New Draftee Samantha

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thebudster77

Member Since 2014
Hello All,

Samantha is Jack's old Sister. Jack started this journey on 8/9/14.

I knew she was diabetic when I took a BG reading with Jack's new AlphaTrak Meter. I was trying Blood Sugar Gold to see if it would make a difference with her as her readings averaged 350 vs. Jack @DX of 634. Well, her numbers were not budging (299 AMPS today.) Being more educated (Thank you FDMB) and a couple responses to posts, I knew it was time for her to join the ranks.

BTW, I have 2 bottles of BSG that I got a couple days ago still in the box. It is available to anyone for the cost of shipping plus a small donation to FDMB. I paid $70 for the 2 but If it works for somebody's Furry friend then all the better.

The Vet recommended .5u bid, but having some experience with Jack and reading the Lantus TR Protocol, I opted for 1u bid. Less than the TR Protocol of 3.5 but more than .5. We will see where this takes her.

She presented with few signs. Yes she did drink a lot of water and ate a lot (not new, she was ALWAYS a hoover). Her urine output did drop significantly with the BSG and the High Protein Diet of DM that Jack is on. But now is the time to get serious and face that "Sugar Dance" music. Thankfully I know the steps, her beat will probably be different but I can adapt. I have too and will!

I cannot add her Spreadsheet to my profile. Over the limit of 255 characters(it was 336 characters with her SS). Does anyone have a solution ? It is the link that drives it way up. I thought I have seen other signatures with 2 SS's but maybe there is a way to shorten it? Any help would be appreciated as I would like them both available for people to look at should I need advice. Here is the link but it only has today AMPS and the 1u shot. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... QVkE#gid=0

Thank you everyone and healing vines go out to all those kitties and caregivers.
 
Good morning, Kevin. ~O) I've been keeping up with your post in TR; I'm glad you decided to go ahead and start Samantha on insulin.

For the spreadsheet, one thought might be to change how the link is displayed in your signature. For example I changed from displaying the full web address for my ss to "Jersey's SS." To change how your ss link is displayed, go back to the control panel - profile - edit signature.

To rename your spreadsheet link, the format should be New name of your spreadsheet.

I don't know if this will work, but it's worth a shot!
Shelly
 
You just have to remove some characters from your signature. Decide if something can go in order to add the spreadsheet link. There's some place that can give you a shortened URL, and that might do it.
 
Hi Kevin!

That's quite a one-two punch you've gotten there with two newly diagnosed diabetics. I was reading back through your previous posts since I haven't commented on your thread before and noticed you're also a Techie pc_work like me. :thumbup I do technical documentation and software installation and training.

BJM said:
There's some place that can give you a shortened URL, and that might do it.

You can use tinyurl.com to shorten the link.
 
Hey KPassa,

Thank you for the link and the information. I believe it works. But wouldn't mind if you checked my signature to ensure it does.

I appreciate the Tech Support..

Coming up on Samantha's first PMPS and 2nd shot. Not sure what to expect for numbers. So I am a little anxious.

With her at 1u and her AMPS of 299. Well ECID and I have learned so much here with Jack, I am going to hold the course for 10 cycles before I make any change unless of course her nadir is too low.

Take care and nice to meet you.
Kevin
 
Yep, the links work, however, you might want to use the "published data" link instead since it takes less time to load. In google docs, go to File->Publish to the Web, make sure the box is checked to "Automatically republish," and then copy the link under "Get a link to the published data." Your link should start with "https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub..." instead of "https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc..."

You can also hyperlink the text with Insert Text here.

ETA: Oh, I see Shelly already said that. :oops: :lol:
Shelly & Jersey said:
To rename your spreadsheet link, the format should be New name of your spreadsheet.
 
KPassa,

Thank you. I will dress it up tomorrow.

Right now I have Jack to tend to. A PMPS of 107 and I shot the .5u. His +2 is 93. I suspect he will get into the lower 70's but will have to monitor closely. Right now I have no more energy to expend. So please realize, I got the code to work with your help, it may not be pretty but it works! You will understand that.

Kevin
 
Definitely do understand. ;-)

Looks like Jack might even be asking for a decrease soon. :thumbup And you earned the "balls of steel" award for shooting that 107 so early in the game! I'll be around for most of tonight so holler if you need any help.
 
Right now those "Ball of Steel" feel mighty heavy.

81 @ +3. I did feed him the rest of his portion at +2. So hope the digestion helps offset the insulin.

Thank you for letting me know you will be around..It does provide a level of comfort that indicates that I am not alone in this.
 
Hoping for your sake he surfs! :mrgreen:

ETA: you do have some high carb food and/or Karo or honey on hand, just in case?
 
Another 81 @ +4. Surfs up!

I have Karo and the 2 times he got low, he did not present any symptoms of hypo, not that he had too. but he licked the Karo off my hand with no issue at all. I was surprised. Of course the Freeze dried shrimp I bought for a pokey treat he snubbed. At least Samantha likes it. Will have to try the other flavors. Right now it is just a few 6 or 7 of the DM Chows. I know, I know but with all he is going through, he deserves a treat.

BTW was does ETA mean. Edited to add?
 
Woohoo, Jack! Hang 10, dude!

Thebudster77 said:
BTW was does ETA mean. Edited to add?
Yep. :-D Sometimes I hit submit faster than my brain can tell my hands I'm not done typing. :lol:
 
Hey KPassa,

Sorry but I did not see your posts last night for some reason. I was looking for them although at that time of the night er ah MORNING here on the East Coast I must have missed them.

Jack did very well he got a 79 @ 5.5 and a 76 @ 6+ and then I went to bed. I did feed him some chows and it shows this morning AMPS 141.

Thank you for the support last night, I appreciate it.

It is always nice to have someone watch my surfer Jack hang 10.

Kevin
 
Glad you were able to grab that +6. He's looking good! I don't want to jinx it, but he might be heading to OTJ soon with all those lovely numbers. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top