new here, looking for advice on quick drops

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christine and Pumpkin

Member Since 2021
Hello! I have learned so much from this group, thank you! A little about my situation: My Pumpkin is male, 10 years old, a year ago got VERY sick went DKA and hepatic liposis, almost lost him, which is when diabetes was discovered. Thankfully he recovered and went into remission just a week later after 2 units of prozinc 2x a day. Stopped insulin.

02/2021 diabetes is back, has been on prozinc again since 02/21 starting at 2 units, now up to 4 units. Right after this diagnosis he quit eating/drinking and had small ketones so i insisted he be treated at vet with fast acting insulin and iv fluids for 2 days. Old vet that treated him last year retired, new vet fresh out of school so I had to tell her what I wanted for treatment.

He is responding, with nadirs in 150-220 range, but I can't seem to get the nadir any lower than that, even with the increased dosage. He is eating/drinking well again. Pees and drinks ALOT, potassium was low and was dehydrated. Now on potassium supplements and fluids every couple of days. I test frequently, sometimes every hour, to make sure I am not missing a low nadir, has never been under 150. He drops quickly, for example today his preshot number was 545 at 6:45 am, 8 am 369, then 9:40 am 261. Same quick drop pattern with all the dosages. He is on all wet food (ff classic pate) and is currently on 3.5 units. His preshot numbers are usually 450-500 range. I worry about increasing dose again since he already drops too quickly, which I know can trigger bouncing, yet his nadirs are not where they should be yet.

It seems to me that the prozinc isn't lasting long enough and is metabolizing too quickly. I have ordered Lantus and am waiting for that to arrive in hopes that it will provide a longer lasting effect with more flat lower numbers.

Advice on quick drops/dosage?
 
Hi! Welcome :bighug: There are lots of experienced folks here that may be able to weigh in on dosing - since it's all data driven, it's best to set up a spreadsheet - the instructions are in this link - New? How You Can Help Us Help You! Please note there are slightly different spreadsheets for those using a human meter versus a pet meter (e.g., AlphaTrak).

Once you have it set up, you can post a comment here AND add it to your signature (see my signature as an example).

There is a Prozinc forum here - it has lots of info to read (the posts with "yellow stickies"), including the Prozinc Dosing Methods Info.

Hope that helps a little bit :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top