Hi, folks,
I used to be on this board all of the time, but my sugarbaby passed and I did not return to the FDMB, but recommended people use it.
But now I'm back because my friend's kitty, Max was just dx'd. She jumped right in to hometesting, he was prescribed 1U/BID Lantus.
Now, back in "my day" I used PZI and always remembered Lantus as an insulin that was used when a kitty was first dx'd, but it was an insulin with big drop and so ppl didn't keep their kitties on Lantus.
Anyway, my friend is getting wonky numbers and we raised to dose to 1.25U/BID, numbers remained high for 2 days, so we decided to go to 1.5. Now his bg is 480 this evening, and I'm concerned that this is glucose dumping because the dose is too high.
She's putting together the bgs from the last 5 days, but can anyone advise if they've stayed on Lantus longterm? I see so many posts with Lantus in the title, is it now the "it" insulin?
Thanks, any feedback will be greatly appreciated. (hoping that this is not too confusing)
Mary Kay + Max
I used to be on this board all of the time, but my sugarbaby passed and I did not return to the FDMB, but recommended people use it.
But now I'm back because my friend's kitty, Max was just dx'd. She jumped right in to hometesting, he was prescribed 1U/BID Lantus.
Now, back in "my day" I used PZI and always remembered Lantus as an insulin that was used when a kitty was first dx'd, but it was an insulin with big drop and so ppl didn't keep their kitties on Lantus.
Anyway, my friend is getting wonky numbers and we raised to dose to 1.25U/BID, numbers remained high for 2 days, so we decided to go to 1.5. Now his bg is 480 this evening, and I'm concerned that this is glucose dumping because the dose is too high.
She's putting together the bgs from the last 5 days, but can anyone advise if they've stayed on Lantus longterm? I see so many posts with Lantus in the title, is it now the "it" insulin?
Thanks, any feedback will be greatly appreciated. (hoping that this is not too confusing)
Mary Kay + Max