New diabetic - BG 234 PMPS using AT

mcb486

Member Since 2026
My boy Odin is 4.5 years old, weights 13.5lbs. Just diagnosed 8 days ago. Initially prescribed 3 units Lantus - we use the solostar pen. Last week he received two doses 3 units, then he was quite sick, had a stay two nights at the vet. He has been home two days now - we are checking BG twice daily before meals / insulin. I've been giving him a lower dose because I feel the 3 units was too much.

March 5th - AMPS 305, gave 1 unit lantus
PMPS 287, gave 1 unit lantus

March 6th - AMPS 337, gave 2 units lantus
PMPS 234

Should I give any insulin tonight? 1 unit? Hold?
I dont understand when to give the insulin and when to hold it. Thanks!
 
Sorry no one got back to you last night.

There is general information about Lantus and dosing methods at the top of the Lantus insulin support group page in the sticky notes. The information is a good place to start so you have a handle on how Lantus works.

Your instincts are very good. A starting dose of 3.0u is big -- unless your cat is part mountain lion. For most cats the typical starting dose is in the vicinity of 0.5u to 1.0u. What may be helpful for you to know is that Lantus is a depot type of insulin. It does best with consistency. Depending on the dosing method you choose, you want to hold a dose for at least 3 days (with Tight Regulation) or a week (with Start Low Go Slow). You will also want to test Odin's blood glucose level a minimum of 4 times a day. You're already testing at shot time. That's important since a pre-shot test lets you know if it's safe to give a shot. You also want to get a test around the middle of the cycle. For most cats, the mid-point (6 hours after a shot) is the lowest point (nadir) in the 12-hour cycle. Lantus dosing is based on the low point, not on the pre-shot number.

In part, where the pre-shot falls can guide you regarding whether to shoot. The answer isn't entirely straightforward since it depends on the dosing method you're using, how experienced with managing your cat's diabetes you are, and your comfort level with shooting low numbers. For example, an experienced member using Tight Regulation will give a shot if numbers are above 50 (or 68 with an AT); if the experienced member is using Start Low Go Slow, the shot is delayed if numbers are lower than 90. That probably sounds terrifying to you! You gradually work your way down to shooting low numbers. As a general rule, we encourage you to post and ask for help if you're not sure what to do. I suspect that based on your subject line, people didn't know you had a question about whether to give a shot.

We also encourage new members to set up a spreadsheet and a signature. The spreadsheet allows you to keep track of Odin's progress and lets us follow along and offer input. The signature includes basic information about your cat so we don't keep pestering you with the same questions. The information on getting these set up is in this post on helping us to help you.
 
Thank you! I am still working on getting familiar with this group and how everything works.

I will stick with 1unit for now and try the SLGS method.

I find that getting his blood sugar is actually the most frustrating part. He is very sensitive about his ears so getting blood there has been very difficult. I have had some success getting blood from his back paw pads, but I feel if I keep testing there his paws are going to get irritated and sore.

All of this has come at a very trying time as we recently welcomed our newborn baby just at the end of January. I find myself overwhelmed to the point of tears managing my kitties blood sugar tests and insulin schedule around my newborns schedule.
 
An option to consider is getting a continuous glucose monitor (CGM) like the Freestyle Libre. Many members are now using these. There is a sensor that is attached to your cat's skin. You read the blood glucose levels from an app on your phone. The sensor lasts about 2 weeks.

I'm tagging one of our members who has a great deal of experience with the Lbre. @Staci & Ivy This is also a post about the CGMs.
 
Thank you! I am still working on getting familiar with this group and how everything works.

I will stick with 1unit for now and try the SLGS method.

I find that getting his blood sugar is actually the most frustrating part. He is very sensitive about his ears so getting blood there has been very difficult. I have had some success getting blood from his back paw pads, but I feel if I keep testing there his paws are going to get irritated and sore.

All of this has come at a very trying time as we recently welcomed our newborn baby just at the end of January. I find myself overwhelmed to the point of tears managing my kitties blood sugar tests and insulin schedule around my newborns schedule.
Hello and welcome to FDMB to you and Odin.
It’s very normal to feel very overwhelmed by a diabetes diagnosis for your kitty.
We can all relate to how you are feeling.
Plus having a newborn, you have a lot to handle 🥰

As Sienne said earlier your instincts are very good about giving too much insulin. It’s much better to go very slowly to keep Odin safe. And testing is the way to keep him safe.

If you are able to do blood tests that’s wonderful. Most people do poke the ears and find it works well.
Some use paw pads if necessary.

A Cgm sensor, a Freestyle Libre is an option becoming more widely used. It’s very common with humans and now with our pets.
Have a read of the document linked above.
It’s very doable to use a Libre and to install them at home.
There are pros and cons with them, like everything.
I use one all the time since my cat won’t let me test her with ear pokes constantly.

I am able to blood test her if she goes very low on the Libre to make sure she’s safe since the Libre tends to read lower than a handheld glucometer does.
So it’s always best to double check.

In the US we need a vet’s prescription for the Libres, you can get at most local pharmacies very easily.

I also recommend joining the Facebook group Freestyle Libres for Dogs and Cats if you want to use a Libre. They have great information and resources to help.

If you have any questions about using one after you look at the link above, please let us know how we can help 🥰
 
Hello and welcome to FDMB to you and Odin.
It’s very normal to feel very overwhelmed by a diabetes diagnosis for your kitty.
We can all relate to how you are feeling.
Plus having a newborn, you have a lot to handle 🥰

As Sienne said earlier your instincts are very good about giving too much insulin. It’s much better to go very slowly to keep Odin safe. And testing is the way to keep him safe.

If you are able to do blood tests that’s wonderful. Most people do poke the ears and find it works well.
Some use paw pads if necessary.

A Cgm sensor, a Freestyle Libre is an option becoming more widely used. It’s very common with humans and now with our pets.
Have a read of the document linked above.
It’s very doable to use a Libre and to install them at home.
There are pros and cons with them, like everything.
I use one all the time since my cat won’t let me test her with ear pokes constantly.

I am able to blood test her if she goes very low on the Libre to make sure she’s safe since the Libre tends to read lower than a handheld glucometer does.
So it’s always best to double check.

In the US we need a vet’s prescription for the Libres, you can get at most local pharmacies very easily.

I also recommend joining the Facebook group Freestyle Libres for Dogs and Cats if you want to use a Libre. They have great information and resources to help.

If you have any questions about using one after you look at the link above, please let us know how we can help 🥰

Thank you!!
 
Hello … just wanted to say hi as I know that we needed as much encouragement as we could suck up when Arya was diagnosed mid Jan. I felt like I was going to have a nervous breakdown (especially as the vet was all “it’s the end of the world”- it’s not btw!)

With the ears, it’s difficult for a week or two but honestly you’ll wonder what the fuss was all about when you and Odin settle in. One great tip was to use Vaseline before pricking to help the blood pool. The more you prick the more capillaries grow and soon it’ll be super easy. Do you have a lancet? My vet used a sewing needle and even gave some for us to use at home! What an absolute waste of time and tears that was!

Good luck with everything especially as you’ve got a lot on your plate.

Sending you good vibes…

Lisa & Arya 🦋
 
Back
Top