New, have questions

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Blackie’s mom, Aug 14, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blackie’s mom

Blackie’s mom Member

I’m a newbie. Not sure if I’m doing this correctly. But, my 11-yr old kitty, Blackie, was just diagnosed with diabetes. The Vet sent us home with 6 pounds of Purina DM, which I then read on this site is a really poor quality food to give your cat. WTH?! But it doesn’t really seem to matter, because he’s flat out not eating much. We missed his insulin this morning because I read the cat has to eat before you give him a shot. Is thus correct? We’re only on day number three, and I’m very overwhelmed. Previous food was friskies dry and wet (against my better judgment, but my bf fed him that, anyway). I’ve switched him over to fancy feast, but he’s not eating much. Had tuna tonight before shot. Also, how much tine should pass between food and shot? Thank you!

2. Bandit's Mom

Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

Hi Blackie's mom, welcome to FDMB! :)

Yes, most prescription food is very high in carbs and should be avoided. You can feed him any low-carb (less than 10%) wet food. This link will provide you with nutritional information on various cat foods - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

I have some questions for you !
    (a) Are you in the US?
    (b) What insulin is Blackie on? You said today is Day 3 of giving him insulin? What is the current dosage?
    (c) Was Blackie ever tested for ketones by your vet?
    (d) Do you have any information on his current sugar levels? We encourage home testing of blood sugar using a glucometer. Is that something you have been doing since starting insulin?
    (e) Is Blackie's loss of appetite linked to the food change? Cat's don't usually take to sudden changes in their food. Is he feeling well besides the lack of appetite?