AnimalLover
New Member
General Lee my sweet boy, was diagnosed Jan ‘24, 8.5lb, 13 1/2-ish yo. Now 14 yo 9.5lb. Short version, 2 units 2x day. Wed July 10th MASSIVE hunger episode. So now it’s 1 unit am via the vet bc of too much insulin. Began BG Thurs July 18 randomly bc learning. Shoot 3/4 unit Fri 19 10:15am and last since doing BG was 1 unit Tues July 23rd 9:44am both bc I wasn’t sure what to do.
Food Schedule:
10am Breakfast - 3/4 Vital Essentials Turkey Mini Patty, Freeze-dried Raw, w/ water added (always) to rehydrate patty, crumbled.
2pm - 1/4 of leftover breakfast patty.
6pm - 2T Darwin Raw Turkey or Chicken
10pm Dinner - 3/4c minus 1/16c, Vital Essentials Turkey, Mini Nibs (chopped, bc Gn Lee has a lot of tartar on teeth), Freeze-dried Raw.
2am - 1/16c leftover dinner nibs
6am - 2T Darwin Raw Turkey or Chicken
Note: Due to work, two mornings the 2pm & 6pm feedings are given within a half hour to one hour after breakfast. Two to rarely 3 dinners can be up to 2-3 hours late, with 2am & 6am fed as usual. There are days the in between feedings can be up to 1/2 hour to 1 hour late due to errands, life or sleep, but it’s usually pretty regular.
BG Human ReliOn Monitor / Shoot, not listing the BG try’s w/o getting blood:
Th 7.18.24 10:10am - 98.
F 7.19 10:15am - SHOOT - 3/4 unit verses 1 bc not sure what to do and couldn’t get blood.
…couldn’t get blood/enough…
Tu 7.23 9:44am - SHOOT - 1 unit bc of later.
W 7.24 9:58am - 106
Th 7.25 20:05am - 106
F 7.26 10:02am - 79 (1 add’l feedings at 3:55pm instead of 6 pm)
-(dimmer 2hr 45min late instead of 10pm)
Sa 7.27 10am 86 (bf 10:12am, 2 add’l feedings at 10:25am instead of 2 & 6 pm)
Su 7.28 10:05am - 79 (bf 10:12am, 2 add’l feedings at 10:55am instead of 2 & 6 pm)
+12? - 10:54PM - 124 (Dinner 1 hr late)
+2 1:10am 84
M 7.29 10am - 101
+4 2:09pm - 83 (1 add’l feeding at 2:55pm instead of 6 pm)
10:58pm - 96 (dinner 1hour late)
+2 12:59am - 100
T 7.30 9:58am - 99
+4 1:58pm - 86
10:13pm - 81
+2 12:09am -104
W 7.31 10:22am 84
- had to make 5 pokes on only paw and only way to get blood so I didn’t try BG 2 or 4 hours after breakfast.
9:57pm - 81
+2 12:05 am 88
Note: I always feed right after BG and/or shoot. I don’t have many +12 bc of the 4 mini feedings/“snacks” between breakfast & dinner to tide him over for hunger and bg/insulin.
Not sure if I should be dosing, but the BG numbers are coming in on the green so I haven’t. If I’m feeding at the right time after BG or shooting?
I’m still trying to navigate the site and learn. Having issues with my laptop not upgrading from windows 8.1 earlier to begin a spreadsheet so I posted this way, sorry for the inconvenience! I thought I was much more technically savvy, along with the anxiety and searching for answers I am overwhelmed. He has a vet appointment on the 14th from his episode on the 10th. He has finished a script of ursodiol 1/4 tab to flush him out. Insulin 1unit am from 12th-17th, and the two mentioned above 3/4 unit 19th, 1unit 23rd. I always follow doctors orders and am very concerned they are not going to be happy with me, but I want to do what is best for him. It may take me a while to figure out how to answer any posts bc a personal message finally opened somehow! I’ve had a hard time navigating this amazing site for some reason. Thank you all so much for the work and help you are providing!!!
Food Schedule:
10am Breakfast - 3/4 Vital Essentials Turkey Mini Patty, Freeze-dried Raw, w/ water added (always) to rehydrate patty, crumbled.
2pm - 1/4 of leftover breakfast patty.
6pm - 2T Darwin Raw Turkey or Chicken
10pm Dinner - 3/4c minus 1/16c, Vital Essentials Turkey, Mini Nibs (chopped, bc Gn Lee has a lot of tartar on teeth), Freeze-dried Raw.
2am - 1/16c leftover dinner nibs
6am - 2T Darwin Raw Turkey or Chicken
Note: Due to work, two mornings the 2pm & 6pm feedings are given within a half hour to one hour after breakfast. Two to rarely 3 dinners can be up to 2-3 hours late, with 2am & 6am fed as usual. There are days the in between feedings can be up to 1/2 hour to 1 hour late due to errands, life or sleep, but it’s usually pretty regular.
BG Human ReliOn Monitor / Shoot, not listing the BG try’s w/o getting blood:
Th 7.18.24 10:10am - 98.
F 7.19 10:15am - SHOOT - 3/4 unit verses 1 bc not sure what to do and couldn’t get blood.
…couldn’t get blood/enough…
Tu 7.23 9:44am - SHOOT - 1 unit bc of later.
W 7.24 9:58am - 106
Th 7.25 20:05am - 106
F 7.26 10:02am - 79 (1 add’l feedings at 3:55pm instead of 6 pm)
-(dimmer 2hr 45min late instead of 10pm)
Sa 7.27 10am 86 (bf 10:12am, 2 add’l feedings at 10:25am instead of 2 & 6 pm)
Su 7.28 10:05am - 79 (bf 10:12am, 2 add’l feedings at 10:55am instead of 2 & 6 pm)
+12? - 10:54PM - 124 (Dinner 1 hr late)
+2 1:10am 84
M 7.29 10am - 101
+4 2:09pm - 83 (1 add’l feeding at 2:55pm instead of 6 pm)
10:58pm - 96 (dinner 1hour late)
+2 12:59am - 100
T 7.30 9:58am - 99
+4 1:58pm - 86
10:13pm - 81
+2 12:09am -104
W 7.31 10:22am 84
- had to make 5 pokes on only paw and only way to get blood so I didn’t try BG 2 or 4 hours after breakfast.
9:57pm - 81
+2 12:05 am 88
Note: I always feed right after BG and/or shoot. I don’t have many +12 bc of the 4 mini feedings/“snacks” between breakfast & dinner to tide him over for hunger and bg/insulin.
Not sure if I should be dosing, but the BG numbers are coming in on the green so I haven’t. If I’m feeding at the right time after BG or shooting?
I’m still trying to navigate the site and learn. Having issues with my laptop not upgrading from windows 8.1 earlier to begin a spreadsheet so I posted this way, sorry for the inconvenience! I thought I was much more technically savvy, along with the anxiety and searching for answers I am overwhelmed. He has a vet appointment on the 14th from his episode on the 10th. He has finished a script of ursodiol 1/4 tab to flush him out. Insulin 1unit am from 12th-17th, and the two mentioned above 3/4 unit 19th, 1unit 23rd. I always follow doctors orders and am very concerned they are not going to be happy with me, but I want to do what is best for him. It may take me a while to figure out how to answer any posts bc a personal message finally opened somehow! I’ve had a hard time navigating this amazing site for some reason. Thank you all so much for the work and help you are providing!!!
Last edited: