They were feral kittens rescued by my daughter in the wilds of Utah’s wintry mountains – no mama cat in sight.
Pudge, male, was diagnosed with diabetes on Dec. 17, 2011. Spent 3 days in the hospital (Dec. 14 – 17th) to confirm diagnosis, rehydrate and establish proper dose of insulin. His symptoms were: dull and flaking fur, peeing lots though not frequently, losing weight and starting to hug his water dish. Pudge is a big cat but overweight at 17 pounds 15 oz – vet thinks he should lose 3 – 4 pounds or weigh 14 to 15 pounds. All 3 cats had been on dry food diet with food always available.
Lab results for Pudge, 10 yo male (I have copies of the lab results):
12/14/2011
Albumin 4.0 (HIGH) Ref. Range 2.5-3.9 g/dL
BUN 40 (HIGH) Ref. Range 14-36 mg/dL
Glucose 435 (HIGH) Re. Range 64-170 mg/dL
Urine analysis Gluecose strip 3+ (HIGH), no ketones, no bilirubin
Fructosamine 586 (HIGH) Ref. Range 142-450 umol/L
No other illness.
12/17/2011
Glucose 71 Ref. Range 64-170 mg/dL
Vet’s recommendations on 12/17/2011 (brought him home @ 1:30 pm):
ProZinc insulin 4 units on U-40 twice a day, 12 hours apart
Hill’s r/d with liver & chicken mixed with his regular dry food
Bring Pudge back in one week for blood test (Mon. Dec. 26).
We bought ProZinc and a tray of Hill’s r/d cans from the vet. I had to call later to find out what time the am insulin was administered (told 9:00 am), gave us 5 U-40 syringes which got us through Monday, Dec. 18 night. By Sunday, we knew Pudge hated Hill’s food.
Vet’s recommendations and verbal only lab results from 12/26/2011:
Blood glucose 260 while normal value at max is 170
Fructosamine 430 while normal upper range is 450
Keep him on 4 units of ProZinc insulin
Make appointment for 4 weeks – if his blood glucose isn’t down we’ll consider increasing insulin.
For over a year, off and on, I checked my mom’s glucose and administered Lantus – though she didn’t have diabetes her levels had to be checked due to other conditions and meds. My daughter checked the internet and found info that cats’ glucose can be checked. Moreover, I got very concerned when I finally (!!) noticed that glucose of 71 from Dec 17 (reported by the lab to the vet's office at 4:00 AM) and Pudge on 4 units ProZinc! Switched to all canned Fancy Feast classic pate turkey or chicken, and treats to freeze dried rabbit since Pudge got sick on beef and liver.
We bought: ReliOn Micro with 30 & 33G lancets, triple antibiotic with pain relief ointment, BD insulin syringes 30G ½ inch (we know how to convert dosages of U-40 to U-100) and Keto-Diastix.
Have a problem with checking blood glucose: Pudge’s ears either bleed profusely –I hit a vein- or no blood. Pudge’s beginning to hate ear pokes. He’s a very strong cat who’s very loving but believes in immediate retaliation if you cause him accidental pain, though 2 seconds later all’s forgiven. Where else could I check for blood glucose? I don’t want to go the pads route due to litter box waste or other unsanitary surfaces. Any suggestions?
All 3 cats are now on all canned Fancy Feast pate (chicken or turkey since they hate liver and Pudge threw up beef pate) – I told the vet of this food switch
I lowered Pudge’s ProZinc insulin to 3.0 u on U-100 (or only 1.2 units of the vet’s recommended 4 units on U-40) which is what I use with ProZinc. I was scared of that BG of 71 on 12/17/11 on the 4:00 AM lab report while Pudge was alone in the hospital on a dosage of 4 units on U-40 which I later found out they administered at 9:00 am that same morning. I thought that was crazy though I don’t know what food they were giving him. They said he only ate at night when no one was around.
12/30/11 PM blood glucose 206
12/31/11 AM blood glucose 241 +6 =133 PM=415
1/1/2012 AM blood glucose=415 but this BG was taken 15 minutes after Pudge had 3oz of Fancy Feast classic
1/2/2012 AM blood glucose=389 so I got concerned and increased AM ProZinc to 5 units on U-100 (or 2 units on U-40 meaning half of the vet recommended amount). Pudge has a good appetite. Is this too much jumping around with the dosage? What would you suggest?
My questions:
1. Can blood glucose be tested other places than ears and between pads? Pudge even growls at the injections and, yes, he growls and does not hiss! He’s an immensely strong cat.
2.I would like to support his pancreas with smaller meals. How does such schedule work with the necessary blood glucose tests? I hate to inject blindly!! Pudge eats well, started to wash again, play some, skin’s less flaky and har shinier, pees less, poops OK.
3.Would he benefit by switching to Lantus? Why?
4.At what point should ProZinc dosage be increased / decreased and why?
Any comments and suggestions would be much appreciated. Many thanks for your time and I’m very glad we have found your forum.
Happy 2012!!!
Sophie and the triplets (older and not very computer literate).