New diagnosis - BG was 177 - Have yet to start Insulin. Should I start first dose this morning.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maggie and Atticus

Member Since 2021
Atticus BG levels were 177 this morning. Lower than twelve hours ago. Should I put it off his first ever dose of insulin and keep monitoring BG Level? Don't want him to have a hypo event.

Just transitioned him to wet food the day before yesterday.
 
Last edited:
The test results of 184 and 177 are basically the same, given meter variances. Since he is below 200 and you are new and don't have enough data yet, I would suggest skipping the shot this morning.
Because of the gingivitis mentioned in your other thread, I would check him for ketones. Did you get the ketones test strips yet?
I would feed him, and test again if you can, in about 4 hours.
How does that sound? He is very cute :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top