Lori,
I use a relion micro, since the strips are pretty cheap. I ran side by side tests at the vet's against their alpah track twice. 30 points lower on mine both times. So I always kept that in mind when I read Bob's numbrers. And that was with BGs in the 300+ range. I believe it is correct that the lower the reading, the less margin of error too. But a 100 point margin is pretty drastic.
What Donna said is true though. You have to pick a meter and stick with it. Otherwise you'll drive yourself insane, because all it does is fill your head with doubt. I wonder what sort of reading you would get on the alpha track if you were to test him at home.... someone did that, don't remember who. The vet let her borrow the meter for a couple days.
Bob's OTJ story - He was dx'd the beginning of May, BG in the upper 300's. I learned how to home test the next day, and ordered the insulin. It took 2 days to get to me. The day I got it (before the mail came), I had to bring Bob in to the vet. Extreme dehydration, difficulty moving at all, cried all night and half the day. He had a BG of 550ish, and ketones. Dx'd "DKA". He spent 3 days in emergency care, and almost didn't make it. So around the 2nd week of May, I began testing and shooting insulin, 1u BID. Within 4-5 weeks he was up to 4u BID. That's about the time I joined the FDMB and started reading like crazy. I rarely posted, but sure did learn a lot. Over the course of the next 5 weeks, I gradually reduced his dose, and his numbers improved pretty quickly. On July 19th, he got his last shot of PZI (.25u), and I kept testing him every day, twice a day, for 2 weeks. I then proclaimed him "OTJ"! For all but the first week of treatment (when he ate Hills M/D wet and dry that the vet prescribed), he's been eating Fancy Feast classics, with an occasional spoonful of Mullet's Friskees pates. And I test him 3 or 4 times a month, just to reassure myself that he's still okay. The highest number I have seen is a 69 I think.
Tomorrow morning, he's got his first vet visit in two months to go to. Time for the annual checkup and vaccinations. I'm poking his ear tonight, just so I don't get any surprises in the morning!
Carl