Hiya,
It is very overwhelming at first with the whole testing thing and all the information out here. I've found this site really helpful.
Dagger is pretty much a wet food kitty now. Which has brought a question to mind. Has anyone found that certain types of wet food effect BG levels? We're feed classic friskies right now.
Last night I tested Daggers BG before food and it was 98. I was really excited! So, no shot for Dagger. This morning, I actually got DH to help with the testing, BG was 168 so gave him 1unit. Now, I'm wondering if I should have skipped it. Usually he's eager to eat whether it's time to eat or not. Today when I got home from work he was curled up on the chair in the room we feed him. Granted I didn't find him until several hours later, been busy trying to get the house back into shape from vacation. He woke right up when I poked him. Didn't act like he wanted to eat though.
Sigh....I really hate to test his BG again since he really hates it so. Even knowing he'll get to eat afterwards doesn't improve his disposition. We've got an appointment tomorrow afternoon with the vet for another check up. If this comes back good, then we won't need to go back for a while. I'm almost of a mind not to give him any insulin until his check tomorrow.
Any opinions?
Kim/Benton, AR
It is very overwhelming at first with the whole testing thing and all the information out here. I've found this site really helpful.
Dagger is pretty much a wet food kitty now. Which has brought a question to mind. Has anyone found that certain types of wet food effect BG levels? We're feed classic friskies right now.
Last night I tested Daggers BG before food and it was 98. I was really excited! So, no shot for Dagger. This morning, I actually got DH to help with the testing, BG was 168 so gave him 1unit. Now, I'm wondering if I should have skipped it. Usually he's eager to eat whether it's time to eat or not. Today when I got home from work he was curled up on the chair in the room we feed him. Granted I didn't find him until several hours later, been busy trying to get the house back into shape from vacation. He woke right up when I poked him. Didn't act like he wanted to eat though.
Sigh....I really hate to test his BG again since he really hates it so. Even knowing he'll get to eat afterwards doesn't improve his disposition. We've got an appointment tomorrow afternoon with the vet for another check up. If this comes back good, then we won't need to go back for a while. I'm almost of a mind not to give him any insulin until his check tomorrow.
Any opinions?
Kim/Benton, AR