New Diabetic Cat Mom

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelle Acello

Member Since 2020
Hello! We just found out last Saturday that our 18 year old male cat, Berlioz, has diebetes. This is my first time owning a cat that has lived this long. As a child, my parents just didn't keep animals around for long. I have to admit that at first, I thought the changes were just old age. I decided to do a little research to see if there was anything I could do to help him age without any pain. After looking up his weight drop, increase in drinking and the declined state of his hind legs, I knew he had to go in to see what was going on. I feel horrible that I didn't know to have him tested sooner. He typically used to weigh about 10 pounds and now weighs 7.2 pounds. He goes in this Monday for his screening and I wanted to have as much info as I could before then. I have done some reading on Dr. Lisa's site and also thoughout this forum. Berlioz has been on wet food for quite awhile, but I just bought a low carb wet food yesterday to start him on. Here are my questions:

1. Should I buy the glucose monitor and provide it at his first screening on Monday or should I wait until after?
2. Is it ok to try different low carb wet foods to see which one he likes best? He only seems to nibble at the Fancy Feast one I just bought him. In all fairness, he just hasn't been eating a lot regardless of the food brand. (I am not apposed to any food that will help him. I am doing more research on homemade)
3. Besides the diet, home testing, insulin, etc....is there anything else I can do to help him? Maybe it just takes time, but I am willing to trying anything and everything to bring my boy back.
4. At his age, is it possible to get him healthy and have him a bit longer? I know there's no gaurentee, but I want to make sure that we are doing what is best for him at his age.

I know this was a long post and I am sorry about that. Berlioz is the soul of this family and we would like to keep him around a bit longer if possible. Thanks for you help!
 
Hi! Sorry no one has stopped by yet - First, welcome! You are soooo not alone. I think when I joined people said welcome to the best place you never thought you'd be :bighug::bighug::bighug: If you haven't already, you may want to check out the New Member link.

I'm by no means an expert but can answer some of your questions and hopefully others will chime in too. And some questions that may help the more experienced folks help guide you.

1) Have you started insulin? If so what kind?
2) Where are you located (generally...like US, Canada, etc)?
3) Does Berlioz have any other health conditions or history of DKA?

1. Should I buy the glucose monitor and provide it at his first screening on Monday or should I wait until after?
I'd buy one now to have. You could even grab a few tests to start getting testing down and know Berlioz's numbers.
2. Is it ok to try different low carb wet foods to see which one he likes best? He only seems to nibble at the Fancy Feast one I just bought him. In all fairness, he just hasn't been eating a lot regardless of the food brand. (I am not apposed to any food that will help him. I am doing more research on homemade)
Of course - stick to anything 10% carb or less (this is considered low carb).
3. Besides the diet, home testing, insulin, etc....is there anything else I can do to help him? Maybe it just takes time, but I am willing to trying anything and everything to bring my boy back.
I think being here and asking questions is great! And yes managing FD is a marathon...and they say here to find patience pants (I have never ever ever found any :p).
4. At his age, is it possible to get him healthy and have him a bit longer? I know there's no gaurentee, but I want to make sure that we are doing what is best for him at his age.
Regulating his diabetes will help his overall health!

Hope my answers help a bit - at the least, my response will bump you your post.
 
Hello! We just found out last Saturday that our 18 year old male cat, Berlioz, has diebetes. This is my first time owning a cat that has lived this long. As a child, my parents just didn't keep animals around for long. I have to admit that at first, I thought the changes were just old age. I decided to do a little research to see if there was anything I could do to help him age without any pain. After looking up his weight drop, increase in drinking and the declined state of his hind legs, I knew he had to go in to see what was going on. I feel horrible that I didn't know to have him tested sooner. He typically used to weigh about 10 pounds and now weighs 7.2 pounds. He goes in this Monday for his screening and I wanted to have as much info as I could before then. I have done some reading on Dr. Lisa's site and also thoughout this forum. Berlioz has been on wet food for quite awhile, but I just bought a low carb wet food yesterday to start him on. Here are my questions:

1. Should I buy the glucose monitor and provide it at his first screening on Monday or should I wait until after?
2. Is it ok to try different low carb wet foods to see which one he likes best? He only seems to nibble at the Fancy Feast one I just bought him. In all fairness, he just hasn't been eating a lot regardless of the food brand. (I am not apposed to any food that will help him. I am doing more research on homemade)
3. Besides the diet, home testing, insulin, etc....is there anything else I can do to help him? Maybe it just takes time, but I am willing to trying anything and everything to bring my boy back.
4. At his age, is it possible to get him healthy and have him a bit longer? I know there's no gaurentee, but I want to make sure that we are doing what is best for him at his age.

I know this was a long post and I am sorry about that. Berlioz is the soul of this family and we would like to keep him around a bit longer if possible. Thanks for you help!


Sorry no one has attended promotly to you and Berloiz.

On your Q #2 Yes you can try different low carb foods, finicky cats is normal and Finicky Seniors even more normal.

At the Vet you should do a Full Blood Work Panel. Kidneys and Liver is indicated too on weight loss, thirst and age.
 
Last edited:
Welcome. The symptoms could also be from kidney disease. What makes you think it’s diabetes? See what the blood tests and urinalysis say.
 
Welcome Shelle, you have landed in the best place possible.
When your vet tested him what was his BG?
If you have a Walmart near you I would pick up The Relion Prime human meter
It's 9 dollars, The test strips are 17.88 for 100
You will be going thru a lot of strips in the beginning

There is also the Relion Premier meter

You would want to buy lancets that are 26 or 28 gauge , they will make a bigger
hole so his ear will bleed better .
Most of us test freehand just using the lancet, some use a lancing device
I find it easier just freehand and you can see better where you are poking.

Pick up some cotton rounds, to out behind his ear just in case you might
poke your finger, then press gently on his ear to stop the bleeding about 10- 20
seconds or so.

The vet might try to sell you a pet meter, that's what most vets use,
The price of the strips will kill you, about 50.00 for only 50 strips
Just tell her you can't afford it, but it's up to you.
Most of us use human meters here.

Like JaxBenji (her name is Susanne) suggested I would go buy a meter and the strips and lancets now so you can start seeing what his numbers are.

Your vet might start you with Vetsulin, it's the cheapest but it's not that
great, it's actually more for dogs.
It's a harsh insulin and drops a cat's BG pretty early , and usually only last
for about 8 hours.
Most of us here use Lantus lantus it's a much more gentle insulin and usually last for 12 hours.
You would shoot every 12 hours
Some also use Prozinc

Lantus is expensive in the US so most of us buy it from Canada
Great prices. We can discuss that later if you want to
We will help you
We also have a supply closet here where members that have kitties that
have passed will sell their supplies.
Right now I see someone selling Lantus pens at a very great price
We buy the Lantus Solostar pens,
We use them like a vial, you would just insert the syringe in the little
grey rubber stopper and draw the insulin.
We do this because with the pens you can only increase or decrease
by whole units

We increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time
Also what ever insulin you decide to use buy the syringes
with half unit markings, it makes it easier when you have to
increase or decrease the dosage.

This might sound overwhelming but believe me you will
get the knack very quickly.

Once we know what insulin you will be using we can help
Berlioz.
The members here are all amazing, and if it wasn't for their help and knowledge my
Tyler wouldn't be we he is today, doing so great.

Just keep asking questions
Keep us updated please :bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Last edited:
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If she won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there
 
You mentioned his hind legs, is he walking on his hocks, like a rabbit does.
He might have neuropothy..
My cat did and so did many other cats here
Once you get his BG regulated it will get better.

A lot of us give Methyl B-12
I'll post the link for you. My cat was pretty bad and now he's jumping around
like he used to.
 
Here is the link https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

Alot of members use this , I use it myself you can buy it on line from Vitacost
Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules
It's 17.99 just be sure this is the one you buy
Some members buy Zobaline
The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
So I buy the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and add it to the B-12
If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half and crush it up
The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food and I always add some water to the wet food.
Has no taste, no need to crush it up
The Zobaline is 33.99 for 60 pills, too expensive
I saw a big improvement I'd say 3 months, could be sooner. One capsule a day.
Once you get your kitty better regulated the B-12 methyl will help


Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

  • SKU #: 835003001804
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23 lb
  • Servings: 100
 
This is what you need to feed if he ever drops to low, don't have want a hypo
Such as

You should always have a few can of these on hand in case you need to bring up


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

It's mostly the gravy that has the higher carbs in it

Look at the food link I gave you , you might see other ones you may want to try
 
Oh my goodness, you guys are so kind and helpful. I was told on Saturday, by our vet, that he has diabetes after they did some blood work. I don't have the blood work, but I will ask for it on Monday when he gets his screening. As far as his back legs, he walks on them normally, they just seem weak. Sometimes I notice that they give out a little or he'll walk a little sideways. I did buy the Fancy Feast pate for him yesterday. I found that if I bring the food to him, when he's on my lap, he'll eat more. Whatever it takes, right? I'll go get the meter and other things recommended. I feel so much more confident going into this appointment on Monday. I'll also ask the vet about his BG levels and/or if he needs any other supplements. I think I saw someone share their cats blood work on here in another post, so I will do that if it's allowed.

I can't thank you enough. I will definetly be needing you as I go through this. Although Berlioz is 18, I would love to get a little bit of my spunky boy back. Even if I get another year I will be happy. I will update after our appointment on Monday.
 
Oh my goodness, you guys are so kind and helpful. I was told on Saturday, by our vet, that he has diabetes after they did some blood work. I don't have the blood work, but I will ask for it on Monday when he gets his screening. As far as his back legs, he walks on them normally, they just seem weak. Sometimes I notice that they give out a little or he'll walk a little sideways. I did buy the Fancy Feast pate for him yesterday. I found that if I bring the food to him, when he's on my lap, he'll eat more. Whatever it takes, right? I'll go get the meter and other things recommended. I feel so much more confident going into this appointment on Monday. I'll also ask the vet about his BG levels and/or if he needs any other supplements. I think I saw someone share their cats blood work on here in another post, so I will do that if it's allowed.

I can't thank you enough. I will definetly be needing you as I go through this. Although Berlioz is 18, I would love to get a little bit of my spunky boy back. Even if I get another year I will be happy. I will update after our appointment on Monday.
Glad you are feeling a little better, sure you can show us the blood work.
Belioz is a little cutie by the way. Yes keep us informed and ask all the
questions you want. Have a good night :cat:
 
Oh my goodness, you guys are so kind and helpful. I was told on Saturday, by our vet, that he has diabetes after they did some blood work. I don't have the blood work, but I will ask for it on Monday when he gets his screening. As far as his back legs, he walks on them normally, they just seem weak. Sometimes I notice that they give out a little or he'll walk a little sideways. I did buy the Fancy Feast pate for him yesterday. I found that if I bring the food to him, when he's on my lap, he'll eat more. Whatever it takes, right? I'll go get the meter and other things recommended. I feel so much more confident going into this appointment on Monday. I'll also ask the vet about his BG levels and/or if he needs any other supplements. I think I saw someone share their cats blood work on here in another post, so I will do that if it's allowed.

I can't thank you enough. I will definetly be needing you as I go through this. Although Berlioz is 18, I would love to get a little bit of my spunky boy back. Even if I get another year I will be happy. I will update after our appointment on Monday.


Hi again. Yes, you should ask for copies of all blood tests and also Set Up These Spreadsheets for your bg values and data, where there also is a Tab under where you also enter all your blood tests into it too.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
 
I just picked my guy up from the vet. He is going to need 2 units, twice a day for now. They tried 1 unti, but he never went under 384. Our vet has no issue with us glucose testing at home and ordering Lantus online. For now, they gave me about a months worth of Lantus. I forgot to ask for the blood work, so I will call tonorrow with that. (I had so many other questions) I did ask if there were any other underlying conditions and they said he's anemic, but otherwise, just the diabetes. They want to restest him later to see if the anemia gets better with treatment. He goes in next month for another curve to see how he's doing and then they will work with me to test at home. Should I be testing him in the meantime? For diet right now, I am trying the DM Purina Pro Plan. Also, we are from the US. We live on the border of Illinois and Wisconsin, in Antioch, IL. Thank you to all of you for your help. I'm so happy I found this site.
 
I just picked my guy up from the vet. He is going to need 2 units, twice a day for now. They tried 1 unti, but he never went under 384. Our vet has no issue with us glucose testing at home and ordering Lantus online. For now, they gave me about a months worth of Lantus. I forgot to ask for the blood work, so I will call tonorrow with that. (I had so many other questions) I did ask if there were any other underlying conditions and they said he's anemic, but otherwise, just the diabetes. They want to restest him later to see if the anemia gets better with treatment. He goes in next month for another curve to see how he's doing and then they will work with me to test at home. Should I be testing him in the meantime? For diet right now, I am trying the DM Purina Pro Plan. Also, we are from the US. We live on the border of Illinois and Wisconsin, in Antioch, IL. Thank you to all of you for your help. I'm so happy I found this site.
Hi when you said they tried 1 unit , but he never went under 384 what insulin was it?
He is going to need 2 units of what insulin?
Please get the blood work and post it here or on your spreadsheet under the labs section.
You said the vet said he is anemic , what are they doing for that anything?

You can do the curve yourself at home and send your vet the results
Doing it at the vets can raise their numbers by 100 points because of stress.

You should definitely be home testing ASAP
I posted all the info above for you about buying everything at Walmart

How much did you pay for the lantus? It must have been the vial, is that correct

Most of us buy our lantus from Marks Marine in Canada
 
Last edited:
https://rxcanada4less.com Marks Marine pharmacy

Here is the link for Canada with the pens we use them like a vial because with the pensyou can only increase or decrease by whole units, so you would just take your syringe and stick it in the little grey rubber stopper and just draw the insulin from that







Lantus Solostar Cartridges 5x3ml per box (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100u/ml 15 ml $159.99 USD

rx.gif
Lantus Solostar PEN CAN (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) *single pen open box* Brand 100iu/ml one pen 3 ml $49.99 USD

rx.gif
Lantus Solostar PENS 5x3ml per box (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100u/ml 15 ml $164.99 USD

rx.gif
Lantus VIAL Insulin (10ml per vial) (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100u/ml 10 ml $110.99 USD


Like I said you are better off buying the 5 pack of cartridges or the 5 pack of pens
They will last you way over a year
After your vet writes the first script you won't ever need another script.
Call them and will tell you what to do
They are very nice people

Oh when you buy the pens they will have an expiration date on them
Most likely 2022 or 2023 by now.
Put them in the frig , a middle shelf
As long as you don't puncture them they will be good until the expiration date
So you are actually saving a ton of money
 
This was from the Chewy web site

You said you are trying this, which one wet or dry
The dry is too high in carbs

Besides there is nothing special about this food except being expensive

If he isn't crazy about the Fancy Feast Classic Pates look at the food chart link I gave you above
 
Hi when you said they tried 1 unit , but he never went under 384 what insulin was it?
He is going to need 2 units of what insulin?
Please get the blood work and post it here or on your spreadsheet under the labs section.
You said the vet said he is anemic , what are they doing for that anything?

You can do the curve yourself at home and send your vet the results
Doing it at the vets can raise their numbers by 100 points because of stress.

You should definitely be home testing ASAP
I posted all the infomp above for you about buying everything at Walmart

How much did you pay for the lantus? It must have been the vial, is that correct

Most of us buy our lantus from Marks Marine in Canada

Hi Diane...as for the anemia, they want to test him again in a month to see where the anemia is at. They said that treating the diabetes could improve the anemia. Totally open to opinions on that. I will post his bloodwork in the spreadsheet as soon as I receive it tomorrow. As for the Lantus, they charged $55 US for 1cc. I plan on ordering from the canadian site moving forward, but it was nice to get a little in order to get started. I have bought everything you recommended at Walmart and will start home testing asap. As for the curve, I plan to do it myself soon, I'm just brand new and want the vet to help for the first month so I don't mess anything up. I'm sure I'll have the hang of this soon. I did my very first injection on Berlioz a few hours ago. Do you think I should get the B12 for him? The vet didn't mention anything, but his back legs are very weak and cause him to walk sideways sometimes or just completely buckle.
 
  • when you get a chance ,It would be helpful if you can set up your signature so we don't have to ask you the same questions over again. Members will look at this first .
  • It appears after each post in gray, look at mine,



  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.


tap on your avatar where it says your name ,then hit profile page ,tap on that ,then go up to the very top, upper right hand side and tap on your name ,it will bring down a drop box, tap on signature, the signature will be under settings, tap on the signature then and you can start to add what I posted above, make sure you hit save ,
Welcome to the best place you could ever be and an awesome group of people
 
Hi when you said they tried 1 unit , but he never went under 384 what insulin was it?
He is going to need 2 units of what insulin?
Please get the blood work and post it here or on your spreadsheet under the labs section.
You said the vet said he is anemic , what are they doing for that anything?

You can do the curve yourself at home and send your vet the results
Doing it at the vets can raise their numbers by 100 points because of stress.

You should definitely be home testing ASAP
I posted all the infomp above for you about buying everything at Walmart

How much did you pay for the lantus? It must have been the vial, is that correct

Most of us buy our lantus from Marks Marine in Canada

They used Lantus on him today and also gave me 1cc of Lantus to take home.
This was from the Chewy web site

You said you are trying this, which one wet or dry
The dry is too high in carbs

Besides there is nothing special about this food except being expensive

If he isn't crazy about the Fancy Feast Classic Pates look at the food chart link I gave you above

He's on the wet formula...I'm hoping that's better? I'm hoping to find one he likes.
 
  • when you get a chance ,It would be helpful if you can set up your signature so we don't have to ask you the same questions over again. Members will look at this first .
  • It appears after each post in gray, look at mine,


  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.


tap on your avatar where it says your name ,then hit profile page ,tap on that ,then go up to the very top, upper right hand side and tap on your name ,it will bring down a drop box, tap on signature, the signature will be under settings, tap on the signature then and you can start to add what I posted above, make sure you hit save ,
Welcome to the best place you could ever be and an awesome group of people

Ah, thank you! I will get this corrected asap.
 
Hi Diane...as for the anemia, they want to test him again in a month to see where the anemia is at. They said that treating the diabetes could improve the anemia. Totally open to opinions on that. I will post his bloodwork in the spreadsheet as soon as I receive it tomorrow. As for the Lantus, they charged $55 US for 1cc. I plan on ordering from the canadian site moving forward, but it was nice to get a little in order to get started. I have bought everything you recommended at Walmart and will start home testing asap. As for the curve, I plan to do it myself soon, I'm just brand new and want the vet to help for the first month so I don't mess anything up. I'm sure I'll have the hang of this soon. I did my very first injection on Berlioz a few hours ago. Do you think I should get the B12 for him? The vet didn't mention anything, but his back legs are very weak and cause him to walk sideways sometimes or just completely buckle.
Happy to hear you are all set up with everything.
I would order the Methyl B-12 if I were you, my vet never even heard of it.
Once you get Berlioz BG regulated plus the B-12 it should help
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome. We've had many members with senior diabetic kitty's get better. I hope we can help you too.

Once you get your blood work results and post them, some people will be able to comment on the anemia.
For now, they gave me about a months worth of Lantus.
What container did the Lantus come in? We strongly recommend not getting repackaged insulin from the vet and instead using the original vials or pens. Too many times people have gotten bad Lantus.
He goes in next month for another curve to see how he's doing and then they will work with me to test at home. Should I be testing him in the meantime? For diet right now, I am trying the DM Purina Pro Plan.
You can do a curve at home, and it'll be much more accurate. One of my non diabetics was so stressed at the vet he tested around 220 at the vet, and a nice normal 53 at home the next day. Vet had called saying he was possible diabetic but I was able to say no he wasn't. We have a post that might help you with testing: Hometesting Links and Tips
I would start as soon as you can. Testing is what keeps them safe, both in knowing his blood sugar is at a safe number to shoot (which is what human diabetics do) and that his dose is not too high. We've had far too many people start here with doses too high.

You also don't need to feed the expensive DM that vets like to sell. It's ingredients are nothing special and cats often grow tired of it. Any commercially available wet or raw food under 10% carbs will do. It's most important that he eat. I hope the vet didn't also tell you to only feed twice per day?
 
Hello and welcome. We've had many members with senior diabetic kitty's get better. I hope we can help you too.

Once you get your blood work results and post them, some people will be able to comment on the anemia.

What container did the Lantus come in? We strongly recommend not getting repackaged insulin from the vet and instead using the original vials or pens. Too many times people have gotten bad Lantus.

You can do a curve at home, and it'll be much more accurate. One of my non diabetics was so stressed at the vet he tested around 220 at the vet, and a nice normal 53 at home the next day. Vet had called saying he was possible diabetic but I was able to say no he wasn't. We have a post that might help you with testing: Hometesting Links and Tips
I would start as soon as you can. Testing is what keeps them safe, both in knowing his blood sugar is at a safe number to shoot (which is what human diabetics do) and that his dose is not too high. We've had far too many people start here with doses too high.

You also don't need to feed the expensive DM that vets like to sell. It's ingredients are nothing special and cats often grow tired of it. Any commercially available wet or raw food under 10% carbs will do. It's most important that he eat. I hope the vet didn't also tell you to only feed twice per day?
Thank you @Wendy&Neko :cat:
 
Hi Diane...as for the anemia, they want to test him again in a month to see where the anemia is at. They said that treating the diabetes could improve the anemia. Totally open to opinions on that. I will post his bloodwork in the spreadsheet as soon as I receive it tomorrow. As for the Lantus, they charged $55 US for 1cc. I plan on ordering from the canadian site moving forward, but it was nice to get a little in order to get started. I have bought everything you recommended at Walmart and will start home testing asap. As for the curve, I plan to do it myself soon, I'm just brand new and want the vet to help for the first month so I don't mess anything up. I'm sure I'll have the hang of this soon. I did my very first injection on Berlioz a few hours ago. Do you think I should get the B12 for him? The vet didn't mention anything, but his back legs are very weak and cause him to walk sideways sometimes or just completely buckle.
Typically, just giving insulin will not resolve anemia. When anemia is associated with diabetes, it is usually due to other conditions such as low phosphorus levels, chronic kidney disease, or the formation of Heinz bodies. It’s important to see the anemia numbers in conjunction with the other labs.

I’m concerned about the starting dose. For a 7+ lb cat, we would start the dose at no more than 1u twice a day and increase only by 0.25u at a time unless testing shows the lowest BG in the cycle is always over 300 and then increases would be 0.5u. In either case, the starting dose would be held 5-7 days and then increases would be after every six cycles as long as the BG was above 200.
 
Typically, just giving insulin will not resolve anemia. When anemia is associated with diabetes, it is usually due to other conditions such as low phosphorus levels, chronic kidney disease, or the formation of Heinz bodies. It’s important to see the anemia numbers in conjunction with the other labs.

I’m concerned about the starting dose. For a 7+ lb cat, we would start the dose at no more than 1u twice a day and increase only by 0.25u at a time unless testing shows the lowest BG in the cycle is always over 300 and then increases would be 0.5u. In either case, the starting dose would be held 5-7 days and then increases would be after every six cycles as long as the BG was above 200.
Thank you @Marje and Gracie :bighug::bighug::cat:
 
The low phosphorus levels that Marje mentioned as a reason for the anemia, could also be causing the leg weakness.
Low potassium levels can also affect the muscles.
Or the muscle weakness could be diabetic neuropathy.

Was ketone testing done? Either at the vet office or by yourself at home?
 
Good afternoon....please let me know if it is better to start a new post. I read all the materials and may have missed that direction. Berlioz's labs are now in his spreadsheet and I started home testing for his glucose last night. I have to be completely honest, I know I should have started doing that earlier, but I was so scared to do it. I was forced to last night.

We had a major scare last night and the documents on this site helped me through it. I gave him 2 units at 8am yesterday and then another 2 units at 8pm last night. (Lantus) Around 11:30pm, he became very weak, couldn't even stand up and just glassed over. He was trying to get to his cat box, but couldn't make it and had an accident on the floor. He then just collasped. I brought him to the couch and he wouldn't even move his eyes. I knew something wasn't right. I rubbed honey on his gums and then gave him a can of Fancy Feast with gravy. I was so scared that I forgot to test him before I gave him the honey and high carb food. I did tested him after and then kept testing every so often until his numbers came back up. Honestly.....please feel free to give your opinion. I had no idea what I was doing last night, but my gut was guiding me. His first reading after honey and FF was 27mg/dL at 11:42pm. (Relion Prime) His next reading was 34 at 12:06am. The last number I got was 121 at 1:59am. (It was a late night)

I did read about Keytones last night and I will buy some strips so that I can test him. I took in a lot of information last night since I was up until 2am. I was wondering if 2 units, twice a day was too much for him. I know that was mentioned above and so I thought I would try 1 unit at 8am this morning. Pre-shot was 317. 6+ hours later, after the 1 unit, it was 86. Again....I will not be offended by your opinions and directions. I love my boy so much and I wasnt to make sure I am doing what is best for him.

Thank you for everything!
 
Good afternoon....please let me know if it is better to start a new post. I read all the materials and may have missed that direction. Berlioz's labs are now in his spreadsheet and I started home testing for his glucose last night. I have to be completely honest, I know I should have started doing that earlier, but I was so scared to do it. I was forced to last night.

We had a major scare last night and the documents on this site helped me through it. I gave him 2 units at 8am yesterday and then another 2 units at 8pm last night. (Lantus) Around 11:30pm, he became very weak, couldn't even stand up and just glassed over. He was trying to get to his cat box, but couldn't make it and had an accident on the floor. He then just collasped. I brought him to the couch and he wouldn't even move his eyes. I knew something wasn't right. I rubbed honey on his gums and then gave him a can of Fancy Feast with gravy. I was so scared that I forgot to test him before I gave him the honey and high carb food. I did tested him after and then kept testing every so often until his numbers came back up. Honestly.....please feel free to give your opinion. I had no idea what I was doing last night, but my gut was guiding me. His first reading after honey and FF was 27mg/dL at 11:42pm. (Relion Prime) His next reading was 34 at 12:06am. The last number I got was 121 at 1:59am. (It was a late night)

I did read about Keytones last night and I will buy some strips so that I can test him. I took in a lot of information last night since I was up until 2am. I was wondering if 2 units, twice a day was too much for him. I know that was mentioned above and so I thought I would try 1 unit at 8am this morning. Pre-shot was 317. 6+ hours later, after the 1 unit, it was 86. Again....I will not be offended by your opinions and directions. I love my boy so much and I wasnt to make sure I am doing what is best for him.

Thank you for everything!
I think it would be best for you to start a new thread with a title like “HYPO last night, need dosing advice”
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top