Laurie and Mr Tinkles
Very Active Member
Please pardon the length of my post! We are new to the board, although I have been reading and trying to learn all I can for the last couple of weeks. Mr. Tinkles was diagnosed on 4/27/10 by blood work at the vet. He had lost weight, was drinking and peeing a lot and had an eye infection when I took him in. It had snuck up on me, I didn't realize how much weight he had lost! Anyway, his blood suger was 600, so the vet gave me ProZinc and told me to start him on 2u BID and bring him back for a fructosamine test in 2 weeks. He also was on antibiotics by mouth and eye ointment for a week. There was no mention of diet change. I had fed my cats Purina Cat Chow (indoor) forever. I started researching, found the diet info and made an immediate switch to Fancy Feast 2 days after starting the ProZinc and started hometesting. When I called the vet, she said the diet change was good, but encouraged me to look at the prescription diets, including dry food. She also did not encourage hometesting, said it was too stressful. At that point, I talked to her about TR, and she was very concerned about increasing the insulin too fast. She was willing to work with me though, including adjusting insulin dosage over the phone. After reading more, I decided to give him the 2 weeks to adjust to the 2u dose. When I took him in to see the vet, I gave her his SS, and she decided not to do the fructosamine because he was not regulated yet. She told me to increase by 1u to 3u BID. I said I would be more comfortable increasing by 1/2u BID for a week and then do a curve and see where he was before increasing more. She said fine, but put the 3u recommendation in the chart.
I had some fur shots, and I did flirt with the TR method for a day or so, but got nervous that I didn't know enough and backed off now to 2.5u BID. I did a curve yesterday, best I could. Now I'm not sure which way to go. I think he isn't getting enough duration, his numbers are still very high at +10, but he gets around 150 at nadir. I think I want to go to 2.75u (yes, I'm eyeballing it with u40 syringes) because I don't want to overshoot the mark. On the other hand, I could try the TR method again, it would take care of the duration problem, but I'm not sure about the wild dose swings. If you got this far, I welcome any input!
This site is a godsend, BTW!
I will also post in the PZI forum with a link to this post.
I had some fur shots, and I did flirt with the TR method for a day or so, but got nervous that I didn't know enough and backed off now to 2.5u BID. I did a curve yesterday, best I could. Now I'm not sure which way to go. I think he isn't getting enough duration, his numbers are still very high at +10, but he gets around 150 at nadir. I think I want to go to 2.75u (yes, I'm eyeballing it with u40 syringes) because I don't want to overshoot the mark. On the other hand, I could try the TR method again, it would take care of the duration problem, but I'm not sure about the wild dose swings. If you got this far, I welcome any input!
This site is a godsend, BTW!
I will also post in the PZI forum with a link to this post.