New Diabetic kitty, multi cat household

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hiya,

It is very overwhelming at first with the whole testing thing and all the information out here. I've found this site really helpful.

Dagger is pretty much a wet food kitty now. Which has brought a question to mind. Has anyone found that certain types of wet food effect BG levels? We're feed classic friskies right now.

Last night I tested Daggers BG before food and it was 98. I was really excited! So, no shot for Dagger. This morning, I actually got DH to help with the testing, BG was 168 so gave him 1unit. Now, I'm wondering if I should have skipped it. Usually he's eager to eat whether it's time to eat or not. Today when I got home from work he was curled up on the chair in the room we feed him. Granted I didn't find him until several hours later, been busy trying to get the house back into shape from vacation. He woke right up when I poked him. Didn't act like he wanted to eat though.

Sigh....I really hate to test his BG again since he really hates it so. Even knowing he'll get to eat afterwards doesn't improve his disposition. We've got an appointment tomorrow afternoon with the vet for another check up. If this comes back good, then we won't need to go back for a while. I'm almost of a mind not to give him any insulin until his check tomorrow.

Any opinions?

Kim/Benton, AR
 
Hiya,

Took Daggers BG tonight. It was 102, so no shot for him tonight. I think I'm going to not give insulin tomorrow morning and let the vet check it later in the day.

Kim/Benton, AR
 
This is going into three pages! Time for another topic :lol:

Yes, for new cats shooting under 200 is NOT recommended so you did fine and dandy.

Yes, different carbs will effect BG level differently. Sneakers is a carb hog. Her body was so sensitive to the least little % change it was unbelievable. I feed under 5%- once I switched to canned that was all I bought. But I would by all carb % available under 5% and her numbers were wonkier than a deer path in Rogers. To stop the swinging I just fed ONE carb % for a month. I bought the whole three kinds of FF she would eat for 2%, stacked them up in threes and just fed her that. It finally leveled her off.

Now, 6 months later, she can eat different %'s and not go wild in the levels like before. but we kept up that 1% carb only for about 3 months until she showed that improvement.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top