Brenda&bernie
Member Since 2015
Hi, What a nightmare come true this has been. My cat is Dr Bernie Moskowitz. we are his 4th owners, we intercepted him going to a shelter 5yrs ago after having a pretty abused and neglected history. Our goal this whole time has been to give him a good and love filled life. Which we had been doing a pretty good job of until that day. He was diagnosed 6.29.15 accidently, I took him in for something else and ER found sugar in his urine, the BG was 520. The vet at the Animal ER said all I needed was dedication and the guts to give 2 magic shots a day. That was 3 insulins ago and thousands of dollars ago. And nothing works, nothing. Bernie was started on 2u Lantus am/pm which made him vomit. They cut him back to 1.5, then 1 for 3 weeks straight. He slept most of the time, sometimes so deeply, it was difficult to wake him. His BG was usually 300-400. Despite my constant calls with worries and visits and hospital stays where they did alot of damage to him they didn't change the type or dose. At about 3 weeks they did a curve and found the Lantus was doing nothing and said he must have formed antibodies to it. I left them and went to another vet. He has since been on ProZinc with the same reaction and currently on BCP Prozinc with a similar reaction even at .5u. When we stopped the insulin, he returns to his old self. Happy, loving and full of energy. But then nothing is combatting the Diabetes. I can't keep letting him be tortured like this. His whole life has been shots, IV's, venipuncture, pricks and getting shaved in various places and sleeping and being sick. I am now positive some of his high readings were due to the stress of being in the hospital. Currently he sits at about 300-400. Is it possible he can't take insulin? He has not had any dry food for about 2 months and I am trying to get him to like raw in an effort to put him into remission. I can't take the torture of watching this anymore. I have attempted to test his blood myself but I felt like I mostly hurt him and made him scared of me. And if he felt better, I would feel better about testing him myself. We had a very loving relationship with him prior to this, and lots of routines together. It changed our whole life without helping him a bit. He was hiding alot, keeping a distance and no longer sleeps on the bed Last weekend he started giving us trouble with food. Since I couldn't enough into him I was going to skip the dose and try him the following morning 5;30am to keep him on schedule, but I called the vet first about 2 hours past shot time 7:30pm . He said to give the dose and wait 12hrs to feed and give the next. Following that advice led to my cat a refusing to eat for several days. I stopped the insulin by Tuesday pm in spite of the vet telling me to give it. We have run up 2 credit cards to pay for the hospital bills, insulin and special foods. We can't take much more of this, I'm sure this is not normal. but we really can't afford to try another insulin do more curves, ect. Does anybody out there have a cat who cannot take insulin? What do you do? Thanks for listening.