Sierra & Cats
Member Since 2022
Hello! My 15 year old cat was recently diagnosed and I've spent hours reading through the FAQs and forums on this website. He is currently on a raw-only diet. He eats Raw Paws Complete Chicken for Dogs & Cats. It is a frozen raw diet that I thaw and serve plain. The vet didn't think it was necessary to switch to a wet food diet as his raw is already very low carb (80% meat, 10% organ, 10% ground bone). But I keep reading about the need to switch to a low-carb wet food. Do all of the same diabetic tips apply (feeding times around shot, offering this food following a hypoglycemia episode, etc.) when he's on a raw diet?
In addition, I had a few more questions:
1) I'm not sure of his weight. Unfortunately the vet didn't tell me and it's not listed on the invoice I have. He has lost a lot of weight and I would estimate him to be about 7-9 lbs. He has always been a 11-15lb cat. The vet recommended a dose of 1 unit of glargine insulin 2x/day, and did not tell me to home monitor. I bought a home monitor anyways after reading through these forums, but I'm still concerned this may be too high of a dose given his low body weight. Would it be advised to start him on 0.5 units 2x/day initially despite the vet's recommendation? I am not sure of his fructosamine level, but the blood glucose test they did the day of his appointment read 525 (or 585- I can't remember!). I'm just worried about overdosing him to start since he's so frail right now.
2) As far as a feeding schedule: All of my other cats are fed raw food 2x/day at 5:30am and 3:00pm. (sometimes a third meal around 9pm if they're hungry). My diabetic cat has been served tons of additional meals throughout the day since he is ravenously hungry. He hasn't had a schedule for the past few weeks/month or two that I've noticed this. Unfortunately I can't start him on insulin until after the holidays since I wasn't able to get supplies before everything closes for the holiday. When I start him, should I give him additional meals to prevent hypoglycemic attacks, particularly overnight after his pm shot? Since he's on raw, I'm worried that his current regimen may be too low carb, but the vet said it's a good thing to be as low carb as possible. I'm thinking something like this:
5am- meal
9am- meal + insulin
3pm- meal
9pm- meal + insulin
3) What are the "ok to shoot" blood glucose ranges? Is it do not give insulin if he's <150? And consider a smaller dose or skipping if he tests 150-200? The vet said our target range is to have his BG under 250, but I'm not sure how low is "too low" for deciding to skip the shot. I am really worried about hypoglycemia and want to err on the side of caution.
4) Glargine insulin... I'm reading online that it's not important to feed and wait 20-30 minutes prior to the shot, but the vet instructed me to definitely always feed a meal before administering insulin. I was planning to test, feed, wait 20 minutes, and then shoot. Does that sound about right?
Thank you all so much!
In addition, I had a few more questions:
1) I'm not sure of his weight. Unfortunately the vet didn't tell me and it's not listed on the invoice I have. He has lost a lot of weight and I would estimate him to be about 7-9 lbs. He has always been a 11-15lb cat. The vet recommended a dose of 1 unit of glargine insulin 2x/day, and did not tell me to home monitor. I bought a home monitor anyways after reading through these forums, but I'm still concerned this may be too high of a dose given his low body weight. Would it be advised to start him on 0.5 units 2x/day initially despite the vet's recommendation? I am not sure of his fructosamine level, but the blood glucose test they did the day of his appointment read 525 (or 585- I can't remember!). I'm just worried about overdosing him to start since he's so frail right now.
2) As far as a feeding schedule: All of my other cats are fed raw food 2x/day at 5:30am and 3:00pm. (sometimes a third meal around 9pm if they're hungry). My diabetic cat has been served tons of additional meals throughout the day since he is ravenously hungry. He hasn't had a schedule for the past few weeks/month or two that I've noticed this. Unfortunately I can't start him on insulin until after the holidays since I wasn't able to get supplies before everything closes for the holiday. When I start him, should I give him additional meals to prevent hypoglycemic attacks, particularly overnight after his pm shot? Since he's on raw, I'm worried that his current regimen may be too low carb, but the vet said it's a good thing to be as low carb as possible. I'm thinking something like this:
5am- meal
9am- meal + insulin
3pm- meal
9pm- meal + insulin
3) What are the "ok to shoot" blood glucose ranges? Is it do not give insulin if he's <150? And consider a smaller dose or skipping if he tests 150-200? The vet said our target range is to have his BG under 250, but I'm not sure how low is "too low" for deciding to skip the shot. I am really worried about hypoglycemia and want to err on the side of caution.
4) Glargine insulin... I'm reading online that it's not important to feed and wait 20-30 minutes prior to the shot, but the vet instructed me to definitely always feed a meal before administering insulin. I was planning to test, feed, wait 20 minutes, and then shoot. Does that sound about right?
Thank you all so much!
