nutritiongirl22
Member Since 2014
I've been enjoying reading and posting now for about a week now and I think I've been avoiding my own introduction. I guess maybe I feel somewhat responsible for my cat's diabetes. 007 is 9 years old. He was diagnosed with asthma about 3 years ago. I had him on a mix of an inhaler and prednisolone when needed. Eventually I think the inhaler got so stressful for him he would just hide from me and get asthma attacks while he was trying to run away. It was just sad. He's the sweetest cat but he's a terror to pill. I've pilled him, watched him eat 10 treats, and then spit out a pill 5 minutes later. We finally came to a mutally happy place when I started pilling him with tuna flavored prednisolone chews. Yes, I have to even shove those down his throat. But we do it, he knows it's done, and then he's purring and happy afterwards.
Fast forward to August: 007 started peeing and drinking a lot. At first I thought it was the pred, I'd given him 5 mg instead of his usual 2.5 mg every other day for a week to try avoiding a burst & taper. The pee was crazy. I thought I was neglecting the litter box at first, until it kept happening and then he seemed to be parked at the kitty fountain. Inside I was freaking out because I do this with my pets but I was trying to be calm: maybe the pred, a UTI, kidneys? He'd had bloodwork 6 months earlier so I knew it couldn't be anything too progressive/chronic. Diabetes was the last thing on my mind. I know it shouldn't have been but it just was. He hadn't lost any weight but he sure was pigging it up. I didn't even notice that I'd stopped measuring his food those last few weeks.
So his blood sugar at diagnosis was 416. Started on 1 unit lantus twice a day. It was a little rough at first giving his shots but he's doing well. Symptom-wise I could tell a big difference the first week. The peeing and drinking is definitely decreased. He's eating less too. He had his first curve today. AM pre 318, 4h 277, 8h 292. He got increased to 2 units today. I only half transitioned him to the diabetic food. This is partly because the meter I had at home was telling me his BG was 160-180s so I was worried he was going to run low if I made too many changes at once. Bad meter - it is going bye bye.
This week, we are trying 2 units and I am going to transition him to his 100% diabetic diet. We'll do another curve after that. Here are the kinks....
1) 007 is losing hair, literally in the past week. He looks like he has bald eyebrows, like large bald spots. The vet is not really sure what this is and thinks it could be self-inflicted. This is so unlike him that it's hard for me to imagine. Any idea what is going on with this? Similar experience?
2) I can tell he feels bad. It seems like he feels worse than before, or maybe I am just picking up on it more now that I know what's going on? He doesn't come up to me for pets and follow me around like normal. He's just more of a lump. He is very alert, eating well, just seems depressed or something. His little sister taking total advantage, running in front of him if he does come up to me and running up to his food bowl to steal his food, which she would never normally do & he just lets her! That more than anything tells me how he's feeling. Is this normal?
3) It is possible that diabetes is pred-induced. Does anyone have a similar situation? He is now on daily pred (a lower dose 1.25 mg) per the vet school's recommendations to have a consistent dose but I'm thinking it would be worth trying the inhaler again...once we get his BG stabilized after this 2nd curve. I am concerned about the daily prednisone and if his diabetes is secondary to his pred, that isn't good. It's been over a year since I have used the inhaler and we also had another cat in the house that probably contributed to the stress in the environment at the time.
I work at a vet so I get a lot of support medically, but I don't have anyone going through it. I get really anxious whenever one of my pets is sick or having a problem. They are my babies. Thanks in advance for the help! I really appreciate any shared experiences
Fast forward to August: 007 started peeing and drinking a lot. At first I thought it was the pred, I'd given him 5 mg instead of his usual 2.5 mg every other day for a week to try avoiding a burst & taper. The pee was crazy. I thought I was neglecting the litter box at first, until it kept happening and then he seemed to be parked at the kitty fountain. Inside I was freaking out because I do this with my pets but I was trying to be calm: maybe the pred, a UTI, kidneys? He'd had bloodwork 6 months earlier so I knew it couldn't be anything too progressive/chronic. Diabetes was the last thing on my mind. I know it shouldn't have been but it just was. He hadn't lost any weight but he sure was pigging it up. I didn't even notice that I'd stopped measuring his food those last few weeks.
So his blood sugar at diagnosis was 416. Started on 1 unit lantus twice a day. It was a little rough at first giving his shots but he's doing well. Symptom-wise I could tell a big difference the first week. The peeing and drinking is definitely decreased. He's eating less too. He had his first curve today. AM pre 318, 4h 277, 8h 292. He got increased to 2 units today. I only half transitioned him to the diabetic food. This is partly because the meter I had at home was telling me his BG was 160-180s so I was worried he was going to run low if I made too many changes at once. Bad meter - it is going bye bye.
This week, we are trying 2 units and I am going to transition him to his 100% diabetic diet. We'll do another curve after that. Here are the kinks....
1) 007 is losing hair, literally in the past week. He looks like he has bald eyebrows, like large bald spots. The vet is not really sure what this is and thinks it could be self-inflicted. This is so unlike him that it's hard for me to imagine. Any idea what is going on with this? Similar experience?
2) I can tell he feels bad. It seems like he feels worse than before, or maybe I am just picking up on it more now that I know what's going on? He doesn't come up to me for pets and follow me around like normal. He's just more of a lump. He is very alert, eating well, just seems depressed or something. His little sister taking total advantage, running in front of him if he does come up to me and running up to his food bowl to steal his food, which she would never normally do & he just lets her! That more than anything tells me how he's feeling. Is this normal?
3) It is possible that diabetes is pred-induced. Does anyone have a similar situation? He is now on daily pred (a lower dose 1.25 mg) per the vet school's recommendations to have a consistent dose but I'm thinking it would be worth trying the inhaler again...once we get his BG stabilized after this 2nd curve. I am concerned about the daily prednisone and if his diabetes is secondary to his pred, that isn't good. It's been over a year since I have used the inhaler and we also had another cat in the house that probably contributed to the stress in the environment at the time.
I work at a vet so I get a lot of support medically, but I don't have anyone going through it. I get really anxious whenever one of my pets is sick or having a problem. They are my babies. Thanks in advance for the help! I really appreciate any shared experiences