HI Renee and Binxy and welcome to the forum. It is stressful in the beginning but from what I can see you are doing a great job getting sorted out...lucky Binxy!
You are very well organised! signature and spreadsheet up and running...thank you so much. it helps us a lot in helping you!
Vet put him Lantus 1.) SO EXPENSIVE had a one time discount for $30 not sure what to do when we need a refill.
As Jenny mentioned you can get cheaper lantus. Ill tag
@Diane Tyler's Mom as she has good information about that and can advise you. Lantus is a great insulin for cats so stay with that one.
Vet put him on Freestyle Libre & again $30 one time coupon and it has only lasted 9-10 days. I had purchased Relion Premier Blu a couple of days & vet said it gives incorrect numbers and compared to AlphaTrak in their office. I told him I realized the numbers would be a bit different after reading sooo many posts here & he shrugged it off & wanted me to get AlphaTrak- I divided my Relion number by .65 & it came out to what he got on AlphaTrak so I think I'm OK using Relion Premier?
The freestyle libre is a
human meter and the vet put that on but says the ReliOn meter
(human) is incorrect.....how does that work? He can't have it both ways.
The alphatrak reads a bit higher than the human meter but the human meter is far cheaper to run and is totally reliable...most of us use it here. You can't divide the numbers and get a reliable answer as there has been no comparison been made that is official. Just accept that they are different. The closer they get to normal range, the closer the BGs are. The higher they get, the bigger the difference. So if you had a BG of say 80 on the human meter, the alphatrak
may be around 95
for example but if you had a BG of 420 on the human meter, the alphatrak meter would be higher and
may be 500 or more.
3.) Binxys BG ALL over the place
This is normal in newly diagnosed cats as they get used to the insulin which is a hormone, not a medication such as an antibiotic.
3a.) I have switched his food from the dry & wet Royal Canin Urinary which the vet said would be fine & after reading Dr. (Lisa?)list I am now giving Purina Pro Diabetes, Weruva, Tiki Cat & others with proper nutritional balance.
Have you seen this
FOOD CHART by Dr Lisa Pierson? look for foosa that have carbs 10% or under. Most of us feed around 4 to 7% carbs.
Also make sure you have a hypo kit set up with higher carb foods and some honey or karo.
) Lowered dose from 2 to 1 unit per vets advice & I just lowered to .75 today without vet advice hoping I can actually give him 2x per day doses without wild swings in numbers.
Have a look at our 2 dosing methods for lantus. Start Low Go Slow and Tight Regulation.
With SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days unless you drop under 90 in which case you reduce the dose by 0.25 Units.
TR you reduce the dose at 50 and hold the dose for at least 3 days unless you drop under 50 in which case you reduce the dose by 0.25U. TR requires at least 4 BG tests a day.
I suggest printing off the two dosing methods and reading them closely to get more information about them and then choosing one. If you are not sure, ask us.
Always test before every dose to make sure it is safe to give the dose. If the BG is not high enough,
stall, don't feed and test again in 20 minutes and post and ask for help. You will need to change the subject like to alert us. Say something like...preshot xxx stalling, please help.
Also try and get a test in somewhere between +4 and +7 to see where the nadir or lowest point is as Lantus dosing is based on the nadir not the preshot BG.
I can see earlier on where Binky dropped under 50 and you did not reduce the dose.
Another thing to look for is if the +2 or +3 after the preshot dose has been given is lower than the preshot BG, that is an indicator that the cycle is an active one and the BGs could keep dropping, so always test again. An example of that is the PM cycle on 3/2/23
Finally the BIGGEST stressor is now trying to home test. I've read everything I can, watched videos, researched. Need a Lancing device recommendation
please?? Don't like to freehand it. CANT SEE where to inject because so much black & long ear hair. Can I test the hairless middle of his ear using one of the suction lancing devices? Need alternatives please

Relion lancing device with clear plastic cap & lancets don't even poke above plastic piece?? Would really like a one step, gentle & firm device without poking all over the place. Please help us? Anyone use Genteel Lancing device & can I use in middle hairless part of ear?
You need to test
close to the edge of the ear. There is a diagram in this link to show you where.
HOME TESTING HINTS AND LINKS has lots of links and pictures to help you.
It takes a few days or a week or two for you both to settle to the new routine especially BG testing. Expect to fail....we all did!
But you will get there...I promise. I am going to tag
@Melinda and Kitkat who was in exactly the same position as you and she is now an expert vampire!
With long black hair try putting a bit of vaseline on to the ear first and the blood should bead up for you.
What size lancets are you using? you need size 26 or 28 to start with.
There are usually 5 different depths on the device...have you adjusted those?
Don't give up...I know it is really hard and stressful for you at the moment but this will pass and it will soon be routine.

Bron